« ForrigeFortsett »
Co. I, Engineer Regt. Mo. Vols.-A. R. Prescott, William R. Johnson, John F. Jones, George W. Wheeler, William Harris.
Co. B, 18th Mo. Infantry.-Dennis A. Harden.
Fifteen of these perished on the field of battle or hospital, and but few of the others are whole and sound. They returned to their homes to begin where they left off--at the plow, bench, store or shop.
General A. C. Dodge, when Senator of Iowa, recommended that a postoffice be established at the "half-way house," on the Military road in Clayton county, Iowa, to be called Postville, and that Joel Post be appointed the postmaster; dated January 19th, 1849. Elijah Stevenson, however, was the first postmaster, as Joel Post died January 24th, 1849. A store was opened in 1851 by Josiah D. Reed & Co. The village plat consisted of four blocks of eight lots each, 4x8 rods, and was laid out at the crossing of the Military road, with the west line of section 33, by S. P. Hicks, county surveyor, in June, 1853.
A blacksmith shop was started by one Draper, in 1851, but business did not increase till 1855. A few dwellings had been built, when James Roll succeeded Draper in the "smithy," and also built a small frame hotel. Samuel J. Russell succeeded Reed & Co. in the store in 1856. The new and commodious "National Hotel" was completed by Mrs. Post in 1857. H. B. Hazelton put in a stock of goods in 1859. Webster & Stevenson succeeded S. J. Russell in 1863. Several dwellings and trade shops had been built on the main street (i. e., the old military road.) Stores had been enlarged and repaired.
Business received a fresh impetus by the building of the McGregor Western Railway, and its completion to this place, the first arrival of a train taking place on the 8th day of August, 1864. The landing of freight and mails began on the first day of September, 1864. At once the place put on new airs. An addition of 100 acres was laid out in lots by Mrs. Post, John Lawler, Joe Reynolds and J. T. Stoneman. A station house was soon erected, and John S. Grohe, agent, began business for the railroad. A large and commodious grain elevator was built by Lawler & Reynolds at a cost of $20,000, 50x90 feet, with seventeen bins; whole capacity, 51,000 bushels. Boiler and engine room, 16x24; boiler, 20-horse power. Aggregate pay roll of employes, $500 per month. Finished about September 15th, 1864. E. D. Holton and Hall Roberts put in an extensive stock of merchandise near the elevator. Other merchants and trades people who located in Postville since that time, may be mentioned, as C. Van Hooser, National Hotel; James Perry and Leithold & Poesch, merchants; A. W. McDonald, harness maker, in 1865.
Passing over the events of a few years, which were prosperous ones for the township, we mention that in 1871 the assessed value of the total amount of property was $255,026. The village had increased to correspond with the rural districts.
The Northeastern Iowa Agricultural Society, was organized here in March, 1871, embracing four counties, banded together for the mutual improvement of all branches of industry.
The Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railway Company began business on the Milwaukee division of their road in Postville, about September 5, 1872, James Perry, agent.
The village was incorporated March 11, 1873—John S. Mott, Mayor; A. P. Abbott, C. P. Darling, J. N. Leithold, J. H. Sanders, Trustees; D. T. Smithwest, Recorder.
Hall Roberts purchased one-third of the Lawler & Reynolds elevator in 1875. The company (known as Hall Roberts & Co.) handled one hundred and eighty-five thousand bushels of grain the same year. W. S. and Hall Roberts started the Postville Bank also
SCHOOLS AND SCHOOL HOUSES.
The township has built thirteen school houses, distributed on the several sections, as follows: The first, on the east side of Section 36, was built of oak logs, 16x22, in the fall of 1849, mainly by the efforts of Leonard B. Hodges, of Hardin, who also taught the first school there. The last school in the house was taught by Wm Larrabee, of Clermont.
Second, also of oak logs, was built in 1852, near the southeast corner of Section 28.
Third, called “West Grove," was the first frame school house in the township, built in 1854, near the northeast corner of Section 22, and was removed in 1860 to Section 24.
Fourth, "Postville Sub. District," a frame, built in the southwest corner of Section 33, in 1858.
Fifth, “Lybrand," a frame built in 1860, on the north side of the northwest quarter of Section 15.
Sixth, "Minert," a frame, built in 1862, near the southeast corner of Section 3, to replace the log house, No. 2.
Seventh, a frame built in 1864, on the west side of Section 20.
Twelfth, frame, built in 1873, at the east end of Reuben Smith's bridge, across Yellow River, near the northeast corner of Section 11.
Thirteenth, "Postville High School," built of brick, is two stories high, with basement, rooms for five grades. The district has lately purchased the Baptist church property, which gives ad
ditional room, and better facilities for teaching the large and steadily increa-ing number of scholars which it is necessary to provide for.
SUNDAY SCHOOLS. The first Sunday-school of Post Township was organized in the first log school-house of the township, in the Hardin district, in 1852, and the school was kept up as "Hardin Union Sabbath School," with a few winter omissions to 1872, when it was divided among the several religious societies in Hardin village.
The second was organized in the old log house of the Postville school district in 1854, by J. C. Marston, who was first superintendent. This school was also kept up with a few omissions in winter, to the year 1869, in Postville, when, becoming very large, it was also divided by Congregational, Methodist and Free Will Baptist Societies, October 9, 1869.
They have been conducted with great success by the two societies first mentioned, the two schools numbering three hundred in the village in 1882.
A large and interesting Sunday-school is also held at the U. B., or Bethel Church, organized in 1869.
As before stated, the first religious services ever held in Post township were held in June, 1848, by the Methodists, who organized a class in December, 1850, at the house of Henry Noble, who was class leader. Meetings were held by the class in the house of John Minert in 1852-53, known as the West Grove appointment. Meetings were also held with other classes, which were organized as settlers' houses offered opportunity, until school-houses were built. In 1856 a class was formed at the house of F. Higby, Esq., in Postville, where meetings were held with little intermission till 1858, when the class occupied the new school house, with regular preaching, alternating with the Congregational Society. The pastors were: Mann, Asbaugh, Bronson, Bishop, Newton, Churchill, Stout, F. K. Miller, Win. Lease. This pastor began regular service in Postville, October, 1859, to October, 1861; B. Holcomb, two years; B. C. Barnes, two years. During this term a parsonage was built, and Postville became the head of the circuit, with appointments at Frankville, Castalia and Red School house. Rev. Wm. Young, 1865-66; then B. F. Taylor, J. E. Fitch, two years; Rev. G. L. Garrison, three years. During this pastorate a church edifice was built. The corner stone was laid with elaborate ceremony July 4th, 1872, was completed, furnished and dedicated February 16th, 1873; cost $4,500. Church membership, 58; on probation, 9. Condition of the church at this time was spiritually low; prayer and class meetings neglected. Rev. Jason L. Paine took charge in October, 1873, and soon after increased interest
was manifest in the society. Rev. John Dolpb in charge from September 1875 to 1878. During this term a revival occurred in the community, and twenty-nine members were added to the church. Rev. Geo. W. Pratt served as pastor three years, and thirty-eight members were received in 1879.
Present pastor, 1882, Rev. H. E. Warner.
The First Congregational Church of Postville was organized April 5, 1856, by Samuel Russell and Lucy P. Russell, of Second Congregational Church, Rockford, Ill. John Moir and Deborah, his wife, and Geo. Kerr, of the Congregational Church, of Roscoe, Ill., with Mrs. Anna Orr, of the Presbyterian Church of Tyrone, N. Y. John Moir was chosen deacon and S. J. Russell, scribe. Rev. D. B. Davidson, of Monona, Iowa, was engaged to preach alternate Sundays, and the Lord's Supper was celebrated. Afterward, worship was held in the old Post dwelling, the house of Mr. Russell, the school house at Sprirgfield, and the school house in the village as soon as completed, which was in 1858-members were received from time to time, and on March 9, 1865, preliminary steps were taken to build a house of worship. An association was formed and incorporated, the trustees being John Moir, S. J. Russell, D. W. C. Rowley, Oliver Mackey and Geo. Kerr. At a meeting held June 9,1865, it was resolved to build a frame edifice 36x48 feet, on lots 1 and 2, block 23, in Postville. Among the subscribers to the building fund are noticed the names of Geo. G. Greene, Wm. Green, S. Conover, E. D. Holton, Hall and W. S. Roberts, John Lawler, F. F. Elmendorff, John T. Stoneman, Samuel Merrill (since Governor of Iowa), Wm. B. Strong, J. N. Gilchrist, J. L. Dearborn, ex-Governor Wm. Bross, of Chicago, Illinois. The church was finished and dedicated on September 12, 1867. Rev. C. R. French was supply, but the association being somewhat crippled in the expense of building, the house was rented to the M. E. Society, to April, 1868, when Mr. J. L. Atkinson, of the Chicago Theological Seminary, began regular services. Church membership thirty-eight. The pastors were in succession, Rev. Wm. H. Barrows, Rev. Geo. F. Bronson, Rev. C. A. Marshall, Rev. J. A. Hoyt, Rev. L. P. Matthews. During this pastorate a revival occurred, and twentyfive members were received. Rev. Horace H. Robbins, of Muscatine, Iowa, filled the pulpit from July 1, 1878, to May 1, 1880. During this pastor's term thirty-three members were added the the house of worship repaired, a lecture room built, grounds fenced and other improvements made. Rev. A. S. Houston, of Denmark, Iowa, a vacation term of four months—Rev. C.S. Newhall, to June 25, 1882. Rev. A. F. Loomis, of Dixon, Mlinois, present supply.
The Free-Will Baptist Society was organized in 1863. А house of worship was built in 1866; dedicated in 1867. The principal workers were Martin Boardman, H. B. Hazelton, Jonathan Ellis and Geo. W. Hanks. Rev. N. R. George was first pastor.
Services were kept up, with some omissions, to 1880, and after some efforts to recuperate, it was decided to sell the property with the house of worship to the school district of Postville, which was accomplished in May, 1882.
United Brethren.—A society of United Brethren was organized in 1868, and a house of worship built in 1869 at the center of the northwest quarter of section 23, of wood frame, well finished, called "Bethel Church." Services are held continually; membership not large.
German Lutheran.—This society was formed in the spring of 1872, and a house of worship built by subscription in the same year. The principal workers were Conrad Thoma, Jacob Leni, E. Rucktassel, Fred. Thoma, Carl Schultz, Leithod Bros. and Carl Knodt. The first pastor was Andrew Johnson, a German. Services have been held irregularly, and a school in German kept by some of the pastors. The society was incorporated January 16th, 1880; R. A. T. Meyer, secretary Membership in 1880: Church, 25; Association, 48; total, 73. Membership in 1882: Church, 67; Association, 57; total, 124.
Catholic.-A house of worship was built in 1872 at a cost of $2,500; size, 34x60 feet; wood. It is but little used.
NEWSPAPERS. The Postville Review was established, as its first number indicates, March 19th, 1873, by F. M. McCormack, a typo_of Decorah, Iowa. The paper took good rank from the start; Republican in politics, with an independent turn. It was sold to W. N. Burdick, late of the Cresco (Iowa) Times. The Review has a large and wide circulation, and seems a permanent fixture in Postville.
The District Post is the title of a new paper started August 17, 1882, by M.C. Mead, late of the Holland Gazette, (Grundy County, Iowa,) and is devoted to the interest of the Greenbackers.
LAWYERS. T. C. Ransom, a native of Hartland, Conn., removed from Hardin, Iowa, where he had practiced some years, to Postville, and opened his office May 9th, 1868. Removed to Forest City, Iowa, in October, in 1870.
Simeon S. Powers, a native of Chautauqua County, New York, also removed his office here from Hardin, Iowa, and formed a partnership with T. C. Ransom in May, 1870. He still continues business; has built up an extensive practice, has lately taken his son, L. M. Powers, as a partner, who with a copy clerk are all busily employed.
Burling & Stowe. Fred S. Burling and Herman A. Stowe came from West Union, Iowa, locating in Postville, July 10th, 1872. They have succeeded in building a fair practice on a good foundation.