« ForrigeFortsett »
residence, good farm buildings. etc. He was married in 1866 at Decorah, to Miss Jane Gorman, and they have one child, Martha Ella.
Joseph Todd, carpenter and joiner, Decorah; was born in Co. Armagh, Ireland, in 1825, and was by trade a weaver. In 1819 went to Montreal, Canada, and two months after came to the states, locating in Elgin, Ni., where he remained three years, working at his trade; then to Tama Co., Io., two years, and from there to Decorah. He established business as a carpenter and also erected a sash and blind factory, which he operated until 1879. He has enjoyed a good run of work as a carpenter, and does country work as well as town. He has a good residence property in Decorah, where he resides, also owns 40 acres of improved land in Fremont tp., which he rents. He was married in 1851 at Elgin, Ill., to Miss Mary J. Frizell, and has five children, May, Clarence, Grace, Edith and Mabel.
James Todd, farmer, residing in Fremont tp.; was born in Co. Armagh, Ireland, June 22, 1821, and was by trade a weaver. In 1815 he came to America, and settled in Elgin, Ill., where he worked in a machine shop and was also for some time employed as a mason. In 1856 he came to Io., and took the claim of 160 acres on which he now resides. He had purchased 80 acres of timber prior to his claim, and has bought 50 acres of land since. The land is improved thoroughly, and is one of the finest farms in the Co.; has a fine residence, good, substantial farm buildings, barns, granaries, etc.; a large amount of stock, including a herd of good grade cattle, fine horses and fine breeds of hogs, etc. Mr. Todd has taken great pains to make the farm attractive as well as convenient, having planted innumerable trees of all descriptions, including evergreens, ornamental and shade trees, besides a fine orchard, and has the satisfaction of knowing that he has accumulated his property here, having commenced on a small scale. He is a man who is respected by every one, and has always been a prominent citizen, having filled many offices of trust in tp, and school affairs. His picture appears in this work. He was married in 1856 in Zanesville, Ohio, to Miss Boies, and has ten children living. Mrs. Martha Todd, the mother of the subject of this sketch, is the oldest lady in the county, being 95 years of age, and resides in this tp. with her daughter, Mrs. Robert Long. She came to Io. from Ill. five years later than her son James, and has resided with her children ever since. Her husband died in 1835.
Ole P. Tenold, farmer, P. O. Calmar; owns 260 acres of land in Sec. 24, Calmar tp., valued at $50 per acre. He was born in Bergenstift, Norway, Oct. 17th, 1824, and came to the U.S. in 1844. He worked at his trade, that of shoemaking, in Chicago, and in 1853 removed to Rockford, Ills. In 1854 he came to this Co, and purchased a farm, worked at his trade two years in Calmar, and moved on to his present farm in 1867. In Nov., 1852, he was
married to Mary Johnson in Chicago; they have five children living, John, Andrew, Dianna, Josephine and Amelia; have lost five by death, Peter W., William, Edward, Laura and Betsey. Mr. T. has served as justice of the peace, township clerk, and has held other minor offices. He is a member of the Lutheran church.
Geo. W. Tasker, farmer, Sec. 9, P. O. Cresco; owns 80 acres of land, valued at $25 per acre; was born in N. H. in 1814, and is the third son of Joseph and Bridget Tasker. He lived there until he was 25 years old, then went to N. Y., purchased land and remained 15 years; then removed to Clayton county, Io. After residing ten years in Clayton Co., he came to Winnesheik Co. in 1864; enlisted in 1864 in the 47th Io. Inf., under Col. Sanford, and was discharged in the same year.
Frank Thomas, blacksmith, Ft. Atkinson, was born in Austria in 1852; came to America in July, 1869; had learned his trade in the old country; located first in La Crosse, Wis., where he lived two years; also lived in Caledonia, Minn., four years. In 1876 he came to Io. and settled here, where he has since remained. He has established a good business, owns a well fitted and convenient shop, also a fine residence fitted with every comfort, the result of his labors here; does a good business in shoeing, wagon, carriage and plow work.
Capt. H. Tower, postmaster and dealer in general merchandise, Ft. Atkinson; was born in Rutland, N. Y., in 1827; in Dec., 1855, moved to Palmyra, Jefferson Co., Wis., and engaged in mercantile business. In April, 1864, he enlisted in the 40th Wis. Inf., as a one-hundred day man; he was elected second lieutenant of Co. G, and stationed at Memphis, Tenn. At the expiration of his time be returned to Wis., raised a volunteer company of 86 men in seven days, and took them to the front. He was made captain, and they were mustered in the 46th Wis. Inf., and constituted Co. E. He served to the close of the war, receiving final discharge Sept. 27, 1865. He then returned to Wis. and continued in mercantile business as before until 1869, when he came to this place, and was among the first business men in the town, carrying a general stock of merchandise, which business he still continues. He was appointed deputy postmaster in 1868, and in the fall of 1870 received the appointment of postmaster, which office he continues to fill. He owns, in partnership with his sonin-law, Ace Webster, 120 acres of land known as the Highland farm, and is also interested with him in the egg business. He was married Jan. 1st, 1850, at Clarendon, Vt., to Miss Polly E. Potter, and they have two children, Ida and Noel D.
William B. Updegraff is a native of Jefferson Co., Ohio, and was born in 1822. In 1843 he came to Jackson Co., Io., but returned to Ohio on account of fever and ague. In 1846 he went to Sauk Co., Wis., and speculated in town property, etc. In 1850 he came to Decorah and located land but soon returned to Wis., and
remained until 1855, since which time he has been a resident of Winneshiek Co. His present business is dealing in real estate, etc. He owns about 500 acres in Winnesheik Co., and nearly 1,000 acres in Minn. Mr. Updegraff married in 1860 Miss Lydia M. Shear; they have four children.
William H. Valleau, city mayor of Decorah, is one of the most stirring and enterprising men in the state of Io. He was born in Sullivan Co., N. Y., on the 18th of Nov. 1848, his parents being John and Jane Hill Valleau, both natives of the Empire state. During his early years he received a fair education, but in 1864, although a mere boy, having a roving disposition, he concluded he would like to see something of this broad domain outside of his native state. He therefore went across the plains to the Rocky Mountains, where he spent one year in mining; then returned as far east as Neb., where he remained until 1869, at which date he went to Minn., and the year following came to Io., and located at Decorah. At that time Mr. Valleau had but a very small amount of money, but he at once commenced dealing in grain, and being very successful he increased his business so that he soon ran elevators in eight different towns besides Decorah, and for several years did a business amounting to $1,000,000 annually. He then became associated as partner with Frank Teabout, and under the firm name of Teabout & Valleau, did the most extensive business in the Northwest, running four large stores, six lumber yards and thirteen warehouses and elevators in Io. and Dak.; also dealt very extensively in live stock and cultivated 6,000 acres of land in Clay and O'Brien Co.'s Io. This business was carried on successfully until the hard winter of 1880-1, when, on account of the railroads being blockaded, business was at a standstill. They also lost 3,000 acres of good corn, which could not be gathered; 350 acres of broom-corn was destroyed by storms, and 400 head of cattle and 900 hogs perished. They therefore suspended business in May, 1881. Mr. Valleau, although but twelve years a citizen of Decorah, has probably done as much to build up the city as any one man. Two elevators near the depot are monuments of his enterprise. The elegant furniture of the Winneshiek House was placed there by him, as he was landlord of the house for a short time after it was refitted in 1877, and many public enterprises are marked by his handiwork. Mr. Valleau is a democrat in politics, and his popularity as a citizen is well established by the fact that he is now serving his fourth term as mayor of Decorah, although his party is greatly in the minority. He is a man who greatly enjoys sport, such as hunting or fishing, but is a wide-awake, shrewd business man, easy to get acquainted with, and immediately makes friends wherever he goes. In 1869, at St. Charles, Minn., Mr. Valleau was united in matrimony to Miss Ella Giddings, daughter of David Giddings, and a relative of Joshua R. Giddings; they now have two children, John D. and William H., Jr. Nels L. Volding, farmer, P. O. Decorah; was born April 6, 1821, in Norway ; emigrated to the U. S. in 1853, purchased his home farm the same year, and has since added a farm near Ossian, making in all 408 acres which are worth $35 per acre. He married Miss Mary A. Bluarp in Norway Nov. 30, 1850 ; they have ten children, Ole, Lewis, Minnie, Henry, Clause, Nelson M., Bertha, Julius, Theodore and Martha O., and have lost one daughter, Bertha M. His son Nelson M. has attended the Decorah Lutheran College five years. Mr. Volding is a member of the Lutheran church.
Horace Spangler Weiser, deceased, one of Decorah's early settlers and most valued citizens, was a native of Penn., having been born at York, on the 221 day of October, 1827. His parents were Charles Weiser, merchant and banker, and Anna Spangler Weiser, daughter of General Spangler, a prominent citizen of Penn. fifty years ago. The subject of this sketch had excellent opportunities for mental culture when young; fitted for college at New Haven, Conn., and entered Yale in Sept., 1845, but was obliged to leave before completing his graduating course, on account of poor health. In 1850 he commenced the study of law in his native town, and in 1851 was admitted to the bar at York and began practice there in 1852. He was a great reader of the newspapers, became interested in the prospects of a young country beyond the Mississippi river, made a trip to Io., was pleased with the opening which Decorah,Winneshiek Co, presented, and here located in 1855. He immediately established a private bank, united with it the business of real estate and continued both branches until his demise. The Winneshiek County bank, which he started, and which became so popular and so eminently successful under his management, is still in operation, and is said to be the oldest bank continuing under its original name. In his business, to which he gave his undivided attention, Mr. Weiser was very accommodating; he would often before regular hours open his bank and remain open after hours, if by so doing he could oblige any person. Few people were ever more attentive to their calling, or more punctual and prompt in the discharge of obligations. So wedded was he to business that he paid little attention to politics, more than to vote, and more than once refused to accept office. He acted with the Democrats until the rebellion broke out, after that with the Republicans. Mr. Weiser was a communicant in the Protestant Episcopal church, and much of the time an officer in that body, and maintained an unblemished and exalted christian character. He was a member of the Blue Lodge in the Masonic fraternity, but jarely met with the order. On the 14th day of July, 1859, he was united in marriage to Miss Louise M. Amy, daughter of John and Cynthia Smalley Amy. There are three children, Amy Spangler, Charles J. and Anna Louise, who became fatherless on the 19th day of July, 1875, while their mother was absent from the State. Though not in good health for three or four years previous to his demise, Mr. Weiser was as well as usual on that day, was cheerful in the evening, retired at a late hour, and soon afterwards was found dead in his bed, the cause supposed to be apoplexy. Mr. Weiser early identified himself with the interests of his beautiful Iowa home, took pride in the growth and material progress of the place, now a city of nearly four thousand inhabitants, and lent his aid in every enterprise tending to develop the wealth of the Co. Few men more public spirited ever lived in Winneshiek Co., and no man here ever accumulated such a fortune. He was thoughtful and considerate, lenient toward his debtors, never taking advantage of their necessities; heedful of the wants of the poor and destitute; kindly in his feelings toward all; social and cheerful in his disposition; temperate in his habits; never visited places that tended to lower the morals of men, but always set a good example for the young. The death of no man in Winnesbiek Co. was ever mourned by so many warm friends as that of Horace S. Weiser. A fine portrait of Mr. Weiser appears elsewhere in this work.
Capt. E. I. Weiser was born in York, Pa., April 10, 1835, his parents being Samuel and Anna Mariah Ilgenfritz Weiser. At the age of sixteen he commenced work in a drugstore, and continued this in his native state until 1856. He then immigrated to Iowa and soon established a drug business at Decorah. Being a man possessed of a warm heart and genial nature and a patriotic love of country, the threats of war against the Union aroused his impulsive nature to a desire to make any sacrifice, hardship, suffering, even life itself, in his country's cause. As a result, when the first cry of a distressed country was heard, calling on her sons for aid against the assaults of traitors, Capt. E. I. Weiser was the first and foremost of her many patriots in Winneshiek Co. to respond. Captain E. I. Weiser was the first man to enlist from the county in his country's service in the late civil war. He enlisted as a high private in Co.D, 3d Io., and was chosen first lieutenant by the company. He served his country faithfully, participating in many warm skirmishes and two hard-fought battles. He was wounded at Shiloh in the right knee; at Hatchie, Tenn., on the 5th of Oct., 1862, he was again wounded, this time in the right thigh, shattering the bone so badly that the surgeons declared amputation necessary; but to this Capt. Weiser objected, and the operation was therefore not performed. Eight months he was detained in the hospital by his wound, and seven of these eight months he was compelled to lie in one position, on his back. He did not recover sufficiently to again perform active military service. At Memphis he was one week with his company. While there the officers of the 3d Io. presented him with a silver pitcher as a mark of their regard and the appreciation they had for him as a soldier and commander. Upon returning from the service he