COLLEGES. COLUMBIA COLLEGE.-East 49th Street, New York. This institution was incorporated by royal charter, under the name of King's College,” in 1754, and confirmed in its rights by various acts of the Legislature, especially by an act passed April 13th, 1787. It was removed, in 1857, from the beautiful situation it so long occupied (on College Place, between Murray and Barclay streets), to its present location, on East 49th Street, near 4th Avenue. The College Library contains 16,000 volumes.

Faculty. Charles King, LL D., President.

Rev. John McVickar, D.D., Professor of the Evidences of Natural and Revealed Religion.

Charles Anthon, LL.D., JAY Professor of Greek Language and Literature. James Renwick, LL.D., EMERITUS Professor of Natural Philosophy and Chemistry.

Charles W. Hackley, D.D., Professor of Astronomy.
Henry Drisler, A.M., Professor of Latin Language and Literature
Henry I. Schmidt, D.D., GEBHARD Professor of German Literature.
Richard S. McCulloch, A.M., Professor of Mechanics and Physics.
Charles A. Joy, Ph. D., Professor of Chemistry.
Francis Lieber, LL.D., Professor of History and Political Science.
Charles Davies, LL.D., Professor of Mathematics.
William G. Peck, A.M., Assistant Professor of Mathematics.

Charles M. Nairne, A.M., Professor of Intellectual and Moral Philosophy, and of Ancient and Modern Literature.

William A. Jones, A.M , Librarian.
Stephen R. Weeks, Assistant Librarian.
Rev. Cornelius R. Duffie, A.M., Chaplain.

Mariano Velasques de la Cadena, LL.D., Professor of Spanish Language and Literature.

(The Professorships of French and Italian are vacant.)

The number of undergraduates is one hundred and fifty-two. The whole number of alumni to 1840 was 1,800. The commencement is to take place previous to the 4th of July, but the day is not yet fixed. There are two literary societies connected with the College, composed of students and graduates, called the Philolexian, founded in 1802, and the Peithologian, founded in 1806. The former has a library of 1,200, and the latter of 1,000 volumes.

The Grammar School of Columbia College, under the superintendence of Prof. Charles Anthon, sustains a high reputation.

THE UNIVERSITY OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK. This institution was chartered in 1831, and opened for students the following year.

A spacious edifice of white marble, in the collegiate style of architecture, fronting the east side of Washington Square, was erected for its accommodation, and contains, beside the lecture-rooms and dormitories, a large and lofty chapel, much admired for its architectural beauty. The main entrance to the building is under a great central Gothic window, 50 feet high by 24 wide, through a deep portal of stone, and a door of massive oak. This edifice was completed in 1836.

Faculty of Science and Letters. Rev. Isaac Ferris, D.D., LL.D., Chancellor, and Professor of Moral Philosophy and the Evidences of Revealed Religion.

E. A. Johnson, A.M., Professor of the Latin Language and Literature. John W. Draper, M.D., LL.D., Professor of Chemistry and Natural History.

Elias Loomis, LL.D., Professor of Mathematics, Natural Philosophy, and Astronomy.

Howard Crosby, A.M., Professor of Greek Language and Literature.

Rev. Benj. N. Martin, A.M., Professor of Intellectual Philosophy, History, and Belles Lettres.

Theo. D’Oremieulx, Professor of the French Language and Literature. Vincenzo Botta, Ph. D., Professor of Italian Language and Literature. David Bendan, Ph. D., Professor of German Language and Literature. Professor of Spanish Language and Literature.

Professor Crosby, Secretary of the Faculty.

Department of Arts and Design.
S. F. B. Morse, LL.D., Professor of the Literature of Arts of Design.
Thos. S. Cummings, N.A., Professor of Arts of Design.

Department of Civil Engineering.
Richard Ball, A.M., Professor of Civil Engineering.
Thos. S. Cummings, N.A., Professor of Architectural Drawing.

Faculty of Law.
Benj. F. Butler, LL.D., Professor.

Established at 107 East 14th Street, between 3d and 4th Avenues.

John W. Draper, M.D.,

President. Valentine Mott, M.D., LL.D., EMERITUS Professor of Surgery and Surgical Anatomy.

Martyn Paine, M.D., Professor of Materia Medica and Therapeutics.

Gunning S. Bedford, M.D., Professor of Obstetrics, the Diseases of Women and Children, and Clinical Midwifery.

John W. Draper, M.D. Professor of Chemistry and Physiology.

Alfred C. Post, Professor of the Principles and Operations of Surgery, with Surgical and Pathological Anatomy.

William H. Van Buren, M.D., Professor of General and Descriptive Anatomy.

John T. Metcalfe, M.D., Professor of the Institutes and Practice of Medicine.

T. C. Finnell, M.D., Demonstrator of Anatomy. Alex. B. Mott, M.D., Prosector to the Emeritus Professor of Surgery. J. Finton, M.D., Prosector to the Professor of Surgery. The spring and summer course of lectures begins March 20th, and ends 16th October, when the winter course is resumed.

[ocr errors]

UNION COLLEGE. Founded in 1795, at Schenectady. It is delightfully situated on eminence, about half a mile east of the city. The general control of its affairs is vested in a Board of twenty-one Trustees, of whom eleven hold their


[ocr errors]

seats by virtue of their offices in the State government, being the Governor, Lieut.-Governor, Judges of the Supreme Court, etc., for the time being.

Eliphalet Nott, D.D., LL.D., President.
Laurence P. Hickock, Vice-President, and Professor of Moral Philosophy.
Robert Proudfit, D.D., EMERITUS Professor of Greek and Latin Languages.
Taylor Lewis, LL.D., Nort Professor, No. 1, of Greek Language and

Isaac W. Jackson, LL.D., Nott Professor, No. 2, of Mathematics.
John Foster, A.M., Professor of Natural Philosophy.
Jonathan Pearson, A.M., Professor of Natural History and Chemistry.
Rev. John Nott, A.M., Assistant Professor of Rhetoric.

William M. Gillespie, Professor of Civil Engineering, and Adjunct Professor of Mathematics.

Rev. John Newman, A.M., Professor of Latin Language and Literature. Alex. M. Vedder, A.M., M.D, Lecturer on Anatomy and Physiology. Elias Peissner, A.M., Professor of the German Language and Literature. Charles A. Joy, A.M., Ph. D., Nott Professor, No. 3, of Analytical Chemistry.

Nelson Millard, A.B., Tutor. Dwight K. Bartlett, A.B., Tutor. The whole number of undergraduates, June 30, 1857, was 257. The library contains about 9,000 volumes. The chemical department has lately received an addition of chemicals and apparatus, costing in Europe nearly $4,000.

HAMILTON COLLEGE. Founded in 1812. Situated in the village of Clinton, in Oneida County, about ten miles from Utica. The general control of its affairs is vested in a Board of twenty-four Trustees.

Faculty and other College Officers.

* President, and Professor of Mental Philosophy. Charles Avery, LL.D., Professor of Natural Philosophy, Chemistry, and Civil Engineering;

Oren Root, A.M., Professor of Mathematics, Astronomy, Mineralogy, and Geology.

Rev. W. 8. Curtis, D.D., Professor of Moral Philosophy, and College Pastor.

Theod. W. Dwight, A.M., MAYNARD Professor of Law, History, Civil Polity, and Political Economy.

Edward North, A.M., DEXTER Professor of the Latin and Greek Languages.

Anson J. Upson, A.M., Professor of Logic, Rhetoric, and Elocution, and Librarian.

Henry P. Bristol, A.M., Rector of the College Grammar School. Hon. Othniel S. Williams, Secretary and Treasurer. The whole number of undergraduates on the catalogues in 1857–8 is 101. The college and society libraries contain about 10,000 volumes. The geological and mineralogical cabinets, and collections of natural history, contain many thousand rare specimens in their departments. The college buildings consist of three stone edifices, four stories high, a chapel, and cabinet buildings and observatory, with about forty acres of land attached.

* Vacant by the resignation of Rev. Dr. North.

[ocr errors]


Faculty and other Officers. Rev. Abner Jackson, A.M., President, and STARTiN Professor of the Evidences of Christianity.

William D. Wilson, D.D., Trinity Professor of Christian Ethics, Logic, and Intellectual Philosophy.

Kenilrick Metcalf, D.D , HOBART Professor of Greek and Latin. John Fowler, M.D., Professor of Mathematics, Natural Philosophy, Chemistry, and Acting Professor of Modern Languages. Albert S. Wheeler, A.M., Tutor.

Medical Department. Alfred Bolter, M.D., Professor Institutes and Practice of Medicine. Caleb Green, M.D., Professor of Materia Medica and General Pathology. Frederick Hyde, M.D., Professor Principles and Practice of Surgery. James H. Jerome, M.D., Professor Anatomy and Physiology.

George Burr, M.D., Professor Obstetrics, Diseases of Women and Children, and Medical Jurisprudence.

Albert S. Wheeler, M.A., Professor of Rhetoric and Elocution.
Robert De Lancey Hamilton, M.A., Adjunct Professor of Mathematics.
Rev. K. Metcalf, D.D., Librarian.
The whole number of undergraduates is 90; medical students, 21.

By the conditions of an annuity from Trinity Church, New York, all students, without regard to locality or religious denomination, receive their education without charge for tuition or rent of rooms.

MADISON UNIVERSITY.-Hamilton, Madison County. This institution is under the particular control of the Baptists, but is open to all.


[ocr errors]

Faculty. Rev. George W. Eaton, D.D., Professor of Biblical Theology. Rev. Ebenezer Dodge, A.M., Professor Biblical Criticism and Interpretation.

Rev. Hezekiah Harvey, A.M., Professor Ecclesiastical History and Pastoral Theology.

Rev. Alex. M. Beebee, A.M., Lecturer on Sacred Rhetoric.
There are thirty-six students in this department.


Faculty. Rev. Geo. W. Eaton, D.D., President, and BLEECKER Professor of Intellectual and Moral Philosophy.

Rev. Ebenezer Dodge, A.M., Professor Evidences of Revealed Religion.
Rev. Hezekiah Harvey, A.M., Professor of Civil History.
P. B. Spear, A.M., Professor Hebrew and Latin Languages.
E. S. Gallup, A.M., Professor of Greek Language and Literature.
L. M. Osborn, A.M.,

Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy. William Mather, M.D, Professor of Chemistry, Geology, and Mineralogy. P. B. Brown, Jr., A.B., Principal of the University Grammar School.

The number of undergraduates in the College is 119. The number of pupils in the Grammar School is 33,

ROCHESTER UNIVERSITY. This is also a Baptist institution, incorporated in 1819, situated on Buffalo Street, in the city of Rochester.

Faculty. M. B. Anderson, LL.D, President, and Professor of Intellectual and Moral Philosophy.

A. C. Kendrick, D.D., MUNRO Professor of the Greek Language and Literature.

J. F. Richardson, A.M., Professor of the Latin Language and Literature.

Chester Dewey, D.D., LL.D., Professor of Chemistry and the Natural Sciences.

I. F. Quimby, A.M., Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy.
Sewall 8. Cutting, A.M., Professor of Rhetoric and History.
Albert A. Mixer, A.M., Professor of the Modern Languages.
Henry Fowler, A.M., Professor of Political Economy.
A. C. Kendrick, D.D., Librarian.
Daniel Bowen, A.B., Assistant Librarian.
Whole number of students, 143.

NEW YORK CENTRAL COLLEGE. Established at McGrawville, Cortland County, for the education of both sexes in the same institution. It was originally designed to be conducted on the principle of manual labor, but this part of the plan has been considerably modified. There are two large college buildings, one of which is used as a boarding house for the female students. The grounds attached to the College are eighty acres of valuable land, suitable for cultivation by the students.

L. G. Calkins, President, and Professor of Mental and Moral Philosophy.
Geo. B. Vashon, A.M., Professor of Latin Language and Literature.
Geo. L. Brockett, A.M., Professor of German Language and Elocution.
Miss Caroline A. Campbell, Professor of French Language, Drawing, and

Miss Lydia A. Caldwell, Professor of Rhetoric.
Miss Louisa S. Calkins, Teacher of Instrumental Music.
Metcalf J. Smith, Teacher of Vocal Music.
G. L. Brockett, A.M., Librarian.
Asa Caldwell, Treasurer.
The whole number of students during the year 1855 was 226.

ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE. This is a Roman Catholic institution, situated near the village of Fordham, in Westchester County, about 12 miles from the city of New York, on the line of the Harlem and New Haven Railroad. The grounds connected with it are extensive, and highly improved. The domestic duties of the establishment are confided to the Sisters of Charity. The course of study embraces the ancient and modern languages, besides the usual branches of education to qualify pupils for commercial or professional pursuits. The collegiate year begins on the first Monday in September, and ends on the 15th July. Charges, $ 200 per annum. The officers and teachers are sixteen in number, all of the “ Society of

Rev. Remigius J. Tellier, S.J., President of the College


[ocr errors]
« ForrigeFortsett »