« ForrigeFortsett »
alabaster, and the instructions for carrying out the work most elaborate and minute; the contract is written in French and expressed in terms very similar to those of the Salisbury indenture. This Ralph Greene was descended from the ancient family of Maudit, Lords of Warminster. The Maudits flourished from the reign of Henry I. to that of Richard II., when it merged in the family of Greene, Lord of Drayton, Co. Northampton, in whom the manors of Westbury and Warminster continued for a certain period. Some notice of the family will be found in Hoare's "Hundred of Warminster," as well as a reprint of the whole of the curious contract for the tomb. The last will of Henry VI. contains a minute and technical description of his colleges of Eton and Cambridge.
"This Indenture ymade at Newe Salesbury the xvj day of Decembre yn the xxiiji, zere of the regnyng of Kyng Harry the vjte. bytwene William Ludlowe of the on party and John Fayrebowe carpenter of Busshopestrowe yn the countie of Wiltes of the other party Witnessith that the seyde John shal make to the seyde William an hows with ynne the Boor azeynst the Market place of Salesbury forseyd conteynyng yn lengthe lxiij. fot and with ynne the wallys .xxi. fote And the groundsilles yn brede of xv ynche And yn thiknesse x ynch And xiiij principal postis eny post xvi fote of lengthe and yn brede xiij ynche and yn thiknesse xij ynche And every somer • yn brede xvj ynche and yn thik nesse xv ynche And every juyste viij ynche yn thik nesse and ix ynche in brede And x ynche by twene every juyste And every byndyngbeme yn thiknesse ix yuche and yn brede xv ynche And every walplate of viij ynche yn thiknesse and ix ynche yn brede And every cours restour iiij ynche thikke at the top and at the fote v ynche And of brede vij ynche at the fote and v ynche at the top And with vj wyndowes clenly accordaunt And ij stayers And by twene every restour ix ynche And the Sideresons yn brede of xj ynche and vj ynches of thiknesse with braces wel accordyng. Whiche hows above seyde shal be wel and trewly made of sufficiant tymber and clene withoute sape or wyndshake reprevable and redy to be set up and arered by the feste of the Nativite of oure Lady next comyng after this present date. To the whiche hows the seyde John shal fynde alle maner tymber bordis for doris and for wyndowes and stodes to alle the walles. And the seyde William shal fynde al maner naylle yregare + breydynghelyng § wallyng and masons work thereto langyng Also ij men
A main beam or girder; the name is now seldom used except in the composite term breastsommer. The breast-summer was that summer which was in the front of a wooden house, as it is now used for the great beam in front over a shop window.-Parker's Glossary.
+i.e., Iron gear.
The covering or roof of a house.
laboryng with the seyde John vij dayes at the reryng of the forseyde hows with mete and wages and mannys mete and drynke for alle the cariage of the seyde tymber at Salesbury at the seyde William his owen coste And also paye to the seyde John for the seyde hows makyng and tymber therto fynding yn alle maner wyse after the forme above seyde ymade and performed as workmanship axeth xx.ti of money at iij dayes to be payd that ys for to seye at the begynnyng of the seyde hows makyng yn tymber hewyng x markes: at the bryngyng hom of the seyde tymber to Salesbury .x. markes and whanne the seyde hows ys ful made and doris and wyndowes y set up and hangeth .x. markes. To alle these covenauntes wel and trewly to be performed the seyde Wylliam yn his party and Robert Warmwell bynden hem to the seyde John yn xxti to paye yn the feste of oure Lady above seyde And also yn the same wyse the seyde John yn his party and Symond Poy bynden hem to the sede William yn xxti to pay yn the feste above seyde In Witnesse wherof the seylles of the seyd parteys of these yndentures interchaungeably to these present indentures er set the day and zer aboveseyde."
"for byldyng a howse in the blew bore."
The house was evidently completely framed of wood, and required no other support. The enormous dimensions of the timbers used are in striking contrast to the lath-and-plaster style of building of the present day. There are few houses of this period now remaining intact, but the core of many modernized dwellings are to be found where the huge timber-framing forms the main support of a newlooking building.
The sum of £20, the amount of Fay rebowe's contract, would represent something like £200 of our present money. Ten marks of 138. 4d. each form one third of the whole payment.
It is impossible now to fix the exact locality of the house in question, as the original "blew bore" no longer exists. Mr. Hatcher in his "History of Salisbury, has shewn that the Market Place was formerly more limited in its dimensions than at the present time, and that the existing Winchester Street was continued into Castle Street, along what is now the Blue Boar Row; consequently the old "blew bore" must have once projected into what is now the north side of the Market Place, the remaining three sides being formed by the present Oatmeal Row, Butcher's Row, and Queen Street. This may be inferred from documents, dated 1360, and again in 1422, in which mention is made of houses situated at the corner of Winchester
Street and Minster Street. The name of Blue Boar has generally been supposed to come from the sign of an inn which formerly stood on the site. The blue boar was a Yorkist badge and was borne by Richard, Duke of York, father of Edward IV: he died in 1460. It is possible, however, that the name had an earlier and different origin. The White Boar was also a popular Yorkist sign during the reign of Richard III., that king's cognizance being a boar passant argent, whence the rhyme which cost the maker, William Collyngborne, his life :—
"The Cat, the Rat, and Lovel the Dog
The cat alludes to Catesby, the rat to Ratcliff, and the hog to King Richard. After Richard's defeat the White Boars were changed into Blue Boars, this being the easiest and cheapest way of altering the sign, and so the white boar of Richard became the blue boar of the Earl of Oxford, who had lately contributed to place Henry VII. on the throne. An inn bearing the sign of the Blue Boar formerly existed on a spot near the Saracen's Head, in the present Blue Boar Row. It was in the yard of this inn that the mutilated remains of a body were discovered a few years ago, and supposed at the time to be those of the Duke of Buckingham, who was beheaded in the Market Place of Salisbury, in 1484.
It seems probable that William Ludlow, for whom the house was built, was the Lord of Hill Deverill. In a MS. formerly preserved at Great Chalfield he is mentioned as "William Ludlow, of Hill Deverell, Boteler to King Henry IV., and King Henry V. and VI., bore these Arms, Argent, a chevron Sable, three marten's heads of the same erased; this gentleman is buried in St. Thomas's Church in Salisbury, under a marble tomb, north side of the high.altar, the south side of an aisle, which aisle he new ceiled and painted, and set with escutcheons of his own arms and his wife." According to Hatcher, the altar-tomb of William Ludlow was taken, some years since, from the situation it had long occupied on the north side of the chancel, and broken to pieces, and the remains of himself, his wife, and child, thrown into some unknown corner. As Ludlow's
seal has disappeared from the contract, no information can be gained from his arms; but as he seems to have found the main timbers of the building himself, probably from his estate at Deverill, and employed Fayrebowe, a carpenter at Bishopstrow, in his own neighbourhood, to do the work, it is highly probable that he is the person alluded to. The name of Ludlow is not found amongst any of the citizens or officials of Salisbury at that time.
The prosperity and affluence of the inhabitants of Salisbury at this period are proved by repeated applications for loans to the king. In 1444 Adam Moleyns, Dean of the Cathedral, was the bearer of a privy seal, addressed to the Mayor and Commonalty, to borrow a sum of money. A convention was accordingly held on the 27th July, and a resolution taken to advance forty pounds, provided sufficient security were offered for the repayment. The money was, as usual, raised by contributions from individuals. Early in the reign of Henry V1. we find proof that a valuable and extensive traffic must then have been carried on at the fairs of Salisbury.
Both the sureties mentioned in the deed, Simon Poy and Robert Warmwell, were persons of note in the city and must have been well known at the time. They are frequently mentioned by Mr. Hatcher in his "History of Salisbury" in connexion with the corporation and in other matters of interest at that period. Simon Poy, on behalf of Fayrebowe, was Mayor of Salisbury in 1452, also one of the members for the city in 1455. About this time appears the first specific entry in the corporation accounts of the wages allowed to the representatives of the city in Parliament. In the early years of the reign of Henry VI. they received two shillings a day, during the respective terms of their service; this rate of payment appears to have been generally observed. It is also worthy of notice, that in 1448 a resolution was taken in the convocation to elect none as Members of Parliament, who were not citizens and resident in the city.
Robert Warmwell, mentioned in the indenture as the surety on behalf of William Ludlow, was of a family of some importance. He was Mayor in 1419, and again in 1429. King Henry VI.'visited the city in 1434. After the election of a Mayor on All Souls Day,
a resolution was passed in Convocation, that, against the arrival of the King, liveries of green colour should be ordered under the inspection of Robert Warmwell and others. It was also settled, that the minstrels should be retained as formerly, and receive their livery before the Feast of the Nativity. Robert Warmwell was a draper, and left a bequest of twenty pounds to the Mayor and Commonalty; the money was applied to the construction of the bars or gates, as the means of improving the defences of the city.
The name of Warmwell appears more than once in the form of commemoration for the deceased members of the confraternity of St. George. The religious meetings of this guild were probably held in St. Thomas's Church. The spandrels of the arches on the south wall of the chancel, forming one side of the Swayne Chapel, are covered with badges of St. George, brought to light a few years since, when alterations were being made: a drawing from a fresco of that saint, which was necessarily destroyed at the time, is preserved in the Salisbury Museum. William Warmwell, who died in 1399, left to the altar of St. Michael, in the Church of St. Thomas, a missal and a chalice, silver gilt, a water vessel, silver gilt, and a pax-bred of ivory, with harness, silver and gilt; also a psaltery, to be chained in the cell, or seat, which he had been accustomed to occupy. He seems to have had some superstitious partiality for numbers, as he directed that 3500 masses be celebrated for the welfare of his soul and the souls of those to whom he is under obligation, and 3500 pence to be distributed singly among feeble poor, within the city and without.
From the will of Joanna, wife of William Warmwell, who bequeathed to her husband a corner tenement in Minster Street, which is called Castle Street, we learn that the whole line, now called Castle Street, Minster Street, and High Street, in the earliest times, bore the general name of Minster Street. The lower portion received the name of High Street, which it still bears, in the beginning of the fifteenth century. This William Warmwell is the subject of a curious notice in Hatcher's "History of Salisbury," page 100. "William Teynterer, junior, at his death, bequeathed the value of certain hereditaments for charitable purposes, to the Mayor and