patent system, to point out that at the present time it is more essential than ever to our national well-being, and to express my belief that no fundamental changes in our law are now desirable. Particularly, there should be, in my opinion, no change in the direction foreshadowed by the Oldfield Bill.




The Sixth Annual Meeting of the Comparative Law Bureau of the American Bar Association was held at the Windsor Hotel, Montreal, Canada, on Tuesday, September 2, 1913, at 2 P. M. The Director, Simeon E. Baldwin, of Connecticut, presided. The Treasurer, Eugene C. Massie, of Virginia, the Secretary, William W. Smithers, of Pennsylvania, and the Assistant Secretary, Robert P. Shick, of Pennsylvania, were also in attendance.

The Treasurer's report was found to be in accord with the checks, orders and bank deposit book, which he produced.

The following corporate body members, by delegates, were present:

Pennsylvania Bar Association: Francis Rawle, William Draper Lewis, William N. Appel, David Werner Amram, William W. Smithers and Robert P. Shick.

South Dakota Bar Association: John H. Voorhees and Marshall McKusick.

University of Maine Law School: Lucilius A. Emery, W. E. Walz, Henry Bert Montague and Claude D. Graton.

Law Department, University of Minnesota: Rome G. Brown, Edward S. Thurston and William R. Vance.

University of Pennsylvania Law School: William Draper Lewis and William E. Mikell.

Chicago Correspondence School of Law: E. C. Westwood and Charles F. Westwood.

Cornell University College of Law: Frank Irvine and Frank G. Bogert.

Yale University Law School: William H. Taft and Simeon E. Baldwin.

The Western Reserve University Law School: Walter T. Dunmore, H. H. Johnson, Alexander Hadden and C. M. Finfrock.

Michigan State Bar Association: B. E. Barlow.

Bar Association of the City of Boston: Ezra R. Thayer and Frank W. Grinnell.

University of North Dakota Law School: H. A. Bronson and Robert L. Henry, Jr.

The Law Library of Dayton, Ohio: Daniel W. Iddings and George R. Young.

Law Association of Philadelphia: Joseph C. Fraley, Hampton L. Carson and W. W. Smithers.

University of Michigan, Department of Law: Edwin C. Goddard and Edson R. Sunderland.

Harvard University Law School: Samuel R. Williston.

The following members were also present in their individual capacity: Edgar H. Farrar, Louisiana; William O. Hart, Louisiana; Stephen S. Gregory, Illinois; Rudolph Matz, Illinois; Andrew A. Bruce, North Dakota; W. A. Henry, North Dakota; John M. Patterson, Pennsylvania; Francis Fisher Kane, Pennsylvania; Meredith Hanna, Pennsylvania; Franklin Spencer Edmonds, Pennsylvania; Francis E. Hinckley, District Attorney of the United States Court for China, Shanghai, China; Walter S. Penfield, District of Columbia; Clarence Edwards, New Mexico; Edward D. Robbins, Connecticut; Joseph Perkins Chamberlain, of the Legislative Drafting Fund, Columbia University, New York; J. Aspinwall Hodge, New York; Amasa M. Eaton, Rhode Island; Robert M. Hughes, Virginia; Tore Teigen, South Dakota; Henry A. Muller, South Dakota; George N. Williamson, South Dakota; Joseph Kirby, South Dakota; Charles Friend, Wisconsin.

The roll of delegates and other members present was called and the attendance noted by the Secretary.

On motion, the reading of the minutes of the previous meeting held August 26, 1912, was dispensed with, inasmuch as those minutes are set out at length in the last Annual Report of the American Bar Association.

The Director then delivered his annual address.

(The address follows these minutes, page 843.)

At the request of the Director, the Secretary read the annual report made by the Board of Managers of the Bureau to the American Bar Association, including the Treasurer's report, and both were, on motion, received, approved and ordered to be filed.

On motion of Edgar H. Farrar, of Louisiana, the Director appointed the following committee to nominate officers and managers for the ensuing year, namely: Edgar H. Farrar, David Werner Amram, W. E. Walz, W. O. Hart and B. E. Barlow, who, after retiring for consideration, returned and reported the following nominations:

For Director: Simeon E. Baldwin, of Connecticut.

For Secretary: William W. Smithers, of Pennsylvania.
For Treasurer: Eugene C. Massie, of Virginia.

For Managers: Frederick W. Lehman, of Missouri; Andrew A. Bruce, of North Dakota; William Draper Lewis, of Pennsylvania; Roscoe Pound, of Massachusetts; John H. Wigmore, of Illinois.

These respective nominees were thereupon unanimously elected for the ensuing year.

On motion the Bureau then adjourned.



NOTE.--In accordance with By-law XV, William H. Taft, President of the American Bar Association, appointed the following gentlemen to act as Managers of the Comparative Law Bureau during the ensuing year, 1913-14: Stephen S. Gregory, of Illinois; Edgar H. Farrar, of Louisiana; Frederic D. McKenney, of District of Columbia; Frank B. Kellogg, of Minnesota.




Herbert Spencer tells us that all progress in human development is from the homogeneous to the heterogeneous. Be this as it may for individuals, I cannot but think that nations tend, according to the degree of their civilization, towards the same standards of right and duty; certainly as to international relations; measurably as to their domestic institutions.

Let me call your attention, first, to what has been done during the past year, even while wars, public or civil, have raged in almost every continent, towards the advancement of what makes for a good understanding between nations as to matters of com

mon concern.


The Institute of International Law has begun active work in advising the Division of International Law of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.

Its recommendations made last fall, through its consultation committee appointed for the purpose, propose a contribution towards the support of a summer school of international law at the Hague, with paid scholarships, as well as paid instructors; the scholars to be selected either by their governments or on the basis of comparative theses. The presence on this committee of such authorities in international private law as Professor von Bar of Göttingen and Professor Rolin of Ghent is a guarantee that the instruction in that branch and in all that belongs both to that and to comparative law will not be omitted.

The institute, at its Christiania meeting in September, 1912, voted unanimously in favor of the project of the last Hague conference for an international court of arbitral justice.

« ForrigeFortsett »