Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

nessee.

thus reached home again after an absense of more than three years. Mr. Gant is now engaged as a trader and dealer in live stock. He does a thriving, paying business, and is a valuable member of the community of Vibbard, where he resides. He is highly respected by his neighbors and friends, and is a leading and influential citizen.

JAMES GREENE. James Greene was born in the state of Tennessee, April 15, 1811. His parents were David and Jorissa Greene, natives of White county, Ten

Our subject came to Ray county, Missouri, in the year 1832, and engaged in farming, which has been his life-long avocation. In the year 1845, James Greene was married to Miss Mary Hough, daughter of Absolom Hough, a native of Germany. She was born November 20,

a 1824. They have six children, living: Martin V., born October 2, 1842; David, born November 25, 1844; Nancy, born August 4, 1848; Samuel, born June 6, 1853; Martha, born March 1į, 1858; James, born January 8, 1869. Mr. Greene served eighteen months at the beginning of the late civil war, as a member of Colonel King's staff (Union army). At the expiration of that term of service, he re-enlisted in the 44th regiment of Missouri volunteer infantry, and served in the battles of Pea Ridge and Spanish Fort, as well as all other engagements in which his regiment participated. At the last named battle he was under fire for eleven days. At the close of the war he was discharged at St. Louis, and returned to his family in Ray county. Both Mr. Greene and his wife are members of the Christian Church. He is an industrious, thrifty, and successful farmer and a good citizen.

H. D. HATFIELD. The subject of this sketch was born in Campbell county, Tennessee, in the year 1837, and was brought by his parents when four years old, to Knoxville, Ray county, Missouri. His father was a farmer, and our subject was raised on a farm. Having completed the course of study taught in the common schools, he began teaching at the age of nineteen years, and pursued that profession with good success during eight years. He then entered the drug and grocery business at Haller, and continued it, at that place, for about six years, and until his removal to R. & L. Junction. There he was occupied in the same line of business for about two years, and then selling out at the Junction, he removed to Lawson, this county, and built a large and commodious store house there, in which he conducts a very profitable trade in drugs and groceries. Mr. Hatfield was married at Lawson, in the month of June, 1878, to Miss Fannie Potter, of Gentry county, Missouri, by the Reverend Mr. Roote. They became the parents of two children, both of whom died in infancy. Mr. Hatfield is a rising, popular merchant and a public spirited man.

[ocr errors]

G. W. MONTGOMERY. G. W. Montgomery was born in Gallatin county, Kentucky, July 31, 1833, and received his education and grew up there. At the age of twenty-one years, he left home and went to California, where he staid about eighteen months, and then returned to his native county, and again attended school for one year. At the expiration of that time he came to Missouri, and, stopping first in Clinton county, taught school there for one year, and then came to Ray county. He taught school for a time after his arrival in this county, and then engaged in farming until the outbreaking of the civil war. In 1861 he enlisted in company F, Hughe's regiment of state guards, Slack's brigade, and served for three months, and then returned home. In the winter of 1861, he enlisted in company A, second Missouri regiment, Confederate States army, and remained in the service until March, 1862, and then went to Kentucky, where he remained until 1865, and then, returning to this county, engaged in farming until 1870, and then entered the hardware and lumber trade, which he continued until February, 1881, when he established his present business, that of furniture, undertakers' goods and agricultural implements, at the town of Lawson. Mr. Montgomery was married in the year 1858, to Miss Agnes Clevenger, who was born in Ray county in the year 1843. They became the parents of two children, Elizabeth, now Mrs. Brock, and Robert E. Mr. Montgomery was married the second time, in 1872, to Flora Childs, who was born in the state of New York, in 1849. He is a member of the Bee-Hive Lodge, No. 393, A. F. & A. M., at Lawson, and is also a leading member of the M. E. Church South.

F. BROCK. The gentleman whose name heads this article was born in Franklin county, Kentucky, December 26, 1820. He left Kentucky when seven years of age, with his parents, and coming to Missouri, locating first in Clay county, where he remained until 1854, and then came to Ray county and located upon his present farm, in section thirty, township twenty-nine, range fifty-four. He owns a fine farm of 278 acres, well improved and in an excellent state of cultivation. He is also engaged in raising stock, and has a fine herd of blooded cattle, and also a flock of well-bred sheep. Commenced dealing in lumber, at Lawson, in the autumn of 1871, and in 1873 added a stock of hardware to his business, and has since continued both lines in addition to his farm. He owns a fine store-house at Lawson, and is doing a prosperous business. Mr. Brock was engaged in the local war against the Mormons, and was also in the state militia, under command of Colonel Doniphan. He was married March 17, 1853, in Clay county, Missouri, to Miss Diana Moore, by the Reverend Mr. Price,

of the Baptist Church. Mrs. Brock was born in Franklin county, Kentucky, February 13, 1826, and her parents moved to this state soon after her birth. Mr. and Mrs. Brock have two children: W. H. and George E. Mr. Brock is a member of Bee-Hive Lodge No. 393, A. F. & A. M., and was one of the charter members when the lodge was organized, in 1865.

J. C. WEAKLEY. James C. Weakley was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, May 29, 1844. His father, William S. Weakley, was a native of Pennsylvania, and was born March 1, 1816; died September 1, 1848. Our subject learned the trade of a tinner at the age of eighteen years, and has since devoted his attention to that avocation. During Morgan's raid through Ohio and Virginia, in 1863, he responded to the call for volunteers for one hundred days, and served through that campaign. March 1, 1863, he enlisted in company G, 145th regiment of Pennsylvania, and served until July 4, 1865, when he was discharged at Cincinnati. He was engaged at the battles of the Wilderness, Spottsylvania Court House, North Ann River, Cold Harbor, Petersburg. At the last named battle he was so badly wounded as to disable him for service, and he was discharged, and returned home to Pennsylvania, where he remained until September, 1865, and then, coming to Missouri, engaged, during the succeeding winter, at his trade in Hamilton, Caldwell county, Missouri, and then came to Knoxville, Ray county. From the latter place he removed to Lawson in 1870, and has since been doing a good business in stoves, tinware, etc., at that place. Mr. Weakley was married January 27, 1867, at Knoxville, this county, to Miss Mary E. Vinsant, a native of Tennessee, born October 17, 1846. They have six children: William R., John, James, Charles D., Esther, and Mary E. Both Mr. Weakley and his wife are members of the M. E. Church South. He has held the position of secretary of Bee-Hive 'Lodge No. 393, A. F. & A. M., for several years.

a

ISAAC COOK. Isaac Cook was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, July 3, 1817, and learned the blacksmithing trade there, which business he has pursued ever since. Came to Missouri in 1841, and worked at his trade first for awhile in Clinton county, and then removed to Ray county; is now located at Lawson. During the late civil war he was first lieutenant of company B, 6th Missouri cavalry, commanded by Colonel E. C. Catherwood. Mr. Cook was married in 1839, in North Carolina, to Miss Hannah E. Woodburn. They became the parents of ten children: Elizabeth A., Jane, John, Tabitha, Margaret, Susan, James, Henry, Frances, and an

infant (dead). Mr. Cook's second marriage occurred May 17, 1865, when Mary E. Barrow, of Green county, became his wife. She bore him three children: Isaac S., Addie, and Charles F. Mrs. Cook died in the month of June, 1880. Mr. Cook is a member of the Christian Union Church. He is an excellent blacksmith, and has a large and lucrative busi

He is a man of good character, and is a valuable addition to the town of Lawson.

ness.

J. W. ASBURY. J. W. Asbury was born in Todd county, Kentucky, February 8, 1840. His parents removed to Missouri in 1843, and located, first in Dade county, where they lived for three years, and then came to Ray county. His father, who was a blacksmith, located in Richmond, and worked at his trade there, until 1852, and then removed to Camden, this county. From Camden he went to Lexington, Lafayette county, and after remaining there for a period, returned to this county. Our subject learned the trade of blacksmithing, and pursued that business until the beginning of the civil war. He enlisted, in 1861, in company A, 3d Missouri Regiment, Confederate army, and was engaged at Pea Ridge, Mansfield raid, Jenkins' Ferry, Lexington, and Independence. He was discharged at Shreveport, Louisiana, in 1865, and went to Nebraska, where he engaged for two years, at his trade. He then went to Wyoming territory, and to Colorado, working successively at different places. At Cheyenne, Wyoming, he set up a shop of his own. He returned to Missouri in 1868, and began merchandising at the town of Hainesville,Jand at the end of two years, came to Lawson, this county, where he and his brother, J. S. Asbury, opened a large business in dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes. They have conducted the business very successfully, at that place, ever

Our subject was married in 1872, at Plattsburg, Missouri, to Miss Tilly Barrett, of Clinton county, who was born at Parkersburg, Virginia, December 27, 1857. They have two children living. Mr. Asbury is a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, and also belongs to the Masonic fraternity.

since.

P. H. CATES.

Was born in Jefferson county, east Tennessee, July 9, 1821, and at the age of twenty years left there and came to Ray county, Missouri, locating near Richmond, where he lived for six years, and then bought land and settled in Caldwell county, and engaged in farming and stock dealing there, until 1879, when he returned to Ray county and located at Lawson, where he has since been engaged extensively and profitably in buying and shipping live stock. Mr. Cates still owns a fine farm of 240 acres in Caldwell county.

He was married February 11, 1841, to Miss Edith Joiner, in Jefferson county, east Tennessee. Mrs. Cates was born in the month of September, 1821, in Tennessee. The issue of this union was twelve children: Mary, Ellen, John, Samuel, Margaret, William, Martha, Stephen, Melsina, George, Florence and Pleasant. Mrs. Cates died June 5, 1877, and Mr. Cates was again married in July, 1876, to Sallie Robinett. Mr. Cates is a deacon and an active and influential member of the Baptist Church. He has served for several years as justice of the peace, and is a prominent and respected citizen.

JAMES M. CROWLEY. James M. Crowley was born in Fishing River township, Ray county, Missouri, April 26, 1857. He was educated in the district schools of this county, and when he had grown up engaged in farming, which is his present occupation. He as married at Lawson, in 1879, to Miss Bettie Whitsett, by Rev. Mr. Linn. Mrs. Crowley was born in Ray county, in the year 1858. The issue of this marriage has been one child: William, born May 26, 1880. Mr. Crowley is an enterprising, industrious and rising young farmer and a good citizen.

G. W. JAMES, M. D. Was born in Union county, Illinois, October 6, 1837. Moved to Wellington, Lafayette county, Missouri, in 1853, and was educated there. After leaving school he began the study of medicine, and afterwards attended and graduated from Rush Medical College, at Chicago, Illinois. He has practiced very successfully in Lafayette, Clay and Ray counties; he is now located at Lawson, and associated in the practice of his profession with his brother, Dr. J. C. James. They also own and conduct a drug store at Lawson. Dr. G. W. James was married December 11, 1872, at Lawson, to Miss Susan Immell, of Pennsylvania. She was born in 1848. Three children have been born to Dr. and Mrs. James: Temperance Immell, William and Arthur. Both Dr. James and his estimable lady are members of the M. E. Church South. He is a good physician and enjoys a lucrative practice.

W. C. JAMES, M. D. Was born in Union county, Illinois, October 7, 1841. He attended medical college at Ann Arbor, Michigan, and afterwards graduated from the medical department of the Iowa State University, and began the practice of his profession in July, 1864, in Clay county, Missouri. In the year 1872, he located at Lawson, this county, and with his brother, also a physician, opened a drug store at that place, in connection with his practice. Dr. W. C. James was married May 28, 1874, in Clinton county, Missouri, to Miss Alice Estill. She died the 15th of May, 1875, having

« ForrigeFortsett »