« ForrigeFortsett »
GENERAL THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY
OF THE PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL CHURCH IN THE UNITED STATES. This institution is situated in that part of the city of New York formerly called Chelsea, on West 20th Street, between 9th and 10th avenues, 25 miles from the City Hall. There are two substantial edifices of stone for the accommodation of the professors and students. The Board of Trustees consists of all the bishops of the Episcopal Church, ex officio ; one other trustee from each diccese, and an additional one for every eight clergymen in each diocese, and another for every two thousand dollars contributed, until the same amounts to ten thousand dollars, after which one for every ten thousand dollars. The affairs of tho institution are managed by a standing committee, composed equally of clergymen and laymen, with a treasurer and secretary
Professors. The Right Rev. B. T. Onderdonk, D.D., Professor of Nature, Ministry and Polity of the Church.
Rev. S. H. Turner, D.D., Professor of Biblical Learning and Interpretation of Scripture.
Rev. B. I. Haight, D.D., Professor of Pastoral Theology and Pulpit Eloquence.
Rev. S. R. Johnson, D.D., Professor of Systematic Divinity.
Rev. Milo Mahon, D.D., “St Mark's Church in the Bowery" Professor of Ecclesiastical History,* and Dean and Chaplain.
Rev. Bird Wilson, D.D , LL.D., EMERITUS Professor of Systematic Divinity.
Clement C. Moore, LL.D., EMERITUS Professor of Oriental and Greek Literature.
Rev. Geo. H. Houghton, A.M., Instructor in the Hebrew Language.
AUBURN THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY,
Located in the city of Auburn, Cayuga County, N. Y. This Seminary was founded by the Synod of Geneva, in 1819. The Seminary building is one of the largest and most commodiovs devoted to theological instruction in the country. The institution is endowed with about $100,000, and its funds are increasing. The library consists of about 6,000. volumes. The faculty consists of
Rev. Edwin Hall, Professor of Christian Theology.
The annual vacation commences on the third Wednesday in June, and continues three months.
UNION THEOLOGICAL SEMINÀRY. This institution was founded in 1836, and opened for students the same year. The edifice is on University Place, near Washington Square, in the
* This professorship was endowed and thus styled by the late Peter G. Stuyvesant, Esq., of New York.
city of New York. It has recently been greatly enlarged, and now contains a chapel, library, four lecture-rooms, and convenient private rooms and dormitories for about eighty students. The students have a boarding association in the Seminary, by means of which the price of board is not more than 82 25 per week; other expenses are proportionately small.
The library contains about 23.000 volumes, chiefly rare and valuable works, nearly three fourths of which were purchased in Germany, from the heirs of Rev. Leanler Van Ess, a late distinguished theologian. The institution has a Board of Directors, composed of members of the Presbyterian Church; but the Seminary is open to students of all religious denominations. The number of students connected with it the present year (1858) is 114, including 6 resident licentiates, representing 15 States of the Union, and 25 colleges or universities.
BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
Officers. Richard T. Haines, Esq., President. Rev. Jas. W. McLane, D.D., Recorder Charles Butler, Esq., Vice-President. Anthony P. Halsey, Esq., Treasurer
Faculty Rev. Edward Robinson,* D.D., LL.D., Professor of Biblical Literature.
Rev. Thos. H. Skinner, D.D., DAVENPORT Professor of Sacred Rhetoric, Pastoral Theology, and Church Government.
Rev. Henry B. Smith, D.D., RoosevELT Professor of Systematic Theology, and Librarian.
Rev. Roswell D. Hitchcock, D.D., WASHBURN Professor of Church History. Rev. Elias Riggs, D.D., Instructor in Hebrew and the kindred languages.
ST. JOSEPH'S TIIEOLOGICAL SEMINARY.-Fordham.
COLLEGE OF ST. FRANCIS XAVIER.-West 15th Street, New York. Rev. Michael Driscoll, S.J., President.
There are nine teachers and professors in this institution, which belongs to the “ Society of Jesus.”
THE NEW YORK SOCIETY LIBRARY. The history of this institution commences in the year 1700, when “The Public Library” of New York, afterward known as “ The City Library," was founded. At that period the Library was under the charge of the Corporation of the city, but, being neglected or not properly managed by the city fathers, it was committed to the care of an association, formed in 1754, by which a Board of Trustees was chosen, under whose care the Library assumed a new aspect and rapidly increased. In 1772 a charter was obtained from the crown, constituting the members of the association a body corporate, under the name and style of “The Trustees of the Society
Library.” The petitioners named in the preamble of the charter were John Watts, William Smith, Robert R. Livingston, Whitehead Hicks, William Livingston, Goldsboro' Banyar, and Samuel Jones, Esquires ; Peter Van Brugh Livingston and Peter Ketteltas, Merchants; Walter Rutherfurd and David Clarkson, Gentlemen; and Samuel Bard, Physician.” By an act passed in 1841, the number of Trustees was increased from twelve to fifteen, of whom eight form a quorum for the transaction of business. The annual meeting for the election of Trustees takes place on the last Tuesday in April.
The number of books in the Library in 1850, when a catalogue was published, was thirty-five thousand volumes. Since that time it has been considerably increased. The only pecuniary donation received by this institution was in the year 1849, when Miss JANE DEMIlt, by her last will, bequeathed the sum of five thousand dollars to the Library. The number of members in 1793 was 900; in 1850 it was 1,100. The rights of membership (transferable) cost $25; annual dues on the same, $6; free rights (perpetual), $100, without the payment of any annual assessment; temporary subscription, $10 per annum.
The Library occupies a new and spacious edifice in University Place, between 12th and 13th streets, and connected with it are a large and excellent reading-room for the members or subscribers, a conversation-room, and a separate reading-room for ladies.
Trustees, elected April 27th, 1858. Gulian C. Verplanck, Chas. R. Swords, Chas. E. Strong, W. H. Anthon, William Adams, R. L. Kennedy, Otis D. Swan, W. J. Hoppin, Jas. W. Beekman, J. Romeyn Brodhead, Geo. Folsom, J. P. Cronkhite, Thos. Ward, H. C. Dorr, W. A. Butler. Chas. E. Strong, Treasurer.
William J. Hoppin, Secretary. Wentworth S. Butler, Librarian. Library open from 8 A. M. to 7 P. M. Reading-room from 8 A. M to 10
La Fayette Place, near Astor Place, Was founded by John Jacob Astor, of the city of New York, who, by his will dated August 22, 1839, bequeathed $400,000 to establish and maintain it. This sum was payable in four annual instalments, dating from his death, which took place on the 29th of March, 1848. This institution was chartered by act of the State Legislature, dated January 18, 1849, and is under the government of ten Trustees and the Mayor of the city of New York, ex officio.
In respect to the noble bequest of $400,000, the will of Mr. Astor directed, and the Legislature required, the trustees to expend not exceeding $75,000 in erecting the Library building, and not exceeding $120,000 in purchasing books, etc., and to invest the residue ($205,000) “as a fund for paying the value of the site of the building ($25,000), and for maintaining and gradually increasing the said library, and to defray the necessary expenses of taking care of the same, and of the accommodation of persons consulting the library.”
The building was completed during the summer of 1853, the corner-stone having been laid on the 14th day of March, 1850.
William B. Astor, Esq., has recently conveyed to the Trustees of the Astor Library three parcels of land, contiguous to the Library edifice, and bestowed other amounts, in all exceeding $100,000, in addition to his father's munificent bequest.
The Library now numbers about one hundred thousand volumes, and is increasing yearly. Open daily, except Sundays and holidays, from 10 o'clock A. M. until half an hour before sunset. Free to all persons above 16 years of age.
THE MERCANTILE LIBRARY ASSOCIATION.
Rooms in Clinton Hall, Astor Place. This institution, founded in 1820, is composed chiefly of merchants' clerks, Its library contains about fifty thousand volumes, and is constantly increasing. An excellent reading-room is connected with it. The number of members is over five thousand.
The officers are annually elected by the members; they are, at present, the following:
R. H. Timpson, President. Joseph F. Hanford, Rec. Sec.
H. L. Pierson, Jr., Cor. Sec. S. Hastings Grant, Librarian.
This Association was formed in 1857, and by agreement with the Brooklyn Atheneum, dated Feb. 12, 1858, the members are to enjoy the use of the rooms and the library and reading-room of the Athenæum, without rent, for five years, on condition that the Association will, in the course of one year, place in the same premises a library of its own, valued at $4,000.
Officers for 1858.
H. P. Journeay, Treasurer. The Board of Directors consists of fourteen persons, from whose number the Executive Committees on the Library, Finance, Lectures, and Superintendence are chosen.
NEW YORK CITY LIBRARY, 12 City Hall, contains between 2,000 and 3,000 volumes. Open daily, from 10 A. M. to 5 P. M.
Gustavus A. Valentine, Librarian.
LITERARY AND SCIENTIFIC INSTITUTIONS.
NEW YORK HISTORICAL SOCIETY. ESTABLISHED in 1804. A handsome stone edifice has been recently erected by subscription for this Society, on the 2d Avenue, corner of 11th Street, where its regular meetings are held, on the evenings of the first Tuesday in each month, from October to June, inclusive. The library, in the same building, contains about 20,000 volumes, chiefly relating to American history. A fine gallery of paintings occupies the upper floor. The building cost about $85,000.
Officers, elected on the 5th January, 1858. President, Luther Bradish; Vice-Presidents, Thomas De Witt, D.D., Frederic De Peyster; Foreign Corresponding Secretary, Edward Robinson, D.D.; Domestic Corresponding Secretary, Samuel Osgood, D.D.; Recording Secretary, Andrew Warner; Treasurer, William Chauncey ; Librarian, George H. Moore.
Executive Committee. Augustus Schell, Chairman; George Folsom, Benjamin H. Field, Francis L. Hawks, D.D., John R. Brodhead, Erastus C. Benedict, Benj. R. Winthrop. (The officers of the Society are ex-officio members of this Committee.)
The library is open to the public daily (Sundays excepted) from 10 A. M. to 10 P. M. The lecture-room accommodates five hundred persons, and is used for the meetings of the Society, and occasional courses of lectures. The gallery of Paintings is also open to the public daily, during the attendance of the librarian or his assistants.
AMERICAN GEOGRAPHICAL AND STATISTICAL SOCIETY.
Rooms in University Building, Washington Square. Organized October 9, 1851, in the Geographical Rooms, 179 Broadway, by the adoption of a constitution and election of officers. Incorporated by act of the New York State Legislature, passed April 13, 1851. Annual election the first Thursday in December.
The object of the Society is the advancement of geographical and statistical sciences, by the collection and diffusion of knowledge in those important branches of learning. The library at present consists of a small but valuable collection of books, maps, charts, etc. Rooms open daily, from 9 A. M. to 3 P. M., for members and strangers. Initiation fee, $5; annual dues, $5.
Officers for 1858.
Frederick A. Conkling, Treasurer. Monthly and special meetings are held at the Rooms of the Society, or in the Chapel of the University. A yearly Bulletin is published, giving the transactions of the Society, together with many valuable papers on geographical and statistical subjects.
NEW YORK LAW INSTITUTE.
Library Rooms, No. 45 Chambers Street. At the annual election in May, 1858, the following officers were elected: John Anthon, President.
Charles O'Connor, Treasurer. James T. Brady, 1st Vice-President. Robert Emmet, Recording Secretary. Wm. Curtis Noyes, 2d Vice-Pres. Benj. D. Silliman, Cor. Secretary. William Inglis, 3d
Charles Tracy, Librarian.
Library Committee. Frederick A. Tallmadge.
Worthington Romaine. C. Bainbridge Smith.
Henry A. Cram.
Committee on Jurisprudence. William Evarts.
Henry H. Morange. John W. Edmonds.
Augustus W. Clason.
C. Bainbridge Smith.