Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

rail with necessary appurtenances for operating a railroad by

horse, steam or other motive power; corporate life, 99 years;

capital stock, $200,000; route (about % mile) as follows:

From Brighton Beach hotel on the east at Coney Island to the Vanderveer hotel on the west, running along the beach between the Concourse and the ocean.

Stock. In a report made to the state engineer for 1879 it was stated that the amount of capital stock subscribed was $7,700, and the amount paid in $770.

Construction. In the Company's report to the state engineer for 1881 it was stated that the land had been surveyed and located, but no further action had been taken on account of the difficulty in procuring land for right of way. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

24 The Brighton Rail-way Company

(Brooklyn)

Incorporation. January 28, 1880; General Kailroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 50 years; capital stock, $50,000; route (about one mile) as follows:

Commencing at a point adjoining land of the Brooklyn, Flatbush and Coney Island Railway Company in the town of Gravesend in the county of Kings and state of New York, and terminating at or near the Prospect Park and Coney Island Rail Road Company in said town, county and state, and being on Coney Island.

Maps. January 27, 1880, the Company filed in the register's office of Kings County a map and profile of its route, and on the same date a map showing land to be taken on Coney Island.

Stock. In the Company's report to the state engineer for 1882, it was stated that $10,000 had been subscribed and $2,500 paid in.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

25 The Brighton Railway Company

(Brooklyn)

Incorporation. March 5, 1880; General Eailroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 50 years; capital stock, $10,000; route (about one mile) as follows:

Commencing at the easterly line of land of the Prospect Park and Coney Island Railroad Company on Coney Island in the town of Gravesend in the county of Kings and state of New York, and running thence easterly along the southerly side of the drive known as the Concourse over land of the county of Kings and of the Kings County Railway Company to the easterly line of the property known as the Ocean hotel property, thence in the most direct and eligible route to or near the main entrance of Brighton Beach fair grounds, all on Coney Island in the county of Kings and state of New York.

Maps. March 5, 1880, the Company filed in the register's office of Kings County a map of its route from William Engeman's property south of Sea Breeze avenue to depot at the beach and westerly south of concourse to Prospect Park and Coney Island Railroad Company.

Stock. In the Company's report to the state engineer for 1880, it was stated that the entire capital stock had been subscribed and paid in.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

26 The Broad Street Railroad Company

(Manhattan)

Incorporation. June 7, 1890; General Street Eailroad Law of 1884; for the purpose of constructing a street surface railroad; corporate life, 1,000 years; capital stock, $300,000; route (about two miles) as follows:

Commencing in the city of New York, at the ferry house, South ferry, and south of a line drawn westerly in continuation of the northerly line of South street, along and across Whitehall street to South street, along South street to Broad street, along Broad street and Exchange place to Wall street, along Wall street to William street, along William street to North William street and Frankfort street, along North William street to Park Row, along Park Row to Nassau street, and along Nassau street to Broad street; also a branch commencing at the intersection of William and Spruce streets, along Spruce street to Nassau street, across Nassau street and upon and across Printing House square, and upon and across Park Row to Mail street, and along Mail street to, at or near BroadAvay.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

27 The Broadway and Bowery Bay Railroad Company

(Queens)

Incorporation. June 19, 1883; General Eailroad Law of 1850; to build a street railroad in Long Island City; corporate life, 100 years; capital stock, $30,000; route (about three miles) as follows:

Commencing at the intersection of Broadway and Vernon avenue in Long Island City, and running thence along Broadway and Steinway avenue to the northeasterly boundary line of Long Island City at Bowery bay.

Extension of route. October 8, 1884, under chapter 252, laws of 1884, the Company filed a certificate of extension for a route commencing at the terminus of its tracks at the intersection of Steinway avenue and Broadway, and running thence with a single or double track along Steinway avenue, Jackson avenue and Borden avenue (or Second street) to Front street, in Long Island City.

Special franchises. May 15, 1883, the common council of Long Island City authorized the construction of the road. The franchise was to be awarded to the person or persons offering to carry passengers at the lowest rates of fare. On June 5, 1883, the common council awarded this franchise to Henry Ziegler in accordance with his proposal as to rates, as follows: "The rate of five cents for each passenger for any distance over said road, school children, between the hours of 8.00 and 9.00 o'clock a. m., and 3.00 and 4.001 p. m., two cents, and members of the police force free." On June 21, 1883, this franchise was assigned by Ziegler to this Company, of which he had been one of the incorporators. November 5, 1884, the common council of Long Island City gave the Company a franchise for the extension of its route.

Stock. In a report made by the Steinway and Hunter's Point Railroad Company for the year 1885, it was stated that there were $60,000 of bonds of the Company outstanding, and that $50,000 had been paid for the capital stock of this Company.

Intercorporate relations. (See also chart III, no. 27.) July 2, 1883, this Company leased its road, then unconstructed, to the Steinway and Hunter's Point Railroad Company for a period of 50 years.

January 2, 1885, this Company executed a new lease for the period of its corporate life to the Steinway and Hunter's Point Railroad Company, covering the original route and the extension.

April 16, 1885, a certificate of surrender of capital stock of this Company to the Steinway and Hunter's Point Railroad Company (no. 647) was filed in the office of the secretary of state.

Operation. Operation was begun on the Company's route, August 12, 1883.

28 Broadway and Rockaway Beach Railway Company

(Brooklyn)

Incorporation. March 22, 1880 ; General Eailroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 99 years; capital stock, $4,000,000; route (about 15 miles) as follows:

Beginning on Broadway at or near the Roosevelt and Grand street ferries, in the city of Brooklyn, county of Kings, and running thence along Broadway to Stuyvesant avenue, thence along Stuyvesant avenue to or near Fulton avenue, thence along and across Fulton avenue and private property to Utica avenue, thence along Utica avenue to or near the boundary line between the city of Brooklyn and the town of Flatbush, thence to some convenient point in the town of Flatbush at or near Utica avenue, thence on a line parallel with said Utica avenue through the towns of Flatbush and Flatlands to a point between avenue I and avenue M, thence easterly to Bergens island, thence southerly over Bergens island and the marsh and creeks to Barren island, thence over Barren island to the seashore and to Rockaway inlet, thence by ferry across Rockaway inlet and along the Beach channel to the various landings at Rockaway beach; together with a branch from the junction of Stuyvesant avenue and Broadway along Broadway to the boundary line between the city of Brooklyn and East New York in the town of New Lots, thence along Broadway and in and through East New York to some convenient point to and beyond Atlantic avenue.

Stock. In the Company's report to the state engineer for the year 1882 it was stated that $18,200 of its capital stock had been subscribed and $1,500 had been paid in.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

29 The Broadway and Seventh Avenue Railroad Company

(Manhattan)

Incorporation. May 26, 1864; General Railroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 1,000 years; capital stock, $2,100,000; route (about 16 miles) as follows:

Commencing on the Seventh avenue, at the southern extremity of the Central Park, thence through and along the Seventh avenue with a double track to the old Bloomingdale road or Broadway; thence through and along the old Bloomingdale road or Broadway and Union place with a double track to University place; thence through and along University place with a double track to Clinton place or Eighth street; thence through and along University place and Wooster street, with a single track to Canal street; thence through and along Canal street, with a single track to West Broadway; thence through and along West Broadway and College place, with a single track to Barclay street; thence through and along Barclay street, with a single track, to Church street; thence through and along Barclay street with a double track, to Broadway; also, connecting with the double track in Barclay street, through and along Church street, with a single track to Canal street; thence through and along Canal street, with single track to Greene street; thence along Greene street, with a single track to Clinton place or Eighth street; thence through and along Clinton place or Eighth street, with a single track, to connect with the double track in University place; thence to the place of beginning. Also connecting with the double track in Seventh avenue at Broadway, through and along Seventh avenue, with a double track, to Greenwich avenue; thence through and along Greenwich avenue with a double track, to and across the Sixth avenue to Clinton place or Eighth street; thence through and along Clinton place or Eighth street, with a double track, to Macdougal street; thence through and along Macdougal street with a double track to Fourth street; thence through and along Fourth street, with a double track, to Thompson street; thence through and along Thompson street with a double track to Canal street; thence through and along Canal street, with a double track to West Broadway; thence through and along West Broadway, with a double track to Chambers street; thence through and along West Broadway and College place, with a single track to Barclay street; thence through and along Barclay street to Broadway, thence returning, through Barclay street and Church street to Chambers street; thence through and along Chambers street to West Broadway, to connect with the track in said street and by the aforesaid route to the place of beginning. Also connecting with the track in College place, through and along Park place, with a double track to Broadway. Also connecting with the track in West Broadway to and along Duane street, with a single track to Church street; and thence through and along Duane street, with a double track to Broadway. Also connecting with the track in Thompson street, through and along Broome street, with a double track to Broadway; also connecting with the track in Union place at 14th street, through and along 14th street, with a double track to Broadway, as joining Union square. Also connecting with the double track in Canal street, at Thompson street, through and along Canal street, with a double track, to Varick street; thence through and along Varick street, with a double track to, and to connect with the track in West Broadway, at Franklin street.

Certificates of extension of route. By certificates filed in the office of the secretary of state, the Company extended its route as follows:

July 7, 1892; commencing near the intersection of the southerly side of Canal street with West Broadway in the city of New York and connecting there by suitable curves or appliances with the existing route of said The Broadway and Seventh Avenue Railroad Company in West Broadway and Canal street, running thence northerly with double tracks across and upon Canal street to South Fifth avenue and (connecting by suitable curves and appliances with the single track of the road of the said The Broadway and Seventh Avenue Railroad Company on the northerly side of Canal street), running thence northerly through, upon and along South Fifth avenue with double tracks to Broome street there to unite with an extension or branch road of the Metropolitan Crosstown Railway Company.

« ForrigeFortsett »