« ForrigeFortsett »
the choice of John Cotton, M. D., President, Douglas Putnam, Secretary, and John Mills, Treasurer. At the same meeting a resolution was adopted asking Messrs. Bingham and French to state the terms on which they would transfer their Institute property to the Trustees. A few days later these terms were accepted and the property was duly transferred, though the former proprietors were requested to continue in charge till the close of the school year.
Before the institution was opened in the fall of 1833 in its new form, four young men had been appointed to the work of instruction, all members of the Theological Seminary at Andover. Two of these, Henry Smith and D. Howe Allen, had been teachers in the High School at Marietta. The first of these was made Professor of the Languages; Mr. Allen, Professor of Mathematics; Mr. Milo P. Jewett, Professor in the Teachers' department; and Mr. Samuel Maxwell, Principal of the Preparatory department. Mr. Smith was a graduate of Middlebury College, Messrs. Allen aud Jewett of Dartinonth, and Mr. Maxwell of Amherst. When the institute was opened Oct. 16, Messrs. Smith and Maxwell entered upon their work of instruction, while the other two remained in New England presenting the claims of the new institution to the friends of education and religion in that region. The beginning of a new educational year was a change in two respects. Before, the place of instruction was he Library Hall on Front street; now, it was a large new building on the college campus. Then, it was one of a group of schools under private owners; now, it is a public institution, under the control of a chartered corporation.
In this sketch of educational work at Marietta prior to the college we may properly enough speak of a still earlier period. Even before the present century began, and within the first decade after the first settlement here in April, 1788, steps were taken for the establishment of
an academy. In April, 1797, a meeting of citizens was held for this purpose, and a committee appointed to prepare a plan of a house suitable for the instruction of the young and for religious purposes. This committee consisted of Gen. Rufus Putnam, Hon. Paul Fearing, Griffin Greene, Hon. R. J. Meigs, Jr., Charles Greene, and Joshua Shipman. This was the origin of the "Muskingum Academy," and the building was doubtless the first structure erected for such a purpose in the "Territory northwest of the river Ohio." This was used for worship until the present Congregational Church was completed in 1808, and as a place of instruction for about a third of a century. The building was moved in 1832 to Second street between Scammel and Wooster, where it now stands.
The first instructor in the Muskingum Academy, the pioneer of the institutions for higher education in Marietta, was David Putnam, a graduate of Yale College in 1793. How many others of the teachers had received a liberal education is not known. Among those who had thus been educated were Nathan K. Clough, Dartmouth, 1806; Hon. Elisha Huntington, Dartmouth, 1815, afterwards Lieut. Governor of Massachusetts; Hon. Wm. A. Whittlesey, Yale, 1816, long a citizen of Marietta, and a member of the thirty-first Congress; and Levi Keyes, Ohio University, 1826. It is probable that from the beginning of the century until the time when Marietta College was founded this town furnished almost uninterrupted facilities for instruction in the higher. branches of an English education, and most of the time for such classical instruction as was required for preparation for college.
The charter obtained in December, 1832, was defective in giving no power to confer degrees, and in having a clause allowing the legislature to repeal it. In February, 1835, a new charter was granted by the State, giving the necessary power to confer degrees, and without the objectionable clause authorizing a repeal. The name was
also changed from The Marietta Collegiate Institute and Western Teachers' Seminary to Marietta College.
In the spring of the same year the Rev. Joel H. Linsley, then pastor of the Park Street Church, Boston, Massachusetts, was elected to the presidency. Thus, when the fall session of the institution was opened as Marietta College in 1835, the Faculty consisted of five members: a President, who had charge of the department of Moral and Intellectual Philosophy, a Professor of the Greek and Latin Languages, a Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy, a Professor of Rhetorie and Political Economy, and a Principal of the Preparatory department.
The college was founded in the interests of religion as well as of education. From the first it was intended to be a Christian college. The Trustees in their first published statement, August, 1833, say: "The Board wish it to be distinctly understood that the essential doctrines and duties of the Christian religion will be assiduously inculcated, but no sectarian peculiarities of belief will be taught. In their annual report issued September, 1835, they say: "During the past year the Board of Trust have received new manifestations of the favor of God upon the work in which they are engaged. He has enlarged the circle of the friends and benefactors of the institution, and has again visited it with the converting influences of His Spirit, bringing a large portion of the youth connected with it to consecrate themselves to the service of Jesus Christ. Engaged as the Board profess themselves to be in advancing the Redeemer's Kingdom by means of this institution of learning, so signal an expression of the approbation of God cannot fail to be the occasion of devout gratitude to Him and of increased ardor in the work.
In the same report they say: The honor of originating Marietta College is not claimed by the Board of Trust; its existence cannot properly be ascribed to them
or to any combination of individuals, but to the leadings of Divine Providence." The establishment of the college not only had the warm approval of the most intelligent Christian men West and East, but the Trustees were urged to go forward by such men as President Day and Professors Goodrich and Silliman of Yale College, Rev. Dr. William S. Plumer of Richmond, Virginia, and others. The Trustees seem to have been influenced by considerations of duty from the beginning, and their earnest, unceasing and self-denying labors, with the remarkable generosity shown in their oft-repeated gifts, prove that they regarded themselves as engaged in a work laid upon them by the Great Head of the Church.
We have been looking back over this period of fifty years to see how Marietta College came to be. We have inquired into its origin and antecedents. Let us look. now at its name and its locality.
For the fifty years it has remained in the same place; it has borne the same name; it has been the same institution. Some colleges are named from a founder, or early donor, as Williams, Harvard, Vanderbilt. Some bear the name of a distinguished man, as Washington, Hamilton, Franklin, Lafayette. Some are named from a state, as the College of New Jersey. Ours is named from the town where it is located. There are some advantages in this method of naming. The name of an early donor may be given prematurely. There are some institutions that might be glad to drop the personal name they bear. The name of a state is too general, and the name of a donor, or a man of eminence, is not a sufficient designation. The graduates of the oldest college in the country in preparing for their two hundred and fiftieth anniversary in 1886, are trying to find out something about John Harvard. Yale College seems to have had at first neither place. It dates from 1700 when ten ministers presented some forty books for the founding of a college in
the Colony of Connecticut. It was chartered in 1701, and at their first meeting the Trustees ordered "that there shall be and hereby is erected and formed a Collegiate School wherein shall be taught the liberal arts and languages, in such place or places in Connecticut as the said Trustees with their associates and successors do or shall from time to time see cause to order." It was nominally at Saybrook, but in fact at Killingworth, where the Rector, or President, lived. After his death in 1707 the Senior class were with the Rector at Milford and the rest of the students with the tutors at Saybrook. It was finally located at New Haven in 1710.
It had no legal name till 1745. It was simply The Collegiate School. In 1718 Elihu Yale sent from London goods to the value of two hundred pounds, equal to about nine hundred dollars, and the Trustees gave his name to a building they were then erecting. By degrees the name was applied to the institution itself. It was not till 1745 that the name was given by charter to the corporation.
The College of New Jersey, in operation since 1748, is called by various names. At the inauguration of the present President the Trustees speak of it as the College of New Jersey; the under graduates call it Nassau Hall; and Dr. McCosh calls it Princeton College. Even in its own catalogues it receives the popular as well as the official desigtion. Not unfrequently we hear it said that such a man was educated at New Haven, or at Cambridge, instead of Yale or Harvard.
Marietta is a good name for our college. We have those among our benefactors whose names might have been given to the college with much appropriateness. But they would not have desired it. Its present name identifies the institution with the town. Marietta men founded it and they have most generously nourished it. The name has thus an appropriateness aside from its being a designation. The name is euphonious and historical. It takes us back to the most interesting decade of our na