« ForrigeFortsett »
setts; immigrated to Galena, Ill., in 1854, where he was engaged as clerk in a wholesale store, remaining until 1856, when he came 'to Lansing, this county, and engaged in farming one year. He came to Dorchester in 1857 and engaged in the flouring mill until 1860, when he returned to Massachusetts, coming back to Galena in 1861, and entering the county recorder's office in Joe Daviess county. In 1864 he enlisted in Co. 1, 45th Ill. Vol. Infantry, and participated in the battles with Sherman on his march to the sea. In the fall of 1865, after being discharged, he returned to Galena, again entered the recorder's office, remaining two years, and then accepted position as book-keeper in a general store at Augusta, Arkansas; returned to Galena in 1869, soon after engaging as clerk in a store at Warren, Ill., going thence back to Mass., and remaining there three years as book-keeper in a-wholesale fish establishment. He then returned to Dorchester, where he has been occupied as collector for the past six years. He has also served as justice of the peace, and is at this writing (autumn, 1882) a candidate for the republican nomination for the office of county recorder.
A. Jensvold, merchant, was born in Norway in 1841, and came directly to this township in the summer of 1866, but shortly afterwards went to Winneshiek county, where he taught Norwegian school near Locust Lane for nearly three years; attended the state normal school at Winona, Minn., nearly two years, and after a term at the commercial college in LaCrosse, Wis., accepted the position of book-keeper in a wholesale drug house of that city, which he held for eight years. Returning to Waterville in 1879, he started in business in a small way, but it so increased and prospered that in 1881 he erected the substantial stone building he now occupies. Was elected a member of Grimsgaard district school board; and for about two years has been the leader of a singing society, the Home Circle, holding weekly meetings. Mr. Jensvold was married in 1879 to Miss Julia Arneson, and has one child, a son.
Charles Johnson, postoffice, Waukon; farmer, section 28; owns 280 acres of land valued at $45 per acre, it being among the best farms in the township. He was born in Norway in 1828, was reared upon a farm; the last two years he spent in that country was in the army, being in the cavalry service. He emigrated to the United States in 1853, stopping in Winnesbiek county, having but two cents upon his arrival there, but being possessed of a good physical constitution as well as economy, good judgment and perseverance, he has accumulated a handsome property. He moved to his present farm in 1867; was married to Miss Ellen Patterson in 1856. She is also a native of Norway. They have four children, whose names are Augusta, Peter, Joseph and Albert. Mr. J. is a member of the Lutheran Church.
J. J. Jennewine, section 22, postoffice, Waukon; farmer and stock dealer; son of Nicholas and Catharine Jennewine; born December 28th, 1878, in Prussia, served three years in the Prussian army, from 1849 to 1852. In the spring of 1853 he emigrated to the United States, arriving at N. Y. the 7th of May, 1861, he enlisted in the 1st Virginia Cavalry. Upon the organization of the company he was elected 2d Lieutenant, and for meritorious conduct at the battle of Woodstock in the Shenandoah valley, he was promoted to 1st Lieutenant. He participated in the battle of Romania, Cedar Mountain, Kelly's Ford, Centerville, Fairfax Court House, Culpepper, etc. On account of physical disability he resigned his office in 1863 and returned home. He emigrated to Iowa in the spring of 1865, locating in Jefferson township upon his present farm of 120 acres, valued at $30 per acre. Mr. J. was married to Miss Loretta Burgess, in Va., March 24, 1857; they have eight children, Charles H., Robert N., John J., Sophia, Maggie M., Adelie M., Ella H. and Catharine. He is a member of the I. 0.0. F.
Mrs. Margaret N. A. Jaquis (nee Young), postoffice, Waukon; farmer, section 10. She was born in Park Co., Ind., in 1827, and was married to Daniel Jaquis in 1854. He was born in Essex County, N. Y., in 1818, and came to this county in 1851, being among the pioneers of the county. He died a few years ago, leavir.g a farm of 210 acres, which is carried on by Mrs. J. and her son John E., who was born on this farm in 1860. The other children are Mary, Martha J. and Daniel E. Mrs. J. is a member of the M. E. Church.
J. P. Jackson, farmer, Lafayette tp., sec. 29; was born in Ohio in 1825, immigrated to Iowa in May, 1851, and settled in Taylor tp.; enlisted in 1861 in Co. B, 12th Iowa Infantry; reteranized in Dec., 1863, and served till June, 1866; was promoted from the ranks to the various company offices, and discharged as 1st. Lieut. In Aug., 1862, was sent tu Dubuque in the recruiting service, remaining there until May, 1863, when he rejoined his regiment at Vicksburg, Miss., during the siege of that city. Mr. Jackson married Miss Mary McFadden in 1819. Their daughter Mary was the first white child born in Lafayette tp., and is now the wife of Herman Gaunitz, of Lansing. Mr. J. was the first clerk of the tp., and has held most of the tp. offices.
Andrew Jacobson, farmer, P. O. Waukon; owns a farm of 200 acres in section 9, valued at $20 per acre; was born in Norway, Oct. 12, 1829; came to the U. S. in 1851 and located in Dane Co., Wis., where he remained one and one-half years; then went to White Lake, Mich. Six months later he returned to Dane Co., Wis., and in 1856 came to this county. He married Julia Iverson in April, 1851, and has ten children living, Carrie, George, John, Isabella, Henry, Anton, Gustave, Hellena, Oscar A. and
A. Grant. They have lost by death three, Hellena, Ivor, and Elmer L. John is studying law in Judge Cooley's office at Decorah, Iowa.
George Kehr, liquor dealer, Lansing, was born in New York city in 1854; came to this Co. with his parents in 1860; married Katie Luger, of Dubuque. He is a son of Peter Kehr, who is a native of Germany.
Moritz Kerndt, merchant, Lansing, born in Germany, in 1830; came to the U. S. in 1852; in 1856 settled at Lansing, and has since been a member of the firm of G. Kerndt & Bros. He has been connected with banking since 1873, and is at present president of the Bank of Lansing. He was married in 1863 to Miss Mary Nimsgern. They bave eight children.
Knudt Knudtson, sec. 15, Makee tp., P. O. Waukon, born in Norway in 1818, emigrated to the U.S. in 1849, and in 1851 settled on his present farm. He was married in 1852 to Cornelia Emmerson. The children living are Cornelia, now Mrs. L. O. Storle, of Moorehead, Minn.; Anna, now Mrs. Hans Johnson; Thomas and Charlie.
Patrick Keenan, deceased, whose portrait adorns this work, was born in the county of Dublin, Ireland, in 1818. Emigrated to New Orleans, La., in 1844, where he remained about three years, including short stoppages at different points on the Lower Mississippi river. Early in 1847 he came north to Galena, Ill., where he engaged in mining and prospecting, also spending some time at Dubuque. Upon first concluding to stop at Galena, he had returned to New Orleans and brought up his sister and her husband, R. Cassidy, to that place. In the fall of 1847 he came into this county, which was then inhabited only by the Indians; selected a claim where the County Poor Farm now is, and returned to Galena. The following year he again came on, bringing his brotherin-law, Cassidy, with him, settled on his claim and began to improve it. In the spring of 1849, while out hunting for his cattle, he found himself down on Paint Creek, in Jefferson tp., and being very favorably impressed with the situation of the land on the creek, and the prairie adjoining on the south, he concluded to abandon his former claim and locate on this land in Jefferson tp.; and, having his ax with him, as was his usual custom, he "blazed” a few trees so as to readily find the place again, and upon returning home immediately made preparations to remove to his newly selected claim, which he did the same spring, accompanied by his brother-in-law's family, and they were the first settlers in he township. He laid claim to nearly a section of land, and afterwards purchased more in the south part of that township and in Franklin.township. This same season he met with an adventure one day, while down on the Yellow river, that showed the metal of the man. Being alone and unarmed, save with an ax, which he always carried to mark his way, he was suddenly con
first concluding ht' up his sister he came into to
veear. He wasná throughonter most i
fronted by two large black bears, one of which raised upon its hind feet and advanced upon him. Although knowing nothing of the habits of the animal at the time, Mr. K. stood his ground, faced his bearship and brandished his ax, and the bears seeing no evidence of fear on his part, finally themselves became frightened and made off.
Mr. Keenan was married in July, 1854, to Miss Catharine Scanlan, a native of Upper Canada, who was born in 1836. Their children are: Richard F., Wm. M., Patrick H., Maggie A., Thos. J., John A., Mary T., Charles L. and Clement G., having lost three, Johana, Joseph and Albert J.
Mr. Keenan died March 14, 1878, honored by all who knew him. His remains were deposited in the Cherry Mound cemetery, four prominent clergymen assisting in the ceremonies, which were very impressive, and were attended by a large concourse of people from far and near. He was a man of good judgment, firm and determined in character, and throughout his residence in this county he figured prominently as one of her most influential citizens. He leaves an estate of 700 acres of the best land in the township, which is carried on by Mrs. K., it being superintended by her son Wm. They are introducing some very fine stock upon the farm, having recently purchased three head of yearlings past for $640.
John Kelly, P. O. Rossville, farmer; son of Daniel and Sarah Kelly; born in 1839, in Harrison Co., O., where he remained till 1861, when he was married to Miss Jane Lewis, and the same year emigrated to Iowa, locating in Paint Creek tp., of this Co., from which place he came to his present farm in 1863. He owns 200 acres of land, worth about $7,000. They have seven children: Jessie, Ida, Orrie, Louie, Esther, John and Benner; and have lost one infant.
Wm. M. Kelly, Paint Creek tp., was born in Harrison Co., Ohio, in 1833. In 1861 he came to Iowa and settled in Linton tp. In 1868 he removed to Rossville and engaged in the mercantile business. Two years later he went to Mason City, Iowa. In 1873 he returned to Rossville and again engaged in the mercantile business, and continued until 1878, when he located on his present farm. He has a family of eight children, Levi, Daniel, Jessie, Alice, Nettie, Mary, Martha William H. and Fred.
Hon. Andrew Landy, P. O. Lansing, farmer, born in Switzerland in 1829. He was educated in his native country; attending two dif. ferent colleges, one being an agricultural one. In 1849 he came to America and settled in this county, where he has since resided, locating on his present farm in 1850. In 1871 he was chosen by the people to represent his county in the State Legislature, which position he held one term. In 1852 he married Elizabeth Hirth, and they have ten children-five sons and five daughters.
şition he to represent tarm in 19hty, where . In 1849
and Albert C. 148825.00 per a emigratedssippi River 356 he purchcame
J. H. Lamont, blacksmith, was born at Canton, N. Y., in Aug., 1834. At the age of 17 he commenced work at his trade, and in 1863 came west and located at Waukon. He was married in the spring of 1856 at Richford, Vt., to Miss Martha E. Hathaway, and they now have two sons, Chas. A. and Henry A.
Hosa Low, hardware merchant, is found among the early settlers as well as prominent business men of Waukon. He is a native of Vt.; born in 1829. In 1836 the family came west, first stopping at Chicago, then removing to Wis., from which State Mr. Low came to Allamakee Co., settling at Waukon in 1858. Here he at once engaged in the hardware business, being a member of the firm of Low & Bean, and has pursued mercantile life in the hardware line most of the time since. Mr. Low, in 1859, was united in marriage to Miss Laura A. Stilman, of N. Y., and now has two sons and two daughters, Frank, Mary, Fred, Josie.
Gilbert C. Lyse, P. (). Dalby, farmer, sec. 3; owns 260 acres of land valued at $25.00 per acre. He was born May 4, 1826, in Norway. In 1854 he emigrated to the U. S., coming via New Orleans and up the Mississippi River to Columbus in Allamakee Co., Iowa, in July of that year. In 1856 he purchased land on sec. 15 of this tp., which he subsequently sold and came on to his present farm in 1858. He married Miss Caroline Engbretson in 1854. She died in 1870. He was again married to Mary Halverson in 1875; had one son by his first marriage-Christ, who is now engaged in the mercantile business at Brookings, D. T. The children by his second marriage are Caroline M., and Carl E. He is a member of the Lutheran Church
Simon Ludeking, P. O. Waukon; farmer, sec. 29; son of Simon and Charlotte Ludeking, was born in Prussia, Germany, in 1826, where he remained till the spring of 1854, when he emigrated to the U. S., stopping in Sheboygan Co., Wis., and in the spring of 1855 came to Io. and located 80 acres of his present farm and commenced making improvements upon the same. The following winter he went to Lincoln Co., Mo., where he engaged in chopping cord wood for steamboats and the St. Louis market, continuing to work on his farm summers and in Missouri winters, till in 1858 he married Miss Mary Geesmeyer, of Mo. She was also born in Germany. He then came on to his farm, which by his industry and economy he has added to till he now has 280 acres well improved and among the best farms in the tp. He has a family of eight children, whose names are as follows; Louisa, Mene, Ulrich, Samuel, Henry, Gustaf, George and Thomas, and has lost one daughter, Lydia. Mr. L. is a member of the German Presbyterian church.
J. M. Lisher, proprietor of the Commercial House and livery stable, Postville, was born in Ind., in 1844; his parents moved to McHenry Co., Ills., in 1846, and in 1854 to Allamakee Co., Io., locating ten miles north of Waukon. In 1862 he enlisted in Co.