« ForrigeFortsett »
ESTABLISHED UNDER A CHARTER GRANTED
BY KING GEORGE III. IN 1800 ;
LIST OF THE MEMBERS, OFFICERS,
PATRONS, OFFICERS, AND PROFESSORS
SINCE ITS FOUNDATION.
At the First Meeting of the Managers held on March 9th, 1799, at the house of
SIR JOSEPH BANKS (in the Chair).
RICHARD CLARKE, Esq.
THOMAS BERNARD, Secretary. On June 29, 1799, “ The President (the Earl of Winchilsea) acquainted the
“ Managers that he had had the honour of mentioning this Institution to His “ Majesty : and that His Majesty was graciously pleased to honour it with “ His Patronage, and to allow it to be called the Royal INSTITUTION.”
Minutes of the Meeting.
PATRONS. 1799 His Majesty King GEORGE III. 1820 His Majesty King GEORGE IV. 1830 His Majesty King WILLIAM IV. 1837 Her Majesty QUEEN VICTORIA.
1843-62 H.R.H. THE PRINCE CONSORT.
1799 The Earl of Winchilsea.