« ForrigeFortsett »
of the Baptist Church. Mrs. Brock was born in Franklin county, Kentucky, February 13, 1826, and her parents moved to this state soon after her birth. Mr. and Mrs. Brock have two children: W. H. and George E. Mr. Brock is a member of Bee-Hive Lodge No. 393, A. F. & A. M., and was one of the charter members when the lodge was organized, in 1865.
J. C. WEAKLEY.
James C. Weakley was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, May 29, 1844. His father, William S. Weakley, was a native of Pennsylvania, and was born March 1, 1816; died September 1, 1848. Our subject learned the trade of a tinner at the age of eighteen years, and has since devoted his attention to that avocation. During Morgan's raid through Ohio and Virginia, in 1863, he responded to the call for volunteers for one hundred days, and served through that campaign. March 1, 1863, he enlisted in company G, 145th regiment of Pennsylvania, and served until July 4, 1865, when he was discharged at Cincinnati. He was engaged at the battles of the Wilderness, Spottsylvania Court House, North Ann River, Cold Harbor, Petersburg. At the last named battle he was so badly wounded as to disable him for service, and he was discharged, and returned home to Pennsylvania, where he remained until September, 1865, and then, coming to Missouri,engaged, during the succeeding winter, at his trade in Hamilton, Caldwell county, Missouri, and then came to Knoxville, Ray county. From the latter place he removed to Lawson in 1870, and has since been doing a good business in stoves, tinware, etc., at that place. Mr. Weakley was married January 27, 1867, at Knoxville, this county, to Miss Mary E. Vinsant, a native of Tennessee, born October 17, 1846. They have six children: William R., John, James, Charles D., Esther, and Mary E. Both Mr. Weakley and his wife are members of the M. E. Church South. He has held the position of secretary of Bee-Hive Lodge No. 393, A. F. & A. M., for several years.
Isaac Cook was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, July 3,1817, and learned the blacksmithing trade there, which business he has pursued ever since. Came to Missouri in 1844, and worked at his trade first for awhile in Clinton county, andjthen removed to Ray county; is now located at Lawson. During the late civil war he was first lieutenant of company B, 6th Missouri cavalry, commanded by Colonel E. C. Catherwood. Mr. Cook was married in 1839, in North Carolina, to Miss Hannah E. Woodburn. They became the parents of ten children: Elizabeth A., Jane, John, Tabitha, Margaret, Susan, James, Henry, Frances, and an *
infant (dead). Mr. Cook's second marriage occurred May 17, 1865, when Mary E. Barrow, of Green county, became his wife. She bore him three children: Isaac S., Addie, and Charles F. Mrs. Cook died in the month of June, 1880. Mr. Cook is a member of the Christian Union Church. He is an excellent blacksmith, and has a large and lucrative business. He is a man of good character, and is a valuable addition to the town of Lawson.
J. W. ASBURY.
J. W. Asbury was born in Todd county, Kentucky, February 8, 1840. His parents removed to Missouri in 1843, and located, first in Dade county, where they lived for three years, and then came to Ray county. His father, who was a blacksmith, located in Richmond, and worked at his trade there, until 1852, and then removed to Camden, this county. From Camden he went to Lexington, Lafayette county, and after remaining there for a period, returned to this county. Our subject learned the trade of blacksmithing, and pursued that business until the beginning of the civil war. He enlisted, in 1861, in company A, 3d Missouri Regiment, Confederate army, and was engaged at Pea Ridge, Mansfield raid, Jenkins' Ferry, Lexington, and Independence. He was discharged at Shreveport, Louisiana, in 1865, and went to Nebraska, where he engaged for two years, at his trade. He then went to Wyoming territory, and to Colorado, working successively at different places. At Cheyenne, Wyoming, he set up a shop of his own. He returned to Missouri in 1868, and began merchandising at the town of Hainesville,[and at the end of two years, came to Lawson, this county, where he and his brother, J. S. Asbury, opened a large business in dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes. They have conducted the business very successfully, at that place, ever since. Our subject was married in 1872, at Plattsburg, Missouri, to Miss Tilly Barrett, of Clinton county, who was born at Parkersburg, Virginia, December 27, 1857. They have two children living. Mr. Asbury is a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, and also belongs to the Masonic fraternity.
P. H. CATES.
Was born in Jefferson county, east Tennessee, July 9, 1821, and at the age of twenty years left there and came to Ray county, Missouri, locating near Richmond, where he lived for six years, and then bought land and settled in Caldwell county, and engaged in farming and stock dealing there, until 1879, when he returned to Ray county and located at Lawson, where he has since been engaged extensively and profitably in buying and shipping live stock. Mr. Cates still owns a fine farm of 240 acres in Caldwell county. He was married February 11, 1841, to Miss Edith
Joiner, in Jefferson county, east Tennessee. Mrs. Cates was born in the month of September, 1821, in Tennessee. The issue of this union was twelve children: Mary, Ellen, John, Samuel, Margaret, William, Martha, Stephen, Melsina, George, Florence and Pleasant. Mrs. Cates died June 5, 1877, and Mr. Cates was again married in July, 1876, to Sallie Robinett. Mr. Cates is a deacon and an active and influential member of the Baptist Church. He has served for several years as justice of the peace, and is a prominent and respected citizen.
JAMES M. CROWLEY.
James M. Crowley was born in Fishing River township, Ray county, Missouri, April 26, 1857. He was educated in the district schools of this county, and when he had grown up engaged in farming, which is his present occupation. He was married at Lawson, in 1879, to Miss Bettie Whitsett, by Rev. Mr. Linn. Mrs. Crowley was born in Ray county, in the year 1858. The issue of this marriage has been one child: William, born May 26, 1880. Mr. Crowley is an enterprising, industrious and rising young farmer and a good citizen.
G. W. JAMES, M. D.
Was born in Union county, Illinois, October 6,1837. Moved to Wellington, Lafayette county, Missouri, in 1853, and was educated there. After leaving school he began the study of medicine, and afterwards attended and graduated from Rush Medical College, at Chicago, Illinois. He has practiced very successfully in Lafayette, Clay and Ray counties; he is now located at Lawson, and associated in the practice of his profession with his brother, Dr. J. C. James. They also own and conduct a drug store at Lawson. Dr. G. W. James was married December 11, 1872, at Lawson, to Miss Susan Immell, of Pennsylvania. She was born in 1848. Three children have been born to Dr. and Mrs. James: Temperance Immell, William and Arthur. Both Dr. James and his estimable lady are members of the M. E. Church South. He is a good physician and enjoys a lucrative practice.
W. C. JAMES, M. D.
Was born in Union county, Illinois, October 7, 1841. He attended medical college at Ann Arbor, Michigan, and afterwards graduated from the medical department of the Iowa State University, and began the practice of his profession in July, 1864, in Clay county, Missouri. In the year 1872, he located at Lawson, this county, and with his brother, also a physician, opened a drug store at that place, in connection with his practice. Dr. W. C. James was married May 28, 1874, in Clinton county, Missouri, to Miss Alice Estill. She died the 15th of May, 1875, having lived less than one year after her marriage. Dr. James is a leading member of Bee-Hive Lodge, No. 393, at Lawson, and is also a member of the M. E. Church South, at that place. Dr. James is an able and popular physician, and James Bros, are doing a prosperous drug business. They are valuable citizens of the thriving little city of Lawson.
C. N. PALMER, M. D.
Dr. C. N. Palmer was born in Scott county, Kentucky, February 25, 1831. His parents removed to Independence, Jackson county, Missouri, in 1836, and there our subject attended school. He subsequently graduated from the State University at Columbia, in 1850, and began the study of medicine. He attended the St. Louis Medical College, graduating in 1853, and the next winter attended a post-graduate course of lectures at Philadelphia. He located for the practice of his profession in Clay county, Missouri, in the spring of 1854, and remained there until 1870, when he came to Lawson, in this county, and has since practiced there. Dr. Palmer was married in 1853, in Clay county, to Miss Susan Cook, who was born in Garrard county, Kentucky, in 1840. They became the parents of three children: Lutie C., Fanny A., Mary B. Mrs. Palmer died in 1869 and the Doctor was again married in 1873, to Josephine Hollingworth. They have three children: Patracia, Charles H., and Grace. Dr. Palmer enlisted in the Confederate army in 1861, and served throughout the war. He held the rank of lieutenant-colonel and participated in the battles of Pea Ridge, Arkansas, Seven Pines and the seven days fight at Richmond, Virginia, under General Robert E. Lee, besides numerous minor engagements. After the war was over he went to the west and traveled through the different states and territories to the Pacific ocean, returning after an absence of two and a half years, to Liberty, Clay county, Missouri, where he remained as above stated, practicing his profession, until his removal to Lawson. Dr. Palmer is an accomplished, experienced and successful physician, and a prominent and influential citizen of Ray county. He is a member of the Christian Church, of the Masonic fraternity, and of the I. O. O. F.
ROBERT M. HUNTER.
Robert M. Hunter was born in Jessamine county, Kentucky, December 3, 1841, and lived there until 1869, when he removed to Ray county, Missouri, and located upon his present farm. He has been a farmer and stock-raiser all his life. He owns one hundred and sixty acres of good land in a fine condition of cultivation, and well improved. He is also engaged in raising the best breeds of stock, among which are some thorough bred short-horn cattle. Mr. Hunter was married, October 3, 1871, in Ray county, Missouri, to Miss M. C. Rippy. They are the parents of two children: Cora A., born December 27, 1872; Nannie A., born December 31, 1874. In the summer of 1863, Mr. Hunter enlisted in company B, 8th regiment Kentucky cavalry, C. S. A., and served until he was captured, in the summer of 1864, near Salineville, Ohio, during Morgan's raid, and held a prisoner of war at Camp Chase, Ohio, where he was finally discharged, and returned home to Kentucky. During the time he was in the army he engaged in the battles of Hartsville, Tennessee; Nashville, Elizabethtown, Rolling Fork, Louisville, Richmond, Winchester, Mt. Sterling, and Green River bridge, besides other less important ones. Mr. Hunter is a leading farmer, and a valuable and highly respected member of the community, and citizen of Ray county.
Benjamin Sturgis was born in Madison county, Ohio, October 14, 1830. At the age of ten years he came with his parents to Caldwell county, Missouri, and lived there until 1878, when he came to this county. He was reared upon a farm, and has been all his life engaged in the business of farming. Mr. Sturgis was married, first, in 1854, in Caldwell county,
Missouri, to Miss Filley, by Rev. Mr. Kirkpatrick. The issue of this
marriage was two children: George and Lucy Jane. His wife died in 1856, and in 1858, Mr. Sturgis was again married by Rev. Mr. Williams, to Lucy Violet, of Clay county. They are the parents of seven children: William, Nero, Benjamin, Oliver, Clara, living, and Matthew and Phoebe, dead. The second Mrs. Sturgis died in 1876. Mr. Sturgis is a leading member of the Christian Union Church.
GRIFFIN I. WINGER.
Griffin I. Winger was born in Roanoke county, Virgina, May 1, 1849. His parents removed to Ray county, Missouri, when our subject was but three years old, and settled upon the same place where he now resides. He owns one hundred and forty-three acres of good farming lands, well improved and in a fine state of cultivation and productiveness. Mr. Winger was married in the month of March, 1870, to Miss Mary E. „ Ray, a native also of Roanoke county, Virginia. She was born May 21, 1850. They have three children: Bertha A., born August 19, 1872; Marcus B., born April 13,1874; James W., born August 11, 1880. Mr. Winger and his wife are members of the Missionary (Baptist Church. The parents of our subject were natives of Virginia; his father died January 8, 1859; his mother is living with him on the old homestead. Mr. Winger is a well-to-do farmer, and a respected citizen of Polk township.