Provinces. 3 Thebais. 4 Ægyptus. 5

rcadia. 6 Augustamnica.

3 Antinoe, or Lycopolis.
4 Alexandria.
5 Oxirinchus.
6 Pelusium,

4 Pisidia.

III. In the diocese of Asia,-Exarch of Ephesus.

Metropoles. i Pamphylia.

i Perga, or Sida. 2 Hellespontus.

2 Cyzicus. 3 Lydia.

3 Sardes.

4 Antiochia. 5 Lycaonia.

5 Iconium. 6 Phrygia Pacatiana.

6 Laodicea. 7 Phrygia Salutaris.

7 Synada. 8 Lycia.

8 Myra. 9 Caria.

9 Aphrodisias, or Stauropolis. 10 Insulæ Cyclades.

10 Rhodus. II Asia Proconsularis.

11 Ephesus.

IV. In the diocese of Pontus,-Exarch of Cæsarea.

Provinces. I Galatia, 2 Bithynia. 3 Cappadocia Prima. 4 Cappadocia Secunda. 5 Honorias. 6 Paphlagonia. 7 Pontus Polemoniacus. 8 Helenopontus. 6 Armenia Prima. 10 Armenia Secunda. II Galatia Salutaris.

Metropoles. I Ancyra. 2 Nicomedia. 3 Cæsarea. 4 Tyana. 5 Claudiopolis. 6 Gangra. 7 Neocæsarea. 8 Amasea. 9 Sebastia. 10 Melitine. 11 Pessinus. Others, Justinia


V. In the diocese of Thrace,--Exarch of Heraclea first,

afterwards Constantinople. Provinces.

Metropoles. i Europa.

i Heraclea. 2 Thracia.

2 Philippopolis. 3 Hæmimontis.

3 Adrianopolis.

Provinces. 4 Rhodope. 5 Mæsia Secunda. 6 Scythia.

4 Trajanopolis.
5 Marcianopolis.
6 Tomi ?.

VI. In the diocese of Macedonia, -Exarch of Thessalonica, Provinces.

Metropoles. I Achaia.

1 Corinthus. 2 Macedonia.

2 Thessalonica. 3 Creta.

3 Gortyna. 4 Thessalia.

4 Larissa. 5 Epirus Vetus.

5 Nicopolis. 6 Epirus Nova.

6 Dyrrachium.

VII. In the diocese of Dacia,-Exarch perhaps first at Sar

dica, afterwards at Acrida, or Justiniana Prima,
erected by Justinian.

Metropoles. i Dacia Mediterranea.

i Sardica. 2 Dacia Ripensis.

2 Sardica. 3 Mæsia Prima.

3 Sardica. 4 Dardania.

4 Scupi. 5 Prævalitana.

5 Acrida.

VIII. The diocese of Italy is by some reckoned but one dio

cese, by others divided into two, the diocese of Italy and the prefecture of Rome.

In the Italic diocese,-Exarch of Milan.

I Flaminia and Picenum An- I Ravenna.

nonarium. 2 Venetia and Histria.

2 Aquileia. 3 Æmilia (or Æmylia.]

3 Ravenna. 4 Liguria.

4 Mediolanum, Milan. 5 Alpes Cottiæ.

5 Milan. 6 Rhætia Prima.

6 Milan. 7 Rhætia Secunda.

7 Milan 4

3 But the bishop of Tomi is rather suffragan bishops under him. to be reckoned an autocephalus than 4 Others Rhætiopolis, called Aua metropolitan, because he had no gusta Tiberii, now Ratisbon. BINGHAM, VOL. III.


In the Roman prefecture,—Patriarch of Rome.

Metropoles. i Picenum Suburbicarium.

I Rome. 2 Campania.

2 Rome. Others, Capua. 3 Tuscia and Umbria. 4 Apulia and Calabria. 5 Brutii and Lucania. 6 Samnium.

6 Rome. 7 Valeria.

7 Rome. 8 Sicilia.

8 Syracuse. 9 Sardinia.

9 Calaris. 10 Corsica.

10 Uncertain. Others, Rome.

3 Rome. 4 Rome. 5 Rome.

IX. In the diocese of Illyricum Occidentale,-Exarch of


Provinces. i Pannonia Prima, or Superior. 2 Pannonia Secunda. 3 Salvia. 4 Dalmatia. 5 Noricum Mediterraneum. 6 Noricum Ripense.

Metropoles. i Laureacum. 2 Sirmium. 3 Sirmium. Others, Vindomana. 4 Salona. 5 Some say, Saltzburg 5.

s Laureacum.

6 Some say,

X. In the diocese of Africa,-Exarch of Carthage.

Metropoles. 1 Africa Proconsularis.

i Carthage. 2 Byzacium,

2 Civ. Metrop. Adrumetum 6. 3 Numidia.

3 Cirta Julia, or Constantina. 4 Tripolis.

4 Tripolis. 5 Mauritania Sitifensis.

5 Sitif. 6 Mauritania Cæsariensis.

6 Casarea.

XI. In the diocese of Spain,-Exarch uncertain.

Metropoles. 1 Bætica.

i Hispalis. 2 Lusitania.

2 Emerita Augusta. 3 Gallæcia.

3 Bracara.

5 Others leave these two uncertain.

6 But the ecclesiastical followed

the see of the senior bishop. So in all the rest.

Provinces. 4 Tarraconensis. 5 Carthaginensis. 6 Tingitana. 7 Insulæ Baleares.

Metropoles. 4 Tarraco. 5 Carthago Hispanica. 6 See of the senior Bishop. 7 Uncertain. Some, Palma.

XII. In the diocese of Gallia,—Exarch uncertain.

I Viennensis.

I Arelate. Others, Vienna. 2 Lugdunensis Prima.

2 Lugdunum. 3 Germania Prima.

3 Treveris, since Mentz. 4 Germania Secunda.

4 Treveris, since Cologne. 5 Belgica Prima.

5 Treveris. 6 Belgica Secunda.

6 Rhemi. 7 Alpes Maritimæ.

7 Ebrodunum. 8 Alpes Pennine and Graiæ. 8 Vienna. 9 Maxima Sequanorum.

9 Visontium, Besançon. 10 Aquitania Prima.

10 Bituriges, Bourges. I Aquitania Secunda.

11 Burdigala. 12 Novem Populi.

12 Elusa, or Augusta Ausciorum. 13 Narbonensis Prima.

13 Narbo. 14 Narbonensis Secunda.

14 Aquæ Sextiæ, Aix. 15 Lugdunensis Secunda.

15 Rothomagus, Rouen. 16 Lugdunensis Tertia.

16 Turones, Tours. 17 Lugdunensis Senonia.

17 Senonæ, Sens.

XIII. In the diocese of Britain,-Exarch of York, if any. Provinces.

Metropoles. 1 Maxima Cæsariensis, which I Eboracum, York.

was at the first all from
the Thames to the North-

ern borders.
2 Flavia Cæsariensis, taken out

2 York.
of the former, and contain-
ing all from the Thames

to the Humber.
3 Britannia Prima, all on the

3 London. South of the Thames. 4 Britannia Secunda, or all be

4 Caerleon. yond the Severn. 5 Valentia, beyond the Picts'

5 York. wall.

and canons

This, in the main, was the state and division of the Church into provinces and exarchates, or metropolitical and patriarchal dioceses, in the latter end of the fourth century: from which it appears that a very near correspondence was observed bet:veen the Church and State in this matter, both in the Western

and Eastern Empire. This evi

7. And this may be evidenced further both from the rules denced further from and canons, and the known practice of the Church in this case. the rules

For when any provinces were divided in the State, there comof the monly followed a division in the Church also : and when any Church.

city was advanced to a greater dignity in the civil account, it usually obtained a like promotion in the ecclesiastical. So when controversies arose about primacy between two churches in the same province or district, the way to end the dispute was to inquire which of them was the metropolis in the State, and order the same to be the metropolis in the Church. Of all which there are manifest proofs in ancient history. It was by this rule that the bishop of Constantinople was advanced to patriarchal power in the Church, who before was not so much

, as a metropolitan, but subject to the primate of Heraclea in Thrace; and this very reason is given by two general Councils. which confirmed him in the possession of this newly acquired power. The first of Constantinople decreed 7 ' that he should have the next place of honour after the bishop of Rome, because Constantinople was New Rome.' Which was thus again confirmed and ratified in the Council of Chalcedon, which says, Forasmuch as we think it proper to follow the decrees

[ocr errors]

7 C. 3. (t. 2. p. 947 c.) Τον μέν- κινούμενοι οι ρν. θεοφιλέστατοι επίτου Κωνσταντινουπόλεως επίσκοπος σκοποι τα ίσα πρεσβεία απένειμαν το έχειν τα πρεσβεία της τιμής μετά τον της νέας Ρώμης αγιωτάτω θρόνω, ευτης Ρώμης επίσκοπον, διά το είναι αυ- λόγως κρίναντες, την βασιλεία και την νέαν Ρώμην.

συγκλήτω τιμηθείσαν πόλιν, και των 8 C. 28. (1. 4. p. 77o a.) Παντα- ίσων απολαύουσαν πρεσβείων τη πρεσχού τοίς των αγίων πατέρων όρoις επό- βυτέρα βασιλίδι Ρώμη, και εν τοις εκμενοι, και τον αρτίως αναγνωσθέντα κλησιαστικούς, ως εκείνην, μεγαλύκανόνα των ρν. θεοφιλεστάτων επι- νεσθαι πράγμασι, δευτέραν μετ' εκείσκόπων γνωρίζοντες, τα αυτά και η- νην υπάρχουσαν και ώστε τους Πονμείς ορίζομεν και ψηφιζόμεθα περί τικής, και της Ασιανής, και της θρατων πρεσβείων της αγιωτάτης εκκλη- κικής διοικήσεως μητροπολίτας μόνους, σίας Κωνσταντινουπόλεως, νέας Ρώ- έτι δε και τους εν τοις βαρβαρικούς μης. Και γάρ το θρόνο της πρεσβυ- επισκόπους των προειρημένων διοικήτέρας Ρώμης, διά το βασιλεύειν την σεων χειροτονείσθαι από του προειρηεκείνην, οι πατέρες είκότως αποδεδώ- μένου αγιωτάτου θρόνου της κατά Κωνκασι τα πρεσβεία και το αυτό σκοπό σταντινούπολιν αγιωτάτης εκκλησίας

« ForrigeFortsett »