« ForrigeFortsett »
2,816 * The St. Clair Flute, which have to be passed by all large steamers and sail vessels running from Lake Erie to the Cpper Lakes, now affords only eight or ten feet of water, the channel being very narrow and intricate. An appropriation, however, has recently been made by the government of the United States for improving the channel through the St. Clair Flats, which, no doubt, will effectually remove the obstruction to navigation.
RAILWAYS IN CANAD1-1858.
44 Coburg and Peterboro... Coburg
Peterboro, C. W. 28 Erie and Ontario Chippewa.. Niagara, C. W.
20 Great Western..
Suspension Br’ge Windsor, C. W. 229
38 GRAND TRUNK. Main Line.
Montreal Portland, Me..
159 Quebec and Richmond Div. Richmond, C. E. Quebec..
96 St. Thomas Branch... ... Point Levi.. St. Thomas, C. E. 49 Peterboro Branch*, Belleville Peterboro, C. W.
50 Industry and Rawdon. Industry Rawdon, C. E.
10 Ilamilton and Port Dover* Hamilton.. Port Dover, C. W. 40 London and Port Stanley London,
Port Stanley, C. W.. 24 Montreal and Lachine. Montreal.. Lachine, C. E...
8 Montreal and Ottawa* Montreal. Ottawa City..
120 Montreal and New York.
Caughnawaga... Plattsburgh, N. Y.. 62 North Shore*.. Montreal Quebec...
165 Ontario, Simcoe and Huron.. Toronto
Collingwood, C. W. 95 Bell Ewart Branch...... Lefroy.
1 Ottawa and Prescott..
Prescott, Ottawa City, C. W 54 Pt. Hope, Lindsay & Beaverton Port Hope. Lindsay, C. W..
42 South Shore*
Lake Oniario ... Amherstburg. C W..
5 * Unfinished roads.
† Unfinished from St. Mary's to Port Sarnia, 68 miles. # To extend io Trois Pistoles, C. E., 30 miles. $ To extend w Port Colborne, Laké Erie, 23 iniles.
RAILROADS IN THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
Albany and West Stoc: bridge Railroad.-Office in the City of Albany.
Depot, East Albany. Chartered May 5, 1836; expires in 1890. Capital, $1,000,000. This road is 38 miles long, connects with the Western Railroad of Mass., at the State line. The road is managed by the Western Railroad Company, and forms one of the links in the great line of travel from between Boston, Buffalo, and the far West. The work was commenced in December, 1810; was completed in December, 1812. Total cost, $1,930,895, or rising $10,000 per mile.
Thomas W. Olcott, President, Albany". Albany and Susquehanna Railroad.-Office, 73 State Street, Albany.
Chartered April, 1851, with a capital of $1,400,000; since increased to $4,000,000. This road will extend from the city of Albany to Binghamton, Broome County, where it will form a connection with the New York and Erie Railroad. Length, 140 miles. The work was commenced in 1853, being partially graded, and the line of road located for the whole distance, running through the counties of Albany, Schenectady, Scholarie, Otsego, and Chenango to Broome County. E. Prentiss, President, Albany.
H. H. Hickcox, Secretary. C. W. Wentz, Chief Engineer. Albany, Vermont, and Canada Railroad.-Office in the City of Albany.
Depôt, cor. Steuben and Warren Streets. First chartered under the name of the Albany Northern Railroad. Capital, $600,000. Funded debt (1856), $1,575,098. Total cost of road, $2,010,634. This road extends from the city of Albany, passing through West Troy, Cohoes, and Waterford, in Saratoga County, to Eagle Bridge, passing along the north line of Rensselaer to Washington County, 322 miles At Eagle Bridge it unites with the Rutland and Washington Railroad, extending 63 miles, to Rutland, Vt.
William White, President and Superintendent, Albany. Black River and Ctica Railroad.-Office in the City of Utica. This road is completed from Utica to Boonville, Oneida Co., a distance of 35 miles. When finished it will run in a northerly direction through Lewis and Jefferson counties to Clayton, situated on the St. Lawrence River, being a total distance of 109 miles. At Utica it connects with the New York Central R. R., and at its terminus it will connect with steamers running to Kingston, Montreal, etc. Capital, $730,000. Cost to September 30, 1857, $1,323,077. A. Hubbell, President, Utica.
Wm. Higby, Superintendent. Brooklyn City Railroad.-Office, foot of Fulton Street, Brooklyn. This road, formed by several branches, runs from Fulton Ferry to Green Point, passing through Williamsburgh, 5 miles. From Fulton Ferry to Division Avenue, through Myrtle Avenue—4 miles.
to East New York, through Fulton Avenue-5 miles.
to Greenwood & Bay Ridge, through Court St.—5 miles. From Hamilton Ferry to Greenwood, via Hamilton Avenue.-1 mile. Total length, 20 miles. Cost, $1,046,432.
Amos P. Stanton, President, Brooklyn, N. Y.
Puffalo, Niagara Falls, and Lewiston Railroad.-Office at Buffalo.
This road was first chartered in 1834, under the title of the Buffalo and Niagara Falls Railroad. It now extends from the city of Buffalo to Lewiston, in Niagara County, a distance of 28 miles, being controlled and run by the New York Central Railroad Company. At Buffalo it connects with the Central Railroad and the Lake Shore Railroad. It also connects with the Central Railroad, at the Suspension Bridge, forming in part a through line of travel into Canada, as well as to Niagara Falls, Lockport, Rochester, Albany, etc. Steamers run from Lewiston to Toronto, Kingston, Montreal, etc. Albert II. Tracy, President, Busfalo. J. Collamore, Superintendent.
Buffalo and State Line Railroad.-Office in Buffalo. This road extends from Buffalo to the Penn. State Line, a distance of 68 miles, connecting with the Cleveland and Erie Railroad, the whole line being usually called the Lake Shore Railroad. At Dunkirk it also connects with the New York and Erie Railroad. At Buffalo it connects with the New York Central Railroad, forming an important link in the great chain of railroads extending from the sea-board to the Ohio and Mississippi rivers. Capital, $1,300,000. Cost of construction, $2,589,787. Geo. Palmer, President, Buffalo. R. N. Brown, Superintendent.
Buffalo, New York, and Erie Railroad.--Office in Buffalo, N. Y. This road, first chartered under the title of the Buffalo, Corning, and New York Railroad, extends from Corning to the city of Buffalo, running through the counties of Steuben, Livingston, Genesee, and Erie, and passes through the villages of Bath, Avon, Batavia, and Attica, on its route westward. Length, 140 miles. At Corning it unites with the New York and Erie Railroad, and the Blossburg and Corning Railroad; at Avon with the Rochester and Genesee Valley Railroad, forming a through line of travel from New York and Philadelphia to Rochester, Buffalo, etc. The original cost of this road was $2.925,034.
George W. Tifft, President, Buffalo.
Buffalo and New York City Railroad.- Office in Buffalo. This road extends from Hornellsville to Buffalo, a distance of 91 miles, passing over the Genesee River at Portage, by a magnificent bridge spanning the above stream. It is a broad-guage road, and forms an important link in the line of travel from New York to Buffalo, Canada, etc. Capital, $798,439. Cost of construction, etc., $3,401,868. At Hornellsville it connects with the New York and Erie Railroad, and at Attica with the Buffalo, New York, and Erie Railroad, terminating at Corning, both roads forming a through line of travel.
Blossburg and Corning Railroad.-Office in Corning, N. Y. This road was constructed by two incorporated companies: the “Tioga Navigation Company," originally chartered by the Legislature of the State of Pennsylvania, to improve the navigation of the Tioga River, but afterward allowed to build a railroad; and the “ Tioga Coal, Iron Mining, and Manufacturing Company,” chartered by the Legislature of this State. The former company built about 24 miles of the road lying in Pennsylvania, and the latter about 16 miles lying in New York; the whole length being 40 milesextending from the coal and iron mines at Blossburg to the village of Corning, in the county of Steuben. Capital, $250,000. Cost of construction, etc., $496,038. John Magee, President.
L. H. Shattuck, Superintendent. Canandaigua and Elmira, and Chemung Railroad.--Office in Can
andaigua. Extends from the junction of the New York and Erie Railroad, near Elmira, to Canandaigua, a distance of 64 miles, passing through the counties of Chemung, Schuyler, Yates, and Ontario. At Canandaigua it connects with the Canandaigua and Niagara Falls Railroad, and with the New York Central Railroad. This is a broad-guage road, the same as the New York and Erie Railroad. Cost of construction, etc., $1,764,779.
The Canandaigua and Niagara Falls Railroad, in connection with the above road, forms a through line of travel from Elmira to Niagara Falls, the two companies being united. Length of road, 100 miles, passing through the counties of Ontario, Livingston, Genesee and Niagara. Cost of construction, etc., $3,495,832. The above roads, with their connections at Elmira, form a direct railroad line of travel from New York and Philadelphia to Niagara Falls, Canada, etc., passing through a picturesque and deeply interesting section of country.
A. S. Diven, President, Elmira, N. Y.
Cayuga and Susquehanna Railroad.
C. R. Roberts, President, New York City. W. R. Humphrey, Sup't., Ithaca, N. Y.
Hudson and Boston Railroad.-Office in Hudson. This company was first chartered under the name of the Hudson and Berkshire Railroad, in April, 1832, with a capital of $450,000. Length, 34 miles. Opened from Hudson to West Stockbridge, Mass., in September, 1838. It connects at Chatham Four Corners with the Albany and West Stockbridge Railroad, and at the State Line with the Western Railroad of Massachusetts, forming a through line of travel to Boston. George H. Powers, President and Superintendent, Hudson.
Flushing Railroad.-Office in Flushing, L. I. This road extends from Hunter's Point, 4 miles distant from the steamboat landing in New York, and runs to the village of Flushing, Long Island It is 8 miles in length. Cost, $308,891.
William Smart, President, Flushing. Hudson River Railroad.-Office, 68 Warren Street, New York City. Chartered May 12, 1846, to continue 50 years. Capital, $4,000,000. Shares, $100 each. This road was completed in October, 1851, at a total cost for construction and equipment to October, 1857, of $12,845,757. It starts from the depôt in Chambers Street, in the city of New York, and runs on the east side of the Hudson River, through the counties of New York, Westchester, Putnam, Dutchess. Columbia, and Rensselaer, to East Albany, a distance of 144 miles, connecting with the Troy and Greenbush Railrouil, now run and controlled by the above company a farther distance of 6 miles, terminating at the Union Depôt, in the city of Troy. At Albany this road connects with the Central Railroad of New York, and Albany, Vermont and Canada R. R.; at Troy with the Saratoga and Whitehall Railroad, and with the Troy and Boston Railroad, forming in part the great through railroad route to the West, North, and Canada. The grade on this road, for its entire length, is almost a water level, with a double track for 100 miles. There are eight tunnels on the line of the road between New York and Poughkeepsie, and two near Rhinebeck, Dutchess County. The longest tunnel is ear New Ilamburgh, being 835 feet in length. Garrison's tunnel, opposite West Point, is 600 feet. During the year ending Sept. 30, 1857, there were conveyed over the above roaci 1,200,422 first-class passengers, and 35,514 second-class passengers and emigrants; making a total of 1,235,936 passengers of every description.
Samuel Sloan, President, New York.
Thomas M. North, Secretary and Attorney, New York. Charles C. Clark, Treasurer. A. F. Smith, Superintendent, New York.
Lake Ontario and Hudson River Railroad.-Office, No. 20 Exchange
Place, New York City. This road was first chartered under the name of the Sacket's Harbor and Saratoga Railroad Company. It is intended to connect the most easterly port of Lake Ontario with the Hudson River at Albany or Troy. Length to be constructeu, 186 miles. The line surveyed runs through the counties of Jefferson, Lewis, Herkimer, Hamilton, Warren, and Saratoga to the Hudson River. The whole road is under contract, to be built by divisions. When completed it will form an important through route of travel from the city of New York to the northwestern part of the State and the Canadas, passing through a section of country extremely rich in minerals and products of the forest.
John R. Briggs, President, New York.
Long Island Railroad.-Office, foot of Atlantic Street, Brooklyn. Chartered in 1834. Capital, $1,500,000. The first run over the entire line, 96 miles long, from Brooklyn to Greenport, was made on the 27th July, 1844, and the road was formally opened for public use on the 9th of August following: This road has a tunnel under Atlantic Street, in Brooklyn, 2,550 feet long, wide enough for a double track, and costing about $75,000. A branch road runs from Junction to Hempstead, 23 miles, and another from Hicksville to Syosset, 44 miles. Total cost of construction etc., $2,555,986.
Wm. E. Morris, President and Superintendent, Brooklyn, NY
New York Central Railroad Company.-Office in Exchange Building,
Albany. This important line of railroad, in connection with its several branches, was consolidated by Act of the Legislature, dated April 2, 1853. Capital stock, $24,182,400. Funded debt, $14,763,897.
The length of the main line of the road, extending from the city of Albany to the city of Buffalo, situated on Lake Erie, is 298 miles. This embraces the roads heretofore known as the Albany and Schenectady Railroad, 17 miles in length; the Utica and Schenectady, 78 miles; the Syracuse and Utica, 53 miles; Rochester and Syracuse, 82 miles; and the Buffalo and Rochester Railroad, 68 miles.