most valuable acquisition to the pioneer settlement. His services as surveyor were sought far and wide, and two years later he was made assessor, continuing to serve as such by successive re-elections for about ten years.

In 1854 he was also chosen as President of the County Agricultural Society, organized in 1853, and nearly all the time from that day to this has been connected with the society in one capacity or another. In the fall of 1854 also, in company with Ed. Whitney, he began the erection of the firs and only steam saw mill here, which was completed the following tspring and continued in successful operation for many years. It was burned down in '56 or '57, after which he disposed of his interest therein, although the mill was re-built. In 1856 Mr. Adams entered upon the work of horticulture, in which he always found great pleasure, and in after years the "Iron Clad Nursery' of Waukon became famous for its success where others failed. There were ten or fifteen other nurseries sta ted in Allamakee County at about this time, not one of which proved profitable, and all were abandoned amid the almost universal opinion that fruit could not be grown in northern Iowa. During the 20 years he continued in this business, however, Mr. Adams established the fact beyond a doubt that it can be very successful, with judicious selection and proper management, and points with just pride to his achievements in this direction under the adverse circumstances of climate and public opinion. For instance, in 1871, at an exhibition of the State Horticultural Society (of which, by the way, he was for five years the Secretary), he took the sweepstake prize, with one hundred varieties, for the best and largest display of apples. Again, at the State Fair in 1879, he took the sweepstakes with 172 varieties of apples. About 1858, Mr. Adams was chosen chairman of the County Board of Equalization. Again, in '65 or '66, he accepted an appointment to a place on the Board of County Supervisors, to fill a vacancy, not without reluctance, however, as at that time there was the thankless task to undertake of building up the county finances, which were in a very bad way, county warrants at that time selling at only 45 per cent. The board was evenly divided politically, and to complicate matters and add to the responsibility of the situation it was also divided equally on the then strongly local feeling between Lansing and Waukon on the county seat question. Upon the expiration of his short term Mr. Adams was elected to represent his township again, was chosen Chairman of the Board; and on his re-election as a member, two years later, was again selected as chairman, without a dissenting vote. It is but justice to add that during these times he represented the interests of his constituents in local matters most successfully; and it was not long ere careful management and economy restored the full credit of the county, which has ever since been maintained in 1869 the first brick block in Waukon was erected, Mr. Adams being a part owner in this, as in

the first frame store in the village. Together with his neighbors, in 1869, Mr. Adams effected the organization of Waukon Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, the third in the State. He discharged the duties of Master, Overseer, Lecturer and Secretary of this grange, at various times, and upon the perfection of a State organization in 1872, he was elected Master of that for a term of two years, in the middle of which he was made Master of the National Grange, whereupon he tendered his resignation to the State Grange, then comprising over one thousand members representing eight hundred subordinate granges which he had organized, a fact which serves to illustrate the energy and zeal of the man who was called upon to preside over the national body. At that time there were but about 1,200 subordinate granges in the United States, but at the expiration of his term of three years there were nearly 23,000 granges spread over nearly all the States and Territories. His industry and tact are still further exemplified in his persistent advocacy of the establishment of rail communication with the outside world for Waukon, by the Paint Creek route; his active participation in the organization of the company; and, upon his election as its president in 1875, his energetic propulsion of the work to a successful realization of the hopes of the community during the twenty years preceding. Of late years Mr. Adams has passed his winters in a home he has established in sunny Florida, where he made his first purchase of land in 1875. In Jan., 1876, he re-engaged in his favorite occupation of horticulture in his winter home by setting out a small grove of orange trees. Now he is the fortunate possessor of about a thousand acres in that state, of which 37 acres are in orange grove. Mr. Adams was married Jan. 31, 1856, to Miss Hannah Huestis, who has been an able co-laborer in his horticultural avocations, and an associate in his honors, having occupied the position of Ceres in the National and State Granges, as well as various offices in the gift of her home subordinate grange.

John Bakewell (deceased), whose portrait appears elsewhere, was born in Worcestershire, England, in 1820. When he was thirty-four years of age he emigrated to America. The first year he spent in the eastern portion of the U. S., and then came to Illinois, where he lived until January, 1850, when he came to Allamakee Co., immediately procured lands and engaged in farming, which he continued until the time of his death, which occured April 29, 1879. His first year in Allamakee was a rather unfortunate one, as he lost the greater part of his stock by their straying away the first winter, and he was unable to recover them until the following fall; but by hard work and good management he became one of the wealthiest farmers of Allamakee Co., and highly respected by all who knew him. He married Sarah A. Hunt

the same year he left England. She was also born in England. They have seven children, who have all reached maturity, and who are well situated, financially.

Samuel Baumann, P. O., Lansing, was born in Switzerland in 1828, came to America in 1851 and settled in Lansing, and is now engaged in farming and burning lime. He married Christine Sideler in 1858, and they have twelve children.

J. D. Brennan, merchant, Village Creek, is a native of Allamakee Co., and son of Eugene Brennan, one of the old settlers of the township. Mr. B. was born in 1855, received a good education, and taught school until engaging in his present business in 1882. In July of the same year, D. J., a younger brother, became a partner in the business. Mr. B. was married in 1880 to Miss Mary J. Mooney, of Lafayette tp., they have one son, Eugene.

F. Barthold, Village Creek, born in Germany in 1828, came to America in 1847, and settled in Ohio; thence to Iowa in 1854, settling in Linton tp., moved to Lafayette tp. in 1859, and located at Village Creek. Mr. B. has held the office of Justice of the Peace for fifteen years.

In 1852 he married Miss Summermann, of Cleveland, O.; they have six children living.

Hilon Be!den, blacksmith, was born in Wyoming Co., N. Y., in 1829. At the age of thirteen he commenced work at his trade with his father. In 1853 he was married to Miss Mary Quick. In 1856 he came west, and after residing two years in Fillmore Co., Minn., came in 1858 to Waukon. He followed farming three years, when he again resumed his trade, and has since continued the same. The children are Florence, Cora, Kate and Julia,

Wm. Burton (deceased), farmer, was born in Rhode Island in 1813. Came to Mäkee tp. in 1853, and bought a farm of 80 acres on Makee Ridge, 3} miles from Waukon. The following year he brought on his family, comprising the following children: Theodore W., Lewis, and Fred A., the two latter of whom are now living. In 1868 he became a resident of Waukon, where he remained until his death, 1879. Mr. Burton was married in 1837 to Miss Marcella Nicholas, who was born in Rhode Island in 1815, and still resides in Waukon.

Peter Beiber, farmer, sec. 29, Makee; P. O. Waukon; a native of France, born November 3, 1835, emigrated with his parents to the U.S. in 1854. He first lived at Freeport, Ill., eleven months, then came to Allamakee Co., and settled in Center tp. Here he worked at the blacksmith trade for several years, and Dec. 26, 1865, was married to Sophia Krumme. In 1868 he purchased a farm and commenced tilling the soil; removed to his present farm in 1874. The children are Sophia, Lena, Emma, Katie, Peter and Philip.

D. H. Bowen, M. D. This promising young physician was born in Green Co., Wis., in 1850. His youth was spent in rural life, during which time he received an academic education, also

taught school, and at the age of 22 turned his attention to the study of medicine, first reading with Dr. R. Broughton, of Brodhead. He subsequently entered the Rush Medical College, where he graduated in Feb., 1876. He then came to Allamakee Co., where he practiced until 1880; then attended a course of lectures, and in the fall of said year came to Waukon, and has since been in partnership with Dr. J. B. Mattoon. Dr. Bowen was married in Feb., 1877, to Miss Hettie Burns. They have one child, Albert Sidney.

L. 0. Bearce, dealer in harness. etc., is one of the early pioneers and prominent business men. He was born in Maine in 1840, and in 1852 came to Allamakee Co., and lived on a farm until fourteen years of age, when he commenced work at the shoemaker's trade. This he followed three years, when he turned his attention to harness making. In 1864 he formed a partnership with G. H. McClasky, and has since been engaged in the manufacture and sale of harness, saddles, etc., being associated with several different partners at different intervals until January, 1882, since which time he has conducted the business alone. Mr. Bearce was married in 1871 to Miss Fannie E. Hall, of Evansville, Ind. They have two children, Leslie R. and Roger.

C. D. Beeman is known by all as one of the leading business men of Allamakee Co. He established his present business in November, 1874, erected his large and commodious store building (which is located in the west part of Waukon) in 1879 at a cost of $5,000, and now carries a stock of general merchandise to the amount of $18,000. Mr. B. was born in Madison Co., Vermont, in 1827, came to Allamakee Co. in 1849, and settled in Jefferson tp., where he was engaged in farming until he engaged in his present business. Oct. 6, 1853, he married Sarah A. Martindale, a native of New Hampshire. The children are C. M., C. A., Irvin, Fred L., and Bertha.

T. H. Barnes, M. D., a pioneer physician of 1855, is a native of the Buckeye State, where he was born in 1832. reared on a farm until the age of 20, when he turned his attention to medicine, graduating at the Iowa State University in 1855, He then settled in Allamakee Co., and has since been a citizen of said county, with the exception of a few months, when he resided in Clayton Co. In 1861 he organized Co. K, 5th Iowa, which was the first company of Allamakee Co.; and in July, 1861, Co. K, 1st Cav., with which he served until Dec. 16, 1864, when he resigned on account of physical disab:lity, and was mustered out with the rank of captain. He then returned to Waukon, and has since continued his profession. He has also spent some time and considerable money in experimental farming. In 1881 he built the first silo for the State of Iowa, which he has proved a success. He has also represented his district in the legislature one term.

He was

Dr. Barnes was married in 1854 to Miss Julia A. Orr, who died in 1859, leaving one daughter. In 1862 he married Marion E. Ferris, and now has one son and two daughters.

John M. Barthell, farmer, sec. 19, Makee tp.; P. O. Waukon; a pioneer of Winneshiek Co., and at present one of the most prominent farmers of Allamakee Co. He was born in Germany in 1830, emigrated to the U. S. in 1848, and lived in Rensellaer Co., N. Y., until 1851. He then came to Iowa and settled in Glenwood tp., Winneshiek Co. In 1856 he was married to Miss Martha Page. He then continued farming in said county until 1866, since which he has resided in Allamakee Co., and now owns over one thousand acres of land. The children are Sarah, John and Jonathan (the two latter being twins), Anna, (now Mrs. Louis Steinbach), Charley, George, Michael, Minnie and Bennie.

James Bentley, one of the oldest resident preachers, was born in England in 1816, emigrated to the U. S. in 1842, and soon entered Jubilee College, near Peoria, where he was ordained as an Episcopal minister in 1847. His first parish was at Warsaw, Ill. In the spring of 1857 he came to lowa and located in Allamakee Co. He was the first preacher at Lansing. In 1859 he founded the Waukon parish, of which he had charge for many years. Rev. Bentley has been for a number of years in the employ of the American S. S. Union, first as district agent, then as State agent of Iowa, and afterwards as State agent for Kansas. He is at present missionary-at-large in Allamakee Co. He was married in 1850 to Miss Cox, and they have two children, Henry J., of Waukon, and William C., of New York City.

Chas. Barnard, proprietor Waukon Nursery. This well known gentleman was born on the Isle of Wight, and on the farm now occupied by Queen Victoria's sunimer residence; but when he was about eighteen months old his parents (Thomas and Mary Barnard) emigrated to the U. S. and settled on Wheeling Island, in the Ohio river. Here Thos. Barnard started a nursery, and soon commenced teaching his son the rudiments of fruit growing. About 15 years subsequently the family removed to Belmont Co., Ohio, and then run a market garden for the city of Wheeling. Here the subject of this sketch, in 1845, was married to Miss M. Balderston, who died in 1856, leaving three children, Mary G., now Mrs. W. R. Hanscom, of Monona Co., Ia.; Emma J., now Mrs. R. O. Manson, of Sibley, Ia., and Chas. O., of Monona Co., Ia. In 1857 Mr. Barnard was married to Narcissa P. Newport, and in 1865 removed to lowa and settled in Waukon, where he at once engaged in the nursery business. In 1868 his wife died, leaving two children, Thomas N. of Miles City, M. T., and Elizabeth. In 1869 he married Deborah D. Spaulding. Mr. B. having spent his entire life in growing trees and fruit, is one of the best posted men to be found in his line of business. He is what may be called a strictly practical

« ForrigeFortsett »