« ForrigeFortsett »
to Miss Mary Protheroe, of Decorah, on the 28th of October, 1858, and now has three daughters, Mary S., Nellie P., and Elsie.
John R. Slack, principal of the Decorah Business College, was born in Ohio in 1824. He was educated at Jefferson College, of Chambersburg, Pa., after which he engaged with his father in the nursery and gardening business. At the age of 25 he commenced book-keeping at Steubenville, his native town. In 1856 he came to lo., and December 19, 1856, entered the Winnesbiek County Bank, and was its book-keeper and cashier uutil the spring of 1874; during this time he also served as postmaster for five years. In the fall of 1874 he established the Decorah Business College, and has since conducted the same. Iu 1875 he published a book entitled “Rationale and Practice of Book-keeping," and has since used the same in the college. Mr. Slack is an expert accountant, and is often employed in that capacity. He was married July 24, 1858, to Miss Mariah A. Foley, a native of La Porte, Ind; they have nine children, John, James, Catherine, Hatton, Raphael, Paul, Edward, Leonard and Samuel.
P. S. Smout. This enterprising gentleman is a native of England, and was born in 1839. When he was only two or three years old the famly emigrated to Canada, and in 1856 to Wis. Mr. · Smout here engaged in the hardware business, which he continued until 1865, in which year he came to Decorah, and has since been pursuing the same business. In the spring of 1882 he rented the Klein & Johnson brewery, converted the same into a creamery, and is now running the same. He is also senior member of the firm of P. S. Smout & Co., manufacturers of creamery apparatus, etc. Mr. Smout bas been twice married-in 1862 to Miss Mary Sloane, by whom he has one son, Frank F.; in 1880 to Amelia Seifert, by whom he has one son, Harry G.
J. C. Strong, President Winneshiek County Bank. The subject of this sketch is a native of the state of N. Y., and was born in 1832. In 1853 he came westward as far as Cleveland, Ohio, and in 1857 to Io. Upon arriving in the Hawkeye state, he soon settled at Fort Atkinson, and engaged in general merchandise. In 1862 he went back to his native state, and until 1865 was engaged in general merchandise at Yorkshire, Erie Co. He then returned to Io., and settled at Decorah. Here he speculated in grain, wool, etc., for one year. The next eight years he was employed as secretary of the Mississippi Valley Insurance Co. In the spring of 1875 Mr. Strong spent a few months east for the purpose of recruiting his health, which had been somewhat affected by his indoor confinement and close attention to business. At the death of H. S. Weiser, his brother-in-law, Mr. Strong and J. M. Williams, in accordance with the will of the deceased, became the executors of the estate, and Mr. Strong was chosen president of the banking house. Mr. Strong was married in 1857, at Cleveland, Ohio, to Abbie C. Amy, daughter of John and Cyntha G. Smalley Amy. The children are Harry A., John C. and R. L.
Michael Steyer, was born in Germany in 1838; learned the trade of stone and marble worker in his native country; also traveled in Belgium and France. In 1867 he came to the U. S. to visit his brother, Joseph Steyer, but upon arriving at Decorah, was so well pleased with the place that he entered into business there. In 1876 he purchased a stone quarry at Decorah, and was the first man to make use of the Decorah fossil stone for monuments, etc. Mr. Steyer was married Jan. 2, 1868, to Miss Celia Lamm, and they now have five children, K. Mary, P. George, J. Louis, Louisa and Lena.
A. G. Seavy, painter, was born in Windsor Co., Vt., in 1830. In 1854 he married Miss Mary J. Brown, and two years later came west and located at Decorah. In 1857 he went to Mower Co., Minn., purchased 160 acres of land and lived on the same about eighteen months. He then returned to Io., and lived in Howard Co. until 1870, in which year he returned to Decorah. His wife died the same year he returned to Decurah, leaving two children, Willie H. and Abbie J. In 1877 he married Mrs. Zilpha A. Wagar. In politics he is republican, and his religious affiliations are with the Methodist Episcopal church.
R. Small, M. D., is a native of Scotland, born in 1828, but while he was yet an infant the family came to the U. S. and settled in Ohio. He received an academic education, and at the age of 20 commenced the study of medicine with Dr. L. D. Vickers, of Lexington, O., as preceptor. In 1852 he entered the Ohio Medical College; in 1856 came to Io. and located at Rossville, Allamakee Co. Subsequently he entered the University of Penn. and graduated in 1861. In 1863 he enlisted in Co. K, 1st 0. heavy artillery, and served until the spring of .1864, when he was mustered out to receive a contract as acting assistant surgeon, serving one year. He then again enlisted in the 91st 0. inf., and served until the close of the war. After the war Dr. Small returned to Io, and practiced medicine in Fayette Co. until 1868. He then spent several years as a traveling lecturer, and in operating on diseases of the eye, also chronic diseases, &c., since which time he has been at Decorah. Dr. Small in 1853 married Miss Hattie McDow, by whom he has two children. In 1866 he married Henryette Roe, by whom he has two children.
Joseph Steyer is a native of Luxemburg, and was born in 1835. In 1852 he came to the U. S., and for several years traveled in different states, working at his trade, stone-cutting. In 1854 he leveled and laid the corner-stone of the bridge forming the aqueduct at Toledo, O. This privilege was bestowed upon him because he was the youngest man engaged on the work. In 1855 he laid the first cellar wall (laid in lime and mortar) in Lake City, Minn. In 1861 he superintended the building of the bridge at Elkader, Io. He located at Decorah Feb. 8, 1865, and has since been in the saloon business, and has met with marked success. In 1868, accompanied by his wite, he took a trip to Europe. In 1870 he built the Steyer Opera House, and two years subsequently enlarged the same to its present size. The cost of this building was about $53,000. Mr. Steyer was married April 22, 1860, to Miss Mary Lamm. They have had two children, both deceased.
Michael Sherry, farmer, owns 200 acres of tillable land and 10 acres of timber in Frankville tp., and 40 acres of timber in Glenwood tp.; is a native of Ireland, and came to the U. S. with his parents in 1853; settled first in DuPage Co., Ills., and in 1856 came to Io. His father, Michael Sherry, sr., purchased the farm at that time; he died in 1862, and Michael and his brother Hugh have since conducted the same. Their land is located in Secs. 16 and 17, and is fine rolling prairie, well improved, and with good, comfortable buildings. James Sherry, a brother, enlisted in the 117th Ills. inf., served three years in the rebellion, was imprisoned in Libby Prison, and died shortly after being released. .
William H. Smith, dealer in general merchandise, Frankville, Io., was born in the city of New York in 1842; was educated there and remained until 1861, when he gratified his desire to come west, by accepting a position as clerk in the store of Frank Teabout. In 1868, in partnership with a Mr. Samons, he bought the store and business of his employer, and in 1872 bought the interest of his partner, and has conducted the business himself ever since. His success is the result of close attention to business and careful management. Besides his mercantile interests he has fine farm property; owns a farm of 260 acres near the village of Frankville, also a fine residence and property in town. Mr. Smith is W. M. of the A. F. & A. M. lodge at Frankville, which is one of the oldest in the state, being No. 66. He was married in 1871 at Frankville to Miss Ellen Cutler, of the same place, and they have two daughters.
A. Snyder, P. M. of Freeport P. O., dealer in general merchandise, was born in Ohio in 1835; his parents emigrated to Ind. in 1841, and to this Co. in 1857, locating at Freeport. Mr. S. followed farming principally until in 1879 he established his present business in connection with George Pennington, of Decorah. He married Miss C. M. Strayer, a native of Mo.; they have one child, D. A. Snyder.
John Stortz, P. O. Decorah; farmer; Sec. 33, Canoe tp.; son of Lorenz and Johanna Stortz; was born in Wirtemburg, Germany, Dec. 27, 1842; his parents emigrated to the U. S. in 1849, and located at Racine, Wis., and in the fall of 1859 came to this Co. and tp., where they still reside. He enlisted in Co. A, 16th U.S. inf., in Apr., 1862. He was with Sherman's army in his march to the sea, and was captured by the rebels at Atlanta, Ga., July
23, 1864, was immediately taken to Andersonville, where he was kept till the 10th of Sept., when he with several others was taken to Florence, S. C. While there he with four others escaped, but after being out a few days were all recaptured and taken to Goldsboro, where he again escaped with a companion, but they were pursued by the rebels with bloodhounds, and were overtaken near à stream; he preferring to take the chances in the water rather than face the hounds; so he leaped in and swam the river, never afterwards seeing or hearing of his companion. He was soon recaptured, but was still determined upon escaping, which he soon did, but was again recaptured through the perfidy of a colored man, to whom he had applied for assistance in getting something to eat. The negro, pretending to befriend them, went for some food, but instead brought his master with others, and they were again taken into captivity. But he soon escaped the fourth time and was again captured. Shortly afterwards he again escapedthis being the fifth time—when he succeeded in reaching the Union lines at Strawberry Plains in Tenn. on the 22d of December, 1864, and soon reached his regiment at Lookout Mountain, where he remained till in the spring of 1865 he was discharged, when he returned home. He married Miss Emily Headington, of Ohio, Oct. 2, 1871, and in the same fall he moved on to his present farm. He now owns 120 acres, valued at $40 per acre. Mr. S. is a thoroughgoing, enterprising farmer; his war record indicates a man of perseverance and energy. His children are Jennie E., Josephine, Ida M., James L., Emma D., Clement A., and an infant.
George Sieh, P. O. Conover; proprietor of St. Charles Hotel and livery; was born in Germany in 1847, and at the age of 19 came to America. At Chicago, Ills., he was engaged in the employ of the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co. one year, after which he went out on the Union Pacific railroad, where he engaged in the saloon business at different points along the railroad to beyond Utah. In the fall of 1869 he returned and went to Prairie du Chien, Wis., remaining some three or four years there; went to Clayton, Io., remaining one year, and in 1874 was married to a Miss Louisa Christoph, of Prairie du Chien. The following year he came to Conover and purchased his present property. He also owns a building and lot at Spillville, worth $1,000. His children are Emma C., George and Louisa. They have lost by death one son. Mr. S. is a member of the I. 0. 0. F. at Ossian, lodge No. 177.
E. P. Sandager, P. O. Conover; farmer, Sec. 22; was born in Norway in 1826. In the spring of 1850 he shipped in a sail vessel for the U. S., and was nine weeks and three days making the trip to N. Y. He then came to Buffalo and via the great lakes to Milwaukee, Wis., thence by private conveyance to Winnesheik Co. in the fall of 1850, his brother Thore having preceded him
some three months with his father-in-law, T. Larson, who were the first settlers of Calmar tp., the subject of this sketch being the next. He first purchased 40 acres of land from the government, to which by economy, industry and perseverance he has added, until he now owns 900 acres, one of the best farms in the tp. He was married in 1855 to Miss Rena Guttermson, who came to this country in 1853. They have eight children, Peter, Gilbert, Andrew, Hans T., Gusta, Martha, Eliza and Emma, and lost one daughter, Eliza. Mr. S. has taken special care to give his children good educations, both in their native language and in English, and is a member of the Lutheran church.
Charles Sydow, P. O. Conover; dealer in grain, lumber, stock, etc; was born in Germany in 1833. He received a liberal education in his native language and was engaged as a clerk and accountant several years prior to coming to the U. S., which was in 1856. He first came to Milwaukee, Wis., where he had friends; remained there but a short time, first making a tour through many of the Southern states and Colorado, Utah and New Mexico. He then came to Io., stopping in Clayton Co., where he remained till the breaking out of the rebellion, and espousing the cause of the Union, in Aug., 1862, he enlisted as a private in Co. D, 27th Io. inf., participating in most of the battles in which his company were engaged, and for meritorious conduct and bravery at the battle of Pleasant Hill, La., he was promoted to the office of second lieutenant of his company; was mustered out at Clinton, Io., at the close of the war in 1865, after which he returned to Clayton Co. He was married to Miss Mary N. Klein, of Prairie du Chien, Wis., in 1867, and the same year came to Conover and engaged in his present business. Their children are Bertie, Hedwig, Amelia, Clara, Otelia and Emma. Mr. S. has served as a member of the board of supervisors of his Co., was also elected the first recorder of the town of Conover, has served as justice of the peace, assessor, etc., and is a member of the Blue Lodge Chapter and Encampment of the Masonic order at Decorah.
A. E. Stiles, of the firm of McEwen & Stiles, dealers in drugs, medicines, paints, oils, etc., was born in Allegany, N..Y., in 1854, and came to Postville, Io., in 1855, with his parents, where he has since resided, with the exception of two years spent in Batavia, N. Y., learning the drug trade. He established his present business in 1879.
John Scott, dealer in general merchandise, postmaster and agent for U. S. Express Co., was born in Schoharie Co., N. Y., in 1828. In 1846 he came to Racine Co., Wis., and in 1852 went to California, returning in 1860. Four years later he came to Calmar and established his present business. Mr. S. has been mayor several terms, and has held other offices of public trust. He married Helen M. Tower, also of Schoharie Co., N. Y.; they have one son, Starring C.
tle to engaged, and in most of listed as a spousing the remained til