Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

Hon. John T. Clark, one of Allamakee County's war horses in law, established an office in Postville in 1880. Does a good business, and is the principal Justice of the Peace in this locality.

PHYSICIANS.

Luther Brown, a hospital steward of the regular army and, graduate of Rush Medical College, Chicago, Ills., located in Postville in May, 1866. He has a large and lucrative practice. Was a member of the lower house of the 16th General Assembly, Ia., in 1876.

John S. Green came from Hardin, Iowa, where he had praticed since 1854, locating in Postville in March, 1867. Has a large practice. His son, J. E. Green, graduate of Iowa Medical College has lately began business in company with the father. [ John Shepherd, an apothecary of training in Scotland, graduate of Iowa City Medical College, began practice in Postville

Still practices. Others of the profession have temporarily practiced in Postville. Mention might be made of the names of some: S. Riddle, in 1858 to '62; Linert, 1864-65; W. Y. Boughton, 1874; B. E. Brockhansen, 1873 and '74; J. Hanson, 1880-'81.

OTHER VILLAGES IN THE TOWNSHIP.

Lybrand.- This place was originally settled by Jacob Lybrand, and a plat of a few acres laid out, and a post office established in 1851, and was in 1853 quite a village. "Mr. Lybrand kept a good stock of goods, as did Hiram Jones in 1853 and '54. There were milliner stores, boot and shoe stores. John D. Cooper came in 1854, and started to build a hotel of stone, of large proportions, which was but half finished, when sold to Elisha Harris in the fall of 1854, who made a farm of the whole Lybrand property; completely absorbing the last in 1856. Since then shops and stores have become barns and sheds, for produce and farm stock. The "Great Hotel" finished by Mr. Harris, was totally destroyed by a tornado, Sept. 21st, 1881.

Myron. - The village of Myron, so named for F. Myron Swartz, son of P. F. Swartz, the first settler, was begun at the time of the removal of the Lybrand postoffice, when Elisha Harris resigned as postmaster. It was then removed to Mr. Swartz's house and P. F. Swartz appointed postmaster of Myron, in 1869. R. T. Burnham moved his flouring mill from Hardin to Myron in 1865. S. F. Goodykoontz, of Waukon, purchased half the property in 1866, and had a plat laid out near the center of section 3. D. D. Hendricks started a store in 1867. Some building was done, a few dwellings put up, but the trade is dull, the mill only doing any business. The excellent water-power here should be an inducement to further enterprise.

Cleveland was started in 1856, near the southeast corner of section 1, but lived only a few years. Jas. Arnold and P. M. Gilson were the original proprietors.

CORNET BAND. This band was organized in May, 1873. The instruments were purchased by a subscription of citizens and distributed to members as follows:

James Perry, leader, E.b.cornet; Joseph B. Reed, 2d E. b. cornet; S.S. Powers, B. b. cornet; J. V. Allen, 20 Bb cornet; H. E. Babcock, E. b. alto; A. W. McDoneld, 2d E. b. alto; H. P. Dawes, B. b. tenor; E. D. Stiles, 2d B. b. tenor; A. R. Prescott, baritone; T. H. Symms, tuba; J. W. Sheehy, snare drum; Joe C. Dow, bass drum and cymbals.

In the course of a few years many changes had taken place, by removals mostly, and in 1880 a re-organization was necessary. The present esprit du corps may be mentioned as:

D. E. Harrington, E. b. cornet and leader; E. H. Putnam, 2d E.6. cornet; L. M. Powers, B. b. cornet; Stephen Spoo, 2d B. b. cornet; J. A. Enke, E. b. alto solo; P. Deitzler, E. b. alto; Joe Bencher, 2d E. b. alto; A. C. Tatro, B. b. tenor; Jacob Meyer, 2d B. b. tenor; Joseph Nicholai, baritone; G. Staadt, tuba; J. W. Sheehy, snare drum; J. K. Phillips, bass drum.

They are well uniformed, and are prepared to compete with any band in the State.

MILITARY. Company D, 4th Regiment I. N. G. was enrolled March 16th, 1880. Mustered into service by Capt. E. B. Bascomb, of Lansing, Iowa, the same day. An election for officers was immediately held, and James Perry elected Captain; A. R. Prescott, 1st Lieut; Joseph B. Reed, 2d Lieut.

H. P. Dawes was 1st Sergt.; Loren M. Powers, 2d Sergt; J. J. Beedy, 3d Sergt.; Arthur F. Marston, 4th Sergt.; *E. H. Putman, 5th Sergt.; Wm. F. Owen, 1st Corporal; Frank Orr, 2d Corporal; Elbert D. Stiles, 3d.Corporal; D. Henry Laughlin, 4th Corporal; Musicians—*Dennis Hardin, Jas. Sheehy.

Privates-Joseph Anderson, George Bellows, C. J. Bishop, J. Cole, Edgar Clough, James Doyle, Chas. Gordon, John H. Griffin, Ben. S. Gulic, Fred E. Haines, James Hogan, John McGhee, James McGhee, Chas. T. Makepeace, George McWilliams, Dennis Murphy, Lyman Newton, John O'Brien, Darius Orr, Ellison Orr, Lyman Patterson, John K. Phillips, Timothy Perry, Fred Rathman, John Redhead, Lincoln Redhead, Henry J. Reusch, John S. Roll, James T. Shepherd, Wm. Shepherd, Stephen Spoo, *Alonzo L. Stiles, Lamotte Taylor, Otis, Van Velzer, Hugh Wheeler, N. E. Wells, Geo. W. White, Henry Wells.

*Veterans.

POSTMASTERS. Elijah Stevenson, '49 to '51. James Stevenson '51 to 53. Josiah D. Reed, '53 to '56. Emery Higbey, '56 to '59. H. B. Hazelton, '59 to '63. G. F. Webster, '63 to '05. Warren Stiles, Sept. 2, '65, to June 30, '66. John Moir, Jr., July 1st, '66, to Dec. 31, '77. A. R. Prescott from Jan. 1, 1878. Money order office since 1870.

SECRET SOCIETIES. A. F. & A. M.—Lodge designated "Brotherly Love", No. 204; Chartered in June, 1866. First W.M., G. F. Webster. Present W. M., S. S. Powers. Membership, 43.

1.0. O. F.Lodge designated "Postville," No. 266. Instituted December, 1873. H. P. Dawes first N. G. Present N. G., Jacob Meyer. Membership, 39.

Å. O. U. W.-Chartered and designated "Noble," No. 51, of Iowa. Present M. W., T. B. Easton. Membership, 28.

Eclipse No. 96, Iowa Legion of Honor.-Chartered 1879. Present membership, 25, Hali Roberts, president.

Post Collegium, No. 52, V'. A. S. Fraternity.- Instituted May 1882. H. A. Stowe, rector. Membership, 33. James Perry, scribe.

POSTVILLE BUSINESS DIRECTORY, 1882.
Mayor, Norman J. Beedy; Recorder, B. F. Taylor.
Attorneys: Burling & Stowe, John T. Clark, S. S. Powers.

Insurance Agents: F. S. Burling, H. Dawes, O. E. Omley, S. S. Powers.

Postmaster, Alva R. Prescott.
Agent C., M. & St. P. R. R., James F. Wilson.
Agent B., C. R. & N. R. R., James Perry.
Newspapers, Postville Review, District Post.
Jewelers—J. H. Gray, J. Glines
Lumber-J. S. Mott.

Hardware and tinware-Matthew Beucher, Mott & McAdam, H. Stone.

Drugs, medicines and books—Bayless, Douglass & Co., Anton Staadt.

Restaurants-Edward Sheehy, John Thoma.
Wagon makers-Meyer & Hecker.

Agricultural implements—C. A. Leithold, Kemmerer, Lamb & Co.

Pumps and windmills-A. F. Marston.

Carpenters—C. P. Darling, H. P. Dawes, T. M. Miller, J. W. Sheehy, H. B. Taylor, E. E. Wilson.

Hotels—"Commercial,” J. M. Lisher; "Burlington," Burhans Bros.

Painters–J. B. Reed, E. H. Putnam, Taylor, Phillip Deitzler. Photographer-B. F. Taylor.

Cornet Band-D'Estaing Harrington, Leader; Gottfried, Staadt, Secretary:

General merchandise—John A. Finney, Luhman & Sanders, F. W. Roberts, Skelton & McEwen, Ward & Meyer.

Clothing-D. Osterdock.
Fruit and confectionery-Peter Miller, John Moir, Jr.
Bakery-Peter Miller.
Blacksmiths-Myer & Hecker, E. Parsons, G. W. Stafford.
Shoemakers-Wm. Grans, J. B. Schmidt, A. Stockman.

Cabinet makers and furniture dealers-T. B. Easton, August Koevening, A. W. McDaneld.

Machine and repair shop-Dresser & Fairchild.
Harness makers—J. A. Euke, H. W. Meyer.
Milliners and dressmakers---Canfield & Jones, Duff & Cross,
Viola Hunter.

Barber-J. K. Phillips.
Company D, 4th Regiment, I. N. G.-James Perry, Captain.

CHAPTER VIII.

Criminal Episodes; The Gorman Robbery; Borrowing" Horses;

Assassination of Cunningham; Murder of Barney Leavy; The Minert Murder; "Shoving the Queer;" An Uncle Murders His Nephew; a Postville Burglary; Fatal Stabbing Affray; A Defaulting Postmaster; Shooting of Matt. Beuscher; Other Fatal Affrays, Burglaries, Assaults, etc.

We have already stated that the first term of District Court held in this county was at Columbus in July, 1852, Judge Wilson presiding, though we have reason to believe that Judge Grant appeared and tried cases in vacation prior to that date, in 1850, or '51. Previous to 1849 we were attached to Clayton County for judicial purposes. At the November term, 1853, at Waukon, numerous bills were found by the grand jury against parties for assault and battery, gambling and betting, keeping gambling house, selling liquor, etc. In nearly every case the defendant was ordered to be arrested and held in $200 bonds; and at a later term they were nearly, or quite all of them discharged.

Nov. 9, 1853, Elias Topliff was indicted for official misdemeanor in the exercise of his official duties, as County Judge, arising, it is presumed, from the county seat controversy. He took a change of venue to Winneshiek County, and the case was dismissed.

The first criminal action brought to trial was on the 9th of November, 1853, "The State of Iowa r's. Grove A. Warner and

James A. Davis," upon an indictment for robbery. The defendants lived at or near Merrian's Ford (now Myron), and Warner had served as clerk of the old "Commissioners' Court," was a Justice of the Peace, and we believe a shoemaker by trade. It seems that Thos. and Jerry Gorman came into possession of some $600 or $700, and in considering where to place it for safety against the time they should have occasion to use it, one of them consulted Justice Warner. That night—or some night shortly after—the Gormans were robbed of all they had about them, which happened to be only about $60, they having found a depository for the main portion of their funds. Warner skipped out, and two years later his bondsmen were mulcted in default of his appearance. Davis stood trial, was convicted of “robbery in the first degree," and sentenced to the penitentiary for ten years. S. Goodridge was prosecuting attorney, and John Laughlin, of Post, Sheriff.

Since that day our county has been cursed with her share of criminals, though it has never been her lot to witness an execution. It is impossible to give anything like a full list of the crimes that have been brought to public notice within our borders; but a brief reference to the worst and more prominent of them seems called for in a work of this character.

There was at one time a great demand in this western country for "borrowed" horses; and so great was the apparent demand that it was found necessary in this county, as well as in many others, to sometimes send out armed patrols to search the country for those who did the borrowing, that is in cases, of course, where it was done without leave. We cannot say that actual lynching was ever practiced, but certain it is that some parties were badly scared; and it is also certain that more than one desperate character was arrested and brought to justice by them, and others informed that another part of the country would doubtless prove more conducive to their health. We regret that we have not the data from which to cite instances, but there are doubtless those still living who might write an interesting chapter on this subject.

The first case of horse stealing we have run across in our researches is that of David Clark, examined in Lansing in December, 1858, and committed to the Decorah jail. His plan was said to be, after stealing an animal, to run him off and sell him, and then lie about until he got a chance to poison the horse to destroy the evidence. The grand jury found a bill against him May 25, 1859, but before he could be brought to trial he escaped from jail by nearly killing the jailer, and was never recaptured.

A remarkable case was that of Wm. Presho, a most desperate character, who was arrested for stealing horses from the livery in Waukon, we believe, in the spring of 1865. His trial came off at Lansing in June following, and on the 17th of that month he was found guilty and sentenced to two years in the Fort Madison

« ForrigeFortsett »