« ForrigeFortsett »
------- ---- --- -----
A later section in the same document also states:
Provision shall be made by law for the establishment, at some eligible and central point, of a State university, for the promotion of literature and the arts and sciences, including a normal and an agricultural department. All funds arising from the sale or rents of lands granted by the United States to the State for the support of a State university, and all other grants, donations, or bequests, either by the State or by in. dividuals, for such purpose, shall remain a perpetual fund, to be called the “University fund”; the interest of which shall be appropriated to the support of the State university.
Simultaneously with the admission of Kansas into the Union,
the constitution of the State of Kansas.
72 sections of land.
Jay Rice, A. M., David Hamilton Robinson, A, M., and Francis Huntington
Snow, A. M.
September 12, first session of the university opened at North College.
Normal department discontinued.
schools of arts, engineering, law, fine arts, and pharmacy established.
Chancellor's residence erected.
The school of medicine established.
---- ------ -
------ - ---- ----
1902—Dyche Museum of Natural History erected. 1903—Summer session established. 1904—The name of the school of arts changed to the College of Liberal Arts and
Green Hall erected. 1905–Full four-year course in medicine established.
Eleanor Taylor Bell Memorial Hospital erected. 1906– Robinson auditorium-gymnasium erected.
Clinical laboratory erected.
Nurses' training school established. 1907—Marvin Hall erected. 1908—Haworth Hall erected.
Power plant and laboratories erected. 1909—The school of education established.
The division of university extension established. 1911–First wing of administration building erected.
State hospital erected at Rosedale.
Clay-working laboratory erected. 1915-Dispensary at Rosedale erected.
Oread training school building erected. 1916–Vivarium erected. 1918-West wing and portion of central section administration building erected. 1919–Observatory erected.
Reserve Officers' Training Corps established. 1921-University commons erected.
Power plant erected.
First one-half of stadium erected. 1922–Electrical laboratory building erected.
New Bell Memorial Hospital erected. The Kansas State Agricultural College had its inception in the Federal Morrill Act of July 2, 1862. To each State the Federal Government donated 30,000 acres of public lands for each Senator and Representative to which the State was entitled, according to the apportionment made on the basis of the census of 1860. The conditions were that the money arising from the sale of these landsshall constitute a perpetual fund, the capital of which shall be inviolably appropriated by each State which may take and claim the benefit of this act, to the endowment, support, and maintenance of at least one college, where the leading object shall be, without excluding other scientific and classical studies, and including military tactics, to teach such branches of learning as are related to agriculture and the mechanic arts, in such manner as the legislature of the States may respectively prescribe, in order to promote the liberal and practical education of the industrial classes in the several pursuits and professions in life.
On February 3, 1863, the Kansas Legislature passed a joint resolution accepting the provision of the Morrill Act. In the same month the governor signed an act locating the college at Manhattan, on condition that the property belonging to the so-called Bluemont Central College Association, which had founded a small classical college at Manhattan in 1859, should be ceded to the State for the use of the new agricultural college. Subsequent Federal legislation, the second Morrill Act in 1890, began annual Federal appropriations to each of the States and Territories for additional financial support of the land-grant colleges. These annual appropriations increased from $15,000 in 1890 to $25,000 ten years later. In 1907 the Nelson Act increased these Federal appropriations to each of the States until in 1912 they reached $50,000 annually.
In 1887 the United States Congress, by the passage of the socalled Hatch Act, began the appropriation of $15,000 per annum to the States for the establishment of agricultural experiment stations in connection with the land-grant colleges. The Adams Act in 1906 provided for the gradual increase of this amount until it reached $30,000 each year.
The Smith-Lever Act of 1914 provided annual Federal appropriations to each State in the Union for carrying on extension work in agriculture and home economics by the land-grant colleges on condition that the State appropriate for the same purpose sums of money which are practically equal to the Federal appropriation. Through the operation of this law the State agricultural college in 1920-21 received from the Federal Government $123,041.66.
The main events in the history of the college are given in the following chronological table:
CHRONOLOGICAL TABLE. 1863—Provisions of Morrill Act accepted by the Legislature of Kansas.
Bluemont Central College accepted by the State and made the Kansas State
Agricultural College. College opened September 1, 1863. 1871-Farm of 155 acres purchased with funds obtained by sale of bonds voted by
Manhattan Township. Now the campus upon which most of the buildings
Veterinary instruction introduced. Discontinued 1874. 1872-Instruction in carpentry and blacksmithing first given. 1873—Appropriation "to improve and stock the State farm and develop the agri
cultural department, $15,000.” “For completion of the college barn, $8,000.” First building erected on present campus; designed as one wing of a stone
Instruction in sewing, dressmaking, and millinery” begun. 1874—Three six-year curricula formulated, farmer's, mechanic's, and woman's.
Classical languages eliminated and vocational subjects increased. 1875—The Industrialist first issued. Published as the organ of the college uninter
Center section of present shop for woodworking erected. 1876—First chemical laboratory erected.
First horticultural hall erected. 1877—Four-year curriculum adopted for all students, with certain variations adapted
to the respective needs of young men and young women. 1878–First wing of Anderson Hall, main college building, erected. 1883–Central part of main college building erected.
1885—South wing of main college building erected.
Central section of Anderson Hall enlarged. 1888–Building erected for the experiment station.
Veterinary instruction reintroduced. 1890—The second Morrill Act signed by the President. 1894–Fairchild Hall erected; enlarged in 1904,
Steam plant erected for heat and power, $14,000.
Two-week short course for farmers introduced. Abandoned three years later. 1897—Curriculum differentiated in the senior year to meet more fully the needs of
"farmers," "mechanics," and "women."
Kedzie Hall erected for home economics. 1898-—— Three four-year curricula put into effect-agriculture, engineering, and general.
Four-year curriculum in household economics added. 1899—The four-year curricula revised and named agriculture, domestic science,
general science, and mechanical engineering. Also an electrical engineering
curriculum was offered.
Dairy barn built.
Old Agricultural Hall erected. .
Short course in domestic science first offered.
Rebuilding chemical laboratory for a gymnasium. 1902-Denison Hall erected. 1903—Addition to Fairchild Hall.
Water plant provided. 1904-Additional land purchased.
Creamery building provided. 1905—Four-year curriculum in architecture offered.
Four-year curriculum in veterinary medicine first offered. 1906--Adams Act passed by Congress.
Garden City branch experiment station established. 1907—Horticultural Hall erected.
Plant museum greenhouse erected. 1908-Agricultural curriculum differentiated at beginning of junior year, creating
from that point curricula in agronomy, animal husbandry, poultry husbandry,
and horticulture and forestry curricula.
Home Economics Hall erected.
Land purchased for agronomy farm.
Entrance requirements fixed at 8 units.
Four-year curriculum in industrial journalism established.
1912—Erection of east wing of Waters Hall and stock-judging pavilion adjacent.
Entrance requirements raised to 15 units of high-school work.
courses are offered in agriculture, mechanic arts, and home economics. 1913—Colby branch experiment and demonstration station established.
Lakin branch experiment station established.
The four-year curriculum in printing abandoned. 1914—Congress passed Smith-Lever Act.
Four-year curriculum in agricultural engineering offered.
Two-year curriculum in public school music offered
the S. A. T. C. Now used for mess hall, repair shop, traction engine labor
atories, agricultural experiment station work, and other purposes. 1919-Four-year curricula in agricultural chemistry, biological chemistry, and in.
dustrial chemistry offered. 1920—Four-year curriculum in music offered. 1921–Central portion of engineering hall erected.
Pasture land, 247.4 acres, purchased.
Four-year curriculum in rural commerce offered. 1922—Erection of cafeteria building.
By an act of the legislature in February, 1863, a State normal school was located at Emporia. In the following year another legislative act authorized the governor to appoint a board of directors, who were to organize and govern the institution. In February, 1865, the school was opened in temporary quarters, with one teacher and 18 students.
The first building erected by the State for the normal school was dedicated early in 1867. Since that time other buildings have been constructed from time to time. The buildings on the campus at present are: Music Hall, Norton Science Hall, Kellogg Library, cafeteria, training school, gymnasium, power plant, emergency hospital, and Plumb Memorial Building, besides certain small buildings for miscellaneous purposes. There is a campus of 35 acres.
By an act of Congress dated March 28, 1900, the abandoned military reservation at Fort Hays, comprising 7,600 acres, was granted to the State of Kansas upon condition that the State agree to establish and maintain on this land (1) an experiment station of the State agricultural college, (2) a western branch of the State normal school, and (3) a public park. At the next State legislature an act was passed accepting the gift, with the conditions imposed in the Federal act and authorizing the regents of the agricultural college and normal school, respectively, to locate and establish on the land thus obtained an experiment station and "a branch or auxiliary of the State normal school.” Rentals received from the lease of land assigned to the