subject has lived in this county ever since, except during the time he was with the Union army during the civil war. Houston A. Evans was married, November 26, 1865, in Ray county, to Miss Lucinda Cook. She was born near C ilumbia, Tennessee. The result of this union was seven children: Ira, born September 14, 1866; Elmer, born September 28, 1867; Claude, born June 6, 1869; Houston, born January 3, 1871; Estel, born February 12, 1873; Genevieve, born in 1875; died June 12, 1877; Ursaline, born in 1878. Mr. Evans enlisted in company B, 44th regiment, Missouri infantry. He was taken prisoner at the battle of Franklin, Tennessee, and confined for five months in the Confederate prison at Andersonville. He received his discharge from the army in June, 1865. He returned to Ray county, and has engaged in farming here ever since. He has filled the office of justice of the peace at Camden for two years. Mr. Evans is a member of the M. E. Church, and also of the Masonic order, and a Good Templar. He possesses about five acres of real estate in the town of Camden. He is a successful business man and a worthy and valuable citizen of his adopted country.


The subject of this sketch was born in Harrison county, Indiana, on the 10th of May, 1831. When he was 'about four or five years of age his parents removed to Crawford county, Indiana, where he resided until the year 1856, when he went to Scotland county, Missouri, and remained there about fifteen months, and then came to Camden, in Ray county, Missouri. Mr. Brown was married on the 21st day of October, 1861, to Miss Amanda M. Canada, a native of the state of Virginia. They became the parents of two children: Susan C., born in the month of July, 1862, and William A., born in July, 1872. He enlisted in the month of September, 1862, in company D, 35th Missouri infantry, and was accidentally shot and wounded in the right arm, by the guard firing upon him, by mistake, at the battle of Helena, Arkansas. In the army he discharged the duties of a non-commissioned officer, and was discharged at the close of the war, in July, 1865, at St. Louis, Missouri. He learned the trade of a cooper early in life, in Indiana, and worked at that business • some four or five years, and then clerked for a time in a store. He has been engaged in mercantile business almost all the time since his majority, but has only been in business at Camden for little more than one year. He is a consistent member of the M. E. Church South. He is a successful merchant, and a valuable citizen of the town of Camden, in Ray county.


Was born in Campbell county, Virginia, on the 21st day of June, 1838. At the age of two years he was brought by his parents to Boone county, Missouri, and soon after they again removed, to Daviess county, Missouri, and after living there two years, came to Camden, Ray county, Missouri, in the year 1844, and here our subject has ever since resided. He is now merchandizing in the town of Camden, and has been in that business there for about a year. Mr. Canada was married on the 23d day of December, 1867, to Miss Mary A. Endsley, a native of Ray county, Missouri. The issue of this marriage was three children: Cora L., born February 25, 1866; Allie M., born in 1871, and Katie, born in 1878 Mr. Canada has, at different times in life, held official positions, both in his town and township, and is, at present (April, 1881,) mayor of the city of Camden. He is a prominent and influential citizen, and is a highly respected member of the community in which he lives.


This gentleman was born in Ray county, Missouri, January 28, 1837, and has lived here all his life. He grew up on a farm three miles west of the town of Richmond, and has lived upon the place he now owns for more than twenty years. He was married on the 3d day of August, 1862, to Miss Lliza Cox, of Lafayette county, Missouri, Rev. Dr. Lane, of that county, officiating at the marriage. Mr. and Mrs. King became the parents of one child, Leila, born in June, 1864. Mr. King was in the militia service (Union) in this state during the war of the rebellion. He owns a good farm of one hundred and sixty acres in section fifteen, township fifty-one, range twenty-eight. This place is in an excellent state of cultivation, and also comprises some very fine grass lands. Mr. King has been a farmer for the greater part of his life, and takes deep interest in everything pertaining to the business. In the spring of 1881 he removed with his family to Camden and intends making that his home in the future. In addition to his farming interests he deals in live stock, and is agent at Camden for the Kansas City Packet Company's line of steamboats. He is a successful business man, a worthy, reliable agent, and a good citizen.


Is a native of the county of Ray, and has resided here all his life. He was reared on his father's farm, and in his youth alternated between going to the neighborhood school in the winter and working on the farm in summer. Thomas Magill was born on the 19th day of September, 1849, in Ray countv, Missouri. He has been a life long farmer. His estate consists of some two hundred and sixty acres of land, all under good fence, but about fifty acres of woodland. His place is situated but two and one-half miles from the city of Richmond, and is very convenient to both school and church. Mr. Magill was married September 1, 1874, to Miss E. P. Turner, a native of Sumner county, Tennessee. They have two children, Belle and Bessie. Our subject is a worthy member of the Cumberland and his wife of the O. S. Presbyterian Church.


Christopher G. Gaston was born in Greene county, Indiana, on the 9th day of June, 1841. The family is believed to have been of French origin, and banished from their native country to Ireland, whence they came to the United States, and settled in South Carolina. The father of our subject, Samuel Gaston, removed from South Carolina to Indiana, and in 1844, came from that state to Missouri and settled in Johnson county. He afterward removed to Lafayette county, and was killed near Greenton in 1862, by the famous guerrilla, Anderson. The maiden name of Mr. Gaston's mother was Jane H. Vankook, a native of Kentucky. In the pursuit of an education our subject not only received the benefits of the schools of the neighborhood, but also the advantages of instruction from an older brother. Mr. Gaston was living in Lafayette county when the civil war commenced, and he joined the enrolled militia of that county in 1862. Two years afterward he was appointed by Col. Sweitzer enrolling captain for the county of Lafayette. After serving in this capacity for three months he resigned. Mr. Gaston was married in the year 1864, to Miss Nancy Ann Hutchison, daughter of James Hutchison, Esq., of Lafayette county, Eight children have been born of this union, five of whom, one girl and four boys, still live. In 1868 Mr. Gaston came to Ray county and engaged in farming, a short distance east of Camden, for about three years. Then he removed to Camden and entered the drug business. He received the appointment as postmaster of Camden, in 1871, and has held the office ever since. He was elected justice of the peace for Camden township in 1869, serving in that capacity for four years. Mr. Gaston is a member of the Masonic Lodge, No. 57, at Richmond. He is an efficient, careful and accommodating postmaster, a successful business man, and is popular with all.

H. E. HAMIL, M. D.

Dr. Henry Edward Hamil was born in Gadsden county, Florida, on the 18th day of January, 1840. His father, Henry Hamil, Esq., was a native of Ireland, and had emigrated to the United States in 1838, and engaged, extensively, in raising cotton and other products of the state of Florida, upon his large plantation there. The family went back to Armagh county, Ireland, in the year 1853, and the son, Henry, entered the celebrated University of Dublin, to complete the course in medicine and chemistry. After spending four years in close application to his studies, he graduated from that institution in 1860, with the degree of Bachelor of Medicine. Immediately after his graduation, he received, from the Queen, the appointment as assistant surgeon in the Eighteenth Royal Irish regiment, which was soon after transferred to the East Indies. After spending ten months in Burmah, his regiment went to Bengal, and there he resigned his position and returned to England. In 1862 he came to the United States. Finding, when he reached New York, that an Irish regiment was forming for the defense of the Union, he joined it and served under the stars and stripes of his adopted country, until the close of the war. In 1865 he returned to New York, and resumed the practice of his profession there. He has made one visit to Europe since he came to America. He came to Camden, Ray county, Missouri, in 1867, and has practiced his profession in Camden and vicinity since that time. He now (April, 1881) conducts a drug store in connection with his practice. Dr. Hamil was married in 1879, at Camden, to Miss Mary Richardson, daughter of Asa Richardson, Esq" formerly of that town, now deceased. Two sons, Edward and Henry, both now living, have been born to Dr. and Mrs. Hamil. Dr. Hamil has traveled as far and seen as much of the world as any other man, perhaps, in the county. He is a gentleman of thorough and finished education, and an able, experienced and successful physician. He is profoundly in sympathy with his oppressed and suffering countrymen in "Erin's green isle." Though born in America, he was, for the most part, reared and educated in Ireland, and spent the best part of his youth there, and his heart still clings in fond remembrance to "Erin mavourneen, Erin, go bragh."


The subject of this sketch is one of the leading business men of the town of Camden. He was born in Ray county, Missouri, near the city of Richmond, June 24, 1853. His father, William W. Prichard, was a farmer and he was reared to the same vocation. After finishing the course taught in the public schools, he spent several years at the Richmond College, and there finished his education. After leaving school he remained for about a year on the farm with his father, and then engaged as clerk, for a period, in the drug store of Dr. Taylor, at Richmond. He has, at various times since, been clerk in different business houses in that place. While with Drs. Taylor and Jacobs, he acquired a knowledge of the drug business, and, in 1873, opened at Camden, a drug store on his own account. He has made the business so successful as to require the aid of a clerk. Mr. Prichard was married in 1874, to Miss Alice V. Jones, daughter of Mr. Ammon Jones, now deceased. Mr. Prichard resides and continues to conduct his business in Camden. He is very popular with all his acquaintances and is doing a thriving business.


Asa Brockman is an old settler of Ray county, and was born in Clark county, Kentucky, in the month of April, 1826. While he was yet an infant, his father, Mr. Joseph E. Brockman, immigrated to Missouri, and after stopping about a year in Howard county, settled in Ra)r (section 22, township 51, range 28), and here has been the home of our subject ever since. Asa Brockman received his education in the district schools of this county, and remained at home working upon his father's farm until he was twenty-two years of age, and then, fired by the excitement of the discovery of gold, he, in 1849, went to California. He made the trip overland with an ox team. He engaged in mining in California, and remained there about eighteen months, returning at the, expiration of that time, to Ray county, by way of the Isthmus of Panama and New Orleans. On his return home he took charge of his father's place, and has since conducted and managed the farm. Mr. Brockman was married in the autumn of 1852, to Miss Sarah F. Hudgens, daughter of B. A. Hudgens, Esq., of Ray county. Ten children have been born as the result of this union; eight are now living: Joseph E., John C., H. M., Nancy Jane, wife of J. Rosell; Lou Isabel, wife of Joseph Brown; James A., Sarah A. and Asa B. Mr. Brockman lives on the old homestead of his father, a fine tract of 280 acres of valuable upland. He pays most attention to grain growing. Both himself and wife are members of the Christian Church, at South Point, near Albany.


James M. Suits was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, on the 1st day of May, 1845. Here he received his education, and lived until the year 1861, when he went to Richmond, Virginia, and engaged in coal and lead mining. Two years later he left the mines and enlisted in the Confederate army, under Major Bridgeford, who commanded the first Virginia battalion of infantry, known as the "Irish battalion." They had been United States regular troops before the war. After the close of the war Mr. Suits returned to the coal mines of Virginia, and remained about three years, and then leaving there, he worked, successively, for short periods, in West Virginia, Ohio, and Kansas. On the 14th day of November, 1870, he came to Camden, Ray county, Missouri, and again resumed work at the coal business. He engaged with J. C. McGrew, and has been chief operator and manager for him ever since coming to Camden. James M. Suits was married in 1863, to Miss Eliza M. Chandler, of Blackburg, Virginia. Eight children have been born of this marriage, of whom

« ForrigeFortsett »