Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

YARMOUTH SANDS, SOUTH SCROBY SPIT. By T. H. N., May 17, 1854, notice is hereby given, that the South Scroby Spit having grown out to the westward, the buoy on that spit (black and white chequered) has been moved out about a cable's length in that direction, into seven fathoms low water spring tides, with the following marks and compass bearings, viz. :

Denny's look-out, in line with St. George's chapel N.N.W. i W. Lowestoft low light, its apparent length open to the eastward of the gas house chimney

S.W. S. St. Nicholas light vessel

... N. by W. I w. Scroby Fork buoy

N. E. South Scroby buoy

S. by E. E.

ALTERATIONS IN BUOYS AND LIGHTS. By T. H. N., May 18, 1853, the following alterations have been made, riz. :

The N.E. Whiting Beacon buoy, the Elbow Whiting buoy, and the S.W. Whi. ting buoy previously coloured white, have been replaced by buoys coloured red.

The Knowle Beacon buoy, at the entrance of the Colne river, previously white, has been replaced by a buoy of larger dimensions, coloured black and white, in circular stripes.

Mouse light vessel. — The Mouse sand having slightly grown out to the north-westward, the Mouse Light vessel has been moved 120 fathoms in that direction, and now lies at 4ļ fathoms at low water spring tides, with the following marks and compass bearings, viz. :Maplin lighthouse

N.E. by E. } E. North Nob buoy

S.E. by E. * E. Shivering Sand buoy

S.E. S. East Oase buoy

S.S.E. * E. The Pan Sand beacon, in line with the Girdler light vessel S.E. by S.

SCOTLAND.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

...

...

LOWESTOFT. By T. H. N., May 17, 1853, a Green buoy, marked with the word "Wreck," has been placed about 10 fathoms N.N.E. of a vessel sunk off Lowestoft Ness.

The buoy lies in 4 fathoms at low water spring tides, with the following marks and compass bearings, viz. :Kirkley church, just open to the southward of the Newterrace at Lowestoft

S.W. 1 W. Corton Mill, in line with a remarkable new house on Corton cliff

N. by W. Lowestoft high light-house...

N.W. by W. Stanford light vessel

S. by W. By T. H. N., July 26, 1853, a spit of sand having grown up between the West Corton and N.W. Holm buoys, notice is hereby given, that the West Corton buoy has been moved four cables' length to the N.N.E., by which alteration the said spit is covered, and the distance between the N.W. Corton and N.W. Holm buoys is more nearly equalised.

The West Corton bouy, as now placed, lies in 84 fathoms at low water spring tides, with the following marks and compass bearings, viz.The chimney of Lacon's brewery at Yarmouth, half its

length open to the westward of St. Peter's church N. 1 w. St. George's chapel at Yarmouth, just open to the northward of St. Peter's church

N.N.W. Corton Church

S.W. by W. 1 W. St. Nicholas light vessel

N.N.E. North-west Holm buoy

S.S.W.

RIVER DEE. By T. H. N. May 25, 1854, a spit of sand having grown out from the S.W. part of Salisbury Middle Bank in the River Dee, notice is hereby given, that a black buoy marked “S.W. Salisbury,” has been placed at the extremity of the sand spit in 3 fathoms at low water spring tides, with the following mark and compass bearings, viz. :Grange beacon, a ship's length open to the north of West Kirby church

E. by S. The old lighthouse, point of Air

N.W. by W. W. Salisbury middle buoy

N. } E. S.E. Air buoy

N.N.W. Salisbury Snatchway buoy...

S. by E. Mostyn Gut buoy

S.

...

DEVAAR LIGHTHOUSE. The commissioners of Northern lighthouses hereby give notice that a lighthouse has been built upon the island of Devaar, at the entrance to the Bay of Campbeltown, in the county of Argyll, the light of which will be exhibited on the night of Monday, July 10, 1854, and every night thereafter, from the going away of daylight in the evening, till the return of daylight in the morning. The following is a specification of the lighthouse, and the appearance of the

light, by Mr. David Stevenson, engineer to the commissioners :The lighthouse is in N. lat. 55° 25' 45", and W. long. 5° 32' 16". The Devaar light will be known to mariners as a revolving light, which shows a bright white light once every half minute.

The light is elevated about 120 feet above the level of high water of ordinary spring tides, and may be seen at the distance of about 15 nautic miles, and at lesser distances according to the state of the atmosphere ; to a nearer observer in favourable circumstances, the light will not wholly disappear between the intervals of greatest brightness. The arc illuminated by this light extends from about S. ; E. by compass, to about W. by N. and faces northwards.

a

TONNAGE DUTIES.

And the commissioners hereby further give notice, that by 0. C., Dec. 20, 1853, upon the erection and lighting of the said light upon the Island of Devaar, there should be paid, in respect thereof, for every vessel belonging to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (the same not belonging to Her Majesty, or being navigated wholly in ballast), and for every foreign vessel which by any act of parliament, order in council, convention or treaty, shall be privileged to enter the ports of the United Kingdom, upon paying the same duties of tonnage as are paid by British vessels, the same not being navigated wholly in ballast, which shall pass or derive benefit from the said light, that is, which shall arrive at or depart from any place in the bay or loch of Campbeltown, if the burthen of the same shall not exceed fifty tons, sixpence, and if the same exceed fifty tons, for each additional fifty tons, or part of fifty tons, sixpence.

In respect of the said light on Devaar, and also in respect of another light in Loch Ryan, on the south side of the basin of the Clyde erected by the said commissioners, there shall be paid by every vessel before described, and under the exemptions aforesaid, which shall navigate on a distinct voyage within the great basin of the Clyde, bounded by a line drawn from the Point of Corsewall to Glenarm in Ireland, on the south-east, and from another line drawn from the Mull of Kintyre to Fairhead, in Ireland, on the north-west, and on all other sides by the coasts of Ireland and Scotland surro the said basin, a similar rate of toll to that above set forth, being at the rate of threepence for each of the said lights.

Double the said respective tolls for every foreign vessel not privileged as aforesaid.

Provided always, that vessels arriving at or departing from any place within Loch Ryan, or within Campbeltown Loch, and paying the rates for such respective voyages, shall not in addition be liable in payment of the rates for navigating the basin of the Clyde.

The above rates are, by another order in Council, declared to be subject to the following abatements on payment :

Over-sea vessels, twenty-five per cent.
Coasting vessels, ten per cent.

Northern Lighthouse Office, Edinburgh, June 1, 1854.

NEW REVOLVING LIGHT AT NORTH RONALDSHAY, AND

ALTERATION OF THE START POINT LIGHT.

I.-NORTH RONALDSHAY LIGHT-HOUSE. By notice of the Commmissioners of the Northern Lighthouses, April 13 1854, a lighthouse is being built upon the Island of North Ronaldshay in Orkney, the light of which will be exhibited on the night of Friday the 1st September, 1854, and every night thereafter, from the going away of daylight in the evening to the return of daylight in the morning. The following is a description of the lighthouse, and the appearance of the light,

by Mr. David Stevenson, engineer to the Commissioners :The lighthouse is in N. lat. 59° 23' 15', and W. long. 2° 23' 38" ; it stands on the northern point of the Island of N. Ronaldshay, and by compass it bearsFrom Moul-head of Papa-Westra W.N.W. 1 N. distance 15 nautic miles. Start Point of Sanday lighthouse S.S. ; W.

6 The North Ronaldshay light will be known to mariners as a revolving light, producing a bright Hash of the natural colour once in every 10 seconds. It will be visible all round the compass. The lantern is - elevatel 140 feet above the level of the sea ; and the light will be seen at the distance of about 8 nautic miles, and at lesser distances, according to the state of the atmosphere.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

II.-START-POINT LIGHTHOUSE. The Start Point light which is 6 miles from North Ronaldshay light, being at present a revolving light, producing a bright flash once in every minute, the Commissioners further give notice, that on and after the night of Friday the 1st September, 1854, when the new revolving light at North Ron. aldshay is to be exhibited, the present revolving light, at Start-Point will be changed to a fixed light of the natural colour.

NEW BEACONS AND BUOYS.

The Commissioners of the Northern Lighthouses hereby give notice,—That five beacons have been erected in the following positions :

One at the entrance to Sanda Harbour.
One at the small Isles of Jura.
Three in Easdale Sound.

Two buoys have also been moored in Easdale Sound.
The following is a specification of the appearances and positions of the beacons

and buoys by Mr. David Stevenson, engineer to the Commissioners :The beacon at the entrance to the anchorage on the north side of the Island of Sanda, in the Firth of Clyde, is erected on the rocky point which projects from Ben-a-chauie Head. It consists of a cast-iron pillar surmounted by a ball, and is about 12 feet in height above the rocks, which are dry at low water. It is painted red.

The beacon at the small Isles of Jura is erected at the south entrance to the anchorage on the east side of the Island of Jura, and the fairway to the anchorage lies betwixt the beacon and the south-wertern point of Gore Island.

It consists of a cast-iron pillar surmounted by a ball, and is about 18 feet in height above the rock, which is dry at low water. It is painted red.

The beacons in Easdale Sound have have been erected in the following positions :

One on the east rock at the southern entrance to the sound.
One on the south rock.
One on the middle rock.

Those three beacons consist of an open framework of wrought iron, surmounted by a ribbed ball, and are about 17 feet 6 inches in height above the rocks, which are dry at low water. They are painted red.

The buoys in Easdale Sound have been moored, one on the Six Feet Rock at the south entrance to the sound, and the other on the North Rock at the north entrance to the sound. They are both small buoys, with perches fixed to them.

No toll is exigible for any of the above seamarks.

The Commissioners, in giving the above intimations, have again to caution masters and others against mooring their vessels to any of their seamarks.

By order of the Board,

ALEX. CUNINGHAM, Sec. Office of the Board of Northern Lighthouses, Edinburgh, Nov. 16, 1853.

IRELAND.

NEW LIGHTHOUSE ON LOOPHEAD. The corporation for preserving and improving the port of Dublin hereby give notice, that a new lighthouse has been erected on Loophead, Co. Clare, at the V. side of the mouth of the river Shannon, from which a light will be exhibited on the evening of the 1st day of May, 1854, and which thenceforth will be lighted during every night from sunset to sunrise. Specification given of the position and appearance of the light by Mr. Halpin

inspector of lighthouses :The new tower on the point of Loophead, erected 30 feet eastward of the bnilding from which the light is now shown, is in lat. 52° 33' 38" N. and long. 9o 55 54" W. bearing. From Kerry Head

N.E. by N. distant 87 nautic miles.
Mucklabeg ( Tralee Bay, west side) N.E. N. 14
Tearaght Rock

E by N.IN. 40
Hag's Head

S.W. by W. W. 29 The light will have the same characteristic appearance as that heretofore in the old tower—a fixed bright light, whose foral point will be 277 feet above the level

of the sea at high water of spring tides--illuminating an arc from S.E. by E. around seaward to N.E. by E. E., and in clear weather will be Fisible at the distance of 22 miles.

The tower is circular, 75 feet in height from its base to top of the ball over dome, and below the level of the projecting gallery is coloured white.

On exhibition of the new light, that heretofore in the old tower will be discontinued, and the old tower removed. Bearings stated are magnetic-Var. 29° 15' W.

By order, Ballast Office, Dublin, Feb. 23, 1854.

W. Davis, Sec.'

[ocr errors]

99

[ocr errors]

DUBLIN BAY. A buoy has been placed to mark the position of a wreck sunk eastward of Dublin Bay, nearly midway between the Kish floating light and the Howth buoy. The topgallantmasts of the vessel are covered during the last quarter flood and the first quarter of ebb, and show over water during remainder of the tide. The buoy is coloured green, with a black belt on its side, with the word “ Wreck" in black letters on the broad end of it. It is moored in a depth of 12 fathoms at low water, and distant 40 fathoms E. by N. from the wreck.

...

[ocr errors]

FASTNET ROCK. The corporation for preserving and improving the port of Dublin hereby give notice that a lighthouse has been erected on the Fastnet Rock, situate off the south coast of th county Cork, from which a revolving light will be erhibited on the evening of the 1st of January, 1854, and thereafter will be lighted during every night from sunset to sunrise. Specification given of the position and appearance of the light, by

Mr. Halpin, inspector of lighthouses :The lighthouse tower is erected on the summit of the Fastnet (or Fastness) Rock, in lat. 51° 23' 18" N., and long. 9° 36' 25“ W., bearingFrom the Old Head of Kinsale (new light

house on South Point)... W. N. Distant 42ļ nautic miles. Staggs Rocks (off Castlehaven) W.N.

151 Cape Clear Island, south-west point W.

39-10
Calf Rock

S. E. S. 267
Mizen Head...

S. E. S. 85 The light will be a revolving bright light, showing its brightest appearance once in every two minutes, increasing and diminishing in strength gradually and at short distances will not be totally obscured between the flashes-the focal point will be 148 feet in elevation over the level of the sea at high water of spring tides. The light will be shown all around, and in clear weather will be visible seaward at the distance of 18 miles,

The tower is circular, 92 feet in height from its base to top of the ball over dome, and will at mid-height be marked by one broad horizontal belt coloured red.

On and after exhibition of the light on the Fastnet Rock the light hereto. fore shown from the Cape Clear Lighthouse will be discontinued. Bearings stated are magnetic-Var. 28° 20' W.

By order,

W. Davis, Secretary. Ballast Office, Dublin, October 7, 1853.

2

...

[ocr errors]

9

TRALEE BAY. By notice, May 18, 1854, from the corporation for preserving and improv. ing the port of Dublin, a lighthouse has been erected on the Western Sam. phire Island, in Tralee Bay, county Kerry, from which a light will be exhibited on the evening of the 1st day of July, 1854, and which thenceforth will be lighted during every night from sunset to sunrise. Specification given of the position and appearance of the light by Mr. Halpin,

inspector of lighthouses : The lighthouse is erected on the small or outer Samphire Island, at north side of the channel of Tralee Harbour, in lat. 52° 16' 19" N. and long. 9° 53' 14" W. bearing From Mucklagmore Rock

S. i W. Distant 4} nautic miles.
Rocky Shoal, eastward of
Muicklabeg

S. by E. | E.

5
Mucklabeg Rock

S. S. E.
Samphire Island, larger
south point...

N. W. 1 W.

1
Black Rock, north side of
inner channel

N.W.by W.; W., 2) The light will be a fixed light, shown of its natural colour a bright light, from E. by S. I S. to W.N.W., and coloured red seaward from W.N.W. to N. * E; its focal point is 56 feet above the level of the sea, at the high water of

...

9)

« ForrigeFortsett »