« ForrigeFortsett »
There is attached to this Church, under the patronage of the Pastor, the Rev. Mr, McMahon, a Christian Doctrine Society, whose duty it is to instruct the youth of the congregation in the principles and duties of their religion. The members of this Society have founded a circulating library, consisting of religious and moral works, for the benefit of the congregation, a circumstance highly creditable to the zeal and public spirit of the Irish Catholics of Quebec.
The Wesleyan Methodists have a Chapel situated in St. Anne Street in the Upper Town. This building was erected in 1816, and is, both in the exterior and interior, extremely plain. The congregation is generally as large as can be comfortably accommodated; and it has been in contemplation to remove the present, and erect a larger edifice in the same place.
They have also a smaller Chapel in Champlain Street in the Lower Town. This was built in 1830, and was intended to afford the means of grace to such of the sailors who visit this port during the summer, as were disposed to attend divine worship.
There are two Sabbath Schools connected with these Chapels; and the number of children attending each, with the attention they give to the instruction with which they are furnished, afford much encouragement to those by whom they are conducted.
CHAPTER THE TWELFTH.
THE INTENDANT'S PALACE-THE BISHOP'S PALACE
-THE PARLIAMENT HOUSE-OTHER REMARKABLE BUILDINGS.
Next to that of the GOVERNOR GENERAL, the office of INTENDANT was of the greatest importance and celebrity in QUEBEC. It was established by the Proclamation of the KING OF FRANCE, in 1663, erecting the Sovereign Council for the affairs of the Colony, which consisted of the Governor General, the Bishop, the Intendant, four Councillors, to be named by the preceding, with an Attorney General and chief Clerk. The number of Councillors was afterwards encreased to twelve.
The authority of the INTENDANT was, indeed, little inferior to that of the GOVERNOR, except in being judicial, not executive. He had the superintendance of four departments ; namely, of Justice, Police, Finance and Marine. The INTENDANT was declared to be President of the Sovereign Council, leaving, however, the first place to the GOVERNOR, and the second to the Bishop. This caused great displeasure to the GOVERNOR, on whose continued representations it was afterwards ordered, in 1680, that the GOVERNOR and INTENDANT should assume no other quality in the Council than that of their re
spective offices. LA POTHERIE, who visited QUEBEC in 1698, says, that the GOVERNOR was then merely an honorary Councillor. He sat at the upper end of a round table, meaning most probably at the part farthest removed from the door. The BISHOP sat on his right, also an honorary Councillor, and the INTENDANT on the left. The latter performed the office of President, although he had not the title. The Councillors themselves were seated according to seniority, and all wore their swords. The INTENDANT collected the votes, beginning with the junior Councillor, and finishing with the Governor Ge
He then gave his own opinion, and pronounced the judgment of the Council. In LE BEAU's time, who visited QUEBEC in 1729, the arrangement of the seats was somewhat different. The Councillors were then twelve in number, nearly all merchants of the Lower Town. 66 The INTENDANT,” he says, 5 claimed the right of presiding in the Council ; but the GOVERNOR GENERAL took his seat in the Hall of Justice, in such a situation as to be opposite the INTENDANT, with the Councillors, or Judges, arranged on either side : so that they both seemed to preside in an equal degree.” The INTENDANT named originally by the King was M. ROBERT, whose commission was dated 21st March, 1663. This gentleman, however, never arrived in Quebec; and the first INTENDANT was M. De Talon, who arrived in 1665, with the Marquis De Tracy, and the Carignan Regiment. Of this gentleman the most honorable mention is made in the annals of the country. The following anecdote has been handed down, of his first arrival in QUEBEC. Previous to his leaving France, the Superior of the Hotel Dieu had written to him, recommending that Community to his protection.
On the next day after his arrival, with the true gallantry of a French gentleman, he determined to assure her in person of his good wishes, but first put in practice a little ruse, which, as the story runs, redounded, in the denouement, both to his own and to the credit of the Superior. Coming to the Nunnery, without equipage and plainly dressed, he requested to speak with the Superior, without giving any name.
The Superior approached, accompanied by a Nun, the Mother Marie de la Nativité,—when assuming the character of his own gentleman or valet, he assured them in the most polite and well conceived terms of the respect and interest which M. DE Talon had always felt towards their Community, and promised on his part that nothing should be wanting to promote their welfare. As he spoke admirably, with great confidence and earnestness of manner, the other Nun, who was a person of sagacity, making a sign to the Superior, replied, that she was not deceived in believing him to be of higher rank than that which he chose to assume,
On M. DE Talon's requesting to be informed, what there was about him to induce her to entertain such an opinion, the clever Nun made answer, that there was that in his language and appearance which convinced her that she had the honor of speaking to the INTENDANT himself. On this he acknowledged his attempt at dissimulation, and his great satisfaction at receiving so elegant and so obliging a compliment. It may be imagined that the result of this interview was a lasting friendship between the Intendant and the Community. He was mainly instrumental some years afterwards, in rebuilding the Hotel Dieu on a more extended scale, as described in our account of that