« ForrigeFortsett »
17 Bowery Bay and Hunter's Point Rail-Road Company of Long Island City
Incorporation. October 22, 1881; General Railroad Law of
1850; for the purpose of constructing a street railroad in Long
Island City; corporate life, 100 years; capital stock, $55,000;
route as follows:
Commencing at Front street, and running through Borden, Vernon, Jackson and Steinway avenue to the bulkhead line at Bowery bay.
Construction. JSTo rword of any construction by this company. The route described in the charter is occupied by tracks originally laid by predecessors of the New York and Queens County Railway Company. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.
18 Bowery Bay Railroad Company
Incorporation. January 25, 1907; Railroad Law of 1890; for the purpose of constructing a standard gauge railroad from Woodside to the harbor of New York in Astoria; to be operated by steam, electricity or other suitable power; corporate life, 999 years; capital stock, $100,000; route, three miles.
Construction. ]STo record of any construction. The Company is dormant.
19 Bridge Operating Company
(Brooklyn and Manhattan)
Incorporation. Certificate filed July 29, 1904, but dated May 21, 1904; Business Corporations Law; for the purpose of entering into contracts for operating over any portion of the East river bridge owned by the city of New York and connecting the boroughs of Manhattan and Brooklyn, and of operating the same in pursuance of such contracts; corporate life, perpetual; capital stock, $100,000.
Special franchises. May 21, 1904, this Company, together with The Brooklyn Heights Railroad Company, the New York City Railroad Company and the Coney Island and Brooklyn Railroad Company entered into an agreement with the city of New York for the operation of surface cars on the Williamsburgh bridge, and therein this Company agreed to operate local cars on the surface tracks of the bridge, at a fare of three cents for a single trip or five cents for two tickets. The cars to be operated over the surface tracks of the bridge by this Company were to be in addition to those operated over such tracks by the other parties to the agreement, except as otherwise agreed and apportioned among the other parties.
Intercorporate relations. (See also chart IV, no. 29.) This Company was incorporated pursuant to an agreement between the Brooklyn Rapid Transit Company and the New York City Eailway Company, dated May 21, 1904. In this agreement each of the parties thereto agreed to take 500 shares of the capital stock of the new company at par, and to pay cash therefor, and to take and pay for, in cash, at par, one-half of such additional stock as from time to time should be issued.
On the same date, May 21, 1904, The Brooklyn Heights Kailroad Company, the ISTew York City Railway Company, The Coney Island and Brooklyn Rail Road Company and this Company entered into an agreement adjusting their mutual relations in regard to the operation and accounts so far as the use of the tracks on the bridge was concerned. This agreement, however, was not formally executed by the Coney Island and Brooklyn Company, and that company was subsequently compelled to resort to litigation in order to secure a share in the benefits of the local bridge traffic under the agreement with the city,
June 21, 1907, an agreement was entered into between this Company, The Brooklyn Heights Railroad Company and the New York City Railway Company, whereby the two latter companies agreed to assume the obligations imposed upon this Company by the agreement dated May 21, 1904, including operation, and to pay the stockholders of this Company six per cent per annum upon their stock. This Company in turn agreed to surrender possession of all its property, including its contracts, to the other two companies, and to turn over all its cash on hand, excepting a working fund of $10,000.
July 28, 1908, The Coney Island and Brooklyn Rail Road Company commenced a suit in equity in the Supreme Court of Kings County, against The Brooklyn Heights Railroad Company and the New York City Eailway Company, the Brooklyn Rapid Transit Company and this Company for an accounting of the interests in the bridge contract executed May 21, 1904. The suit was settled out of court and an agreement made with The Coney Island and Brooklyn Rail Road Company on August 1, 1910, in which the Coney Island Company agreed to release the other par* ties to the contract from any and all rights of action, claims, etc., in law or in equity under the contract, and providing that commencing as of June 1, 1909, and continuing thereafter during the remainder of the term of the bridge contract, the Coney Island Company should receive and accept 16 per cent of the total net profits earned from the use and operation of the local bridge cars across the Williamsburgh bridge.
In the Public Service Commission's report for 1909, the following statement appears:
Writing under date of December 21, 1908, Mr. William W. Ladd, receiver of the New York City Eailway, informed this Commission that, instead of the New York City [Railway Company and The Brooklyn Heights Railroad Company engaging in the joint operation of the cars formerly operated by the Bridge Operating Company, the entire management, operation and control of cars were left to The Brooklyn Heights Railroad Company by the New York City Eailway Company. Such was the situation when he became receiver, although he was not informed that any agreement on the subject was in writing. On June 30, 1909, The Brooklyn Heights Eailroad Company was, it is said, carrying out the original contract of the Bridge Operating Company with the city of New York.
September 1, 1909, the receivers of the Metropolitan Street Eailway Company acquired 500 shares of the capital stock of the Bridge Operating Company from the receiver of the New York City Eailway Company and thereupon became obligated to perform the contractual obligations of the New York City Eailway Company. The Public Service Commission, August 20, 1909, consented to the acquisition of this Company's stock by the receivers of the Metropolitan Street Eailway Company; the assignment and transfer of stock was effected October 18, 1909.
Fares. The Public Service Commission April 10, 1912, required this Company to reduce the charge for the transportation of persons over the Williamsburgh bridge to two cents for a single fare and three tickets, each good for a single fare, for five cents.
Stock. The authorized capital stock of $100,000 has been issued and is outstanding, full paid. The stock control of the Company was held jointly on June 30, 1913, by The Brooklyn Rapid Transit Company and the receivers of the Metropolitan Street Railway Company, each of whom held $50,000 par value of its $100,000 of capital stock.
Operation. It appears from the Public Service Commission's report of 1911 that The Brooklyn Heights Railroad Company acts as an agent for the joint operators of the property of this Company.
20 The Bridge Tunnel Rail Road Company
Incorporation. November 26, 1885, General Railroad Law of 1850, and chapter 582, laws of 1880; for purpose of constructing a tunnel railroad; corporate life, 100 years; capital stock, $1,000,000; route (about one mile) as follows:
Commencing at a point under Atlantic avenue in the city of Brooklyn at the intersection of Flatbush avenue and on the northerly line of the railway of the Tunnel Extension Company as proposed and intersecting such line; running thence underground in Flatbush avenue to and under Fulton avenue and continuing under the prolongation of Flatbush avenue, crossing under De Kalb avenue, Fleet street, Gold street, Willoughby street, Duffield street, Myrtle avenue, Bridge street, Johnson street, Lawrence street, Tillary street, Jay street, Concord street, Pearl street, Nassau street, High street and Adams street, to a point near to and under the intersection of Sands and Adams streets; with a branch line commencing at a point on the south side of the tunnel of the Company's railway under Flatbush avenue at or near its junction with Lafayette avenue, continuing thence under State street to a point under Atlantic avenue, where it will intersect northerly of the road of the South Ferry and' Sea Side Direct Transit Company as proposed under said avenue.
Maps. November 27, 1885, the Company filed in the register's office of Kings County a map of its route.
Intercorporate relations. March 5, 1886, by certificate filed in the secretary of state's office, this Company was consolidated with The South Ferry and Sea Side Direct Transit Company and the Tunnel Extension Eailway Company to form The Brooklyn Sub Eailway Company (no. 110).
Construction. There is no record of any construction by this Company.
21 The Brighton and Bensonhurst Electric Railroad Company
Incorporation. June 9, 1892, as a reorganization of The Sea
Beach and Brighton Railroad Company (no. 588), incorporated
July 26, 1886 and sold at foreclosure April 9, 1892; corporate
life not stated; capital stock, $200,000; route as follows:
Commencing at the Ocean parkway on Coney Island between Sea Breeze avenue and the right of way of the Coney Island Elevated Railway, and running thence westerly, northerly and easterly to a point at or near 86th street westerly of the point where 86th street is crossed by The New York & Sea Beach Railroad.
Construction. ISTo record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.
22 The Brighton Beach and New York Railway Company
Incorporation. May 19, 1880; General Kailroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 50 years; capital stock, $150,000; route (about 1% miles) as follows:
Commencing at or near the terminal lands of The New York and Brighton Beach Railway Company, and running thence by the most direct and feasible route to a point on or near Ocean avenue and near the new race course in the town of Gravesend.
Maps. May 19, 1880, the Company filed in the register's office of Kings County a map of its route.
Stock. In the Company's report to the state engineer for 1880 it stated that the amount of capital stock subscribed was $2,700. and the amount paid in $300.
Intercorporate relations. This Company's incorporators were all officers of the jSTew York and Brighton Beach Railway Company.
Construction. No record of any construction. In the state engineer's report, 1882, the Company is reported to have abandoned its project.
23 The Brighton Beach Railway Company
Incorporation. August 20, 1879; General Eailroad Law of 1850; for passengers and freight and all other purposes known to commerce and trade, with a single or double track of iron or steel