« ForrigeFortsett »
served three years and seventeen days, when he was mustered out as 1st Lieut. He then returned to Decorah, and in the spring of 1866 commenced dealing in grain, in which business he continued until 1877, since which time he has been in the employ of the C. M. & St. P R. R. Co. Mr. Garfield was married in 1869 to Miss Helen Van Pelt, and they now have four children.
C. N. Goddard, a native of Rutland, Vermont, was born in 1835; came to Iowa with his parents in 1854, and in 1856 settled in Winneshiek County; served as clerk until 1860, when he engaged in business for himself. In 1862 he became a partner in the firm of Goddard, Henry & Hutchinson, subsequently Goddard & Henry. In 1874 the firm became Goddard & Ellsworth, and so continued until 1880, since which time Mr. Goddard has continued the business alone, and now carries a stock of merchandise amounting to about $25,000. His present store he built in 1871; it is located on the site formerly occupied by the first store of Decorah. Mr. Goddard was married in 1861 to Miss Jennie Richardson, then of Clayton County, Iowa, but a native of Vermont. The children are Harry, Clara, Herbert and Fred.
A. W. Grow was born in the state of New York in January, 1812. He was reared on a farm; in 1862 enlisted in the 10th New York Heavy Artillery, and served with the same about nine months, when he was commissioned first lieutenant of the 6th U. S. Colored Regiment. Six months later he was promoted to the rank of captain, and served as such until November, 1865, when he was mustered out as major. After leaving the U. S. service he returned to Jefferson County, New York, and in 1866 commenced buying eggs and preserving the same for winter use. The first year he put up twenty barrels. In 1872 he came to Decorah, and has since continued the same business in which he has met with marked success, increasing the same so that he now preserves about 4,000 barrels annually. Mr. Grow married in 1865 Miss Belle C----; they have one daughter, Minnie.
Charles Golz was born in Prussia in 1823; learned cabinet making, and in 1853 came to the United States; was engaged in the furniture business at Davenport, lowa, four years, since which time he has been in the same business at Decorah. He was married in his native country in 1847 to Miss Caroline Noske; they have five children, three sons and two daughters.
Geo. Grob, baker, was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, in 1844; came to the U.S. in 1868, and first stopped at Cleveland, Ohio, where he was married to Miss Hermeni Bentz; removed to Le Roy, Minn., and in a few months came to Io., and settled at Decorah in February, 1869. Here he worked at his trade as baker for other parties until 1874, when he established his present business. The children are, George, Fred, Minnie; Emma and Ida.
T. E. Gaston, manager of the Decorah scale works, was born in Beloit, Wis., in 1853." His father, N. B Gaston, is one of the pioneers of that city. In 1844 he established the Beloit Scale Works, of which he is still a part owner, being the senior member of the firm of N. B. Gaston & Son. The subject of this sketch wes brought up in the city of Beloit, and naturally inclined to follow in the footsteps of his father, which he did by close application and hard work in his father's factory for a number of years. He traveled in the west as salesman for the Beloit Scale Works, and in the spring of 1880 located permanently in Decorah and established the Decorah Scale Works. He married Emma Heivly, who was born in this Co. They have three children, Roy, Minnie and Arthur
Silas Gripman, P. 0. Decorah, farmer, Section 36, Canoe tp.; was born December 13th, 1813, in Saratoga Co., N. Y.; was married there to Mrs. Martha Gorton, whose maiden name was Haviland, in 1840, after which he moved to Lenawee Co., Mich., and from there to this Co. in 1855, and in 1859 came on to his present farm. His children are, Richard, Rhoda, Eunice, Christopher, Samuel, Silas and Amy. His wife has three children by her former marriage; their names are Charles, Zilpha and Hannah E. Richard was born in 1842, and is the present assessor of the tp.. Christopher was born in 1848 and Samuel in 1850.
B. F. Giles, P. O. Decorah; farmer, Section 28, Canoe tp.; son of Samuel and Fanny Allen Giles; was born March 16, 1822, in Cayuga Co., N. Y; received his early education at the Auburn Academy; immigrated to McHenry Co., Ill., in 1845; where he followed farming summers and teaching school winters. In 1848 he went into the southern States Mississippi and Alabama, mostly -followed teaching school principally till in 1855 he came to Winneshiek Co., locating on a part of his present farm, which he had previously purchased in 1851. He now owns 200 acres of land, well improved and worth $35 per acre; has served his tp. as justice of the peace, assessor, and tp. clerk for many years. He was married to Miss Caroline Russell, a native of Ills., Dec. 9th, 1855. Their children are, Edmund, Ellen, Clarence and Frank, and they have lost by death three, Amy, Fanny and an infant.
Naroe Gilbertson, P. O. Decorah; farmer, Section 10, Madison tp.; owns 600 acres of land, valued at $40 per acre; was born in January, 1832, in Norway; emigrated to the U. S. in 1849, first stopping in Rock Co., Wis., and subsequently at Beloit and thence to Kendall Co., Ill. In 1851 he went to California by overland route; while there engaged in farming summers and mining winters. On his return he came to this Co., and located on his present farm. He married Miss Anna Helgerson in 1869; their children are, Henry Otto, Mene, and Gilbert. Mr. G. is a member of the Lutheran church.
H. B. George, proprietor of the George House, Calmar, Iowa, was born in England in 1815. He came with his parents to the United States in 1820, and located in Massachusetts where he lived until about 1852. He spent two years in Ohio, then came to Iowa and located at McGregor, where he engaged in the furniture business. In 1868 he removed to Ossian; thence two years later to Calmar, wbere he engaged in his present business. He married Adeline A. Dunham, a native of Vt., and has one son, Henry.
C. W. Giesen, dealer in lumber, doors, sash, blinds, etc., was born in Prussia in 1848; came to America in 1854 with his parents and settled in Rossville, Allamakee County, Iowa. In 1865 he moved to Conover and engaged in general merchandise and lumber business; remained there until 1874, then came to Calmar and established his present business. Mr. G. is the present mayor of Calmar, and has been a town trustee several times. He married Arnie C. Huber, a native of this county. She is a daughter of F. J. Huber. They have three sons, Henry J., Frank H. and Charles W.
Louis Groos, P. O. Fort Atkinson; farmer, Sec. 33, Calmar tp.; son of John and Catharine Groos; was born in Germany, December 25, 1825, emigrated to the U. S. in 1849, and located in Lake County, Ohio, where he remained two years then went to Trumbull County, and from there to this county in 1857, and located on his present farm which now contains 230 acres valued at $25 per acre. He was married Oct. 13, 1848, to Miss Elizabeth Schafer, a native of Germany, born in 1824. They have seven children, Louis, Jr., John, George, ‘Mary, Louisa, Elizabeth and Caroline. They have lost one son, Charles, who died May 4th, 1869. Mr. Groos and family are members of the Lutheran Church at Ft. Atkinson.
Wesley M. Gibbs, farmer, Bluffton tp.; was born in Essex County, New York, in March, 1844, and moved with his parents to Iowa in 1863. They located in Decorah township and bought land, and he resided there with them until 1871, when he bought land here and has resided here ever since; owns 180 acres within a half mile of the village of Bluffton. The land is improved and under fence; 80 acres of the same is fine timber. The farm is well stocked and has good buildings. He is a prominent citizen and has filled several offices of trust in the township. He was married in 1868, in Freeport, to Miss Sarah J. Morse.
Hans Gulbranson Melos, farmer, Bluffton tp.; was born in Norway in 1818; came to the U. S. in 1852 and settled in Decorah, Iowa; remained there two years, and then came to this township and entered land from the government, 100 acres, and has bought the rest since; now owns 500 acres in sections 18, 20 and 31. He resides in 18, where he has built a fine residence, barns, etc. This farm is well improved and stocked. He married in 1854 at Decorah, Miss Caroline Jensen, and has nine children, Gilbert, Joy, Hans, Ole, Gustav, Rachael, Carrie, Ann and Bertie.
Andrew Gilbertson, P. O. Washington Prairie, farmer, Sec. 25, Glenwood tp.; owns a farm of 160 acres, valued at $40 per acre. He was born in 1836 in Norway; emigrated to the U. S. in 1852, locating in Columbia Co., Wis., and remaining till 1856, when he came to Winneshiek Co., and located on his present farm. He was married to Miss Betsy E. Evenson, by whom he had three children, William, Clara and Matilda. His wife died in 1880. Mr. Gilbertson has served as trustee of his tp., school director, etc., and is a member of the Lutheran church.
H. Gulbranson, dealer in harness and horse furnishing goods, was born in Norway in 1836; came to America in 1854, and settled in Decorah, where he remained until 1861, when he enlisted in Co. D, 3d Ia. Inf., and served four years and three months. He returned to Decorah and engaged in the harness trade, and in 1867, came to Ridgeway and entered business as above. He has been twice married, first to Carrie Anderson, who died in 1879, leaving three children, Ida, Fred and Mena; his second marriage was to Christena Peterson.
John Greenhalgh, farmer, Sec. 9, P. O. Cresco, cwns 200 acres of land, valued at $35 per acre; was born in Delaware in 1849; is the sixth son of William and Elizabeth Greenhalgh. He was married in 1873 to Susan Fuller, a native of New York. When eight years old he came to Winneshiek Co. with his parents, and has since resided in the county. In 1881 he purchase his father's old homestead, his father having removed to Cresco.
W. B. Goocher, farmer, Sec. 14, P. O. Cresco; owns 440 acres of land, valued at $40 per acre; was born in Germany in the year 1828; is the second son of Martin and Catherine Goocher; in 1848 he came with his parents to America, and settled in Wis.; after staying there four years he went to Ill. and lived there till 1855, when he came to Io. and settled in Winneshiek Co. Mr. Goocher was married in 1857 to Miss Mary A. Bootle, a native of Germany, and has three children, Henry W., George B. and Carrie.
Nathan Griffin, wagon maker, Fort Atkinson, was born in Otselic, Chenango Co., N. Y., in 1839; learned his trade in North Brookfield, Madison Co., N. Y., with Fitch, Boone & Co., wagon manufacturers. In 1863 he went into business at that place in partnership with H. House, and conducted it two years; then was two years in the business in Chatauqua Co.; then two years in Niagara Co.; afterwards returned to Chatauqua Co.; and then came to Iowa, settling at Waucoma, Fayette Co., and engaged at farming for three years. He owns 180 acres of land there, and has improved the same. He moved to this place in May, 1881, established his present business, and rents his farm; occupies a well fitted shop, and manufactures wagons and buggies; has established a good trade in repairing and manufacturing, having the only establishment of the kind in town.
Lawrence Glass, proprietor St. Cloud Flouring Mills, situated on Turkey River, is a native of Germany, came to America about the year 1851; and after remaining one year in Penn., he came to this county and engaged at farming. In 1878 he purchased the mills of A. Ames, and has since run the same. The mills are fitted for merchant work, and also does custom work; are 45x50 feet; four stories and basement, fitted with five run of burrs, bran dusters, purifiers and all the latest improvements and machinery necessary for patent process mills, use four Huston water wheels, and have fine water power; capacity 150 barrels per day. The mills are operated and managed by his son, Charles Glass. They also own 350 acres near the mills, situated in Section 5 all improved and well stocked, fine large residence and other buildings; also own 75 acres in Calmar tp., which latter they rent; they have also 35 acres of timber, near West Union, Fayette Co., beside other real estate property.
H.J. Hardin, farmer, was born in Clinton County, New York, in 1826, and followed the trade of blacksmith. In 1858 he came to Iowa, locating in the village of Burr Oak, this county. He bought town property and opened a shop, and followed his trade there until 1873; then bought the land in sections 26 and 35, there being 240 acres, where he still resides. It is well improved and stocked, with good residence and farm buildings. Mr. Hardin was a member of the county board of supervisors in 1861–2, having been elected on the republican ticket. He has also been assessor for several years in his township, and has filled various other offices. He was married in New York to his first wife, who is now dead, having left four children, and he afterwards married in 1872, at this place, Mrs. Atkinson (nee Wingale). The children of his first wife M. W. Hardin, who is county clerk; H. W. B. Hardin, Chloe and Lewes.
F. G. Hale, junior member and manager of the firm of Rice & Hale, proprietors of the Bluffton Mills; was born in Portage O., Ohio, 1846, and in 1866 came with his parents to this county. They located at Freeport, and for two years owned and ran the flouring mill there. They then sold out and moved to Fremont township and engaged in farming near Plymouth Rock. In 1873 he quit farming, and engaged in business at Kendallville in the same township, with a stock of general merchandise. He remained in this business until the fall of 1875, when he was elected county auditor on the republican ticket. He then closed out his business in time to enter upon his official duties in January, 1876. He was re-elected in 1877, and again in 1879. He had served three years previous to his election to the office of auditor as a member of the board of supervisors. At the expiration of his term of office he came to this place, having three years before bought, in partnership with Almon Rice, the mill property here. He purchased residence property and has resided here ever since,