Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

who were educated here for the ministry. At the extinction of the Jesuits' Order, the members of the QUEBEC SEMINARY, although the institution was in distressed circumstances, threw open its doors to the youth of the country generally. Professorships were established, and all the ordinary branches of literature and science began to be taught. The buildings were twice burned to the ground, during the life of its venerable founder, who had resigned his Bishopric, and retired to the Seminary; where he spent the last twenty years of his useful and pious life-he died on the 6th May, 1708. The first fire took place on the 15th November, 1701, during the absence of most of the priests. The Bishop escaped half dressed, and, with the other ecclesiastics, was received into the Bishop's Palace. Not discoura

Not discouraged by the destruction of this offspring of his piety and munificence, · he determined that no means should be left untried

to rebuild it. A strong representation was made to the Court; and a yearly pension of four thousand livres was granted as an aid towards its re-establishment. After four years labor had been bestowed upon it, it was again set on fire, on the 1st October, 1705, by the carelessness of a workman, whose pipe communicated to some combustible matter. On this occasion Bishop De Laval retired to the Jesuits' College. The SEMINARY was rebuilt, but was destined to be almost totally destroyed during the siege of 1759, previous to the battle of the Plains of Abraham. Its disasters were even not yet complete, for it was once more partially consumed by fire in 1772.

The authority of the Seminary resides in a Board of Directors, five or seven in number, one of whom is Superior, elected triennally. The other officers are

the Superior's two assistants, the Procureur, a director of the theological department, or Grand-Séminaire, the two directors, or rather, the director and principal Préfet des Etudes of the College, and the Steward, Assistant-Procureur. All these, except the last, are appointed yearly by the Board of Directors. Besides the five or seven directors, there are, or may be several aggregate, or associate members of the establishment.

The members of the establishment receive no emoluments--they consecrate themselves, gratuitously, to one of the most arduous as well as of the most meritorious works, the education of youth. All the Institution guarantees to them is “ food and raiment,” in sickness and in health-they make no special vows—hence they are at liberty to leave the Institution, when ever health or any other important cause requires it. . Except the Superior, the Procureur and Assistant-Procureur, they are all commonly engaged in teaching either divinity or the sciences.

The present number of Professors is as follows: three for the theological part, or Grand-Séminaire ; and twelve, including the Préfet des Etudes, or Principal for the College. The annual number of pupils is 260, of whom 110 are boarders--the others board at home, or with some relation in town.

The branches of education taught are chiefly, French, English, Latin and Greek; Geography; Arithmetic; ancient and modern History, both sacred and profane; Latin poetry; Belles-Lettres, Rhetoric, and a very extensive course of Philosophy, which includes Logic, Metaphysics, Ethics, Algebra, Geometry, occasionally Conic Sections, Astronomy, Natural Philosophy, Chemistry, Architecture, &c.;

to which must be added lessons in Natural History, Mineralogy, Geology, Drawing, Music, &c.

The collegial course is divided into nine classes, occupying so many years—boys who can read and write are admitted into the first or elementary class with higher qualifications, they are allowed to enter into more advanced classes-boys of superior talents will of course complete their studies in less time.

In this Institution no payment is made for tuition -the boarders pay £17 10s. yearly, but of that som a deduction is made for all absences of eight days or more. The day scholars pay 10s, in the fall, and a like sum in the spring, for wood, candles, &c. A small salary is paid to professors who are not members of the establishment.

The annual public exercises are very splendid and interesting—they are attended by crowds of the most respectable citizens—the Governor-in-Chief, if not absent from town, usually assists at the distribution of prizes with which the exercises close.

The commencement or vacation takes place about the 15th August. The pupils return at the expiration of six weeks.

The funds of the Seminary hardly suffice for its support. It has, however, by means of long and strict economy, and still more by large sums of money arising from the sale of property given to the Institution by several rich individuals in France, previously to the French Revolution, and partly recovered since the restoration of the Bourbons, been rebuilt upon a much larger plan, since 1820.

The Seminary buildings, including the Chapel, are divided into four wings, three stories, and in some parts four stories high. Three of these wings inclose a spacious court, where the pupils spend their

hours of recreation. The fourth wing, instead of completing the square, turns out at right angles with the central one, and faces with it a large and beautiful garden. The latter is one hundred and seventy yards long and two hundred broad, containing seven acres of ground. It faces the grand battery and overlooks the harbor. It includes several rows of planted fruit trees, lilachs, &c. ; a bocage of forest trees, and a terrace from which the view of the basin and of the surrounding scenery is most magnificent.

The whole length of the Seminary buildings on three of its sides is seventy yards. The fourth wing is fifty yards long. They are in width forty-two feet, except the old or central wing, which is only thirty feet wide. The interior is traversed at each story by immense corridors leading to the halls, dormitories, refectories, classes, apartments of the Priests and of the Bishop, who resides in the Seminary. In the Bishop's antichamber are suspended the portraits of his twelve predecessors.

The Chapel of the SEMINARY, the vestibule of which is at the grand entrance to the buildings from the Cathedral and market square, contains the best collection of paintings to be seen in the country, of the French school and by eminent masters. They are, The flight of Joseph to Egypt, by Jean Baptiste Vanloo, a French portrait painter, who died in 1746. He was the brother of Carlo Vanloo, in great esteem at Paris. Jean Baptiste Vanloo was painter to the King of France. He went to England, and became the favorite painter in London. His pictures are natural, thoroughly finished, and in no part neglected. The wise men of the East adoring the Saviour, by Bourieu ;-The Saviour's sepulchre and interment, by Hutin ;-The Ascension of the Lord Jesus,- The

Day of Pentecost,--and St. Jerome writing, by the brothers Champagnés. These were both eminent artists, uncle and nephew, and natives of Brussels : Philip was a landscape painter and died in 1674. He was painter to the Queen of France, and member of the Academy of Painting. He designed correctly, had an agreeable tone of color, and well understood the principles of perspective. His nephew, Jean Baptiste Champagné, died in 1688. He was a good artist, and studied under his uncle. He was professor of the Royal Academy. The trance of St. Anthony, by Panocel d'Avignes :-Peter's deliverance from prison, by Charles De la Fosse, a French painter, who died in 1716. He was a disciple of Le Brun, and was sent by Louis XIV. to finish his studies at Rome. He imitated Titian and Paolo Veronese, and became an excellent colorist. He was fond of large compositions, and much employed in royal palaces and public buildings. He was invited to England by the Duke of Montague, and employed by him in ornamenting his townhouse, now the British Museum. The Baptism of Christ, by Claude Guy Hallé : The terror of St. Jerome at the recollection of a vision of the day of Judgment, by D’Hullin : The Egyptian Hermits in the solitude of Thebais, and another on the same subject, by Guillot: The Virgin ministered unto by Angels, by De Dieu : The Saviour, and the Woman of Samaria at Jacob's well, by Lagrenée : A large figure of the Saviour on the Cross, by Monet;-and above the altar, a small oval picture, representing two Angels, by Charles Le Brun, an illustrious French painter of Scottish extraction, who died in 1690. He is reported to have drawn figures with charcoal at three years old. At twelve, he drew a

T

« ForrigeFortsett »