« ForrigeFortsett »
S. A. Sutton, farmer, section 19, P. O. Cresco; owns 157 acres of land, valued at $25 per acre; was born in N. Y., in 1845; is the oldest son of R. T. and Mary E. Sutton; resided in N. Y. until eleven years of age, when he removed with his parents to Io., locating at Postville, where he stayed two years; then moved into Howard Co., and after a short stay there finally located in Winneshiek Co. in 1875, and has been a resident of that County ever · since.
Schreiber & Foreman, dealers in general merchandise, Fort Atkinson. Mr. Schreiber, the senior member, is a native of this vicinity, and Mr. Foreman of Penn., the latter coming to this Co. in 1856. They had both been in the employ of W. Taylor, at Spillville, as clerks in the store; came to this place in 1876, and in partnership bought the building and stock of G. Weaver, who had established the business under the firm name of Weaver & Leaman, in 1870. The building is 24x62 ft., two stories, and they carry a complete line of dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes, hats and caps, crockery, etc. They have established an extensive and lucrative business.
Samuel Strous, farmer, Washington tp.; owns 280 acres of land in sections 17 and 18; was born in Somerset, Somerset Co., Penn., in 1830; his parents soon after moved to Ohio, and resided in New Philadelphia, Tuscarawas Co.; his father was a carpenter and joiner. They moved to Ogle Co., Ill., in 1848 In April, 1850 he came to Io., and bought land in Jackson tp., this Co., and remained until 1864; then purchased this place, where he has resided ever since. He has thoroughly improved the farm, which is one of the finest in the tp. There are a good large residence, barns, etc. The farm is well stocked; he has a few head of good grade cattle, eleven head of horses and colts, besides a fine drove of hogs. Mr. Strous is a popular citizen, and has filled many offices of trust in tp. affairs. He is a member of Hope Stone Lodge, No. 316, A. F. & A. M. He was married in October, 1853, at Beloit, Wis., to Miss Mary Ann Hutchins, of Guilford, Ill., and they have six children, Judson, Emma, Willis, Amasa, Annie and George.
William H. Smith, Fort Atkinson; was born 1825, in Brown Co., N. Y. His parents moved to Medina Co., Ohio, in 1835. He there learned the trade of wagon-maker, and remained there until 1859, when he came to Io., located at this place, established business as a wagon-maker, and remained in business only four years, being obliged to discontinue on account of health, having suffered greatly from hemorrhage of the lungs. He owns a comfortable property in town, and is one of the town's first settlers; was postmaster four years; the office was near the old fort on the hill. He was married at Litchfield, Ohio, to Miss Lenora B. Stillman; they have three children, Sarah W., Edwin A. and Martha. F. W. R. Toye is a native of Canada, and was born in 1853. He was reared on a farm. In 1872 he came to Decorah, and for three years was engaged in teaching. He then formed a partnership with Dr. W. F. Coleman, and engaged in the drug business until 1877, when the store and stock were destroyed by fire. Mr. Toye is at present city clerk and justice of the peace. He was married in 1877 to Miss Viola Colemar., daughter of Dr. W. F. Coleman.
0. P. Thompson is a native of Norway, born in 1834, emigrated to the U. S., and first located in Clayton, Io.; followed farming one year, and then commenced mercantile life as clerk, and in 1863 he came to Decorah, and has since been a member of the firm of Olson & Thompson. Mr. Thompson was married in 1859 to Miss Thonete Simons. The children are Nellie, Edward, Charles, Albert and Fred.
Charles Trzcinski, barber, hair dresser and manufacturer, wholesale and retail dealer of ladies' hair goods. Mr. T. was born in Poland in 1851; came with his parents to the U.S., and settled at Washington, Wis., in 1854. Here he grew up and learned the barber's trade. He subsequently spent three years in Chicago, from which city he came to Decorah, in March, 1877. Mr. Trzcinski, in 1879, married Miss Jennie Zuckmayer; they have two children, John J. and Charles E.
A. Tracy, retired; was born in Orange Co., Vt., March 7, 1820, received an academic education, taught school, and subsequently engaged in farming, making sheep breeding a specialty. In 1856 he moved to Ill., and in 1858 to Io., settling in Sumner tp., Winneshiek Co. Here Mr. Tracy followed farming. He owned over 600 Merino sheep, which formed the best flock in the Co. In 1875 his two sons, aged 20 and 27, were taken with scarlet fever and suddenly died. He therefore, two years later, left his farm and removed to Decorah. Mr. Tracy, in 1843, married Miss Phæbe Hutchinson, and they now have two daughters living, Adelaide and Emma, the latter now the wife of Louis Blodgett. Mr. Tracy is a republican in politics; has held local offices; also served as trustee of the State Agricultural College one term.
Nils Tronson, farmer, Glenwood tp.; owns 130 acres of tillable land and 30 acres of timber; was born in 1825, in Wald ers, Norway; came to the U. S. in 1848, and settled in Wis. In 1850 he came to Io., and bought 120 acres, where he now resides and has since bought 40 acres. The land is principally fine rolling prairie, with some good grass land; is well improved and well stocked. Mr. Tronson's wife died in July, 1878.
Henry R. Thomas, farmer, section 19, P. O. Decorah; owns 260 acres of land, valued at $10 per acre; was born in Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., in 1831; came west in 1854 and located in Decorah. In 1858 he, in company with John Greer, started a plow factory for the purpose of manufacturing breaking plows. In 1868 Mr. Thomas sold his interest to Ammon, Greer & Co.; subsequently Ammon, Scott & Co., and purchased his present farm. He married Mary Bentley, a native of England; they have three children, Fred, Jessie and Stella.
George Tyler, P. O. Decorah; farmer, section 2; son of James and Lucy Bassett Tyler; was born July 10, 1837, in the county of Kent, England; his parents emigrated to the U. S. in the fall of 1845, stopping at Cleveland, Ohio, and the following spring went to Columbus, where they remained till 1851; then came to Greene Co., Wis., and to this Co. in the fall of 1854, and in 1857 came into Decorah tp. He married Miss Lucy Weeks Nov. 9th, 1859. She was born in Lenawee Co., Mich., in 1838, and died Sept 27th, 1864, leaving two children, George W. and Mary. He was again married to Miss Rosanna E. Gillam, Feb. 5th, 1869. The children by the second marriage are, Richard F., Hattie M., Albert and Lina.
A. D. Thomas, P. 0. Decorah; farmer; section 32, Canoe tp.; son of Jesse and Mary McCormick Thomas; was born March 29, 1831, in Erie Co., Pa. In 1855 he started for the west, coming through Mich., and stopping a short time at Pontiac and Kalamazoo, and arriving at Volney, Allamakee Co., Io., the same year; remained in that Co. till 1859, when he came to Decorah and engaged in running a meat market, buying and shipping stock. In In 1876 he purchased his present farm, which contains 600 acres, valued at $30 per acre; he makes a sp:cialty of stock buying and shipping. He married Miss Alice Pollitt Dec. 4, 1861; she was born in Manchester, England; their children are James S., Reginald, Hall and Cecil; they have lost four, Alley, Sidney, Birney and an infant,
James Tyler, P. O. Decorah; retired farmer, section 2. He was born April 12, 1812, in the county of Kent, England; emigrated to the U.S. in 1845, arriving at Cleveland, O., in Nov., where he remained till the following spring, when he went to Columbus and engaged in farming near the city till in 1850, when he started for the west, stopping in Green Co., Wis., until 1853; then came to Winneshiek Co., first located on Col. J. W. Taylor's farm, in Canoe tp. In 1857 he purchased 320 acres of land in Decorah tp., on section 2, and moved on to it; has since disposed of all but 64 acres, upon which are his buildings, which he expects to retain as his homestead during his declining years. He was married to Miss Lucy Bassett, June 21, 1833, in England; they have six children, Eliza, James, George, Frederick, Richard and John, and have lost one son, William.
0. S. Thompson, P. M. of Springwater P. 0.; proprietor of Springwater Mills; also owns 60 acres of land in connection with the mill; is a son of Thomas 0. Anderson, and was born in Norway, Sept. 26, 1842; commenced working in a grist mill at the age of ten years, which, with the millwright business, he has followed most of the time since; emigrated to the U. S. in 1869, first locating in Decorah, engaging in the West Decorah Mills; afterwards assisted in building a grist mill some two miles above his present mill, which he ran about two years. In 1880 he purchased his present mill, located on the Canoe river, on section 24, Canoe tp. There is a good water power of ten feet head; at present three run of buhrs, and soon expects to add the fourth, with machinery to make new process and patent flour. Mr. Thompson was appointed postmaster in 1880; the office was established in 1860, as Aquilla Grove P. O. Nathan G. Chase was the first P. M. Mr. T. married Miss Anna M. Anderson, in Norway; they have five children, Carrie, Thorwold, Andrew A., Mollie B. and Hannah, and have lost one son, Thorwold, who died while crossing the ocean.
Ole Thompson, dealer in hardware, stoves, tinware, etc., estabJished business in April, 1882. He was born in Norway in 1840; came to America in 1859 and settled in this Co. In 1866 he engaged in the hardware business in Decorah, where he remained until 1871. He came to Ossian in 1875, and engaged in the mercantile business, which he sold to E. Schoonmaker & Co.; then engaged in business as above. Mr. T. has been town collector, also clerk. He married Laura B. Thompson, a native of Norway, who came to America in 1855. They have two children, Thressa M. and Theodore E.
Col. J. W. Taylor, P. O. Decorah, was born Feb. 22, 1817, in Saratoga Co., N. Y. He is a son of Hon. Jno. W. Taylor and Jane (nee Hodges) Taylor, of N. Y. His father was quite a prominent anti-slavery politician of N. Y., first serving in the state legislature, and afterwards as member of Congress from N. Y. from 1812 to 1833, serving as speaker of the house two sessions. The subject of this sketch was educated at the high schools of his county, preparing himself for a full course at Union College, but abandoned his intentions in that direction and entered as clerk in one of the largest dry goods stores of Albany, N. Y.., where he continued three years; after which he went to New York City, and was in one of the largest dry goods houses in the city for three years. Then, in 1838, in company with one of his chums at school, who had graduated at Union College, he started for the west to seek their fortunes in investing in real estate, coming through Ills., Wis., Io. and Minn.; operating in lands in Wis., stopping a year in Joliet, Ills., and afterwards at Rockford, making that city his home till 1856; then came to Dubuque, and purchased 1,280 acres of land in Canoe tp., this Co., a Mr. James Kelly having made a claim in 1848 of a part of the tract which Mr. Taylor purchased. Mr. T. has disposed of most of his possessions in Canoe tp., now owning but about 400 acres, which are well improved, have a large orchard and a beautiful avenue or driveway of a mile from the south side of his farm, over half the distance being graded, and with a row of evergreens interspersed with the most beautiful flowers and plants that are produced in this latitude on each side of the avenue. At the breaking out of the rebellion Mr. Taylor was appointed to the quartermaster's department at Tipton, Mo., he being the second appointee, and afterwards as chief of department in central Mo., the army of the Miss., and 14th army corps of the department of the Cumberland; was also promoted to the position of lieut.-colonel on Gen. Rosencrans' staff, and was especially commended by Gen. Rosencrans for his coolness, bravery and efficiency at the battles of Stone River and Corinth. Aug. 17, 1863, he resigned his position in the army and came to Dubuque, remaining but a short time. In 1865 he built a large block house, very pleasantly arranged for a summer residence, and surrounded by a dense forest of pines and oaks, making a pleasant and romantic spot for a summer residence and resort, himself and wife spending their summers here and winters with friends in eastern and southern cities. Mr. T. also has a fine park for elk, having some time ago quite a number, twelve of which he sent to King Victor Emmanuel a few years ago. He has at present but three. Mr. T. was married to Miss Jane P. Wadleigh, a native of N. H., at Albany, N. Y., Aug. 19, 1839. They have had six children, three of whom are living: Jno. W., now northwestern agent of Commercial Express at St. Paul, Minn., and James H., of the firm of Thos. T. Barr & Co., grocers, of New York City, and Ella T., widow of the late W. N. Goddard, of Utica, N. Y., Sarah, Charles and Anna being deceased.
George Todd, farmer, Fremont tp.; owns 100 acres, 724 in Sec. 14 and 244 in Sec 35, near Plymouth Rock. He was born in Co. Armagh, Ireland, in 1828, and was a weaver by trade; came to the U. S. in 1851, settled in Elgin, Ill., and worked at the trade of mason and plasterer and at farming until 1856; then went to · Toledo, Tama Co., Io., remaining about nine months, and returned to Elgin for six months; then came to this place and took a claim of 80 acres, all he could get at that time, and thoroughly improved it, and since bought the rest. · He was married at Decorah in 1858 to Miss Richards.
Christopher Todd, farmer; was born in Co. Armagh, Ireland, in 1833, came to America in 1852 and settled in Elgin, Ill.; worked at the trade of harness maker there two years; then came to Io. and took a claim on the quarter section where he now resides. He worked at his trade at Preston and Decorah until the breaking out of the war; then enlisted in Sept., 1862, at Decorah, in Co. D, 38th Io. Inf., under Col. Hughes, and served fourteen months; was at the seige of and surrender of Vicksburg. He was discharged in the fall of 1863, on account of sickness, at Carlton, La.; then returned to Io. and built on his farm, and commenced improving it. It is now thoroughly improved, and all under fence, fine large