Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

NETHERLANDS. Holland, or the Seven United Provinces, as it was formerly called, on being united after the reign of Napoleon, with the ancient Netherlands, or Low Countries, adopted the latter general appellation for both parts; but, on the separation in 1830, in consequence of the rebellion among its newly acquired subjects, it was reduced to its former limits, though it retained its new name of “ The Netherlands," whilst the other half was formed into a separate kingdom, denominated “ Belgium.”Ed.

PROVINCE OF NORTH HOLLAND. Principal Ports.--Amsterdam, Muiden, Zaandam, Enkhuizen, Medimblik, Edam, Monnikendam, Alkmaar, Den Helder, Texel, Terschelling, Purmerend.

PROVINCE OF SOUTH HOLLAND. Principal Ports.—Brielle, or Briel, Maasluis, Helvoetsluis or Hellevoetsluis, Rotterdam, Delfshaven, Schiedam, Viaardingen, Dordrecht.

PROVINCE OF ZEALAND. Principal Ports.— Vlissingen (Flushing), Veere (Campveer), Zierikzee, Bromvershaven, Middleburg.

PROVINCE OF FRIESLAND. Principal Ports. -Stavoren or Staveren, De Lemmer, Workum, Harlingen, Dokhum, Makkum.

PROVINCE OF OVERYSSEL. Principal Ports.—Kampen, Zwol or Zwolle.

PROVINCE OF GRONINGEN. Principal Ports.—Delfzyl, Termunterzyl, Groningen, Oude Pekel-a, Lang Akkerchans, Zolthamp.

LONDON.

CONSUL GENERAL.
JOHN WILLIAM MAY, K.N.L.

123, Fenchurch-street.

VICE CONSUL.
JOHN WILLIAM MAY, JUN.

123, Fenchurch-street.

Aberdeen-Arthur Thomson.
BelfastGustavus Heyn.
Bristol Robert Bruce.
Cardiff-David Brown.
Chatham-W. W. Bentham.
Cork-Richard L. Jameson.
Cowes Wm. Stuart Day.
Dartmouth-R. L. Hingston.
Deal-Geo. Hammond.
Dover-S. M. Latham.

Dublin-B. M. Tabuteau.
Dundee--Geo. Thoms.
Falmouth-Robt. R. Broad, K.N.L.
GlasgowP. W. Clark.
Gloucester-Robt. Hendewerk.
Guernsey-John Le Marchant.
Hartlepool-P. Romyn.
Harwich-Oliver J. Williams.
Hull-C. L. Rengrose.
Jersey-J. Moisson.

Leith-Alex. Paterson.
Lerwick-C. G. Duncan.
Limerick -Michael R. Ryan.
Liverpool-D. Willink, K.N.L.
Londonderry-William Davenport.
Lynn-P. Randulph.
Manchester-H. S. Straus.
Margate-V. Weber.
MilfordG. Starbuck.
Newcastle-W. J. M. Lange.
Newport (S. Wales)-C. Stonehouse.
Neury-H. Dalzell.
Penzance- Richard Pearce.
Plymouth-John Luscombe, K.N.L.

Portsmouth-Louis A. van den Bergh,

K.N.L.
Ramsgate-V. Weber.
St. Ives—Richard Pearce.
Scilly Islands - Thomas Buxton.
Sheerness-W. W. Bentham.
Southampton-Louis A. van den Bergh,

K.N.L.
Stockton-P. Romyn.
Sunderland --Richard Greenwell.
Swansea Thomas Grove.
Weymouth-Geo. C. Welsford.
Yarmouth---Isaac Preston.

WAR WITH RUSSIA.

PRIVATEERS. According to orders from the King, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs, Justice, and the Marine, make known to those whom it may concern, that, in order to observe a strict neutrality in the war which has just broken out, no privateers having commissions or letters of marque, either alone or with any prizes which they may have made, shall be admitted to enter our ports or the mouths of our rivers, except in case of actual stress of weather ; in consequence, orders have been sent to keep a strict watch over such privateers and their prizes, and to compel them to put to sea again as soon as possible. The above ministers, with the authorization of the king, warn all the inhabitants of the kingdom not to engage in any way in the present war by means of armaments, as no letters of marque issued by the belligerent powers to Dutch citizens, without the authorization of the king's government, will have legal value. The ministers hereby make known to the public that the Dutch government, in observing the most absolute neutrality, will not sanction any commission or letter of marque ; therefore, the subjects of the king, and all those who are subjected to the laws of the kingdom, would, by taking any part in the war, by fitting out vessels, run the risk of being treated as pirates by other nations, and expose themselves to prosecutions before the Dutch tribunals, as well for making an attack on the safety of the State as for piracy.-Official Journal of the Hague, April 1854.

DESERTERS. By 0. C., March 9, 1854, seamen, not being slaves, who desert from merchant ships belonging to subjects of the King of the Netherlands, within Her Majesty's dominions or the territories of the East India Company, shall be liable to be apprehended and carried on board their respective ships. (See

p. 9.)

LIGHTS, BUOYS, &c.

The Hague, July 19, 1853. The Minister of Marine hereby gives notice that the painted buoy serving as a beacon for the Friesland Sea Gat has been replaced by a red anchor buoyshaped buoy, of the first size, which is furnished, for plainer distinction, with a top-basket; the large Cape on the Englishman's Bank bearing S.W. quarter S., and the Large Cape on Schiermonnikoog S. a quarter E.

Any further changes in the buoys of the Friesland Sea Gat will be published hereafter.

The Minister aforesaid,

J. ENSLIE.

ALTERATIONS.

The Hague, March 24, 1853. The Minister of Marine provisionally informs such as are interested thereby, 1st. That the present existing sea-pier called Feldkaap, on the Island of Flieland, is soon to be taken down, and to be replaced in the same bearings by a new pier.

2ndly. That a new sea-pier is to be erected on the Robbenbol, being the west corner of the dry Horst of Flieland, in the immediate neighbourhood of the Eyerland Shallows, furnished with two screens of an oval or elliptic shape, the one bearing N.E. and S.W., and the other N.W. and S.E. (unadjusted compass.)

3rdly. That on the high sand hills near and at the Koog, on the Island of Texel, a screen is to be erected, bearing N.E. to E. and S.W. to W.(unadjusted compass.)

The above-mentioned pier on the Robbenbol and the screen at the Koog are to serve as bearings for the recognition of the Island of Texel, and the there existing Eyerland Shallows, as a caution for ships to keep off the coast.

After the above-mentioned new works shall have been erected, further notice will be given thereof.

The Minister aforesaid,

T. ENSLIE.

The Hague, April 9, 1853. The Minister of Marine, with reference to the announcement of 21st of February last, gives notice, that the present light on the Lighthouse of Kykdum will, in the evening of 11th May next ensuing, no longer be lighted, and that from that day up to the completion of the works for exchanging the aforesaid coast lighting for a new Catadioptric Lighting Apparatus of the first rank, an auxiliary light will burn on the lighthouse aforesaid, consisting of a Catadioptric Lighting Apparatus of the fourth rank (small size), lighting the horizon from north through west to south (adjusted compass), and visible at a distance of two miles.

The time of lighting the new Catadioptric Lighting Apparatus of the first rank will be announced in due time.

The Minister aforesaid,

T. ENSLIE.

The Hague, April 16, 1853. The Minister of Marine gives notice, that about the middle of the month of May next ensuing, the iron pyramid-shaped sea buoy, situate outside the slijkgat of Goedereede, will, for the purpose of repairs, be temporarily substituted by an ordinary black sea buoy of the first size, marked “Goedereede." The replacement of the pyramidical sea buoy will be announced in due time.

The Minister aforesaid,

T. ENSLIE.

FRIESCHE SEA GAT.

The Hague, August 18, 1853. The Minister of Marine hereby gives notice, that on account of the change which has taken place in the Friesche Sea Gat, the outside buoy and the outer buoys have been placed more eastward, and the number diminished by a black and white buoy, so that, at present the White Flag buoy, is the fourth white buoy on entering ; that likewise the painted buoy, indicating the Sea Gat, has been substituted by a red anchor-shaped buoy with a basket top.

This red anchor-shaped buoy is placed in 100 palms depth, in the following bearings :

The large lighthouse at Schiermonikoog, S. | E.
The large lighthouse at the Englishman's Bank, S. W. f S.
The bearings in which this buoy, coming from sea, can be recognized, are :

The steeple of Wierum in three, with the lighthouses on the Englishman's Bank (namely, Wierum, to the west of the small lighthouse).

The outside first black buoy lies in 42 palms depth, and in these bearings :-
The large lighthouse at Schiermonikoog, S. to E. ( E.
The large lighthouse at the Englishman's bank S.W. to W.
The outside first white buoy lies in 45 palms depth, bearing-
The large lighthouse at Schiermonikoog, S. to E.

The large lighthouse at the Englishman's bank, S.W. 1 S. And on the mark, the steeple of Wierum in the small lighthouse on the Englishman's bank.

The course to be followed is S.W. to W. from the red buoy to the fourth buoy, as near as possible, in the middle of the channel.

The shallowest sounding at the entrance of the Channel is from 33 to 35 palms; it is shallowest along the white buoys.

No change has taken place in the buoys further inland. It must be borne in mind that, with northerly winds and ebb tide, the navigation between the outer buoys is generally very difficult, and the sea very rough. It is very difficult to enter with south-westerly winds at flood tide. The bearings are taken by unadjusted compass, and the soundings at ordinary low water.

Ere long buoys will likewise be placed in the Middle Gat, of which further notice will be given. The Minister aforementioned,

T. ENSLIE.

[ocr errors]

BEACON BUOYS.

The Hague, August 23, 1853. The Minister of Marine hereby gives notice, in conection with sundry former notices, that for better observation at sea, large anchor-shaped beacon buoys have been placed as outer buoys in most of the mouths of rivers in the kingdom, furnished with a crown or top basket, and more especially Outside the North-east Friesche Sea Gat;

North-east Sea Gat of Terschelling ;
Thomas Smith Gat ;
Stortemelsche Sea Gat (the Flie) ;
Westgat

of Texel;
Schulpengat

;
Brouwershaven Sea Gat;
Roompot Sea Gat (East Schelde);
East Gat
Wielingen i

Western Schelde;
The above-mentioned buoys lying outside the Friesche Sea Gat, those of
Terschelling and the Flie, as also those outside the East Gat of the Western
Schelde, are painted red, the others are black.

For the same purpose an iron pyramidical sea buoy has for some time been placed on the outside of Slykgat of Goedereede. The Minister aforementioned,

T. ENSLIE.

EYERLAND SHALLOWS.

The Hague, August 30, 1853. The Minister of Marine hereby gives notice, that, for the better indication of the Eyerland Shallows, a lighthouse has now been erected on the Robbebol (West point, or Horst of Flieland), as also a screen on the Texel Downs, near the Koog.

It is considered useful, for the general benefit of navigation, to repeat and make known the following, as a continuation to the notices regarding those shallows, dated the 16th of April, and 27th of October, 1852.

1. The depth at five fathoms water, at ordinary low water, extends along that part of the coast from opposite the Koog on Texel, along the Eyerland Shallows, to opposite Flieland, about N.E. and S.W. to N.E. by E., and S.W. by W. (per compass), and especially,

(a) In the W.N.W., from the Screen, near the Koog, at the distance of half a German mile.

(b) Along the west coast of Eyerland Shallows, in the W.N.W., at threequarters of a mile distance from the look-out post, in the Downs of Eyerland.

(c) In the W.N.W., at fully half a mile distance from the lighthouse of the Robbebol.

(d) And in the N.N.E., at nearly two-thirds of a mile distance from the above-mentioned lighthouse.

2. The Screen has been placed in the Downs of Texel, near the Koog, for the better, surer, and quicker observation of the Island Texel, and as a warning for the Eyerland Shallows. The lighthouse on the Robbebol (Hurst or west end of Flieland) has been erected for the same purpose, as also to make ships keep further off the coast at this point.

3. The Screen is placed on the Down, near the Koog, bearing N.E. by E. and S.W. by W., about 30 Netherland ells above high water; and in shape resembles the roof of a house.

4. The lighthouse on the west corner of the Robbebol is placed 18 Netherland elle above highest water, and remains dry in ordinary spring tides. This light is furnished with two oval screens, the one bearing N.E. and S.W., and the other N.W. and S.E.

This part of the coast is generally approached far too closely, especially by small ships and ignorant parties, and very great risk is incurred by sailing near the coast and shallows : even in fine weather, with the wind off land, ships, as well by day and night, are very apt to run aground, or out of their course, with squally weather, and by the misguidance of the currents along the coast, and at the mouth of the river.

5. The lighting of the coast hereabouts may also be considered as very satisfactory, for

(a) The light of Flieland is, with ordinary beacon sight, visible at fully 3 miles distance, close up to the coast of Flieland, in the Eyerland Shallows, and even at a small distance from the coast of Texel, near the Koog.

(b) The revolving light of Terschelling is also visible from sea, at five miles distance, to a little north of the Eyerland Shallows; and,

(c) The light of Kijkduin, which, when repaired, will soon be visible at a distance of five miles, remains visible, coming from the west, until after having reached the south-west beyond and past the west corner of the Downs of Texel; especially when observed at some elevation from the rigging when close on the Texel coast, the light of Flieland is, or soon becomes visible.

Although the above-mentioned observations will be found very useful, as well for guidance as warning, still mariners are strongly recommended, when sailing round or along that coast (corner of Texel) to keep well off the coast, and not to omit betimes frequently to use the sounding lead.

The currents close in shore would greatly mislead ships, especially in stormy weather, and with spring tides, wishing to work their way up close in shore, particularly for those who are little acquainted with the locality, and in thick or foggy weather, or at night, if neglected, bad charts and uncertain marks would soon cause the loss of the ship. The Minister aforementioned,

T. ENSLIE.

FRIESLAND MIDDLE GAT.

The Hague, October 10, 1853. The Minister of Marine hereby informs such as are interested thereby, as a continuation of the notice of the 18th of August last, that the Friesland Middle Gat is now indicated by an ordinary red buoy as outer buoy, besides three black and three white buoys; and that the aforementioned red buoy is placed in 10 ells depth, bearing

The south east beacon of Schiermonnikoog S.E.
The large light house on the Englishman's Bank S.

« ForrigeFortsett »