some residence and very large and handsome barn at a cost of about $4,000. His farm is well stocked and all under fence. Mr. P. was married in Wis. in 1849 to Miss Margaret Gulling, and they have a son and daughter.

Lafayette Packard, blacksmith, was born in St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., in 1826; spent the earlier part of his life on a farm, and and learned his trade previous to coming to Frankville in July, 1856; established business here at once and found it good and profitable, as in those days there was a great deal of travel through to McGregor, the nearest shipping point, and Frankville was a great deal larger town than now, and the largest in the Co. Mr. P. has filled the office of justice of the peace for several years. He was married in N. Y. in May, 1853, to Miss Emelia Doty, and has six children living and three deceased.

Ira Protheroe, P. O. Decorah; farmer, Sec. 14, Decorah tp.; was born June 25, 1816, in Herkimer Co., N. Y. In 1843 he engaged in the hotel business at Castile, Wyoming Co., continuing several years; he then moved to Hume in Allegany Co., and engaged in the same business for about three years; then removed to Waterville, in same Co., and again engaged in the same business about three years, after which he went to Belfast, same Co., and ran a hotel there about seven years. In the fall 1857 he came to Io., locating in Decorah, having bought a livery stock and opened up a livery business in company with the Curtin Bros. In Feb., 1858, he opened a hotel in what was known as the Tremont House (where the Arlington house now stands), continuing in the same till 1865, when he engaged in farming on his present farm, which now contains 206 acres, valued at $35•per acre. Mr. Protheroe was married to Miss Zilpha F. Williams, a native of Wyoming Co., N. Y. Their children are Mary, now the wife of Leonard Standing; Helen, wife of Charles Allison, and John W., proprietor of the Decorah 'bus and dray line.

George V. Punteney, proprietor of Plymouth Rock Mills, Plymouth Rock, Io.; was born in Monongahela Co., Va., in Feb., 1820. In 1829 his parents moved to southeastern Ind. In 1851 Geo. V. came to L., and settled in this Co., and commenced the erection of a saw mill for Beard & Cutler, on the Canoe river. In June, 1852, he moved to Cold Water, three miles east of this place, and took a claim. The land was not surveyed. In 1854 he married Mary E. Pridmore, at Garnavillo, Clayton Co., Io., and then moved on to his claim, which he entered at the land office when it came into market in 1853. He had worked there three years previously on the Bluffton mills, being a millwright and carpenter by trade. He built a house on his claim and commenced clearing the land, and also built a saw mill and operated the same for three years and improved the farm. His wife died at that place in 1866, and in the same year he moved to Hardin Co., Io., and remained there five rears; then returned to his farm here, but did not operate the

mill, it being run down and out of repair. In May, 1876, he moved to this place, having previously purchased an interest in the mill, which he now owns exclusively. The erection of the mill was commenced in 1852, the dam being built and saw mill established on government land, then not surveyed, and a few years later the flouring mill was built, and the saw mill discontinued, by Mattock & Kelly, who sold to Bean Bros., and eventually it came into the hands of the present owner, as he purchased an interest of them, and aftewards by process of law, the matter being in litigation, obtained entire possession. The mill is 40x40 ft., and 40 ft. high, fitted with three run of buhrs and the latest machinery, and fitted for patent process flour--good water power, four Decorah patent water wheels, etc.; employs a competent miller, L. P. Sanborn, of many years experience, and does custom work. The farm, which Mr. P. still operates, is well stocked, and employs two teams; he owns six head of horses, besides good cattle and hogs. Mr. P. was married to his second wife, Miss Sarah Freeman, in 1873. The children of his first wife are Ladora J., Arthur C., Weldon V., Nellie C. and Charles Emmert; the last mentioned died in June, 1881.

S. Pike was born in Clinton Co., N. Y., in 1831, and is a son of Jesse and Elizabeth Niles Pike; his parents being farmers, he was raised in that avocation. He entered the employ of the railroad company at an early age, which he continued at intervals until the breaking out of the rebellion in 1861, when he became interested in raising the 96th N. Y. regiment; he enrolled fortytwo men, a greater number than any other man. He was taken sick soon after his regiment was enrolled, and was unable to accept the position of captain, which had been previously offered him. In 1863 he came west, and located in Frankville, this Co., and began farming, which proved rather unsuccessful; he then removed to Calmar, again entering the employ of the railroad company, and in 1866 came to Ridgeway, still in the employ of the railroad company, a position which he held until 1870. °Of Mr. Pike's ancestors his father's family are of Irish extraction, and his mother's of the old Anglo Saxon stock, his grandfathers on both sides being soldiers in the revolutionary war. Mr. Pike married Elizabeth B. Way, a native of Grand Isle Co., Vt.; they have but one child living, David Emmett, having lost their youngest son, Delbert.

J. C. Rollins, farmer, Burr Oak tp.; born in St. Albans, Somerset Co., Me., in 1826, and followed farming and lumbering. In 1848 he moved to Union, Rock Co., Wis., where he engaged in farming; remained there one year; thence to Adams Co., Wis., and two years later to Washara Co., Wis.; afterwards to Portage City, Wis., where he engaged in the livery and stage business for about three years, and then came to Io., settling where he now resides. He bought the land in the fall of 1864. The land was par

tially improved, there being about 40 acres broken and a log house thereon. The land is now all improved, and in place of the log house is a fine residence. The other farm buildings are all of the highest order, including a fine large barn, which is well stocked with fine horses, Mr. Rollins making a specialty of horses, owning four full-blooded, pedigreed Normans, besides a large number of half-bloods, about 40 in all; also good graded cattle and fine Poland and Berkshire hogs. Mr. R. is a member of Decorah Lodge, A. F. and A. M. He married in 1847, at St. Albans, Me., Miss Mary F. Tripp, and they have seven children, Olive I., Clayton E., Alvin, Franklin, Emma J., Edna B. and Guy. Clayton E., his oldest son, owns 160 acres of land near his father's, the same being improved and well stocked.

Luther Reed, farmer, owning 300 acres in Hesper tp. and 23 acres of timber; was born in Allamakee Co., Io., in 1851. His parents located there in June, 1850, and bought land, and farmed there eleven years; the moved to Winneshiek Co. and bought this place, which is now owned in partnership with his father, and is all improved, well stocked and under fence, with good residence and barns. He was married Jan., 1875, in Allamakee Co., to Miss Celia M. Kellem; they have four children, Ezra G., Luther O., Alma and Cora.

W. C. Reed, farmer, Hesper tp.; was born in the province of Quebec, Canada, in 1835, and in 1843 came to the U.S. His parents located in Rock Co., Wis., remaining there until 1850; then came to Allamakee Co. He bought the farm he resides on in 1861. It was partially improved, and is now thoroughly so, and all under fence, with good residence, barns, etc., and well stocked. Mr. Reed is a member of the I. 0. 0. F. He was married in 1859 at Waukon, to Miss Phebe Knights; they have nine children, William H., Edgar, Franklyn, Charles, Isaac, Jesse, Emma, Ernest, Elsie. Bertie died in Dec. 1880, at four years

of age.

Almon Rice, farmer, Bluffton tp.; born in 1821, in Lewis Co., N. Y.; was in the farming and mercautile business at Parishville, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., and in 1856 came to Io. and bought land in this Co. as an investment, and not with the intention of settling; but seeing immigratian heavy and prospects good, he remained until the following fall and established his citizenship here, and after the election went back, and disposed of his property in the east, and in the spring of 1857 moved his family to this Co., and settled first in Orleans tp. on the tp. line on his land there, and afterwards moved across the line on to his land in this tp. He owns 490 acres in Bluffton tp. where he resides, and 510 in Orleans tp. The land is all improved and rented. He has a fine residence which cost him $3,000, where he resides with his son, William H. Mr. Rice is part owner with Mr. Hale of the Bluffton Mills, and is one of the heaviest real estate owners and

most prominent citizens of the Co. He has been twice a member of the board of county supervisors, first during the war, and appointed to fill vacancy in 1880, and in the same fall was elected for the regular term on the republican ticket. He was married in 1845 in N. Y. to Miss Phebe Shumway, and has one son, William H.

Walter Rathburn, farmer and stock raiser, owrs 240 acres, all tillable land, except 40 acres timber, in Frankville tp.; was born in Allegany Co., N. Y., in 1824, and moved with hi parents in 1842 to Winnebago Co., Ill. In March, 1850, he came to Frankville tp., this Co., and took a claim at government land price, paying for the same in Mexican land warrants, which he bought at a discount, so the land only cost him about $1.00 per acre.

Of the land, 160 acres was in the east part of the tp.; he sold it in 1853, and bought the farm he now resides on. It is fine rolling prairie, and very productive; he has a fine herd of good grade cattle, fine bred hogs, and has a handsome residence, barns and every convenience and necessity for comfort.

R. F. Rudolph, druggist, Decorah; is a son of C. Rudolph, and was born in Wis. in 1856; came with his parents to Decorah. He was educated in the schools of the city, also taking a course at the business college of Milwaukee, where he graduated at the age of 16 years. Mr. Rudolph learned the drug business at McGregor, lo., and in 1872, in partnership with his father, engaged in his present business, and has since been managing partner of the firm of C. Rudolph & Son. He was married in 1879 to Miss Alice A. Stewart.

D. A. Reed, blacksmith, was born in Ohio in 1830; in July, 1848, he oame with his parents to Winnesbiek Co., and settled in Bloomfield tp. His father, David Reed, subsequently served as the first County Judge of Winneshiek Co., holding the office two terms. The subject of this sketch was reared as a farmer, and afterwards ran machinery in steam mills until 1860. He then commenced work at his trade, and has since continued the same; established his present business in 1867. Mr. Reed in 1850 married Miss Mary L. Topliff, daughter of Judge Topliff, of Allamakee Co.; they have four children.

C. Rudolph is a native of Germany, born in 1823; emigrated to the U. S. in 1853, and first located at St. Louis, Mo., in 1854 he removed to Wis.; two years subsequently to Minn., and in 1259 came to Io. and settled at Decorah, and has since been engaged in the saloon business. He built the Rudolph Block in 1869, a brick structure, 33x80 feet, three stories high besides basement. In 1872 he established the drug business of C. Rudolph & Son, and has since been a partner in the business. He was married in 1853 to Miss Fredericke Borchert. The children living are Anna, now Mrs. Albert Bagemill, Robert F., Edward, Amelia and Augusta.

Hiram Rosa, farmer, Frankville tp.; was born in Ulster Co., N. Y., in 1834; came to this place with his parents and brothers in 1850. He broke the first furrow on Washington prairie, where the family settled, and which is now a heavy settlement. He used seven yoke of cattle, and a plow that turned three feet of sod. The country was wild and new, the Winnebago Indians being here at that time, but were removed west soon after. He was married in this tp., Feb. 4, 1864, to Sarah Freer. The farm on which they reside is in Sec. 31, contains 106 acres, 90 acres fine, tillable land and about 16 acres of timber. He has thoroughly improved the place; has a residence second only to his brother Peter's, and of similar style, and surrounded by a beautiful garden, which shows great neatness and care. The farm is well stocked and thoroughly adapted for stock purposes.

Theodore Rosa, farmer, Frankville tp.; was born in Cayuga Co., N. Y., Nov. 4, 1838; owns part of the old homestead, the claim that was taken by his father when he first came to this Co., situated in the north west corner of Sec. 31, and containing 110 acres, all tillable land except 15 acres of timber, and all in Frankville tp. The land is thoroughly improved, with residence and barns, is thoroughly fitted and rented to tenants, as he does not farm himself. The Rosas were the most extensive farmers in this locality for years, and one season raised 10,070 bushels of wheat alone. Theodore Rosa is a member of the Masonic order, Lodge No. 66, Frankville.

Ole P. Ruksvold, farmer and postmaster, Thoton P. 0.; owns 160 acres in Sec. 14, and 100 acres in Sec. 15; was born in Norway in 1832; was reared on a farm; came to the U. S. in 1853 and located in Wis., but only remained there two months; then came to Winneshiek Co., and bought a farm in Sec. 11, on which he lived several years, which he since sold to his brother in 1860, and then bought where he now resides. In 1861 he enlisted in Co. G, 12th Io. Inf., and served three years and two months. He received promotion to corporal at Pittsburg Landing, two days before he was taken prisoner at Shiloh. The rebels took him with other prisoners to Mobile, Cahaba, and then to Macon, Ga., where he was kept about five months, and then to Libby Prison, where he was confined ten days and exchanged at Aiken's Landing, on the James River. He was then taken to Annapolis and afterwards to St. Louis, where the regiment was reorganized, and then went to Vicksburg in Feb., 1863, and went through the campaign with Sherman and Grant. He was wounded at Pleasant Hill, on the Red River, La., being shot in the thigh with buck shot, which he still carries with him as an unpleasant reminder of those interesting days. He was disharged at Nashville, Tenn., Dec. 7, 1864, and returned to lo. and resumed farming. He is one of the oldest settlers and prominent citizens, and has been a member of the board of county supervisors two terms, besides having held many

« ForrigeFortsett »