Sidebilder
PDF
ePub

makee Co. in 1864, and located at Postville. In 1867 he was elected county judge, and after the said office was abolished he served as auditor three years, since which time he has been doing a general law and collecting business, dealing in real estate, etc. Judge Hendrick was married in 1861 at Lyons, Mich., to Miss Amelia Gibson, and they now have five children, Theo., Thode, Maud and Max.

Moses Hancock (deceased), an early settler, was born in Mass., in 1808. He was married in 1832 to Miss S. L. Alger; resided in his native state until 1856, when he came to Io. and settled at Waukon. Here in partnership with L. T. Woodcock he engaged in merchandising. He subsequently made various changes in business, also held local office and figured as one of the prominent men. His death took place in June, 1872. His wife died in April, 1877.

A. H. Houghton, M. D., Lansing; was born in Springfield, Vt., in 1801; was educated for the medical profession at Dartmouth College, and subsequently traveled through the South, practicing his profession in several southern states. In 1856 he settled at Lansing, and in December of the same year he married Miss Unie Barrows, of Conn., who was born in 1819. Mr. H. taught the first public school in Lansing, and in 1870 retired from the practice of his profession, on account of declining health. He has served as county treasurer, county superintendent, and in other public offices. He has one son, Amasa Houghton, born December 8, 1857, who was educated at a private school taught by his . mother, and at the public schools of Lansing. In 1879 he engaged in business as a photographer, and November 10, 1879, married Miss Mary Irle. They have one son, Andrew A.

A. B. Hays, farmer, P. O. New Albin, was born in Trumbull Co., Ohio, in 1826, and was raised on a farm. He came to Lansing in 1854, and in 1858 he removed to his present farm, which contains 520 acres. He was married to Isabella Manderscheid in 1858. They have six children. William J., John W. (twins), George, Alfred, Jacob and Verona.

John Haney (deceased), one of the owners of the town sits of Lansing, and the second settler of the town, was born in Penn. in 1798. In 1816 he emigrated to Ohio; from there he went to Ill., thence to Wis., and in 1848 he came to Lansing, and in company with Mr. 'Houghton, purchased 1400 acres of land, a portion of which is located in the town of Lansing. Mr. Haney was foremost in every enterprise that was in any way connected with the prosperity of the town. He died in 1875, being 77 years old.

William Haney, P. O. Lansing, was born in Ohio in 1824, his early life being spent in mercantile pursuits. In 1818 he came to Lansing with his father, and has been engaged in the milling business most of the time since. He has operated his present mill twenty-six years.

Robert Henderson, farmer, Linion tp., born in Ohio in 1831, and moved to lowa in 1865, and although not an old settler, Mr. Henderson is one of the most influential and reliable men of Allamakee Co., and is the owner of one of the best farms in Linton tp. He married Miss R. J. Capper, of Ohio, in 1860. They have six children.

J. N. Hancock, jeweler, Lansing, was born at Coventry, Eng., Nov. 29, 1820. At fourteen years of age he began a seven years' apprenticeship at his trade, during which time he received $1 per week, boarding and clothing himself. In 1842 he came to Summit Co., 0. He started for California via Cape Horn in 1849, but was taken sick in New York City with cholera, and in accordance with medical advice he went to England, remaining there four months, after which he returned to Ohio, and in 1850 again started for California by boat to St. Joseph, Mo; thence on foot across the plains. Being injured by a kick from a horse while en route, he was compelled to use crutches for a distance of 200 miles. He served as a cook for eighteen days at Fort Bridge, when the provisions being exhausted he continued his journey, having hut six sea biscuits on which to maintain life from thence to Salt Lake, a distance of 113 miles, being compelled to walk with two canes. Being by this tine able to do work he accepted employment as a tender of masons for eighteen days, for which service he received $1.50 per day and board. Mr. H. then purchased 45 lbs of corn meal at 25 cents per lb.; 12 lbs of beef at 10 cents, and 2 lbs of .tea, upon which meagre supply he subsisted for a journey of 800 miles to California, where he arrived about Sept. 1st, 1850. In the fall of 1852 he went to Australia, going thence to Peru in 1853, having heard of rich gold mines there. The Peruvian government prohibiting prospecting, he crossed the isthmus and returned to the U. S., and soon came to Iowa, arriving at Lansing April 5, 1854, where he he purchased 240 acres of land, and on this erected what has since become known as the Four Mile House, where he kept tavern until 1859. He then spent about six months in Philadelphia, Pa. In the fall of 1859 he settled at Lansing, where has since been engaged in his present business. He was engaged in the wheat business from 1867 to 1873. In Nov., 1855, he was married to Miss Ella Simmons, of London, Eng. They have one son, Fremont W. He has several public positions of responsibility and trust.

Michael Holvorson, farmer, P. O. Hanover; is a son of John and Anna Hyla Holvorson. He was born April 10th, 1855, in this county. His parents came to America from Norway in 1851, stopped in Wisconsin until the spring of 1852, them moved to their present farm. They have six children living, Herman, Michael, Matilda, Mary, Johannah and John F.

J. K. Haines, Jr., justice of the peace and collector; P. 0. Dorchester; was born Sept. 4, 1838, in Essex County, Massachusetts; immigrated to Galena, Ill., in 1854, where he was engaged as clerk in a wholesale store, remaining until 1856, when he came 'to Lansing, this county, and engaged in farming one year. He came to Dorchester in 1857 and engaged in the flouring mill until 1860, when he returned to Massachusetts, coming back to Galena in 1861, and entering the county recorder's office in Joe Daviess county. In 1864 he enlisted in Co. 1, 45th Ill. Vol. Infantry, and participated in the battles with Sherman on his march to the sea. In the fall of 1865, after being discharged, he returned to Galena, again entered the recorder's office, remaining two years, and then accepted position as book-keeper in a general store at Augusta, Arkansas; returned to Galena in 1869, soon after engaging as clerk in a store at Warren, Ill., going thence back to Mass., and remaining there three years as book-keeper in a-wholesale fish establishment. He then returned to Dorchester, where he has been occupied as collector for the past six years. He has also served as justice of the peace, and is at this writing (autumn, 1882) a candidate for the republican nomination for the office of county recorder.

A. Jensvold, merchant, was born in Norway in 1841, and came directly to this township in the summer of 1866, but shortly afterwards went to Winneshiek county, where he taught Norwegian school near Locust Lane for nearly three years; attended the state normal school at Winona, Minn., nearly two years, and after a term at the commercial college in LaCrosse, Wis., accepted the position of book-keeper in a wholesale drug house of that city, which he held for eight years. Returning to Waterville in 1879, he started in business in a small way, but it so increased and prospered that in 1881 he erected the substantial stone building he now occupies. Was elected a member of Grimsgaard district school board; and for about two years has been the leader of a singing society, the Home Circle, holding weekly meetings. Mr. Jensvold was married in 1879 to Miss Julia Arneson, and has one child, a son.

Charles Johnson, postoffice, Waukon; farmer, section 28; owns 280 acres of land valued at $45 per acre, it being among the best farms in the township. He was born in Norway in 1828, was reared upon a farm; the last two years he spent in that country was in the army, being in the cavalry service. He emigrated to the United States in 1853, stopping in Winnesbiek county, having but two cents upon his arrival there, but being possessed of a good physical constitution as well as economy, good judgment and perseverance, he has accumulated a handsome property. He moved to his present farm in 1867; was married to Miss Ellen Patterson in 1856. She is also a native of Norway. They have four children, whose names are Augusta, Peter, Joseph and Albert. Mr. J. is a member of the Lutheran Church.

J. J. Jennewine, section 22, postoffice, Waukon; farmer and stock dealer; son of Nicholas and Catharine Jennewine; born December 28th, 1878, in Prussia, served three years in the Prussian army, from 1849 to 1852. In the spring of 1853 he emigrated to the United States, arriving at N. Y. the 7th of May, 1861, he enlisted in the 1st Virginia Cavalry. Upon the organization of the company he was elected 2d Lieutenant, and for meritorious conduct at the battle of Woodstock in the Shenandoah valley, he was promoted to 1st Lieutenant. He participated in the battle of Romania, Cedar Mountain, Kelly's Ford, Centerville, Fairfax Court House, Culpepper, etc. On account of physical disability he resigned his office in 1863 and returned home. 'He emigrated to Iowa in the spring of 1865, locating in Jefferson township upon his present farm of 120 acres, valued at $30 per acre. Mr. J. was married to Miss Loretta Burgess, in Va., March 24, 1857; they have eight children, Charles H., Robert N., John J., Sophia, Maggie M., Adelie M., Ella H. and Catharine. He is a member of the I. 0.0. F.

Mrs. Margaret N. A. Jaquis (nee Young), postoffice, Waukon; farmer, section 10. She was born in Park Co., Ind., in 1827, and was married to Daniel Jaquis in 1854. He was born in Essex County, N. Y., in 1818, and came to this county in 1851, being among the pioneers of the county. He died a few years ago, leavir.g a farm of 210 acres, which is carried on by Mrs. J. and her son John E., who was born on this farm in 1860. The other children are Mary, Martha J. and Daniel E. Mrs. J. is a member of the M. E. Church.

J. P. Jackson, farmer, Lafayette tp., sec. 29; was born in Ohio in 1825, immigrated to Iowa in May, 1851, and settled in Taylor tp.; enlisted in 1861 in Co. B, 12th Iowa Infantry; reteranized in Dec., 1863, and served till June, 1866; was promoted from the ranks to the various company offices, and discharged as 1st. Lieut. In Aug., 1862, was sent tu Dubuque in the recruiting service, remaining there until May, 1863, when he rejoined his regiment at Vicksburg, Miss., during the siege of that city. Mr. Jackson married Miss Mary McFadden in 1849. Their daughter Mary was the first white child born in Lafayette tp., and is now the wife of Herman Gaunitz, of Lansing. Mr. J. was the first clerk of the tp., and has held most of the tp. offices.

Andrew Jacobson, farmer, P. O. Waukon; owns a farm of 200 acres in section 9, valued at $20 per acre; was born in Norway, Oct. 12, 1829; came to the U. S. in 1851 and located in Dane Co., Wis., where he remained one and one-half years; then went to White Lake, Mich. Six months later he returned to Dane Co., Wis., and in 1856 came to this county. He married Julia Iverson in April, 1851, and has ten children living, Carrie, George, John, Isabella, Henry, Anton, Gustave, Hellena, Oscar A. and

A. Grant. They have lost by death three, Hellena, Ivor, and Elmer L. Jobn is studying law in Judge Cooley's office at Decorah, Iowa.

George Kehr, liquor dealer, Lansing, was born in New York city in 1854; came to this Co. with his parents in 1860; married Katie Luger, of Dubuque. He is a son of Peter Kehr, who is a native of Germany.

Moritz Kerndt, merchant, Lansing, born in Germany, in 1830; came to the U. S. in 1852; in 1856 settled at Lansing, and has since been a member of the firm of G. Kerndt & Bros. He has been connected with banking since 1873, and is at present president of the Bank of Lansing. He was married in 1863 to Miss Mary Nimsgern. They bave eight children.

Knudt Knudtson, sec. 15, Makee tp., P. O. Waukon, born in Norway in 1818, emigrated to the U. S. in 1849, and in 1851 settled on his present farm. He was married in 1852 to Cornelia Emmerson. The children living are Cornelia, now Mrs. L. O. Storle, of Moorehead, Minn.; Anna, now Mrs. Hans Johnson; Thomas and Charlie.

Patrick Keenan, deceased, whose portrait adorns this work, was born in the county of Dublin, Ireland, in 1818. Emigrated to New Orleans, La., in 1844, where he remained about three years, including short stoppages at different points on the Lower Mississippi river. Early in 1847 he came north to Galena, III., where he engaged in mining and prospecting, also spending some time at Dubuque. Upon first concluding to stop at Galena, he had returned to New Orleans and brought up his sister and her husband, R. Cassidy, to that place. In the fall of 1847 he came into this county, which was then inhabited only by the Indians; selected a claim where the County Poor Farm now is, and returned to Galena. The following year he again came on, bringing his brotherin-law, Cassidy, with him, settled on his claim and began to improve it. In the spring of 1849, while out hunting for his cattle, he found himself down on Paint Creek, in Jefferson tp., and being very favorably impressed with the situation of the land on the creek, and the prairie adjoining on the south, he concluded to abandon his former claim and locate on this land in Jefferson tp.; and, having his ax with him, as was his usual custom, he

blazed" a few trees so as to readily find the place again, and upon returning home immediately made preparations to remove to his newly selected claim, which he did the same spring, acconi panied by his brother-in-law's family, and they were the first settlers in he township. He laid claim to nearly a section of land, and afterwards purchased more in the south part of that township and in Franklin township. This same season he met with an adventure one day, while down on the Yellow river, that showed the metal of the man. Being alone and unarmed, save with an ax, which he always carried to mark his way, he was suddenly con

« ForrigeFortsett »