« ForrigeFortsett »
Mr. Borlog was married to Miss Anna Nelson in 1860; they have eight children, Ole, Sarah, Jennie, Mary, Lena, Nora, Theodoro and Ida. Mr. B. is a member of the Lutheran Church.
Andrew Nelson Brekke, P. 0. Decorah, farmer, Sec. 23, Madison tp.; owns 160 acres of land, valued at $35 per acre; was born in Norway in 1834, and came with his parents to the U. S. in 1852; they located in Dane Co., Wis., remaining there to 1853, when he came to this Co., and located on his present farm. His mother died in 1852 in Wis.; his father is now living with him, and is at the advanced age of 86 years. Mr. Brekke was married to Miss Helen Thompson in 1852; they have one son, Nels A.
D. C. Bacon, P. O. Decorah, farmer, Sec. 24, Madison tp.; owns 240 acres, valued at $40 per acre; was born March 18, *1828, in Litchfield Conn. In early life he learned the trade of plane making, which business he followed for many years, also carpenter and joiner work. In 1854 he came to Io., locating at Freeport, in this Co. He came on to his present farm in 1878. Mr. Bacon was married to Miss Rebecca Swift, June 25, 1855, in Connecticut. They have two children, William S. and Mary A. Mr. Bacon is a member of the Congregational church, and of the A. F. & A. M.
Jacob Butz, farmer, owns 120 acres of land, valued at $20 per acre; was born in Indiana in 1856, and is a son of Theobolt Butz; came west in 1866, and settled in this tp. He married Emma Reinhardt, who was born in Allamakee Co. They have one child, Edward.
Lewis R. Brown, Sec. 8. Orleans tp.; son of Josiah and Susanna Brown, both born in N. Y.; was born in Jefferson Co., N. Y., Feb. 8, 1834. In 1860 he came to Orleans tp., locating on his present farm, which now contains 628 acres, the probable value of which is $30 per acre. Mr. Brown also deals extensively in fine stock. He was married to Louise S. Chapin, also a native of Jefferson Co., N. Y.; they have two children, Henry C. and Susie E.
G. R. Baker, dealer in general merchandise, was born in Essex Co., N. Y., in 1851; is a son of W. H. and P. W. Baker; came to Iowa in 1859 with his parents, and settled in Bloomfield tp., receiving his early education at the common schools, and subsequently a course at the Ames Agricultural College. He was enployed as clerk at Ossian from 1871 to 1874, at which time he came to Ridgeway and engaged in business as above. He was married to Estella Bolles, a native of this Co. They have two children, Rollin and Raymond.
A. W. Brownell, farmer, owns 144 acres, section 17, joining the town of Fort Atkinson; was born in Rensalaer Co., N. Y., in 1831. In 1853 moved to Chillicothe, Ross Co., Ohio, engaged in the manufacture of lumber for two years; then moved to Wis near Madison and engaged at farming, and in 1863 came t Mitchell Co., Io., farming three years; then went back to Wis.
and remained two years; in 1868 came to Fort Atkinson and purchased property in town, and in 1877 bought the farm which he now owns. It is improved and fenced, having good buildings, etc. He was elected in the fall of 1874 Clerk of Courts of this Co., on the Democratic ticket, served one term; and in 1877 was elected Co. Supervisor on the same ticket, the county being largely Republican. Mr. B. was married in Ohio in 1854, to Miss Fernandez, who died in 1856. He afterwards married, in 1861, at Leeds, Columbia Co., Wis., Miss A. R. Chilson, and they have five sons and one daughter. He is a member of the A. F. & A.M.
W. Becker, lumber dealer, Fort Atkinson, was born in Germany, in 1849, was. educated there, and in the spring of 1868 came to the U. S.; settled first at Festina, in this Co., worked in the store of C. Dessel for one and one half years, then came to this place and engaged in the grocery business in the building now owned by J.C. Morris, jeweler. In 1874 he sold out and went into his present business. He bought eight town lots for the yards, has fenced them, carries about a $6,000 stock, has erected good, dry sheds, etc., and does a good business. He was married in 1873 at Festina, to Miss Barbara Huber, of this Co.
A. Bernatz & Bros., proprietors Evergreen Flouring Mills, Ft. Atkinson. A. Bernatz, the senior member of the firm, is a native of Germany, and Geo. Bernatz, the junior member, of this county. Their parents came to the U. Ś. in 1849 and settled in Rochester, N. Y.; came to Prairie du Chien in 1852 and to McGregor in 1855, and engaged in the brewery business, which they sold and went to Smithfield, Allamakec County, and bought the flouring mills; from there they came to this county, bought the Addicken flouring mills, on the Canoe River, northeast of Decorah, and run the same two years; then bought the Riceford mills at Houston, Minn., and also built a mill in Fillmore County, Minn., known as the Newburg mills, and the same year built the Chaska flouring mills, near Minneapolis. They sold their Minnesota mills and came to this place in 1875; had bought the Evergreen mills in the fall of 1874, and have conducted the same ever since under the firm name of M. Bernatz & Son, until the fall of 1882, then under the above name. The mill is 40x50 feet, three stories and basement, situated on Turkey River; is fitted as a merchant mill and does merchant work only; has a capacity of 125 barrels; is fitted with five run of buhrs, one set of rollers, bran duster, purifier, and all the necessary machinery for a first-class mill," and gives employment to five men, besides the proprietors and coopers. It is probably the only mill in northern Iowa that runs steadily the year round as an exclusively merchant mill. Power is given with four Leffel water wheels, equal to 100-horse power.
D. Bright, farmer, living on section 30, and owns 160 acres; was born in Reading, Pennsylvania, in 1828; learned the trade of carpenter; came to Iowa in 1856, settling at Osage, Mitchell
County, and lived there ten years, working at his trade; then came to this place and moved onto his land, which he had bought ten years previously. He has now thoroughly improved it, having it all under fence, good buildings, etc., and well stocked. He has a fine herd of good grade cattle; eleven head of horses, among which are some fine Clydesdale half bloods. Mr. B. has filled many offices in the township, and is a leading and respected citizen. He married in November, 1852, in Pennsylvania, Miss Mary Bowers, and has five children living, William, Lauren, Lowella, Frank and Bert.
John Birtwistle, farmer, section 5, P. O. Cresco; owns 118 acres of land valued at $25 per acre; was born in England; is the fourth son of Edward and Priscilla Birtwistle; was married in 1855 to Miss Alice Grundy, a native of England. When he was 18 years of age ho came to America; settled in Grundy County, Illinois, lived there two years, then moved to La Salle County, and after_a residence of eight years there, came to Winneshiek County. He has three children living, Margaret E., John E. and William. Mr. B. was for a time employed by the government as a carpenter.
Hon. Ezekiel E. Cooley stands conspicuous among the early representatives of the legal profession in the Tenth Judicial District. He is a native of the Empire State, born in Victory, Cayuga Co., on the 12th of January, 1827. His parents were Ira A. Cooley and Lydia Chittenden Cooley. His father was a clergyman of the Baptist denomination, who held pastorates after his son was born, at Hermon, St. Lawrence Co.; Denmark, Lewis Co., and Brownsville, Jefferson Co. He died at the last named place in June, 1846. At the age of sixteen years the son entered the Black River Literary and Religious Institute, at Watertown, and at his father's demise was about to enter Hamilton College, but this bereavement thwarted all his plans. Two years prior to this date, while fitting for college, he commenced teaching, and in the summer of 1847 went to Cynthiana, Kentucky, to pursue this calling, arriving there with seven dollars in his pocket. Up to this date he had a hard struggle in procuring the knowledge which he then possessed, and which struggle was not ended; but he continued to persevere, having the legal profession in view, and continued teaching with a view to supplying himself with funds. Soon after reaching Kentucky he commenced studying law, with Judge Trimble as preceptor; was admitted to the bar in 1849, and in August of the same year returned to New York and took charge of a public school in Odgensburg. Not satisfied with his legal attainments, simultaneously with his commencing to teach, he read law, with Hon. A. B. James as preceptor, and on the 2d of September, 1850, was admitted to the bar of the State of New York. He commenced practice at Hermon; two years later he removed to Odgensburg, forined a partnership with George Morris, and continued practice under the firm name of Morris & Coo
ley until October, 1854, when he immigrated to Iowa and located at Decorah. At that date there were less than thirty families in the place, but Mr. Cooley had the wisdom to see that it was a town of much promiise, and a good opening for an ambitious young attorney, with a broad foundation of legal knowledge on which to build. In 1855 Mr. Cooley formed a partnership with W. L. Easton and L. Standring, for the purpose of carrying on the business of banking and real estate. This banking house proved eventually to be the "seed-corn" of the First National Bank of Decorah. No movenent calculated to benefit Decorah or the county has failed to receive the hearty support of Mr. Cooley. As early as 1856 he was one of the prominent men in organizing a railroad company called the Northwestern, of which he was made the attorney. The financial depression delayed this enterprise, but after repeated trials the road, under another name, reached Decorah in September, 1869. Upon the celebration of its completion, Mr. Cooley was very appropriately made the orator for the occasion. Two years after he settled at Decorah, an effort was made to remove the county seat to Freeport, three miles eastward, and but for the adroit efforts of Mr. Cooley and a few other persons, the project probably would have succeeded. "Mr. Cooley came to Decorah to practice law, and to make it a business for life. He has carried out his intentions almost to the letter, and has attained eminence in his profession. The few offices he has held were urged upon him by the partiality of his friends. In the spring of 1855 he was elected prosecuting attorney, and served two years. When, in 1857, Decorah was incorporated, he was chosen president of its board of trustees; and in October of the same year he was elected to the lower branch of the general assembly-the seventh-which was the first under the new constitution. Young as he was, and wholly inexperienced in legislative matters, he was placed at the head of the committee on federal relations. He was also on other important committees, such as judiciary, and township and county organization, doing valuable work on all of them, as well as on several select committees. In 1861 Mr. Cooley was appointed postmaster of Decorah, but resigned at the end of two years. In September, 1864, President Lincoln appointed him commissary of subsistence in the volunteer service, with the rank of captain. He held this position until October, 1865, when he was breveted major for meritorious services, and received his discharge the following month. Twice his republican friends have presented his name before the district conventions for congressional nominations, but in both instances competing candidates bore off the palm, and he magnanimously took the stump and aided in their election. In 1879 he resigned the office of mayor of Decorah to accept the appointment of judge of the Tenth Judicial District, and in Nov., 1880, was elected to the same position, and is still serving as such. Judge
Cooley has profound respect for the Bible, is familiar with its teachings, and has aimed to live a blameless life. but has no church connections. He, like his sons, is a student. He loves the practice of law, much better than politics, and still pursues its study with the relish and eagerness of his younger days. Through his success he has obtained a competency, and has one of the most elegant and costly residences in Decorah. Judge Cooley was married on the 18th of March, 1856, to Miss Jane M.· Rhodes, of Dubuque, a lady of very fine talent as an amateur artist in oil colors. They have two sons, both of whom are graduates of the literary department of the Michigan University. Charles M., the elder, subsequent to graduating, studied law with his father; was admitted in September, 1879, and was a member of the firm of Cooley, Fannon & Akers until 1882, when on account of his health, he gave up practice, and is now engaged in stock farming in Dakota. He was married in August, 1880, to Miss Alice Woodruff, daughter of Rer. H. B. Woodruff. Roger W., the younger, is now reading law with W. E. Akers, Esq.
W. F. Coleman, M. D., a pioneer physician and dentist of Decorah, was bornin Vermont in 1825.' At the age of 18 he removed to Illinois, and served as clerk in r ercantile pursuits until 1847. He theu entered the Rush Medical College, of Chicago, and graduated in 1850. Dr. Coleman then located at McHenry, III., and engaged in the practice of medicine and dentistry, at the same time having an interest with his brother in a general mercantile business. In 1857 Dr. Coleman located at Decorah, and in 1862 received a commission as assisting surgeon in the 17th Io. Inf., in which position he served until the spring of 1864, when he resigned on account of physical disability. Dr. Coleman then returned to Decorah, and as soon as his health permitted, resumed the duties of his profession, and has since continued the same, during which time he has been engaged in the drug husiness for about five years. Dr. Coleman was the first mayor of Decorah, having previously been president of the town; has also been city treasurer, and served two years as county superintendent. He is U. S. examining surgeon, and for sixteen years has been a physician on the board commissioners of insanity. Dr. Coleman was married in 1848 to Miss Jane E. Grout, a native of Canada West. They have eight children living: J. H., Viola A., (now Mrs. W. R. Toye), Frank M., A. L., Herbert D., Willard F., Louis and Adelbert.
L. L. Cadwell, conductor, is a native of the Empire State, born at Binghamton, Brown Co., in 1838, his parents being Nathan and Eliza Cadwell, with whom he removed to Fox Lake. Wis. Mr. Cadwell in 1859, married Miss Anna Johnson, of North Adams, Mass. In 1862 he accompanied his wife east, her health being impaired, and in the same year enlisted in Co. B, 2d N. Y. Cav. This company formed a part of the Gulf Department, and