« ForrigeFortsett »
Letcher takes the place of John Washburn, while the Auditor continues.
1856-Same Commissioners, and A. R. Patterson, Auditor; Treasurer, Samuel Ayres.
1857—Commissioners, Timothy W. Stocking, William Letcher and C. Brannan; Auditor, F. M. Case.
1858—Commissioners, Timothy W. Stocking, A. W. Boynton and Christopher Brannan; Auditor, same.
1859—Commissioners same, except that Daniel Farnham succeeds Christopher Brannan, and Mr. Case continues as Auditor.
1860—Commissioners and Auditor continued.
1861–Commissioners continue in office, and C. W. Mallory succeeds Mr. Case as Auditor.
1862_Commissioners and Auditor remain in office.
1953—Commissioners, A. W. Boynton, Daniel Farnham and George R. Joy; Auditor, same.
1864-Commissioners and Clerk, same.
1865—Commissioners, Robert Haughey, A. W. Boynton and G. R. Joy; Auditor, C. W. Mallory.
1866—Commissioners, A. W. Boynton, Robert Haughey and Hiram Opdyke; Auditor, C. W. Mallory.
1867—Commissioners and Auditor same.
1868—Commissioners, Hiram Opdyke, William G. Fish and Jacob Haughey; Auditor, Simeon Gillis.
1869_Commissioners and Auditor, same as preceding year.
1870—Commissioners, Hiram Opdyke, William G. Fish and Timothy W. Stocking; Auditor, Simeon Gillis.
1871-Commissioners, Hiram Opdyke, Timothy W. Stocking and Daniel Farnham; Auditor, same.
1872—Commissioners, Timothy W. Stocking, Daniel Farnham and Eli Booth; Auditor, same.
1873—Commissioners, Daniel Farnham, John B. Grim and Eli Booth.
1874-Commissioners, Eli Booth, John B. Grim and Clark Backus; Auditor, Jacob Kelly.
1875-Commissioners, John B. Grim, P. S. Garlow and Clark Backus; Auditor, same.
1876—Commissioners, Peter S. Garlow, C. W. Mallory and Jonathan Burke; and same Auditor.
1877—Commissioners, C. W. Mallory, G. R. Joy and Jonathan Burke; Auditor, George Rings.
1878–Comunissioners and Auditor same.
1879—Commissioners, George R. Joy, Jonathan Burke and George Webber; Auditor, same.
1880--Same Commissioner and Auditor held over.
1881—Commissioners, George Webber, Jonathan Burke and A. Riley; Auditor, A. F. Solier.
1882-Commissioners, Jonathan Burke, Alfred Riley and Eli Wisman; Auditor, George F. Solier.
LIST OF COUNTY RECORDERS FROM 1824 to 1882 INCLUSIVE.
Recorders hold their office for the term of three years, and are eligible to re-election for an indefinite number of terms. Since 1824, there have been only twelve incumbents in the office, and their names and order of service are as follows: John Evans, Horace Sessions, Calvin L. Noble, Jacob Youse, M. B. Plummer, James B. Wyatt, George L. Starr, Harvey H. Wilcox, Isaac N. Sheets, Robert D. Dole, Barrett E. Conklin and Thomas J. Coslet.
FIRST COURT HOUSE AND JAIL. The log court house in which the first court was held, after Lryan became the seat of justice, was situated on Main street, on the lots now occupied by George W. Myers, and the adjacent one on the north. The log jail occupied the lot owned by A. T. Bement, and where he recently resided. The public offices and records were first lodged in a log structure, on the south side of the public square, on the ground now used by the Bryan Boot and Shoe Company; and after this, and until the present court house was built, the public offices were distributed over various sections of the new town.
TERMS OF COURT AT BRYAN.
The first term of court held at Bryan “was begun and held at Bryan on the 19th day of April, 1811, and of the State of Ohio the 39th. Present, Emery D. Potter, President Judge, and Jonas Colby and William D. Haymaker, Associate Judges of said court; John Drake, Sheriff, and Edwin Phelps, Clerk."
The Sheriff having returned the venire for the grand jury, the following persons answered to their names, to wit: Horace Hilton, John Bowdle, James Partee, Jacob Kniss, Zachariah Hart, William Travis, Francis Loughhead, Daniel Wyatt, George W. Durbin and Jacob Dillman. Isaiah Ackley, Amos Stoddard, Seth Stinson, Frederick Miser and Jacob G. Wilden were summoned from among the by-standers as talesmen, and thereupon the court appointed Jacob Dillman foreman of the jury, who were duly impaneled, sworn and charged. At this term, twelve bills of indictment were found by the grand jury-four for selling liquor, three for assault and battery, three for gaming, one for assault on Constable and one for affray. Upon the civil docket appear 148 cases, in addition to a grant of the petitioners of the proprietors to vacate the towns of Freedom and Denmark, and the naturalization of four men of foreign birth.
“ The court authorize the Clerk to grant permits to such persons as shall apply during vacation, to ferry footmen across small streams where a regular ferry is not necessary, and allow them to receive 6 cents for each footman."
The journal, on the 21st of April, 1841, closed with the following entry : “ All matters, causes and proceedings, pending in this court, not otherwise disposed of, are continued, and thereupon the court adjourn without day. Emery D. Potter, President Judge."
At the September term, 1812, appeared the same President Judge and Associates—Reuben B. James, William D. Haymaker and Jonathan B. Taylor; Clerk, Edwin Phelps ; Sheriff, John Drake.
September term, 1813, same Presiding Judge and Associates—Thomas Kent, Jonathan B. Taylor and William D. Haymaker ; Clerk and Sheriff, same.
April term, 1844–President Judge, Myron H. Tilden ; Associate Judges and Clerk, same as in 1813; Sheriff, James M. Gillespie.
June term, 1845-President Judge, Patrick G. Goode; Associate Judges, Jonathan B. Taylor, Thomas Kent and Payne C. Parker; Clerk, Levi Colby ; Prosecuting Attorney, E. H. Leland; Sheriff, James M. Gillespie.
[At this term, part of the judiciary became involved in trouble-E. H. Leland, Prosecuting Attorney, having been indicted for gaming, and Judge Thomas Kent for assault and battery. Both were acquitted.]
June term, 1846—President and Associate Judges, same as in 1845: Clerk, John Paui; Prosecuting Attorney, Joshua Dobbs; President Judge, same; Associate Judges, Thomas Kent, Payne C. Parker and Abner Ayres; Clerk, Prosecuting Attorney and Sheriff, same.
May term, 1847—No change in any of the judicial officers.
April term, 1848-President Judge did not appear at this term, and court was held by the Associates; Clerk and Sheriff, same as at former term.
May term, 1819-President Judge, George B. Way; Associates and Clerk, same; Sheriff, Daniel Langel.
October term, 1850—President Judge, same; Associates, Payne C. Parker, Abner Ayres and William M. Stubbs; Clerk and Sheriff, same.
September term, 1851—All the court officers continued ; and this was the last term of a court in Williams County held under the judicial sygtem established by the constitution o: 1802, which had been the supreme law of Ohio during a period of half a century.
Under the present constitution, the first term commenced on the 6th