« ForrigeFortsett »
PROVOSTS OF TRINITY COLLEGE-. By the Charter of Charles I. the Provost of Trinity College is named by the Crown. By the Statutes”, he must be in holy orders, a Doctor or Bachelor in Divinity, and at least thirty years of age, The government of the University is placed in the hands of the Provost and the seven Senior Fellows of Trinity College, who are called, in the Statutes", Assessors to the Provost; and by their advice and assistance, the Provost is to transact all the “majora negotia” of the College. During the vacancy of the Provostship no elections can be made, nor leases, or other instruments requiring the College seal, signed.
Provosts since the Foundation, 1592. Adam Loftus, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Cambridge ; Arch.
bishop of Dublin ; Lord Chancellor of Ireland; came to Ireland as Chaplain to Thomas Earl of Sussex, Lord Deputy ; consecrated Archbishop of Armagh, 1562; made Dean of St. Patrick's, 1564; translated to Dublin, 1567; nominated Provost of Trinity College in the Charter of Elizabeth ; resigned June 5, 1594. Died at his Palace of St. Sepulchre's, April 5, 1605; buried in
St. Patrick's Cathedral. 1594. WALTER TRAVERS, Fellow of Trin. Coll., Cambridge; elected by
Henry Ussher, Vice-Provost, Luke Challoner, Lancelot Money, and William Daniell ; sworn Provost, Dec. 6; (Letters Patent dated June 5, 1594). Retired to England 1598, at breaking out
of Tyrone's rebelliond. 1601. HENRY ALVEY, of St. John's Coll., Cambridge; came to the Col
lege, Feb. 7, 1601; sworn Provost, Oct. 8; resigned 1609.
Died at Cambridge, Jan. 25, 16264. 1609'. William TEMPLE, LL. D., Fellow of King's Coll., Cambridge,
Master of the Free School, Lincoln ; Secretary to Sir Philip Sidney, and afterwards to Robert Earl of Essex, whom he attended to Ireland; sworn Provost Nov. 14, 1609; Master in Chancery, and first Representative in Parliament for the University; knighted 1622. Died Provost, Jan. 15, 1629; buried in the College Chapels.
• The following list of Provosts, Fellows, and Scholars was first published in the University Calendar for 1883. It was entirely due to the learning and research of the Rev. James H. Todd, D.D., now Senior Fellow; to whose kind assistance the present Editor is much indebted for many important corrections and additions. The list is now brought down to the present time. Cap. ii.
Cap. iv. Borlase, Reduction of Ireland, pp. 148-9. See also Fuller's Church History, b. ix. 215; Brooke's Puritans, ii. 314; Neal's History of the Puritans, vol i. • See Brooke's Puritans, ii. 85.
r. When the Provostship became vacant by the resignation of Alvey, it was offered by the Fellows to Ussher, but he declined the honour.* --Elrington's Life of Archbishop Ussher, p. 30. See his writings enumerated in Ware's Writers of Ireland, p. 338.
16274. WILLIAM BEDELL, B. D., Fellow of Emmanuel Coll.,
Cambridge ; sworn Provost Aug. 16; consecrated Bishop of Kilmore and Ardagh, Sept. 13, 1629, in St. Peter's Church, Drogheda. Died
Feb. 7, 1641; buried at Kilmoreb. 1629. ROBERT USSHER, D.D. Fellow of Trinity Coll., Dublin; elected
Oct. 3 ; sworn Provost, Jan. 14 following; resigned Aug. 11, 1634, being inducted into the Archdeaconry of Meath; conse
crated Bishop of Kildare, Feb. 25, 1635. 1634. WILLIAM CHAPPEL, B. D., Fellow of Christ's Coll., Cambridge ;
elected Provost Aug. 21, being then Dean of Cashel; sworn under the new Statutes, June 6, 1637; consecrated Bishop of Cork and Ross, in St. Patrick's, Dublin, Nov. 11, 1638; resigned Provostship, July 20, 1640€. Died at Derby, Whitsun
day, 1649; buried at Bilthorp, Nottinghamshired. 1640. RICHARD WASHINGTON, B.D., Fellow and Vicegerent of Univer
sity Coll., Oxford ; admitted Provost Aug. 1, by King's Letter; date of Patent, July 28, 1640. Fled Oct. 29, 1641, at the breaking out of the great Rebellione. Re-elected Fellow of University Coll. on a different foundation, Sept. 23, 1644. Died in
London, 16614. [1641. Dr. Faithful Tate and Dr. Dudley Loftus, Master in Chancery and
Judge of the Prerogative Court, were constituted temporarii subrectores, by the Lords Justices. Dr. Tate licensed to live in the Provost's buildings until His Majesty's pleasure be known
as to a new Provost.] 1644-5. ANTHONY MARTIN, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; edu
cated partly in France, partly in Emmanuel College, Cambridge; consecrated Bishop of Meath in 1625, and admitted Provost, Feb. 18, 1644-5. He continued to read the Liturgy in the College Chapel, in accordance with the Statutes, notwithstanding the order of the Parliamentary Commissionerss. In July,
' In Mede's works, book iv. p. 731, there is a letter signed by six Fellows, dated March 15, 1626-7, appointing Jos. Mede Provost. His autograph answer is preserved in the MS. Room.
See his Life by Bishop Burnet; and also Mant's Church History of Ireland, vol. i. P. 434, 569. His labours were of great benefit in Ireland, particularly in procuring the Canonical books of the Old Testament to be translated into the Irish language.
The Bible was printed in 1685, several years after his death.
Borlase, p. 161 ; Commons' Journal, vol. I. p. 353.
He wrote Methodos Concionandi, Lond. 1648; the Use of Holy Scripture, Lond. 1658. His Life in Latin verse, written by himself, is printed in Hearne's Tracts, vol. v. p. 261. He is said to have been author of The Whole Duty of Man.--Grainger's Biog. Hist., vol. ii. p. 218.
The following order was made by the Lords Justices on the retirement of Washington (Reg. p. 7.) Whereas we are informed that the Provost of the Colledg hath left his charge there, and hath embarked himselfe for England, we doe pray and require the Lord Bishop of Meth (A. Martin), and the Master of Rolles (Sir John Temple) to repaire unto the Colledge, and to take an accompt of the present estate of the same, and withall to take care to see all such plate as they have remaining there, to be carried into the Castle together with such summes of money as they can spare, to be there safely kept for their use. And we doe appoint Doctor Teat to take the government of the Colledge upon him, until it shall please his Majesty to make choise of a new Provost, requiring all the Felbwes and Schollars remaining there to give all due respect unto him, and to conforme to his directions, as they will answer the contrary before
us the Lords Justices and Counmell, at Dublin, 29th Oct. 1641.
* WM. PARSONS. JOHN BORLASE.
Jo. BOLTON, Canc. R. RANALAGH.
GERRARD LOW THER, See Wood's Athene Oxonienses.
1650, he died in the College, in great poverty, of the plague, which was then raging in Dublin, and was buried in the College
Chapel. [1652. SAMUEL WINTER, D.D., educated in Cambridge ; brought over as
Chaplain to the Commissioners for managing Irish Affairs, and made Provost about 1650-1. His appointment by Oliver Cromwell is dated June 3, 1652, under an Act " For the better Advancement of the Gospel and Learning in Ireland.” He was suspended by the Convention of Ireland for having never taken the Provost's oath, March 29, 1660. The Bishop of Clogher, the Lord Chief Baron, and Dr. Dudley Loftus appointed by the Convention to take care of the government of the Collegeb. Soon
after, he returned to England, where he died, 1666.] 1660-1. Thomas SEELE, B. D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin, admitted
Provost by Letters Patent, Jan. 19d; Dean of St. Patrick's', which he held with the Provostship, and Chaplain to Parliament.
Died Provost, Feb. 1, 1674-5; buried in the College Chapel. 1674-5. MICHAEL WARD, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; had been
Professor of Divinity in the University; Dean of Lismore, and
1679, and died there Oct. 3, 1681. 1678-9. NARCISSUS MARSH, D. D., educated at Oxford, and Principal of
St. Alban's Hall, 1673; admitted Provost by Letters Patent, Jan. 24, 1678; resigned Sept., 1683, being consecrated Bishop of Leighlin and Ferns, in Christ's Church, Dublin, May 6; translated to Cashel, Feb. 26, 1690; to Dublin, May 24, 1694 ;
and to Armagh, Feb. 18, 1702. Died Nov. 2, 1713 1688. ROBERT HUNTINGDON, D. D., Fellow of Merton Coll. Oxford; ad
mitted Provost by Letters Patent, Sept. 24; in 1688 he retired to England, the College being seized on by the soldiers of James II., but afterwards returned and continued in his office till Aug. 1692, when, accepting a benefice in England, he resigned the Provostship; he was consecrated Bishop of Rapboe,
He is called "Provost of the Colledge" in a private grace for the degree of B. D.. passed in his favour by the Fellows, Nov. 18, 1651. - Reg. p. 45.
Reg. p. 47. • He published while in Dublin Sermons on Infant Baptism, Dub., 1656, 12mo. His Life was published after his death, Lond., 1671. His private memorandum book (MS.) is preserved in the College Library.
See an order of the Lords Justices to Thomas Seele, dated Nov. 6, 1660, authorizing him to take upon him the government of the College, although his patent had not yet arrived ( Reg. p. 47). “ By virtue of which Commission Mr. Thomas Seele repayred to the College, and beganne to regulate it in a prudentiall way, so farre forth as one not yet sworne could do in a place wonderfully disjoynted and out of order for many years.".. (Reg. p. 48.). "The King promoted Seele on account of the ample testimony he had received of his learning and piety, as also of his fitness and
ability to exercise this office of Provost, he having been trained up from his youth in that Society, and thereby well acquainted with the laws and Statutes, and experienced in the best ways and means of governing the said Society, and causing the Students therein to be trained up in learning, piety, and good manners. "-Liber Mun. Hib., p. 97.
"See Mason's History of St. Patrick's Cathedral, p. 196, el seq.
and notes Oxford, 1678; and while Provost he published, “Institutiones Logicæ in usum Juventutis Acad. Dubliniensis," Dublin, 1681, 8vo.; a Charge to the Clergy of Dublin, 1694,1 4to, and several scientific papers in the Philosophical Transactions. He was the munificent founder of Marsh's Library, Dublin, having purchased the entire library of Bishop Stilo
Aug. 20, 1701, in Christ's Church, Dublin, and died twelve
days after, Sept. 2; he was buried in the College Chapela. [In 1689 Michael Moore, D. 'D., a secular priest of the Church of Rome,
having been recommended by Tyrconnell to James II., prevailed on that monarch to abandon his design of converting the College into a seminary of Jesuits, and was placed over the College by the unanimous advice of the Romish Prelates. To his exertions is due the preservation of the Library and Manuscripts at a time when the College was occupied as a barrack by Popish soldiers, the Chapel employed as a magazine, and many of the chambers as prisons for Protestants. Soon after he lost the King's favour, in consequence of a sermon he preached against the Jesuits, and retired to Paris, and from thence to Rome. He was afterwards Rector of the University of Paris, and died
Aug. 22, 17265.] 1692. ST. GEORGE Ash, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll. Dublin, and Professor
of Mathematics; admitted Provost by Letters Patent of William and Mary, Oct. 3; consecrated Bishop of Cloyne, July, 1695, in Christ's Church, Dublin; translated to Clogher, June 1, 1697,
and to Derry, Feb. 1716. He died Feb. 17, 17176. 1695. GEORGE BROWNE, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll. Dublin ; admitted
Provost by Letters Patent, July 22. He died in the College on
Trinity Sunday, June 4, 1699. 1699. PETER BROWNE, B. D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin ; admitted
Provost by Letters Patent, Aug. 19; consecrated Bishop of Cork and Ross in the College Chapel, April 8, 1710. Died at Cork,
Aug. 25, 17354 1710. BENJAMIN PRATT, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; admitted
Provost by Letters Patent from Queen Anne, June 3; resigned
June 17, 1717, being made Dean of Down. 1717. RICHARD BALDWIN, D. D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin, and Vice
Provost; admitted Provost pursuant to Letters Patent of George
Chapel, Oct. 4. 1758. The Right Hon. FRANCIS ANDREWS, LL. D., Fellow of Trin.
Coll., Dublin ; admitted Provost by Letters Patent, dated Oct. 28; Member of Parliament for the city of Derry. Died Provost, June 12, 1774.
lingfleet, and a large collection of Rabbinical books, with many MSS.,-all of which, together with his own previously collected library, he directed to be applied for this purpose. * His Life was written in Latin, by Thomas Smith, D.D.
See Ware's Writers, pp. 288-9; Mac Geoghegan, Hist. d'Irlande, vol. ill. p. 483. * See his works, enumerated in Ware's Writers, p. 271. • A list of his writings is given in Ware's Writers, pp. 296-7. . His will, dated September 21, 1758, and entered in the College Register, contains the following clauses :--"I give and bequeath to the Provost, Fellows, and Scholars of TriLuty College, Dublin, the sum of twenty-four thousand pounds, to be disposed of by them for the use of the said College. I give, devise, and bequeath unto the Provost, Fellows, and Scholars of Trinity College, Dublin, all my real estates in the counties of Wicklow, King's County, Kildare, Meath, and Down, to hold to them and their successors for
College Register, June 23, 1774, p. 284. “Mr. Gamble on Sunday last, the 19th inst., lotified to the Vice-Provost, that on the day before, he had received a certain account, that Doctor Francis Andrews, Provost of this College, died at Shrewsbury in England, on Sunday, the 12th instant." By his will, he bequeathed to the Provost, Fellows, and Scho
1774. THE Right Hon. John HELY: HUTCHINSON, LL. D., educated in
Trin. Coll., Dublin, but not a Fellow; admitted Provost by Letters Patent of George III., July 15; Member of Parliament for the City of Cork, and Secretary of State. Died Provost, Sept. 4,
1794, at Buxton. 1795. RICHARD MURRAY, D. D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; Pro.
fessor of Mathematics, and Vice-Provost; admitted Provost by Letters Patent, Jan. 29. Died Provost, June 20, 1799, and was
buried in the College Chapel. 1799. John KEARNEY, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; admitted
Provost by Letters Patent, dated July 18, 1799; consecrated
Bishop of Ossory, 1806. Died May 22, 1813. 1806. GEORGE HALL, D. D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; admitted
Provost by Letters Patent, dated Jan. 22, 1806; consecrated
Bishop of Dromore, Nov. 17, 1811. Died six days after, Nov. 23. 1811. THOMAS ELRINGTON, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coli., Dublin ; Pro
fessor of Mathematics and of Natural Philosophy; Rector of Ardtrea, 1806; admitted Provost by Letters Patent, dated Nov. 15, 1811; consecrated Bishop of Limerick, 1820; translated to Leighlin and Ferns, 1822. Died in Liverpool, July 12, 1835 ;
buried in the College Chapelb. 1820. SAMUEL KYLE, D. D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; admitted
Provost by Letters Patent, dated Oct. 11, 1820; consecrated
1848; buried in the College Chapel. 1831. BARTHOLOMEW LLOYD, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; Pro
fessor of Natural Philosophy ; admitted Provost by Letters Patent, dated March, 1831. . Died Nov. 24, 1837; buried in
the College Chapele. 1837. Franc SadLEIR, D.D., Fellow of Trin. Coll., Dublin; Professor of
Mathematics; admitted Provost by Letters Patent, dated December, 1837. Died at Castleknock, December 14, 1851; buried
in the College Chapeld. 1852. RICHARD Mac DONNELL, D. D.
lars, the sum of three thousand pounds, to be applied in erecting and furnishing an Astronomical Observatory; and he also charged his estates with an annual sum of £250, for the payment of the salaries of the Professor of Astronomy and his Assistants, * He entered as a pensioner under the name of John Hely, April 29, 1741.
His publications are as follows :- A volume of Donnellan Lectures on the Proof of Christianity derived from the Miracles of the New Testament, 1796 ; the Clergy of the Church of England truly Ordained, 1809; an edition of Euclid, with Notes; Juvenal and Persius, with Notes, &c. &c.
In 1826 he published an Elementary Treatise of Mechanical Philosophy, for the use of the Undergraduate Students of the University. He also published a Treatise on Analytic Geometry, 1819; and a volume of Doctrinal Discourses.
a He published two volumes of Sermons and Lectures, the contents of which are as follows:--On the Gradual Character of Revelation (Donnellan Lecture, 1816): the Scriptural Character of the Liturgy of the Church of England (1823); the Scriptural Evidence for the Divinity of our Saviour (1829 and 1831); also sundry occasional Sermons.