Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

Provided always, that vessels arriving at or departing from any place within Loch Ryan, or within Campbeltown Loch, and paying the rates for such respective voyages, shall not in addition be liable in payment of the rates for navigating the basin of the Clyde.

The above rates are, by another order in Council, declared to be subject to the following abatements on payment :

Over-sea vessels, twenty-five per cent.
Coasting vessels, ten per cent.

Northern Lighthouse Office, Edinburgh, June 1, 1854.

NEW REVOLVING LIGHT AT NORTH RONALDSHAY, AND

ALTERATION OF THE START POINT LIGHT.

1.-NORTH RONALDSHAY LIGHT-HOUSE. By notice of the Commmissioners of the Northern Lighthouses, April 13 1854, a lighthouse is being built upon the Island of North Ronaldshay in Orkney, the light of which will be exhibited on the night of Friday the 1st September, 1854, and every night thereafter, from the going away of daylight in the evening to the return of daylight in the morning. The following is a description of the lighthouse, and the appearance of the light,

by Mr. David Stevenson, engineer to the Commissioners :The lighthouse is in N. lat. 59° 23' 15", and W. long. 2° 23' 38" ; it stands on the northern point of the Island of N. Ronaldshay, and by compass it bears From Moul-head of Papa-Westra W.N.W. | N. distance 15 nautic miles. Start Point of Sanday lighthouse S.S. ; W.

61 The North Ronaldshay light will be known to mariners as a revolving light, producing a bright flash of the natural colour once in every 10 seconds. It will be visible all round the compass. The lantern is-elevatel 140 feet above the level of the sea ; and the light will be seen at the distance of about 8 nautic miles, and at lesser distances, according to the state of the atmosphere.

II.-START-POINT LIGHTHOUSE. The Start Point light which is 6.1 miles from North Ronaldshay light, being at present a revolving light, producing a bright flash once in every mi. nute, the Commissioners further give notice, that on and after the night of Friday the 1st September, 1854, when the new revolving light at North Ronaldshay is to be exhibited, the present revolving light, at Start-Point will be changed to a fixed light of the natural colour.

NEW BEACONS AND BUOYS. The Commissioners of the Northern Lighthouses hereby give notice, -That five beacons have been erected in the following positions :

One at the entrance to Sanda Harbour.
One at the small Isles of Jura.
Three in Easdale Sound.

Two buoys have also been moored in Easdale Sound.
The following is a specification of the appearances and positions of the beacons

and buoys by Mr. David Stevenson, engineer to the Commissioners :The beacon at the entrance to the anchorage on the north side of the Island of Sanda, in the Firth of Clyde, is erected on the rocky point which projects from Ben-a-chauie Head. It consists of a cast-iron pillar surmounted by a ball, and is about 12 feet in height above the rocks, which are dry at low water. It is painted red.

The beacon at the small Isles of Jura is erected at the south entrance to the anchorage on the east side of the Island of Jura, and the fairway to the anchorage lies betwixt the beacon and the south-wertern point of Gore Island.

It consists of a cast-iron pillar surmounted by a ball, and is about 18 feet in height above the rock, which is dry at low water. It is painted red.

The beacons in Easdale Sound have have been erected in the following positions a

One on the east rock at the southern entrance to the sound.
One on the south rock.
One on the middle rock.

Those three beacons consist of an open framework of wrought iron, surmounted by a ribbed ball, and are about 17 feet 6 inches in height above the rocks, which are dry at low water. They are painted red.

The buoys in Easdale Sound have been moored, one on the Six Feet Rock at the south entrance to the sound, and the other on the North Rock at the north entrance to the sound. They are both small buoys, with perches fixed to them.

No toll is exigible for any of the above seamarks.

The Commissioners, in giving the above intimations, have again to caution masters and others against mooring their vessels to any of their seamarks.

By order of the Board,

ALEX, CUNINGHAM, Sec. Office of the Board of Northern Lighthouses, Edinburgh, Nov. 16, 1853.

IRELAND.

NEW LIGHTHOUSE ON LOOPHEAD. The corporation for preserving and improving the port of Dublin hereby give notice, that a new lighthouse has been erected on Loophead, Co. Clare, at the N. side of the mouth of the river Shannon, from which a light will be exhibited on the evening of the 1st day of May, 1854, and which thenceforth will be lighted during every night from sunset to sunrise. Specification given of the position and appearance of the light by Mr. Halpin

inspector of lighthouses :The new tower on the point of Loophead, erected 30 feet eastward of the building from which the light is now shown, is in lat. 52° 33' 38" N. and long. 9° 55' 54" W. bearing. From Kerry Head

N.E. by N. distant 8 nautic miles.
Mucklabeg (Tralee Bay, west side) N.E. « N. 14
Tearaght Rock

E. by N.IN. 40
Hag's
Head

S.W. by W. W. 29 The light will have the same characteristic appearance as that heretofore in the old tower—a fixed bright light, whose focal point will be 277 feet above the level of the sea at high water of spring tides-illuminating an arc from S.E. by E. around seaward to N.E. by E. E., and in clear weather will be visible at the distance of 22 miles.

The tower is circular, 75 feet in height from its base to top of the ball over dome, and below the level of the projecting gallery is coloured white.

On exhibition of the new light, that heretofore in the old tower will be discontinued, and the old tower removed. Bearings stated are magnetic-Var. 29° 15' W.

By order, Ballast Office, Dublin, Feb. 23, 1854.

W. DAVIS, Sec.'

...

DUBLIN BAY. A buoy has been placed to mark the position of a wreck sunk eastward of Dublin Bay, nearly midway between the Kish floating light and the Howth buoy. The topgallantmasts of the vessel are covered during the last quarter flood and the first quarter of ebb, and show over water during remainder of the tide. The buoy is coloured green, with a black belt on its side, with the word “Wreck” in black letters on the broad end of it. It is moored in a depth of 12 fathoms at low water, and distant 40 fathoms E. by N. from the wreck.

[ocr errors]

FASTNET ROCK. The corporation for preserving and improving the port of Dublin hereby give notice that a lighthouse has been erected on the Fastnet Rock, situate off the south coast of the county Cork, from which a revolving light will be exhibited on the evening of the 1st of January, 1854, and thereafter will be lighted during every night from sunset to sunrise. Specification given of the position and appearance of the light, by

Mr. Halpin, inspector of lighthouses :The lighthouse tower is erected on the summit of the Fastnet (or Fastness) Rock, in lat. 51° 23' 18" N., and long. 9° 36' 25" W., bearingFrom the Old Head of Kinsale (new light

house on South Point)... W. / N. Distant 42ļ nautic miles. Staggs Rocks (off Castlehaven) W. N. 151 Cape Clear Island, south-west point W.

39-10
Calf Rock

S. E. S. 261
Mizen Head...

S.E. - S.

85 The light will be a revolving bright light, showing its brightest appearance once in every two minutes, increasing and diminishing in strength gradually and at short distances will not be totally obscured between the flashes-the focal point will be 148 feet in elevation over the level of the sea at high water of spring tides. The light will be shown all around, and in clear weather will be visible seaward at the distance of 18 miles.

The tower is circular, 92 feet in height from its base to top of the ball over dome, and will at mid-height be marked by one broad horizontal belt coloured red.

On and after exhibition of the light on the Fastnet Rock the light hereto. fore shown from the Cape Clear Lighthouse will be discontinued. Bearings stated are magnetic—Var. 28° 20' W.

By order,

W. Davis, Secretary. Ballast Office, Dublin, October 7, 1853.

TRALEE BAY. By notice, May 18, 1854, from the corporation for preserving and improv. ing the port of Dublin, a lighthouse has been erected on the Western Samphire Island, in Tralee Bay, county Kerry, from which a light will be exhibited on the evening of the 1st day of July, 1854, and which thenceforth will be lighted during every night from sunset to sunrise. Specification given of the position and appearance of the light by Mr. Halpin,

inspector of lighthouses : The lighthouse is erected on the small or outer Samphire Island, at north side of the channel of Tralee Harbour, in lat. 52° 16' 19" N. and long. 9° 53' 14" W. bearing From Mucklagmore Rock

S. I W. Distant 4} nautic miles.
Rocky Shoal, eastward of
Mucklabeg

S. by E. | E. 5
Mucklabeg Rock

S. S. E.
Samphire Island, larger
south point...

N. W. 1 w.

1
Black Rock, north side of
inner channel

N.W.by W. W.,, 23 The light will be a fixed light, shown of its natural colour a bright light, from E. by S. S. to W.N.W., and coloured red seaward from W.N.W. to N. | E; its focal point is 56 feet above the level of the sea, at the high water of

...

spring tides, and in clear weather it will be seen at the distance of about nine miles.

The tower is circular, of blue stone, and having around it buildings of lower height.

Towards the harbour the light will be shown to the northern limits of the anchorage within the larger Samphire Island; and kept open to seaward, it will lead clear of the Mucklagmore Rock.

Bearings stated are magnetic-Var. 29° 15' W.

KINSALE. The corporation for preserving and improving the port of Dublin hereky give notice that a lighthouse has been erected on the south point of the old Head of Kinsale, from which a light will be exhibited on the evening of the 1st of October, 1853, and thereafter will be lighted during every night from sunset to sunrise. Specification given of the position and appearance of the light, by Mr. Halpin,

inspector of lighthouses :The new lighthouse is erected on the Rocky point, at the southern end of the Old Head of Kinsale, distant half a mile S. S.W. W. from the old lighthouse tower, and is in lat. 51° 38' 11" N., and long. 8° 31' 58" W. It bears From Ballycottin Island lighthouse W.

is.

Distant 241 nautic miles.
Charlesfoot lighthouse

S. W. 1 S.
Bulman's Rock

S. W. 1w.

41 Stags Rocks

E. S.

271 Cape Clear Island (south point) E. by S.

381 Fastnet (or Fastness) Rock

E. S.

423 The light will be a fixed bright light, similar in general appearance to that heretofore shown from the old lighthouse. It will be elevated 236 feet over the level of the high water of spring tides, illuminating an arc from N. E. {N. seaward to W. by N., and in clear weather will be visible at the distance of 21 miles.

The tower is circular, and 100 feet in height from its base to the top of the dome. The shaft of masonry will be marked by two horizontal belts coloured red.

On and after the 1st day of October next the light heretofore shown from the lantern of the old lighthouse will be discontinued. Bearings stated are magnetic--Var. 28° 5°W.

By order, W. DAVIS, Secretary. Ballast-office, Dublin, June 16, 1853.

...

[blocks in formation]

Ether
Sweet Spirits of Nitre
Camphorated Spirits...
Lavender Water and other Perfumes, be-

ing Spirits scented with Essential Oils,

Flowers, or other Ingredients
Compound Spirits of Lavender
Spirits of Rosemary
Spirits of Ammonia
Sal Volatile...
Friar's Balsam
Compound Tincture of Benzoin
Tincture of Assafoetida
Tincture of Castor
Tincture of Kino
Tincture of Guiacum
Tincture of Myrrh
Tincture of Ginger
Spirit Varnishes
Other Tinctures and Medicated Spirits
Made Wines

0 4 9 0 6 9 0 2 0

0 3 2 0 4 6 0 0 4 0 0 6

0 1 4 0 0 2

« ForrigeFortsett »