« ForrigeFortsett »
had evidently formed part of an earlier building.
For the guidance of visitors, as also, in order that those who have visited it may recall to mind what they have viewed, I purpose describing each portion of the Church separately, and calling attention to the various objects of interest in the Nave, North and South Aisles, and finally, the Chancel.
The Nare and Aisles bear date about A.D. 1330.
Over the Chancel Arch is the text, “Behold the Lamb of God which taketh away the sins of the world,” S. Luke ii. 14, whilst on the North and South side thereof are an oak Reading Desk and Pulpit, plainly, but chastely ornamented (carved). It is an open-boarded quatre-foiled roof. The spaces North and South above the pillars are neatly decorated with frieze work, and the capitals of the pillars, ornamented, whilst, at the West end, there is a Norman arch, leading into the vestry, which is under the tower, and above it an old Norman (some say Saxon) " string course," on which is inscribed
"A Praise God in His Sanctuary 2 ;” and above in a semi-circular device, “ Glory to God in the highest," St. Luke, iii. 14.
In the North Aisle there is a beautiful specimen of a piscina, of quite a different type to the others found in the Church ; and contiguous to it, apparently what has been a hagioscope. The East window of this aisle represents six events in connection with the early part of our Saviour's earthly history, viz., the Nativity, Circumcision, Presentation in the Temple, Adoration of the Magi, Flight into Egypt, and His visit to the Temple when He was “twelve years old.” This window was erected by Lady Middleton and Wentworth Bosville, Esqr., to the memory of their parents, the late Mr. and Mrs. Bosville, of Thorpe Hall. Of the three side windows only one contains stained glass, which illustrates three events in the history, viz., Samuel (prophet) anointing Saul; Melchisedec (priest) blessing Abraham; and David (king) blessing the people upon the safe return of the Ark of God from the house of Obed-Edom. A neat little Organ is placed at the West end, with the text, “Let everything that hath breath praise the Lord,” (Psalm cl. 6) painted upon the front. The monuments in this aisle bear the following inscriptions :
This tablet is erected in place of one which fell in the chancel, in 1866, by Franky their only child, the widow of James Hopkinson, Esqr. In the parish register, under the heading of “Burials in 1809," is the following entry
“Feb. 16th, Thursday, John Farthing, Esqr., aged 73 years; in life he was very abstemious, and by his strict adherence to economy and frugality arrived to an amazing degree of opulence."
TO THE MEMORY OF
AND OF GUNTHWAITE,
MATILDA, RELICT OF THE ABOVE,
THEY REST BELOW.
In the South Aisle there is also a wellcarved piscina, “walled in." The East window herein represents six events during the ministry of our Saviour, viz., His Baptism, Preaching to the multitudes, Blessing little children, The miracle of the loaves and fishes, Giving sight to the blind (Bartimeus) and the raising of Lazarus from the grave. This window is erected by the family in memory of the late Lord and Lady Macdonald. At the Western portion is a magnificent specimen of an ancient Norman font, and above it a window filled with stained glass. There are two windows facing South.*
The monuments are
TO THE MEMORY OF
IN THE COUNTY OF YORK,
HIS BELOVED WIFE,
* It is said that these aisles originally contained, each of them a Locker.
These windows are by Messrs. Hodgson, of York.