« ForrigeFortsett »
Brychan stock, he would welcome Brynach as a kinsman by marriage. He received Brynach well, placed his sons under his tuition, and himself, inspired by the desire of leading an eremitical life, departed for Cornwall, "where, serving God, he gave up his happy soul to the Lord." 1
The place in Cornwall where he settled was in the valley of the Inny under the lofty hog's-back of Laneast Down, that cuts off the winds from the Atlantic. Here igneous rocks project like horns above the grassy valley, forming rock shelters beneath them. Perhaps he selected one of these, and put a screen in front to complete the shelter. Hard by a copious spring that never fails gushes out of the hillside. A sweeter spot could hardly have been selected; blue as the sky in the spring with wild hyacinths, and in the bottom the glittering stream winding along with a gentle murmur. Here to this day is the sanctuary, or sentry, and one rude granite cross remains marking its bounds.
In the eleventh century, perhaps earlier, the parish church of S. Clether was built further down the valley, on a height. Bishop Bronescombe re-consecrated the church that had been rebuilt, on October 23, 1259 » but it bears traces of earlier work.
The chapel of S. Clether, the original oratory of the Saint, was rebuilt in the fifteenth century, and the holy well reconstructed. The chapel is a building running east and west, and measures internally 19 feet 1 inch by 11 feet 4 inches. It possesses a door to the west, and another to the north. The holy well is situated 7 feet from the north-east angle of the chapel, and the water from it is conducted by a channel under the floor to the altar, beneath which it bubbled up, and then ran away and fell over a sill at the south-east end into a small (second) holy well, to which access was obtained from without.2
The idea was certainly taken from the description of the living waters in Ezek. xlvii, 1, 2. "He brought me again unto the door of the house; and, behold, waters issued out from under the threshold of the house eastward . . . and the waters came down from under from the right side of the house, at the south side of the altar . . . and, behold, there ran out waters on the right side."
The existing building is of the fifteenth century, but it is possibly a reconstruction out of the material of the original chapel. No mortar
1 "Pater vero senex valedicens, osculatusque omnibus, secessit in partes Cornubiae, ibidem Deo serviens beatam Domino reddidit animam." CambroBritish Saints, p. 9.
2 See S. Clether's Chapel and Holy Wells, by Rev. A. H. Malan, in Journal of the Royal Inst, of Cornwall, 189S, p. 541 ; and an article in The Cornish Magazine, Truro, 1898, p. 449.
had been employed in the masonry. The chapel and well, having fallen into ruin, were restored in 1898, and re-dedicated.
From S. Clether's, probably, the Saint moved south and settled at what is now called S. Cleer. Cleer is a possible substitute for Clether. There were two chapels of S. Cleer, or Clare, at Hartland in Devon, one at Pelham, the other at Gawlish. S. Nectan of Hartland was probably the uncle of S. Clether. There is a Cleder in Leon near Plouzevede, but the patron of the church is S. Quay, or Kea.
The Feast of S. Clether is on October 23, the day of the re-dedication of the church.
The probable true day of the Saint is August 19, and that of Clydog of Clodock, November 3. However, Nicolas Roscarrock gives November 4, and November 3 for Clitaucus.
The church at S. Clether appears in the Exeter Episcopal Registers as Ecclesia Sti. Clederi, Bronescombe, 1259, 1260-1 ; Sti. Cledri, Brantyngham, 1380.
S. CLODFAITH, Virgin
This Saint occurs in a few MSS. as a daughter of Brychan, but in none, we believe, of earlier date than the sixteenth century. In Peniarth MS. 178 (sixteenth century) she is given as a saint "in Emlyn," but in Llanstephan MS. 187 (circa 1634) as " in Talgarth, in the south." In these MSS. she has been mistaken for the Clydai and Gwen, respectively, of the Cognatio de Brychan. Nicolas Roscarrock also enters her in his Brychan list. The name is probably a misreading of Clydai.
S. CLOFFAN, Bishop, Confessor
Cloffan is said to have been of the race of the mythical Bran ab Llyr Llediaith, and a bishop in the time of Cystennin Fendigaid. His church, it is added, is in Dyfed.1 By it, no doubt, is meant Llangloffan, in Pembrokeshire, but there is no trace of a church there. It is in the parish of Jordanston ; but, as that church is usually said to be dedicated to a Welsh S. Cwrda, of whom, however, nothing is known, the church meant is presumably the neighbouring Granston 1 Iolo MSS., pp. 116, 136.
(S. Catherine). In an early seventeenth century list of Pembrokeshire manors we have " Stangnaveth alias Llangloffan." 1 Cloffan means a lameter, from doff, lame.
S. CLYDAI, Virgin
Clydai was a daughter of Brychan. There is a remarkable unanimity about this daughter. Her name appears in the two Cognatio versions and in practically all the later lists. Her church is stated to be in Emlyn. It is that of Clydai or Clydey, in north Pembrokeshire, which is known also as Swydd Clydai, swydd here being employed in the restricted sense of commote. Her festival occurs on All Saints' Day in the Demetian Calendar (denominated S), and in no other. It also gives a Clydvn or Clydau as a son of Brychan on November 3, clearly a misreading for Clydog, his grandson.
S. CLYDNO EIDDYN, Confessor
Clydno Eiddyn was a son of Cynwyd Cynwydion, of the race of Coel Godebog, and the brother of Cynan Genhir, Cynfelyn Drwsgl, and Cadrod Calchfynydd.2 He and his brothers, it is said, were disciples of S. Cadoc at Llancarfan. They were all northern chieftains, whose title to saintship rests entirely upon the late Achate'r Saint printed in the Iolo MSS. Eiddyn was the name of a district in which Din Eiddyn, now Edinburgh, and Caer Eiddyn, now Carriden, were situated. Clydno was the father of Cynon, Eurnaid, and Euronwy, the mother of S. Grwst.
No churches are dedicated to him, but he is associated with Carnarvonshire. There is a Cefn Cludno in that county, which is mentioned in the Mabinogi of Math ab Mathonwy.3 Rhisierdyn, an Anglesey bard of the early fourteenth century, refers to his prowess and daring in two of his poems.4
1 Owen, Pembrokeshire, i, pp. 399, 412.
2 Bonedd Gwyr y Gogledd; Iolo MSS., pp. 105, 128. With his name compare Gwyddno, Machno, Tudno, etc.
3 Ed. Rhys and Evans, p. 71. He was one of the Northern chieftains who invaded Arfon to avenge the death of Elidyr Mwynfawr (Welsh Laws, ed. Aneurin Owen, p. 50). 4 Myv. Arch., pp. 290-1.