« ForrigeFortsett »
THE NEW YORK INFIRMARY FOR INDIGENT WOMEN AND
CHILDREN. This institution was organized January 30th, 1854, for the following purposes : 1. To provide medical aid for the sick poor, especially for women and children ; 2. To secure the services of well-qualified female physicians in the care of sick women; 3. To form a school for training nurses.
A hospital department was established in 1857, at No. 64 Bleecker Street, corner of Crosby; and, in connection with this, a dispensary is open from 8 to 10 o'clock every morning, where medical advice and medicines are given to all who require them.
Officers. President, Charles Butler,
Treasurer, Robert Haydock. Vice-President, Theodore Sedgwick. Secretary, Merritt Trimble. A Board of eighteen Trustees. Executive Committee.-Stacy B. Collins, Mrs. Henry Baylis, Mrs. Wm. H. Hussey, Dr. E. Blackwell.
Finance Committee.-Stacy B. Collins, Richard H. Bowne, Robert Haydock.
Attending Physicians.—Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell, Dr. M. E. Zackrzewska, Dr. Emily Blackwell.
Consulting Physicians.- Dr. Willard Parker, Dr. Rich. S. Kissam, Dr. Geo. P. Camman, Dr. John Watson.
From May, 1857, to January, 1858, the whole number of patients was 926; viz., 634 women, and 292 children.
WOMAN'S HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION.
T. C. Doremus, Ass't. Treasurer.
Walden Pell, Secretary. Mrs. Ogden Hoffman, Corresponding Secretary. l'he Board of Managers consists of twenty-eight ladies.
The Executive Committee.- Mrs. Thomas Mason, Mrs. E. C. Benedict, Mrs. Elisha Peck, Mrs. H. K. Bogert, Mrs. Jos. Lawrence, Mrs. W. Pell, Mrs. H. Webster. Mrs. T. C. Doremus, Treasurer.
Mrs. H. J. Baker, Secretary.
Medical Board. John W. Francis, M.D., President. Ed. Delafield, M.D., and Horace Green, M.D., Consulting Physicians. Valentine Mott, M.D., and Alex. H. Stevens, M.D., Consulting Surgeons J. Marion Sims, M.D., Attending Surgeon. Thomas A. Emmet, M.D., Assistant Surgeon.
Number of patients from 1855 to 1858, 235, besides 50 out-door patients receiving advice gratuitously. The Hospital contains thirty-seven beds for patients; the free wards twenty-two. Nearly every county in the State has been represented in the free wards, the Legislature having appropriated the sum of $10,000 toward the support of this important and highly successful institution
THE MARSHALL INFIRMARY. The Marshall Infirmary is located on Mount Ida, in the city of Troy, N. Y. It became a corporate body by an act of the Legislature, June 20th, 1851. Cost, $30,000. Will accommodate 100 patients. Now in progress of erection, in connection with the same, a lunatic department, which will accommodate 80 or 100 lunatics, in addition to the ordinary cases. It was opened for the reception of patients August 1st, 1854. It is under the control of a Board of Twenty-Seven Governors.
Committee of Management.--- Benjamin Marshall, Hanford N. Lockwood, Jonas C. Heartt, A. B. Nash, Thomas Coleman.
Attending Physicians.—Alfred Wotkyns, M.D., Thos. W. Blatchford, M.D.,
House Surgeon.-J. Knowlson, M.D.
Matron.-Mrs. J. Harrison.
ST. VINCENT'S HOSPITAL, NEW YORK. St. Vincent's Hospital was opened in 1849 by the Sisters of Charity. It is now over eight years in existence, during which time it has received 4,708 patients. It is a self-sustaining institution, receiving no aid from city or State Government. Notwithstanding, the Sisters receive some 200 free patients yearly which to them appear proper objects of charity. Although the hospital is under the management of a Catholic religious order, it is open for the reception of patients of all religious denominations. It was incorporated April 13th, 1857. It has accommodation for 120 beds for patients of both sexes. The Medical officers are:
Consulting Physician, Wm. Power, M.D.; Consulting Surgeon, Valentine Mott, M.D., LL.D.; Physicians, Wm. Murray, M.D., James O’Rorke, M.D.; Thomas E. Burtsell, M.D.; Surgeons, W. H. Van Buren, M D., Alexander B. Mott, M.D., Thomas C. Finnell, M.D.; Resident Physician and Surgeon, M. A. Finnell, M.D.
ALBANY MEDICAL COLLEGE. The Albany Medical College was chartered February 16, 1839. The charter empowers the trustees to confer the degree of Doctor of Medicine, on the recommendation of the faculty and of three of the curators.
The College edifice, which is of brick, three stories high, 120 feet front by 50 feet deep, is very eligibly situated in Eagle Street,
at a short distance from the Capitol.
The museum contains a great number of specimens of healthy and morbid human anatomy, of comparative anatomy, of zoology, and of mineralogy. It contains, also, a full set of Dr. Thibert's beautiful models of pathological anatomy, and Dr. Auzoux's mannikins and models of healthy anatomy. It is at all times open to students, for the purposes of study.
Besides the library for reference, a collection of all the standard elementary works is set apart for the use of the students during their attendance on lectures, without any charge.
Ample opportunities are afforded for the study of practical anatomy. Saturdays are devoted to clinical instruction, and students have an opportunity of seeing a great number of cases of disease, and of witnessing surgical operations.
The fees for the entire course of lectures are $70; matriculation fee, $5; graduating, $20.
Requirements for graduation are the same as at other incorporated medical schools in this State. The following are the names of the Faculty Professors :
Officers. Alden March, M.D., President of the Faculty ; James H. Armsby, M.D., Curator of the Museum ; Thomas Hun, M.D., Librarian; J. V. Quacken. bush, M.D., Registrar.
Professors. Alden March, M.D, Principles and Practice of Surgery ; Jas. M‘Naughton, M.D., Theory aud Practice of Medicine; James H. Armsby, M.D., Descriptive and Surgical Anatomy ; Amos Dean, LL.D., Medical Jurisprudence; Thomas Hun, M.D., Institutes of Medicine; Howard Townsend, M.D.. Materia Medica ; Charles H. Porter, M.D., Chemistry and Pharmacy; J. V. P. Quackenbush, M.D., Midwifery and 'Diseases of Women and Children.
UNITED STATES NAVAL HOSPITAL AND LABORATORY.
Attached to the U. S. Navy Yard, Brooklyn. Surgeon, Thomas Dilland; Assistant Surgeon, James S. Gilliam ; Director of Laboratory, Surgeon Benj. F. Bache; Passed Assistant Surgeon, Samuel F. Cowes.
BROOKLYN CITY HOSPITAL.
Raymond Street, near De Kalb Avenue.
Officers for 1858.
Resident Surgeons, Francis D. Cunningham, Isaac Steves, Jr.; Resident Physician, Dr. Ålyngham; Superintendent, J. T. E. Nichols.
This institution is capable of accommodating 300 patients. Present number, about 110. A new building being erected to contain a museum and lecture-room.
JEWS' HOSPITAL IN NEW YORK.
138 West 28th Street. Incorporated February, 5612 (A. D. 1852). By the last Report there had been admitted into this IIospital 216 patients during the year 1857 (5617).
Of the above 129 had been discharged cured ; 44 improved; 11 incurable; and 14 deaths. Remaining in the Hospital 25 patients.
Benjamin Nathan, President. Samuel A. Lewis, Secretary.
NEW YORK EYE INFIRMARY. Founded 1820. Situated on the Second Avenue, corner of 13th Street, in the city of New York. During the year 1857, were received or prescribed for at the Infirmary 3,466 patients, suffering from various diseases of the eye and ear. Of this number there were Born in the United States ...
1,480 in foreign countries.
1,986 The advantages of this institution have been enjoyed not only by the poor of the city and vicinity, but by applicants from all parts of the State. At the present time the Infirmary is open to patients five days in each weck.
Officers of the Infirmary. * President.
William Tucker, 2d Vice-Pres. Thos. H. Taylor, D.D., 1st Vice-Pres. Joseph Gaillard, Jr., Treasurer.
Abram Dubois, M.D , Secretary.
Directors, 21 in number.
Surgeons. --Abram Dubois, M.D,, Gurdon Buck, M.D., T. M. Halsted, M.D., C. R. Agnew, M.D.
The above are Directors ex officio.
INSTITUTION FOR THE INSTRUCTION OF THE DEAF AND DUMB,
This institution made its first annual report to the Legislature in 1819. It is situated at Washington Heights, on the Hudson River, about nine miles from the City Hall in the city of New York. The general control of the institution is vested in a President, two Vice-Presidents, Treasurer, Secretary, and a Board of twenty Directors. The officers are the following:
Harvey P. Peet, LL.D, President. Benj. Robt. Winthrop, 2d Vice-Pres. Timothy Hedges, 1st Vice-Pres. George S. Robbins, Treasurer.
Andrew Warner, Secretary. Directors.-Shepherd Knapp, Henry E. Davis, Israel Russell, Francis Hail, Rev. G. T. Bedell, Charles N. Talbot, Rev. Wm. Adams, D.D., W. H. Smith, Joseph Lawrence, W. P. Lee, Erastus Brooks, Benj. H. Field, John Alstyne, F. De Peyster, Daniel F. Tiemann (Mayor), C. H. Roome, James N. Cobb, James W. Beekman, Peter C. Tiemann. (One vacancy.)
President of the Institution--Harvey P. Peet, LL.D.
Instructor of the High Class and Vice-President ex officio, Isaac Lewis Peet, A.M.
Professors and Teachers. 0. W. Morris, A.M., Jacob Van Nostrand, A.M., Thos. Gallaudet, A M., Edward Peet, A.M., J. W. Conklin, Gilbert C. W. Gaurge, J. H. Benedict, Wm. H. Weeks, Egbert L. Bangs, A.M., Jane T. Meigs, V. W. Angus, Jas. S. Wells, Mary A. Menvin. Arts of Design, C. W. Knudson. .
* Vacant by the death of the late President, John Oothout, Esq.
DOMESTIC DEPARTMENT. Attending Physician, B. R. Masters, M.D. ; Consulting Physician, John T. Metcalfe, M.D.; Steward, E. B. Peet; Matron, Mrs. Harriet Stoner ; Assistant Matron, Mrs. M. E. Totten.
John C. Miller, Bookbinder ; W. M. Genet, Cabinet Maker; Stephen Dowling, Tailor ; Lewis Sanger, Shoemaker.
Whole number of pupils, Dec. 31st, 1856 : Males, 180; females, 135; total, 315. Of this number, 234 were supported by the State of New York. The great success that has attended this institution in the education of the deaf and dumb, has led to the increased patronage of the State, by means of which it has become “ the first in the world in point of numbers, and is admitted to be the first also in reputation and usefulness.”
NEW YORK INSTITUTION FOR THE BLIND. This institution was incorporated in 1831. Situated on the Ninth Avenue, near 34th Street, in the city of New York. Its general control is vested in a Board of Managers, twenty in number. The officers of the Board for 1858 are the following:
Isaac Wood. M.D., President. Geo. F. Allen, Recording Secretary. Robert Gracie, Vice-President. John P. Crosby, Corresponding Sec.
Silas Brown, Treasurer.
Officers of the Institution for 1858. T. Colden Cooper, Superintendent; Attending Physician, J. W. G. Clements, M.D. ; Consulting Physicians, Isaac Wood, M.D., Edw. L. Beadle, M.D.; Consulting Surgeon, Abram Dubois, M.D. (The other officers consist of nine Teachers in the Literary Department; eight Teachers in the Musical Department, four of instrumental and four of vocal music; and seven Teachers in the Mechanical Department. Matron, Miss Mary J. Armstrong.)
The whole number of pupils, in 1857, was 186. Besides this number, there are eleven blind persons who are employed as Teachers. The studies comprise all branches of a sound English education. The monitorial system has been recently introduced with success; the more advanced students being employed as teachers of the younger. Newly-arranged maps enable the Teachers to make physical and political geography entirely intelligible to the blind. The Braillé system of writing is now practiced by a number of the pupils, and is considered the best one yet devised for the use of the blind. An important improvement has been made in this system by one of the Teachers, which will render it still more generally useful.
The system of instruction at this institution is divided into three sections -Intellectual, Musical, and Industrial-and is pursued at different hours of the day. Those who have no ear or taste for music learn some useful trade, by which they can become capable of self-support. Music is also taught as a means of support, as well as a source of solace in their misfortune; and the Board testify to the success of the graduates as organists, teachers of music, and in the tuning of pianos.