« ForrigeFortsett »
“ The Governor-in-Chief having found it necessary to appropriate to military purposes the room in the Jesuits' Barracks, which has hitherto been made use of by the Presbyterian congregation at Quebec, as a place of worship, I have it in command from His Excellency to desire, that, till a more permanent provision for their accommodation can be made, you will allow the said congregation to assemble on the Sundays in the lower room of the Court House, in which the Justices of the Peace hold their Sittings."
On the 30th November, 1808, letters patent were issued by His Excellency Sir James Henry Craig, Knight of the Most Honorable Order of the Bath, granting, as a place for the erection of a Church for the public worship or exercise of the religion of the Church of Scotland, a certain lot or piece of ground in St. Anne's Street, Upper Town, unto Alexander Spark, John Blackwood, John Mure, David Munro, and John Paterson, and their successors, in trust for ever,
In the month of February, 1809, the Committee appointed by the congregation to solicit subscriptions, reported that the sum of £1547, currency, had been subscribed, and such farther subscriptions expected, that they considered themselves authorized to contract for the building of a Church on their lot, sixty feet by forty, inside the walls - which, being finished, was consecrated and set apart by the name of Saint Andrew's Church, for the ordinances of christian worship, on the 30th November, 1810, by the late Rev. Dr. Spark.
Dr. Spark died suddenly on the 7th March, 1819. The Rev. Dr. Harkness, the present incumbent, was ordained as his successor by the Presbytery of Ayr in Scotland, on the 7th March, 1820, and
preached for the first time to the congregation on the 4th June following.
In the year 1821, the Church being found far from adequate to the accommodation of its members, a Petition was presented by the Trustees to His Excellency the Earl of Dalhousie, for an additional space of ground to enable them to enlarge it-with which His Excellency was graciously pleased to comply, and also to grant an aid of £300 currency, out of the monies arising from the Jesuits' Estates, besides
generously subscribing £50 currency, towards carrying the same into effect.
The enlargement was completed in May, 1824, and with the exception of the above mentioned sums, cost the congregation by voluntary subscription nearly £2300 currency. The Church, as it now stands, is 95 feet by 48 inside the walls, and can accommodate 1300 sitters. The number of communicants exceeds 300 : upwards of 260 individuals received the Sacrament of the Lord's Supper in the Church, on the 2d day of March last. The Trustees are incorporated by an Act of the Provincial Parliament, which was assented to by His Majesty in Council, on the 31st January, 1831, and the royal assent thereto was signified by the proclamation of His Excellency the Governor-inChief, on the 29th April, 1831.
A school, in connection with the Church, was erected by the Trustees in the year 1831, who received in aid of the building, the liberal sum of £400 currency, from the Provincial Legislature. The school is under the management and direction of six members of the Church, chosen annually by ballot at a general meeting of the congregation, held on the first Sunday in the month of May, in the Church
immediately after divine service in the forenoon, when a report of the proceedings of the Committee for the previous twelve months is furnished by the Secretary. The number of scholars now in attendance is 112. The present teachers are Mr. Seaton, and his assistant, Mr. Laurie.
There is also a Sunday School in connexion with the Church, which meets every Sunday at half-past 9 o'clock, and is numerously attended.
The late Dr. Spark had an allowance from Government of £50 sterling per annum, which has been continued to his successor.
This is the only provision as yet made by Government for the Clergy of the Church of Scotland in Lower Canada, with the exception of a similar sum allowed annually to the Senior Clergyman of Saint Gabriel's Church, Montreal, although the Presbytery of Quebec consists, at present, of twelve regularly ordained Clergymen of the Church of Scotland.
In 1830, the congregation of Saint John's Church, (previously an independent or congregational Chapel,) professing themselves to be willing to conform to the doctrine, discipline and laws of the Church of Scotland, made application to the Glasgow Colonial Society for Missionary purposes, to send them out a regularly ordained Clergyman to be their Pastor, and in consequence, the Rev. Mr. Clugston was ordained to that Church by the Presbytery of Forfar in Scotland. The present number of communicants is from 120 to 130,
ST. JOHN'S CHURCH.
This building stands in St. Francis Street, and is without ornament. It was erected in the year 1816,
It is now,
and up to the year 1830, it had been occupied as a place of worship by Congregationalists. and has been since the date last specified, a place of worship in connexion with the Church of Scotland, and is named St. John's Church. The Minister and Trustees of St. John's Church were incorporated by Act of Parliament in the year 1831.
ST. PATRICK'S CHURCH.
The Irish Catholics of Quebec, finding by the rapid increase of their number, that they could no longer conveniently assemble for public worship in the small Church of the Lower Town, came to the spirited determination of building a Church on an extensive scale, which would afford accommodation to all the Catholics of the City and Suburbs, using the English language. To effect this, they called a general meeting of all the members of their body, and immediately opened a subscription, which to the everlasting honor of their fellow citizens of every denomination, met with the strongest marks of public approbation, evinced by the gratifying circumstance, that many of the most generous subscribers to the undertaking were Protestants.
In the fall of 1831, a spacious lot of ground in rear of Palace Street was purchased for the sum of £2,300; and in the month of June following, the corner-stone of St. PATRICK'S CHURCH was laid with the usual ceremony. This circumstance took place just at the ever memorable time when that dreadful scourge, the Cholera Morbus, first burst upon the inhabitants of Quebec. The spirit and zeal of the Congregation on this trying occasion are beyond
praise, for their persevering magnanimity in prosecuting the undertaking through all the unforeseen difficulties which arose out of the panic created in the public mind by that desolating pestilence-so that in the short space of twelve months the building was ready for dedication, which ceremony took place on the first Sunday in July, 1833, amid the hearty rejoicings and thanksgivings of a generous people.
St. Patrick's CHURCH is a fine substantial stone building, covering an area of 136 feet by 62. It fronts St. Helen Street, and is entered by three well moulded doors, the largest of which is in the tower, the other two in the side aisles, besides the two entrances to the east and west. It is lighted on each side by a double tier of windows well made and admirable proportion. The roof and galleries are supported by massive pillars with bases and capitals
. The ceiling is to be 48 feet high, richly embossed and ornamented with scriptural emblems. The steeple is handsome and well proportioned, and stands 120 feet from the ground to the ball which supports the cross.
There are very extensive and mag. nificent galleries round the inside, terminating over the Sanctuary, furnished with a triple range of elegant pews, which, with those of the ground flat, are calculated to accommodate an immense congregation.
The interior of this Church when finished, comprising pillars, columns, arches, ceilings, the grand variegated altar, tabernacle and canopy, the adorned Sanctuary, the flank and end windows, organ, &c. with all their varied tracery, will present a coup d'ail, to strike the beholder with religious awe and admiration,