and Alpes Graiæ, or Penninæ. Aquitanica was made three: Aquitania Prima, Secunda, and Novempopulania. Lugdunensis likewise three: Lugdunensis Prima, Secunda, and Maxima Sequanorum. And Belgica was turned into four: Belgica Prima, Secunda, Germanica Prima, and Secunda. Last of all, about the time of the Emperor Gratian, three more provinces were made out of these for Lugdunensis Tertia, otherwise called Turonia, was taken out of Lugdunensis Secunda, and Lugdunensis Quarta, or Senonia, out of Lugdunensis Prima, and the new province of Narbonensis Secunda out of the province of Vienna. And about this time, or a little after, Viennensis Secunda, otherwise called Arelatensis, was made a province also.

[ocr errors]

Some think also that Gallia had once the name of Septem Provincia, the Seven Provinces, because it was divided into so many but De Marca 13 proves this to be a vulgar error; for it never was divided into seven provinces, but sometimes we meet with the distinction of Gallia and the Five Provinces,' and Gallia and the Seven Provinces;' and, in the Notitia of the Empire, the word, seven provinces, is once put for seventeen, which occasioned the mistake. Now the Five Provinces were either nothing but so many parts of the old Gallia Narbonensis, viz. Narbonensis Prima, Secunda, Viennensis, Alpes Maritimæ, and Alpes Graiæ, as Berterius and De Marca and Quesnellus account them; or else the four first of those mentioned with the province of Novempopulania or Aquitania Prima, instead of Alpes Graiæ; which Mr. Pagi 14 shews to be the more probable opinion. So that when the Council of Valence, anno 374, inscribe their Synodical Epistle, Episcopis per Gallias et Quinque Provincias, these Five Provinces are to be understood. As also in Philastrius 15, where he speaks of the Priscillianists, the remains of the Manichees, 'sculking in Spain and the Five Provinces.' The like distinction occurs in the Letter of the Emperor Maximus, to Pope Siricius, and some of Symmachus's Epistles, which De Marca mentions. Afterward we meet with the distinction of Gallia and the Seven Provinces,' which occurs in the

13 De Primat. Lugdun. nn. 66... 68. (ad calc. Oper. pp. 47, seqq.) Concilium vero Valentinum, &c.

14 Crit. in Baron. an. 374. nn. 18 .. 20. (t. 1. p. 538.) Quinta Galli

arum divisio, &c.

15 Hær. 62. [al. 33.] Manich. (ap. Galland. t. 7. p. 490 b.) . . . . Qui et Hispania et Quinque Provinciis latere dicuntur.

[subsumed][ocr errors][graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors]

Letters of Pope Zosimus and Boniface, and is thought to owe its name to the Emperor Honorius, who ordered seven provinces to meet in the convention of Arles 16, viz. Narbonensis Prima and Secunda, Viennensis, Alpes Maritimæ, Aquitania, Prima and Secunda, and Novempopulania. These are sometimes distinguished from Gallia by the name of Septem Provincia, which occasioned the mistake of those who take Gallia in the largest extent and the Seven Provinces to be the same; whereas it appears, that there were not only seven, but seventeen or eighteen provinces in it.

The names of the bishoprics in each province, because they occur not in any modern Notitia, I will here subjoin out of Carolus à Sancto Paulo, who has collected them out of the Acts of the ancient Councils.

ceses in the


2. The first of these provinces was that of the Alpes Mari- Of the diotimæ, next to Italy, which had seven dioceses. 1. Ebredunum, province of Ambrun, [or rather Embrun,] made the metropolis of this Alpes Maprovince in the fifth century; for before it was not so, when it was laid to the charge of Armentarius, bishop of this see, that he was ordained without the consent of the metropolitan 17, which had been a frivolous accusation, had he himself then been metropolitan of the province. 2. Dinia, Digne. 3. Nicæa, Nice. 4. Cemelene, [or Cemelenensis Civitas,] Cimies, which was afterwards united to Nice; for, in the fifth Council of Orleans, Magnus subscribes himself bishop of both churches. Some say it was only six, others thirty miles from Nice. 5. Sanicium, [or Civitas Saniciensium,] Senez. 6. Glandata, [or Civitas Glannatina,] Glandeves, which Baudrand says is now translated to Intervallium, Entrevaux. 7. Ventio, Vence.

Graiæ, or

3. In the second province, called Alpes Graiæ, or Pennine, Alpes were but three bishoprics. 1. Darantasia, the metropolis, Penninæ. which see is now translated to Monasterium, or Moutiers en Tarantaise. 2. Octodurum, Martenach. 3. Sedunum, Syon

16 [Vid. Car. a Sanct. Paul. Geogr. Sacr. (p. 126.) Quæ autem fuerint hæ septem provinciæ, &c.— Ibid. (p. 131.) Sed longe fusius perfectiusque dignoscitur in Novella Imperatorum Honorii et Theodosii ad Agricolam, &c. ED.]

17 Vid. C. Reiens. [al. Regens.] c. 2. (t. 3. p. 1285 e.) Ebredunensi

ecclesiæ ante omnia mature visum
est consulendum.... Ordinationem,
quam canones irritam definiunt, nos
quoque evacuandam esse censuimus;
in qua prætermissa trium præsentia,
nec expetitis comprovincialium li-
teris, metropolitani quoque volun-
tate neglecta, prorsus nihil, quod
episcopum faceret, ostensum est.

Prima and

Narbonensis, Prima and Secunda.

Of Novempopulania.

en Valez, the bishop of which place is now prince of the city, as Baudrand 18 informs us.

4. The next province westward was Viennensis, divided into Prima and Secunda. In the first were six dioceses. 1. Vienna, the metropolis. 2. Geneva. 3. Gratianopolis, Grenoble. 4. Civitas Albensium, or Vivaria, and Alba Augusta, Viviers. 5. Mauriana, St. Jean de Maurienne. 6. Valentia, Valence. In the second, called also Provincia Arelatensis, were ten dioceses. 1. Arelatum, Arles, the metropolis. 2. Massilia, Marseilles. 3. Avenio, Avignon. 4. Cabellio, Cavaillon. 5. Carpentoracte, Carpentras. 6. Tolonium, or Telonium, Toulon. 7. Arausio, Orange. 8. Vasio, Vaison. 9. Dia, or Dea' Vocontiorum, Die. 10. Tricastini, or Augusta Tricastinorum, now called St. Paul de Trois Châteaux, which Baudrand 19 reckons three leagues from Avignon, and four from Vaison.

5. Out of the province of Vienna eastward was also taken another province, called Narbonensis Secunda, or Aquensis, from the metropolis of it, Aquæ Sextiæ, Aix; beside which, there were six other dioceses in the province. 2. Apta Julia, Apt. 3. Reii, Riez. 4. Forum Julii, Frejus. 5. Vipincum, Gap. 6. Segestero, Cisteron. 7. Antipolis, Antibes, since translated to Grassa, in Provence. On the west of Viennensis Secunda lay the province of Narbonensis Prima, which had ten dioceses. 1. Narbo. 2. Tolosa. 3. Bætiræ, Beziers. 4. Nemausum, Nismes. 5. Luteva, [or Civitas Lutevensium,] Lodeve. 6. Ucetia, [or Castrum Uceciense,] Uzes. 7. Carcaso, Carcassone. 8. Agatha, Agde. 9. Helena, Elne. 10. Magalona, an island of the Mediterranean, which see is since translated to Mons Pessulus, or Montpellier.

6. Westward of Narbonensis Prima lay the province of Novempopulania, along the Pyrenean Mountains, to the Aquitanic Ocean, wherein were eleven dioceses. 1. Elusa, Eause, [or Euse,] the metropolis, whence the province was styled Elusana. The see is since translated and joined to Augusta Ausciorum, which

18 [Ap. Ferrar. Lexic. Geogr. Paris. 1670.- Probably this has ceased to be the case. ED.]

19 [Ibid. voce, Tricastini. (t. 2. p. 283.) Tricastini populi fuere Galliæ Narbonensis .... Eorum urbs Augusta Tricastinorum vulgo S.

Paul dicitur, in colle una leuca a Rhodano dissita, et media fere inter montem Emarorum ad boream et Arausionem ad meridiem, 3. leucis utrimque, uti 4. a Vasione in Circium. Grischov.]

« ForrigeFortsett »