« ForrigeFortsett »
THE MARINE HOSPITAL.
This building, of which, as it will appear when finished, a view is given on the other side, is situated not far from the General Hospital, on the bank of the Little River St. Charles ; and nearly opposite to the spot where Jacques CARTIER first wintered in 1535.
In 1831, it was resolved to erect an Hospital, out of the city, for the reception of sailors and persons coming by sea who might be afflicted with disease. Mr. H. M. Blaiklock, Architect and Civil Engineer, was appointed to prepare plans and estimates under the Commissioners, Messrs. Clouet, Cannon and Dr. . Morrin, which plans were approved by the GoverNOR-IN-CHIEF. The estimated cost was £23,000, and the expenditure up to the present time has been £15,000, defrayed by different votes of the Legislature.
The MARINE Hospital, when completed, will contain upon the ground or first story, Catholic and Protestant Chapels, with apartments for the officiating Ministers :-Housekeeper's and Steward's apartments and store-rooms : -Nurses' apartments :-two large kitchens :—Wards for sixty patients, with Baths and all necessary conveniences. The principal story will contain a large entrance hall, approached by a double flight of stone steps on the exterior :—a Museum, forty-five feet in length :apartments for the Medical Officers :-examining rooms :-operating theatres, and accommodations for sixty eight patients. The third story will have apartments for the chief Nurses, and wards for one hundred and forty patients. The upper story is
also planned as a Lying-in Hospital, only, for thirtyfour patients, and the attics will contain sixty, making a total of accommodation for three hundred and sixty-two persons. Each story is fitted up with hot, cold and vapor baths; and each ward has from one to three ventilating flues to convey the foul air to the roof of the building by machinery. The water used is drawn from the River St. Charles, filtered, and conveyed to the top of the Hospital. In the basement story are extensive cellars, kitchens, laundry, and other domestic conveniences.
The exterior of the MARINE HOSPITAL is of the Ionic order; and the proportions are taken from the Temple of the Muses on the Ilissus near ATHENS. With the wings it measures two hundred and six feet from east to west. The wings are one hundred feet in depth; and the whole premises contain an area of about six acres, to be laid out in gardens and promenade grounds for the convalescents.
The ceremony of laying the first or centre stone took place amid a large concourse of respectable citizens on the anniversary of the King's birth day, 28th May, 1832. It was laid by His ExcELLENCY the Lord AYLMER, GOVERNOR-IN-CHIEF, and a plate, commemorating the occasion, with the date, and name of the Architect, Mr. BLAIKLOCK, and of the Commissioners, was deposited with the usual forms,
The centre and west wing are completed, and the building was opened as an Hospital in July, 1834.
In St. Helen's Street, in the Upper Town, a few yards from St. Patrick's Church, is the residence of Mr. CHASSEUR, formerly Carver and Gilder in this city; who with a love of science that cannot be too much applauded, commenced, in 1824, to employ his leisure in making a collection of the indigenous animals of Canada, chiefly, however, limited to birds and quadrupeds. His collection of birds amounts to about five hundred, among which several very curious ornithological specimens will be found. His exertions have so far met with the approbation of the Legislature, that a few years ago a pecuniary aid was voted to this enterprising zoologist, who has certainly made the best collection of natural curiosities extant in tlie Province. He intends to complete the Museum with an enlarged collection of all our native animals ; and is daily making progress in his laudable undertaking,
In this Museum is to be seen the brass cannon, known as the Canon de bronze, which was found a few years ago in the River St. Lawrence, nearly opposite the Parish of Champlain. It is to be lamented that there is upon it an inscription, erroneously stating it to have been found at the River Jacques Cartier, and to have been once in the possession of the discoverer of New France, being thereby adduced as a proof that Jacques Cartier had been wrecked at the mouth of the River, which
This subject has been treated in pages thirty-one, and sixty-eight, of this work.
bears his name.
PLACES OF EDUCATION.
Besides the QUEBEC SEMINARY, these are the Grammar School of the Royal INSTITUTION, conducted by the Reverend R. BURRAGE: the Classical School of the Reverend D. WILKIE : The NATIONAL SCHOOL, already mentioned: the School of the QUEBEC EDUCATION SOCIETY, and the British and CANADIAN School. The three last are chiefly elementary. There are also several private Schools for both sexes, Sunday Schools, and the useful establishment of Infant Schools has lately been successfully introduced into this city. In the Esplanade, is the highly valuable establishment of Mr. McDONALD for the instruction of deaf and dumb children. In the Parish of St. Roch there is also a School supported by the Roman Catholic Bishop ; and in the Suburbs of St. Lewis is the meritorious foundation of J. F. PERRAULT, Esquire, the venerable and consistent promoter of elementary instruction in his native city.
CHAPTER THE THIRTEENTH.
MONUMENT TO WOLFE AND MONTCALM-CEREMONY
ON LAYING THE FIRST STONE-INSCRIPTIONS.
That nearly seventy years should have elapsed, without this well merited tribute to the military virtue and devotion of these Heroes having been paid in the country of their fame, can only be attributed to the circumstances of a gradually rising Colony, whose attention to the Arts and to architectural embellishment could only be expected after years of prosperity, peace, and the accumulation of riches. Pericles, having enriched his country by years of prosperous administration, civil and military, betook himself to the embellishment of his native city. Rome had been long victorious over every enemy, before her heroes and patriots had leisure from the camp to adorn the FORUM with edifices, whose magnificent remains are the admiration of all beholders. The family De' Medici did not excel in the Arts, or contribute to the classic riches of FLORENCE, until a long course of commercial enterprise and success had elevated them from merchants to the rank of Princes. So it has been in all
ages, that the Arts, as well as the Laws, have been silent during periods of war and commotion ; nor has their voice been listened to, except under circumstances when the human mind, withdrawn from the turmoil