« ForrigeFortsett »
the land upon which the town of Lawson is situated, and its location is due to his liberality in donating land to the railroad company whose line runs through the town. Mr. Raum was married in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, in 1852, to Miss Henrietta Hawk, a native of Franklin county, born January 13, 1827. Her parents were Jonathan and Mary Hawk, natives of Pennsylvania. The issue of this marriage was five children: Clara, born November 13, 1853, now the wife of Emerman; Kansas, born October 26, 1856; Lansing, December 23, 1858; Bird, born October 25, 1865. Mr. Raum and wife are leading members of the Old School Presbyterian Church. He is now proprietor and manager of the Lawson hotel, and keeps a good house, which receives the patronage of the travelng public.
John Crowley was born, August 10, 1828, in Clay county, Missouri. His parents were John and Sarah (Mayo) Crowley. His father was born in the state of Alabama, February 2, 1792; died September 29, 1877. His mother was born in Tennessee, October 10, 1797; died September 10, 1851. His grandfather, James Crowley, was a soldier in the war for American independence, and was present at the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown. Berry Crowley (great-grandfather of John) was a native of England. He was killed in a battle with the Indians, on the Ohio river, in Kentucky, at a very early day. The subject of this sketch lived in Clay county, working on his father's farm until the age of twentysix years, when he went to California. He started on this long journey from St. Joseph, Missouri, May 4, 1853, in company with his brother, Thomas Crowley, and four hired men, to help drive their cattle, and spent about four and a half months in a tedious overland trip, arriving in California, September 16. After spending about two years in the "Golden State," Mr. Crowley took passage on a steamship, at San Francisco, February 14, 1855, for the Isthmus, crossed among the first passengers on the railroad across Panama, and sailed from Aspinwall to Cuba, and thence to New Orleans. From there he came home by river, arriving March 81, 1855. In 1856 he removed to this county, and has lived here ever since. He owns nine hundred and seventy acres of land, seven hundred acres in cultivation, well fenced, and in a fine state of productiveness. This farm is improved, with one of the handsomest and most conveniently arranged dwelling houses in that section of the county, besides barns and other buildings. Mr. Crowley is a thoroughly practical and thrifty farmer, and the excellent condition of his farm is an evidence of his good management and industry. He is largely engaged in dealing in livestock, and devotes much attention to raising the best breeds. Mr. Crowley was married, in Clinton county, Missouri, February 2, 1858, to Miss Ann Fuller, by Reverend E. M. Martin, of the Methodist Church. Mrs. Crowley is the daughter of Andrew and Mary Fuller. She was born in Clinton county, Missouri, April 6, 1833. Mr. and Mrs. Crowley are the parents of nine children, viz: Charles, born January 15, 1859; Sallie M., October 11, 1860; Elizabeth J., September 17, 1862; Albert, September 15, 1864; John C., February 27, 1867; Frank T., October 9, 1869; Ann May, January 27, 1872; George W. and Claude C., twins, born December 20, 1874. Mr. Crowley and his wife are active, prominent members of the M. E. Church South, and he is also a leading member of Bee-Hive Lodge, No. 3P3, A. F. & A. M. He is highly esteemed and respected, by all who know him, for his many excellent qualities as a man and a citizen.
JOHN H. GOODMAN.
John H. Goodman was born December 29,1837, in Henry county, Virginia, and remained at home there until the commencement of the civil war. He enlisted in the 10th regiment of Virginia volunteers, Confederate army, and was in the battles of Seven Pines, Norfolk, and others. After the close of the war, Mr. Goodman emigrated to Missouri, and settled in Ray county, where he has since resided. He owns a small, neat, well cultivated farm, under good fence, and improved, with a comfortable dwelling house and other buildings. His principal business is dealing in live stock. He is extensively engaged in buying stock in this and adjoining counties, which he ships to eastern markets. He is well and favorably known throughout a wide extent of country, and has the confidence and respect, in a large degree, of the people. Mr. Goodman was married in Virginia, November 3, 1858, to Miss Sarah F. McDonald. They have eight children. Mr. Goodman is a leading member of Bee-Hive Lodge, No. 393, A. F. & A. M.
William Earhart was born August 25, 1844, in Cambria county, Pennsylvania, and received his education and learned the carpenter's trade there. At the age of nineteen years, he emigrated to Missouri, and settled in Buchanan county, where he worked at his trade during four years, and then removed to Lathrop, Clinton county, Missouri. He remained in the business of contractor and builder at Lathrop for six years, and then, in 1877, came to Lawson, this county, where he is now engaged in the same avocation. Mr. Earhart's business is very prosperous, and he keeps six carpenters employed under him to meet the demand for building. He was married in Buchanan county, in 1866, to Miss Sarah M. Guinn, daughter of Peter and Sarah B. Guinn, natives of Kentucky. She was born in Buchanan county, Missouri, in July, 1853. They are the parents of three children: Emma A., born July 8, 1871; Lida, born December 5, 1875; Jessie, born December 8, 1878. Mr. Earheart and his wife are members of the Baptist Church. His popularity as a man and his efficiency and ability as a workman, are well attested by the large and lucrative patronage he receives.
The subject of this sketch was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, in the year 1792. He was married in his native state in 1819, to Miss Jane Close, daughter of Joseph and Susan Close, natives of North Carolina. Mrs. Smith was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, October 20, 1802. During the war of 1812, Mr. Smith served in the North Carolina militia. He emigrated to Missouri and settled in Ray county in the year 1838, and engaged in farming and stock raising. Mr. and Mrs. Smith became the parents of the following named children: John Calvin, Joseph Addison, Susan Ann, William Washington and Margaret E. J. Mr. Smith was an elder in the O. S. Presbyterian Church for many years. He died in September, 1869. He was a highly respected citizen, and a devout and active Christian. Mrs. Smith is yet living on the old homestead.
W. W. SMITH.
William W. Smith was born May 5, 1827, in Guilford county, North Carolina. He is the son of Jedediah and Jane (Close) Smith, natives of North Carolina. In 1838 William, in company with his parents, removed to Ray county, Missouri, and settled near where he now resides. In 1845 our subject returned to Tennessee, and finished his education at Mount Pleasant College, Murray county, after which he came back to this county, and in 1850, went, with a party of neighboring young men, to California. They made the trip with mule teams, and were on the road from the 10th of April until the 6th day of July, following. They mined awhile, and kept a provision store for a time, and withal made it pay pretty well. After staying in California one year, Mr. Smith sailed from San Francisco by way of the Isthmus of Panama and New Orleans, for home, which he reached in the spring of 1851, and has lived here ever since, engaged in trading, farming and stock raising. He owns two thousand acres of excellent land, the greater part of which is in cultivation. He has one thousand acres in the home place, which is handsomely improved by a fine, large dwelling house of fourteen rooms, well furnished and comfortably and conveniently arranged. He also has good barns and other buildings, for the accommodation of stock and the shelter of the products of his broad and fertile acres. His is one of the largest, best appointed and valuable farms in Ray county. Mr. Smith