« ForrigeFortsett »
quarters in the fort which Jacques Cartier had left. The accounts of the early writers are very vague as to distances in leagues.
By a typographical error in page 66, Roberval is said to have sailed from Newfoundland “about the end of June, 1543" The year should be 1542.
JACQUES CARTIER was bo at St. Malo, about 1500. The day of his birth cannot be discovered, nor can the time or place of his death. Most probably he finished his useful life at St. Malo; for we find, under the date of the 29th November, 1549, that the celebrated navigator, with his wife Catherine Des Granges, founded on obit in the Cathedral of St. Malo assigning the sum of four francs for that purpose. His life was written by the Abbé Monet, but we have not been able to find it in this country. The mortuary registers of St. Malo, make no mention of his death, nor is there any tradition on the subject.
Roberval on the way to Saguenay-Page 68.]
This must not be understood as the river of that name, but the supposed Province of Saguenay, which was to be reached by ascending the St. Lawrence to Hochelaga, and thence by the Ottawa
[Champlain taken a prisoner of war to England, p. 108.]
This is incorrect: he was taken to England by capitulation on his way to France, but staid voluntarily some time in London.
[ Quebec has not to the ear any sound of an Indian word, p. 118.]
Since this chapter was at press, we have been favored with a copy of Les Avantures de Sicur Le Beau, who arrived in Quebec, in June, 1729, a few years after Charlevoix. Le Beau gives the strongest testimony that this latter writer was entirely misinformed when he gave to the word, Quebec,
an Indian derivation. Le Beau says: "Moreri se trompe fortement, lorsqu'il avance dans son dictionnaire, que cette ville se trouve ainsi nommée de la hauteur de sa montagne, parce que, dit cet auteur, les sauvages appellent Québec, les hauteurs ou élévations de terrain: Ce qui me parait faux, d'autant plus que m'étant informé par curiosité de l'Etymologie de ce nom, aux sauvages mêmes avec qui je me suis trouvé dans la suite, et qui possedoient différentes langues barbares, ils me répondirent, que le nom de Québec étoit François : qu'ils ne connoissoient aucun mot sauvage qui sonnât de cette façon, et qu'ils savoient bien, que les Algonkins, les Abenakis, les Iroquois, et les Hurons appelloient autre fois cette montagne Stadaka." This is the best evidence yet produced on the subject, and establishes that Quebec was not an Indian word. Le Beau, for want of a better, adopts the derivation from Quel bec!
In conclusion of the suggestion that Quebec was adopted from the Indian name of the little River Coubat, La Potherie expressly tells us that it was the Point which gave the name to Quebec. Speaking of the Seminary, he says: "Il est sur la plateforme de la Pointe qui donna le nom de Québec." Now this Point is at the confluence of the little River with the St. Charles; and it was on this Point that the French first heard what they considered the name of Quebec. They might easily have mistaken therefore the name of the river for that of the Point.
[Michael de la Pole, an eminent Merchant in Hull, p. 119.]
The father of the first Earl of Suffolk was a Mérchant at Ravensburg, formerly a flourishing town of trade at the mouth of the Humber; but having removed to the new town of Kingston-upon-Hull, in the time of Edward III., gave that King a magnificent entertainment, when, in the sixth year of his reign he even mortgaged his estate for his Royal Master's use. Such services could not go unrewarded by so generous and successful a Prince. Sir William was made Knight Banneret in the field, and had settled on him and his heirs lands at Kingston to the value of five hundred marks a year. Upon his return to England, the grant was made a thousand marks per annum. He was finally made Chief Baron of the Exchequer.
Sir William de la Pole died in 1356, after he had begun a Monastery, at Hull, for the Carthusians. His son, Sir Michael
was made Lord Chancellor by Richard II. He finished the Monastery, and founded likewise the Hospital called God's HOUSE. He built also a stately Palace, on being created Earl of Suffolk, which honor he obtained in right of his wife Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Sir John Wingfield, who married the heiress of Gilbert Granville, Earl of Suffolk. In 1388, he was impeached of high treason, and fled for his life to France where he died. His grandson was the possessor of the seal, of which a plate is given at page 118.
John de la Pole married the sister of Edward IV. and so becoming allied to the Royal blood, was by that means, exposed to various misfortunes.
The famous Cardinal de la Pole, who flourished in the reign of Mary, descended from the marriage above mentioned.
The old Hospital, at Hull, called GOD'S HOUSE, was pulled down in 1643, and rebuilt in 1673. The arms of the de la Poles, being found among the ruins, were placed over the door of the Hospital, with this inscription:
DEO ET PAUPERIBUS POSUIT
MICHAEL DE LA POLE, 1384.
Champlain arrived at Plymouth as a prisoner of war, p. 136.] See Note 7.
[Sir William Phipps-Page 140.J
Most of the Peerages fall into the error of stating that the family of MULGRAVE is descended from Sir WILLIAM PHIPPS, the inventor of the Diving Bell, who in reality, as we find on further enquiry, left no issue. In the reign of CHARLES 1. Colonel Phipps raised a regiment on his estate in Lincolnshire, joined the Cavaliers and fell in battle. His grandson, Sir Constantine Phipps, was Lord Chancellor of Ireland during the latter years of Queen ANNE, and his great grandson, Sir Constantine's son, married the heiress of the Duchess of Buckinghamshire, who was natural daughter of KING JAMES II. Lady Katherine Phipps succeeded to the estates of her brother, the young Duke of Buckinghamshire, among which
was MULGRAVE Castle in Yorkshire, whence the subsequent title. We mention this for the sake of correcting the error into which we were led by the Peerage.
[It has been stated that there are five gates-Page 169.]
Before the conquest there were only three Gates to the City of Quebec: St. John's, St. Lewis, and that at the end of Palace-street; which was contrived in the rock, flanked on one side by a bastion, and guarded on the other by batteries erected in a large building, which was used as a Barrack, now the Ordnance Stores. Between the rock in Mountain-street and the flank of the Bishop's Palace, there was a Barrier of pickets only, where Prescott Gate now stands; and the same probably at Hope Gate, which last is not noticed in a Plan of Quebec, dated in 1752, with which we have been favored.
[They ceded their property on the St. Charles-Page 181.]
From General MURRAY's Report, made in 1762, it would appear that the Recollets, some years before the conquest, had a house and church in St. Roch's, on the site of which part of the Intendant's buildings was erected. The Recollets acted as Chaplains to the army.
[The Jesuits were deprived of their silver Chalices, p. 187.]
In Rymer's Fadera, under the date, 5th March, 1630, in the fifth year of Charles I, is this entry:
"Commissio specialis Humfrido May et aliis, de scrutinio faciendo pro Mercandisis, Bonis, &c. captis per Capitaneum Kertke à Gallis apud Fortalitium Kebec.”
[The Isle of Orleans then uninhabited—Page 197.]
The Isle of Orleans was in 1676 created an Earldom, by the title of St. Laurent, which, however, has long been ex
tinct. The first Comte de St. Laurent was of the name of Berthelet.
[In 1696 considerable additions were made-Page 203.]
General MURRAY mentions in his Report, that the Hotel Dieu had been again burned a few years before the conquest.
[The Intendant's Palace-Page 247.]
The last Intendant was M. BIGOT. His estimate, transmitted from Canada to France, on the 29th August, 1758, for the service of the following year, amounted to from thirty-one to thirty-three millions of livres. Twenty-four millions were actually drawn for before the taking of Quebec in September
Mr. James Thompson, then in his ninety-fifth year. p. 273.]
Mr. JAMES THOMPSON was not, we understand, actually present with the troops engaged in the battle of the Plains, being detached on duty. He was, however, WOLFE's companion in arms at Louisbourg and at Montmorenci; and though not actually on the spot, was doing duty with the army which captured Quebec. He was a Serjeant at the time. Afterwards he held an honorable station in the Engineer department, of which, enjoying perfect health and the possession of his facul ties, he discharged the duties to the last. He was frank and communicative, and every way an interesting old gentleman. He kept a Journal, now in the possession of his family, which must contain some interesting particulars of his long life. Lord Dalhousie, thinking him fully entitled at this late period to an honorable retirement, with characteristic benevolence, signified his disposition to interest himself with His Majesty's Government to procure Mr. Thompson a pension for the remainder of his days. The old gentleman politely acknowledged his sense of His Lordship's kindness, but preferred the continuance of his duties while strength remained sufficient to attend his office.