« ForrigeFortsett »
Roberta. Their eldest child died in infancy. Mrs. Kite is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, at Camden. Mr. Kite owns a valuable farm, well improved and stocked, and is in a flourishing condition. He is highly esteemed and respected by his neighbors, and is a valuable adjunct of the community in which he lives.
ROBERT H. WOODROOF.
Was born in Buckingham county, Virginia, on the 9th day of January, 1825. In the same year his father, Wyatt T. Woodroof, moved to St. Louis county, and after staying there one year, to St. Charles county, Missouri. After living there for five years his father died, and the family removed to Warren county, Missouri, where our subject received his education and grew to manhood. He began farming on his own account, in the year 1852, and has always followed that calling. He came to Ray county in 1869, and buying a farm from Dr. Brashear, (section 20, township 51, range 28,) settled upon it and has continued living there to the present time, (April, 1881). Mr. Woodruff was married on the 22d day of May, 1872, to Miss Sarah, daughter of Mr. George Lillard. They became the parents of two sons, one of whom, Robert L., is now living. Mr. Woodroof owns a valuable farm of three hundred and three acres of excellent land, well improved, with a good comfortable residence, out houses and barn and a fine orchard. He is a leading farmer and valuable citizen of Camden township.
This gentleman was born in Hanover county, Virginia, on the 22d day of December, 1820, but was raised in Claiborne county, East Tennessee, whither his father had removed when he was but six years old. Here he grew up on his father's farm. He was engaged with the American army in the war against Mexico. He came to Missouri in 1839 and settled on Crooked river, in Ray county, about six miles northwest of the town of Richmond. His home has been in this county ever since he came first, except some time spent in Carroll county, and about nine years he lived in the state of Nebraska. In 1861 William Cox joined the Confederate army under General Price, and was engaged during the entire war, part of the time with General Price and part under General Jackson. He was also a soldier in the Indian wars in Oregon in 1854 and 1855. Mr. Cox was married in Ray county, Missouri, to Miss Elizabeth Eaton, daughter of Nathan Eaton, Esq., of Tennessee. The issue of this marriage was thirteen children. Only six of them, three of each sex, are now living. Mr. Cox is a member of the regular Baptist Church, and also of the Farmer's Club. He has just returned to Ray county, from Nebraska, after nine years sojourn there, and having purchased a farm in section eight, township fifty-one, range twenty-eight, intends making his home in this county henceforth during his life.
STANTON R. LILLARD.
Stanton R. Lillard was born in Madison county, Virginia on the 8th day of May, 1834, and grew up and was educated there. He came to Ray connty, Missouri, in the year 1856, and was engaged for a year, after his arrival here, in teaming. He was then employed by Thomas Duvall as overseer for the negro workman on his farm. In this capacity he remained for another year, and then went back to Virginia, but staying there only during one winter, he came again to Ray county. Mr. Lillard was married on the 10th day of December, 1862, to Miss Eliza J., daughter of Christopher Allison, Esq., of Ray county. He bought a farm the same year in sections seven and eight, township fifty-one, range twenty-eight, and has lived upon it ever since. He afterwards increased the extent of his first purchase, and now owns three hundred and fiftyseven acres of fine land in Ray county. He is also engaged, to some extent, in breeding and dealing in fine stock. Twelve children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Lillard, eight of whom are living, named as follows: John F., born October 11, 1866; Christopher C., born Octdber 10, 1867; Hattie Jane, born January 17, 1870; Elizabeth C., born March 30, 1874; James W., born September 18, 1875; Ludy May, born September 23,1877; Robert Lee and Mary Francis, twins, born February 11, 1881; George W., William R., and two unnamed infants, are dead. Mr. Lillard was slightly wounded by the terrible cyclone which passed through Richmond June 1, 1878. He is a member of the order of Patrons of Husbandry and also of a later organization called the Farmer's Club. Mr. Lillard is a practical, successful and prosperous farmer. He has made six visits to his native state since he first came away. In 1876 he made an extended tour through the east and attended the centennial exposition at the city of Philadelphia.
WM. A. WHITE.
William Alexander White was born in Amherst county, Virginia, in the month of May, 1820. He is of English-Irish descent. His father, Mr. Merritt M. White, removed to Ray county, Missouri, in the year 1837, and settled upon a farm which he had entered, four miles north of Camden. His father died in 1861, and our subject subsequently bought the old homestead, but after a while he sold it and bought the place upon which he now resides, in sections four and nine, of township fifty-one, range twenty-eight. This farm consists of three hundred and thirty acres of very fertile and productive soil. Mr. White also owns another tract, of one hundred and forty-four acres, in the same township. He has been a life long farmer, most of the time in Ray county. Wm. A. White was married in the month of November, 1842, to Miss Ann Eliza Williams, daughter of Rev. James Williams, a prominent minister of the Baptist Church, now deceased. Eleven children have been born of this union: Henry Mc, born September 22, 1843; Mary P., born May 21, 1845; George Merritt, born February 7, 1847; Sarah Elizabeth, born September 23, 1848; Martha Ellen, born June 13, 1850; Judith Rosanna, born March 7, 1852; William Andrew, born August 26, 1854; Eliza Anna, born April 5, 1857; John David, born February 25, 1859; Rhoda Frances, born April 19, 1861; Lucy Jane, born August 30, 1863. William A. died September 3, 1856, and Rhoda F. died December 13, 1872. The rest are living, and all married except John D. and Lucy J. As the offspring of these various marriages, Mr. White has some thirty or more grandchildren. Both Mr. and Mrs. White have been members of the regular Baptist Church for more than thirty years. In 1876 Mr. White made an extended tour of the eastern states, and even went into Canada. At different times, during this trip, he visited his old friends in Virginia, the United States centennial exposition, Niagara Falls, and other places of interest in the east.
THOMAS A. BROWN.
Thomas A. Brown was born in Rutherford county, Tennessee, on the 28th day of April, 1815. His father, Thomas B. Brown, removed to Ray county, Missouri, when Thomas was but fifteen years old, and the home of the latter has been in this county ever since. In the year 1835, he entered a farm in section five, township fifty-one, range twenty-eight, and at once began to improve it. He increased the size of this place by subsequent purchases, until now it consists of some three hundred acres of rich and valuable land. He also owns a tract of fifty-five acres on Crooked river. Mr. Brown was married November 22, 1838, to Miss Patsy Crowley, the daughter of Jeremiah Crowley, Esq., of Ray county. They became the parents of fifteen children, only seven of whom are living at this time (April, 1881). Their names follow: William T., Sarah Ann, Jeremiah, John Franklin, Ellen Catharine, Henry, andHarden Alvin. The names of those dead are: Elizabeth, Mahala, James Calvin (killed at the siege of Vicksburg, during the civil war), Nancy Frances, Martha, Joseph Ashley, Thomas B., and an infant son. Mr. Brown took part in both the "Mormon war," and the "Heatherly war." Both himself and Mrs. Brown are members of the Regular Baptist Church, at New Hope. They joined the church more than thirty-five years ago.
The subject of this sketch was born in Culpepper county, Virginia, une 24, 1802. When he was but three years of age, his father, Elijah Stout, Sr., removed to Shelby county, Kentucky, and there our subject was educated and grew up. At the age of thirty-four years he came to Missouri and located in Clay county, where he farmed until the year 1848, and then came to Ray county, Missouri, and bought a farm one mile west of Richmond, known as the Shotwell place. After living upon this farm for seven years, he sold it, purchasing the one upon which he now lives, about five miles southwest of Richmond. He has been all his life engaged in farming. Mr. Stout was married in the year 1826, to Mrs. Nancy Cave, of Woodford county, Kentucky. She died in 1844, and he was again married, to Miss Ann Warder, of Richmond. She, too, died, in 1868, and he was married the third time. His last wife was Miss Lizzie Priest, daughter of Elias Priest, Esq., of Ray county. Mr. Stout belongs to the Missionary Baptist Church, at Albany. He is now well advanced in years. By his enterprise and industry he has earned a competency, and surrounded himself, now, in his declining years, with those material comforts which serve to lengthen out a green old age, and make the evening of life bright and happy.
John Stevinson is a native of Kentucky. He was born in Clark county, that state, on the 18th day of May, 1827. Here he received his education, and lived until he had attained his majority. He was married in Clark county, on the 24th of August, 1848, to Miss Mary Ann Stone, daughter of Dudley Stone, Esq., of that county. He purchased a farm and conducted business upon it until the spring of 1855, when he sold his farm in Kentucky, and removed to Jackson county, Missouri, and located near Lee's Summit. Here he resided until the war troubles of 1863 came. At this time General Thomas Ewing issued his famous "order number eleven," banishing the people from their homes, and our subject came to Ray county. After renting land for three years, Mr. Stevinson bought a farm in section six, township fifty-one, range twenty-eight, and section one, township fifty-one, range twenty-nine, and has lived there ever since. He has recovered from the losses sustained by the war, and is now in a very prosperous condition. He gives attention chiefly to grain raising, and the breeding of fine varieties of live stock. Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Stevinson, six of whom are living at the present time (April, 1881), named as follows: Mary Elizabeth, Asa, Williamson, James, John, Sarah Mildred. Those dead are: Margaret Ann, Eliza Catherine, and an infant son. Mrs. Stevinson and the eldest daughter belong to the Christian Church.
WILLIS WORLEY. This gentleman is a native of Jefferson county, Tennessee, and was • born on the 17th of January, 1817. His father, Mr. William Worley, Sr., was a large land owner, and an early settler in Tennessee. At the early age of sixteen years, our subject left home and went to Kentucky. During the succeeding fourteen years he led a very nomadic life as a stock drover to the southern markets. In 1849 he went to Illinois, and farmed for one season, and then returned to Kentucky. He was married on the 27th day of September, 1849, to Miss Eliza J. Ogg, daughter of Mr. William Ogg, of Madison county, Kentucky. This estimable lady was educated in Madison county, Kentucky, and during several years of her life, was engaged in teaching school there. She was a very efficient, successful and popular teacher. Soon after his marriage, Mr. Worley returned to Illinois, and lived there until 1854. In the autumn of that year he came to Missouri, and, after stopping, one winter in Lafayette county, settled on a farm three miles northeast of Orrick, in Ray county. In the year 1867 he bought the Wm. Graham farm, adjoining his place, and now has two hundred and twenty acres of valuable land, all in one tract. He added greatly to the beauty and value of his place by erecting, in 1868, a large and commodious dwelling house. Mrs. Worley is a leading member of the Christian Church, at High Point.
L. D. PRIEST.
Luke D. Priest was born in Montgomery county, Kentucky, on the 15th day of May, 1819, and there received his education. After two or three successive removals to different parts of Kentucky, his father,' Mr. Elias Priest, in 1835, came to Missouri. He spent the winter after his arrival in Saline county, and the next year came to Ray county and remained here until his death. Luke D. Priest was married in 1841, to Miss Sarah J. Goe, daughter of Mr. Noble Goe, of Ray county. After his marriage he farmed for two or three years near the present town of Haller, then selling his farm there, he purchased the one on which he now resides, five miles southwest of Richmond. With the exception of six years he lived near Todd's chapel, Mr. Priest has occupied his present place ever since he first bought it. He served eight years as justice of the peace in Richmond township. In the fall of 1864, he was elected by the democrats to the office of public administrator of Ray county. At the expiration of the term, two years, the law having undergone a change, he was appointed by the probate court to the office for another term. Thus he filled the office of public administrator for eight consecutive years and discharged the duties efficiently and to the entire satisfaction of his constituency. Since he retired from office, he has given his attention almost exclusively, with the exception of one year he had a brick yard at